> Engine lovers come in. Hunting time, Found rare item

BOTAK_WAI
post May 3 2019, 07:59 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,160 posts

QUOTE(Balanced @ May 3 2019, 07:52 PM)
Today i helped my friend to hunt for a engine kosong for his civic ek because he blew his k20a vtec. So we went to sp halfcut shops to have a look.
So many k20 engine i tell u. So many K20a type S engine..over 5 units engine lantai. And 2 type R. K20A type S is above 5k for halfcut. Type R, around 17k for halfcut dc5 type r. The engine lantai were all stack up high, but i did take a picture of some that were on the ground.
[attachmentid=10238236]

While looking around I found a gem, a nissan primera p12, with a sr20ve 20v engine and 6mt transmission just sitting there...really rarely seen. But a lot of job need to be done to transfer this engine and transmission into our local nissan cars. Rm6.5k for the halfcut.
[attachmentid=10238238]
[attachmentid=10238239]

Anyway, my friend has chosen a k20a type S engine kosong for 2k. Looks mint too. No burnt oil smell, no oil sign around the seals.
TS plz pm address half-cut shop
BOTAK_WAI
post May 3 2019, 08:03 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,160 posts

long time no go half-cut shop...do they already have 1KR-VET for local Axia to play with?

BOTAK_WAI
post May 3 2019, 08:06 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,160 posts

QUOTE(Balanced @ May 3 2019, 08:04 PM)
Gt planet auto parts. Here has a lot a lot of engine lantai and engine kosong. Stack up high high.

Another place is pro-multi auto, this one more halfcut. Better buy halfcut if making new conversion.
08000 Sungai Petani, Kedah sweat.gif
BOTAK_WAI
post May 3 2019, 08:08 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,160 posts

QUOTE(nickchk89 @ May 3 2019, 08:04 PM)
wow, that's a gem

i suddenly rmb there are sr16ve n1 or something with 200bhp for 1.6 liter
if not mistaken still kena tapao by B16B because of gear ratio
BOTAK_WAI
post May 3 2019, 08:20 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,160 posts

QUOTE(Balanced @ May 3 2019, 08:14 PM)
The sr16ve n1 faster than b16b type R. 185hp vs 197hp is no joke. Maybe u mistaken for the regular sr16ve, 175hp?
Anyway depend on what car u put in. Weight plays a big role. If eg two door with b16b type r vs nissan n16 with sr16ve n1, then yes probably the b16b type r will win.
yea..mistaken...was comparing it with spoon engine sweat.gif

BOTAK_WAI
post May 3 2019, 08:23 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,160 posts

QUOTE(Quantum Geist @ May 3 2019, 08:19 PM)
Is the process with jpj for changing engines hard? or you just don't tell jpj?
Engine Change Of The Same Make And Capacity (Cc) Or To One With Capacity Not Exceeding 25% Of The Original Engine rule
BOTAK_WAI
post May 3 2019, 08:25 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,160 posts

QUOTE(uncle tut @ May 3 2019, 08:21 PM)
rclxms.gif made my day man rclxm9.gif
good old memory...there's where i learned not to upsize rim to have better acceleration for uphill laugh.gif

This post has been edited by BOTAK_WAI: May 3 2019, 08:25 PM
BOTAK_WAI
post May 3 2019, 08:30 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,160 posts

that era of engine half cut you want transplant you gonna spare more money to change all those rubber hose, oil seal, gasket, yada-yada...

cost double and more compare to 15 years ago...
BOTAK_WAI
post May 3 2019, 08:31 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,160 posts

QUOTE(Balanced @ May 3 2019, 08:28 PM)
Spoon engine also lost in acceleration to the N1. Clearly can see the spoon engine gain upper hand only when climbing hill due to the modded spoon gearbox.

If stock to stock, n1 engine still the best there is. But only 300 units available lol
haha...video too old...only ingat the gear ratio part.
BOTAK_WAI
post May 3 2019, 08:35 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,160 posts

QUOTE(Balanced @ May 3 2019, 08:32 PM)
Well, car hobby is expensive. Anyway i am doing full overhaul of my sr20ve 20v engine now. Underway, including change water pump, belts, gaskets, rings, rebuild clutch, etc. Around 3k. Finalized bill to be out soon.
no send your top for cnc polish and put in SR16VE cam? since u do full overhaul.

This post has been edited by BOTAK_WAI: May 3 2019, 08:37 PM
BOTAK_WAI
post May 3 2019, 08:41 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,160 posts

QUOTE(Balanced @ May 3 2019, 08:37 PM)
[attachmentid=10238252]
can't see the port pun...haha

you are the rare breed still on NA route...i think kaki racing mostly gatal go with turbo liao. so capable with SR20DET piston.
BOTAK_WAI
post May 3 2019, 08:46 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,160 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ May 3 2019, 08:39 PM)
Hi botak.

Actually you can put another brand from another make engine into another brand car.
And you can exceed 25% engine capacity.

Needs inspection, test and authorization by Kejuruteraan automotif JPJ.
And after that need to pass PUSPAKOM inspection. They're usually more strict if you go this way.

But if everything done properly, engineered properly they will approve. Becos there's no reason not to.
Not everyone willing to pay for the engineering work tho.

Cheers
how to maintain chassis structural integrity when change to other engine with different mounting position. i have seen many z33 and rx7 change to 1JZ engine, so mostly they are not road legal right?
BOTAK_WAI
post May 3 2019, 08:48 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,160 posts

QUOTE(Balanced @ May 3 2019, 08:39 PM)
P12 revv till 8500 and compression is higher at 11:1
So i think a bit risky to put in n1 cams. Anyway will dyno after run in the engine. And i rather buy standalone compare to buy n1 cams. So expensive lol
that's the reason why ppl go for turbo way...more hp and torque gain vs money spent
BOTAK_WAI
post May 3 2019, 09:12 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,160 posts

QUOTE(Balanced @ May 3 2019, 08:53 PM)
Haha i didnt port it. Just polish nia. Prefer stock. And i also prefer na engine. Likes it when my engine screems longer at each gear lol.
take care of your car body too...engine and gearbox easier to rebuild into good condition, but if kena accident then hardly find another nice body to transplant liao cry.gif
BOTAK_WAI
post May 3 2019, 09:25 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,160 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ May 3 2019, 09:13 PM)
As long as the mounting position not at a significantly different area then it's quite acceptable. Otherwise need simulation to confirm it'll handle the load.
Mounting adapter machined from a solid block usually won't have a problem with inspection. Problem passing is usually becos mounting main hantam weld

I dunno mang I don't play high cc turbo. But some of those bmw with 1jz is endorsed properly and road legal. Proper work can buy sell and pass puspakom
even with TIG welding also cannot?

or is there any custom made mounting special for X car using Y engine for such conversion?

This post has been edited by BOTAK_WAI: May 3 2019, 09:27 PM

0.0203sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 07:20 AM