Where to get treatment for ear infection?

TSkikoyinyee
post May 2 2019, 04:01 PM, updated 7y ago

37 posts

General clinic or specialist?
SUS2feidei
post May 2 2019, 04:09 PM

Ayam tatau, ayam virgin (c)
3,158 posts

general clinic will do, unless really serious
Sansab
post May 2 2019, 04:12 PM

88 posts

I had done ear treatment for infection in specialist before. They're fast and easy. It took only 5 minutes. Then he gave me prescription, etc.. he will advice you to revisit if infection/pain still exist.. but mine totally gone after 3 days, my ears are completely normal now.. specialists are little bit expensive but they're totally worth it
TSkikoyinyee
post May 4 2019, 01:00 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(2feidei @ May 2 2019, 04:09 PM)
general clinic will do, unless really serious
Went to general clinic but they asked to go to ENT clinic. Apparently, not an infection but an impacted ear wax. sweat.gif
TSkikoyinyee
post May 4 2019, 01:02 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(Sansab @ May 2 2019, 04:12 PM)
I had done ear treatment for infection in specialist before. They're fast and easy. It took only 5 minutes. Then he gave me prescription, etc.. he will advice you to revisit if infection/pain still exist.. but mine totally gone after 3 days, my ears are completely normal now.. specialists are little bit expensive but they're totally worth it
Specialist surely more professional. How much does it cost?
I called one of the ENT clinic and asked the pricing for impacted earwax and its RM250 for one side.
Would it be cheaper if I visit government hosp?
Zhik
post May 4 2019, 01:06 PM

eeerrrmmmnnn, stupidity has no limit?
1,228 posts

QUOTE(kikoyinyee @ May 4 2019, 01:02 PM)
Specialist surely more professional. How much does it cost?
I called one of the ENT clinic and asked the pricing for impacted earwax and its RM250 for one side.
Would it be cheaper if I visit government hosp?
Thanks for the info
trencher10
post May 4 2019, 01:32 PM

Long-term AFK ...
665 posts

QUOTE(kikoyinyee @ May 4 2019, 01:00 PM)
Went to general clinic but they asked to go to ENT clinic. Apparently, not an infection but an impacted ear wax.  sweat.gif
There's still likely the usual private clinics (non-ENT-specialist) that have ear irrigation/suction as part of their routine (because cerumen removal really isn't a ENT-only-can-do job), but you'll have to call around {if you know any clinics that handle a LOT of old people, you could start asking there}. Gov hospitals are obviously cheaper, but expect the usual.
TSkikoyinyee
post May 4 2019, 01:48 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(trencher10 @ May 4 2019, 01:32 PM)
There's still likely the usual private clinics (non-ENT-specialist) that have ear irrigation/suction as part of their routine (because cerumen removal really isn't a ENT-only-can-do job), but you'll have to call around {if you know any clinics that handle a LOT of old people, you could start asking there}. Gov hospitals are obviously cheaper, but expect the usual.
The clinic that I went to says the cerumen is way too deep for them to remove it, hence asked me to go to ENT. Just asked me to use ear drops for few days before going to ENT. Doc said ENT will also ask me to use the ear drop before they can remove it... Hence, not really sure if those private clinics can help.

I should probably go to gov hosp first. Hopefully can get it done quick. Im kinda half deaf right now.
SUS2feidei
post May 4 2019, 03:18 PM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(kikoyinyee @ May 4 2019, 01:00 PM)
Went to general clinic but they asked to go to ENT clinic. Apparently, not an infection but an impacted ear wax.  sweat.gif
Aik....that one is simple fixed only, last time I oso kena, normal neighbourhood GP can do oledi....what he do is he give me some ointment drop into the ears to soften the wax, to apply daily or dunno few times a day, cannot remember already, very long time. Sometime, I wonder if the ears is connected to your tongue or throat, coz at time, I can feel the bitter taste.

Then, after dunno how many days, go visit him back, he will use large syringe fill with warm water to blast through your ears canal. Depending on how hard the ear wax, or how good the drop able to soften it plus your pain threshold lah, mine, he need multiple time before the wax come off.

After that, my sense of direction where sound come from become better, and better coordination, lesser keep missteps and falls laugh.gif
trencher10
post May 5 2019, 09:59 AM

Long-term AFK ...
665 posts

QUOTE(2feidei @ May 4 2019, 03:18 PM)
Sometime, I wonder if the ears is connected to your tongue or throat, coz at time, I can feel the bitter taste.

Tongue, no. Throat, close.
SUS2feidei
post May 5 2019, 04:01 PM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(trencher10 @ May 5 2019, 09:59 AM)

Tongue, no. Throat, close.
aha....no wonder, i still remember when drip the ointment into my ears that time, i can taste the bitter taste in the throat sweat.gif

0.0192sec    0.58    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 04:53 AM