Ultimate Discussions of ASB1/2-Financing, questions/comments/criticisms welcome

moosset
post Dec 15 2019, 08:31 AM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(Nachiino Etamay @ May 2 2019, 02:14 PM)
my bank forced me to sign MRTA which almost wiped out half of first year dividends

im pretty sure there are upfront cost to this

anyways, i dont take it because its full already. but i am facing a problem now beecause ASB 2 and ASB3 also full, and need to claw for units.
can you empty your ASB and ASB2 to say, ASM and ASM2, then take 200k loan for ASB and 200k loan for ASB2??

would be better no?
moosset
post Dec 15 2019, 08:33 AM

1,917 posts

wild_card_my what's the min salary to take 200k loan?
moosset
post Dec 15 2019, 08:53 AM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Dec 15 2019, 08:34 AM)
Yes, you could. A lot of people do that to double their "capital". Remember, borrowed capital is still capital. While you have to pay financing costs (profit/interests) to the bank, the financing rate is lower than the distribution rate thus you end up with a profit.
when I think about it, it kinda makes sense; but I wonder if you have a spread sheet to compare.
say, RM 200k in ASB & ASB2
vs RM200k ASB & ASB2 loan + RM200k in ASM & ASM2.

by the way, I saw Maybank ASB financing is BLR + 2.2%. So, it's 3.25% + 2.2% = 5.55%.

QUOTE(viole @ Dec 15 2019, 08:36 AM)
can.

but later he tell you asm asm2 also he full already.
moosset
post Dec 15 2019, 09:24 AM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ May 2 2019, 02:10 PM)
Total unit value after 35 years: RM1,812,450.97

why 200350 not 200k? service fee?
moosset
post Dec 15 2019, 10:30 AM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Dec 15 2019, 08:57 AM)
Yeah, I have them, I always compare different scenario of savings, including loan (thus the installments) vs cash investments. I will plug in the numbers and share it here soon, need to do some comparisons since we may need to deal with historical figures.

Yeah, as a broker, I am able to help connect clients with the best package available for any banks. But attached below is the installment options ya for 4.85% p.a. financing

I don't know why I've arrived at a different conclusion to my initial expectation.

It seems, if you've 200k capital, it's better not to take the loan.

Alt 1:
Cash 200k

Alt 2:
Loan 200k + put all your cash in ASB2.

Conclusion: Alt 1 > Alt 2

This post has been edited by moosset: Dec 15 2019, 10:30 AM
moosset
post Dec 15 2019, 11:09 AM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(viole @ Dec 15 2019, 10:37 AM)
Alternative 2, invest with loan.. where do you get that 283k?

Seems like you did not calculate the compounding interest of the loan.
the 283k is the profit from taking a 200k loan (also shown in page 1, although that internet calculator got some a slight error).

I did my own calculations but all these figures tally with the info TS posted in page 1. Loan compounding interest already included.

This post has been edited by moosset: Dec 15 2019, 11:10 AM
moosset
post Dec 15 2019, 11:19 AM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Dec 15 2019, 11:08 AM)
There are two errors that I am seeing which I am working on the solution with my own table:

1. Alternative 2 should have two investment accounts, each with a capital of RM200,000, for 35 years

2. Alternative 2 should have capital outlay to pay for its monthly installment of the ASBF, which I would recommend either taking it off the investments in ASB2 account on a yearly bases

2b. Alternatively, you can match Alt 1 and 2 in terms of capital outlay by adding adding cash into ASB2 on a monthly basis for the same RM992/m amount
For alt 2, it's the profit from investing with a loan 283k + your future value of ASB2 with 200k.
So the monthly instalment has already been considered. The net profit from that loan is 283k as shown in page 1.

Basically, if you've 200k cash right now, I'm comparing:
a) all in ASB cash

vs

b) take 200k loan and your cash all in ASB2.
moosset
post Dec 15 2019, 11:27 AM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(viole @ Dec 15 2019, 11:18 AM)
lol. that 283k is the diff between hard cash monthly deposit with loan.

to me, the approach is like this.

say you have 200k cash. and you have the 2 option you described.

Option A - Put in all 200k in ASB 1

As you have calculated, you will get RM1,812,450.97.
Option B - Put 200k in ASB 2, take loan 200k for ASB1
1) as you have calculated, loan 200k asb1 will give you RM1,812,450.97.

2) but you need to pay loan to bank. so your cost will be - RM416,665.20

3) as you have calculated, 200k asb2 will give you RM1,302,765.00.
so total Option A vs Option B :

Option A : rm 1.8 M

Option B : rm 1.8M + rm 1.3M - rm 0.4 M
No brainer which to take right?
My problem with this calculation is here: that's RM 416k!

This ignores the concept of time value of money in finance. While you did deposit 416k in total by 992/month in 35 years, this value worth way more if you had deposited the same amount in an alternative investment with similar return. In this case, I take ASB as a benchmark.

Which mean, this 416k that you deposited over time, actually worth 1.5 million in the future. Thus, in computing the net profit, I need to subtract this cost, which is 1.5 million!

Maybe my way of thinking is too complicated and wrong ....
moosset
post Dec 15 2019, 12:35 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Dec 15 2019, 12:03 PM)
Try this, for 35-year horizon, ZERO capital outlay for both except for the RM200,000:

Method 1

RM200,000 cash invested in ASB, 6.5% p.a. return. @35 years, balance is RM1.812M

Method 2

a. RM200,000 financing invested in ASB, 4.85% p.a. interest, 35 years = RM991/m. For the whole year: RM991*12 = RM11,892. As for the investment portion, @35 years, balance is RM1.812M
b. RM200,000 cash minus RM11,892 for the initial year to pay one-year instalment in (a)
c. RM188,108 cash invested in ASB2 with 6.0% p.a. return, and each year, RM11,892 deducted on the day the distribution is received. I have printed the table. @35 years, balance is RM0.132M

Method 2 (RM1.944M) > Method 1 (RM1.812M)
Thanks but hmmm..... nevermind.

Anyway, the financing rate nowadays is 5.25%? Once you secure the loan, the rate is locked for 35 years right so you'll be immune to changes in BR?

This post has been edited by moosset: Dec 15 2019, 12:48 PM
moosset
post Dec 15 2019, 12:37 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ Dec 15 2019, 12:08 PM)
Wah so nice.. Borrow to invest...

Where do I sign up?
No free money in this world lah ........!!!!! tongue.gif

anyway, given the ASB & ASB2 & BR rates, it's not very attractive. If the BR rates are lower, or the gap between ASB & ASB2 rates are closer, then it's very attractive.

but of course near zero risk, so why not?

This post has been edited by moosset: Dec 15 2019, 12:46 PM

0.0167sec    0.18    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 10:18 AM