Announcement : Signature violation, Pressure on Xb360 user gamertag.

TSPrivateJohn
post Jun 23 2007, 03:44 AM, updated 19y ago

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

I know recently there is alot of nuclear warhead flying around, lotsa sig getting nuke but please bear with the moderators. They are merely doing their job, some get nuke some don't get nuke...it's a matter of time.
It has nothing to do with mods preference. They only nuke if they see one (means you are the unlucky one)
Most of the mod were complaining user under Xbox sub has the craziest gamertag ever which exceed 150KB.
Heard there is alot of user dissatisfactions too from the Area 51 & thus the purpose of this announcement.

So to prevent further nuclear fallout, please refer to the R&R below.
It's just a guideline, just try not to exceed the allowed sized by a big margin and your sig will be safe. smile.gif

Signature and Avatar regulations

Avatar size is limited in board default to 20kb in size and 128X128 pixels in size. However please do not put objectable images as your user avatars. This include sexually explict images, political messages, or edited avatar of other members with the intention to insult or flame.

Signature
Height of your signature should not exceed 15 lines of 10px text. Images, graphics and text included. There is no restrictions to length but images should not distort forum templates viewed at a 1024X768 resolution.
Also, signature sizes are calculated based on the total size of all images. Please be informed that the total maximum size of all images in your signature is 70kb. There will be lenient enforcement but don't take things for granted.

Maximum Sig Height

Beside size, signature content should not contain the following materials:-
All Types

* Commercial advertising (except links to threads in the Trade Zone)

Text Based

* Referral link for commercial purposes.
    * Links directing to illegal and objectable materials (warez, cracks, pornography, pyramid schemes, referral ID's)
    * Links of a malicious nature. e.g. those that crash your browser, trigger popup floods or emulate BSOD's
    * Flaming/Insults of another member
    * Political statements
    * Religious statements

Image Based

* Flash material with embedded sound
    * Images of objectable materials.
    * Overly distracting, ie. bright flashing colors, animated sigs (i.e. GIF's/Flash)
    * Flash signatures are not enabled due to the fact that it supports actionscripting which in turn could be regarded as a security risk to the board as well as unsuspecting visitors.
    * Spoiler tags
    * Folding@Malaysia members should link only one stats signature image to reduce load time and prevent slowdowns.
    * You are allowed a maximum of 6 userbars in your signature.

If you see any violations of Avatar and Signatures rules. Please use the report button on any post of the offender. Violations of any rules will mean the removal of your signature and avatar.

Warnings are issued for any signature or avatar regulations breaches. These warnings are meant as a log of your actions. Suspensions will only be meted out should you commit a repeat offence.

SUSleenaz
post Jun 23 2007, 08:01 AM

29 posts

at last
me the 1 who kena
almost 5 time edi
wahahaha...

ImSIEBEL
post Jun 23 2007, 10:59 AM

| Mile High Club |
755 posts

lol i kena twice....but then nuthin now.. doh.gif
TSPrivateJohn
post Jun 23 2007, 05:29 PM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

QUOTE(ImSIEBEL @ Jun 23 2007, 10:59 AM)
lol i kena twice....but then nuthin now.. doh.gif
Your sig should be fine, not that crazy yet.

Haih, too much nuke lately.

Playing Fallout 1 & 2 - Watching Jericho - Fallout 3 announcement - Signature nuking
rclxub.gif
Hamster X
post Jun 23 2007, 05:36 PM

315 posts

PJ! Buy Ori is commercial advertising!

Join us & smoke some crack, j00 dig? = Illegal Stuff

sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Hamster X: Jun 23 2007, 05:37 PM
Hitman190
post Jun 23 2007, 05:47 PM

589 posts

QUOTE(Hamster X @ Jun 23 2007, 05:36 PM)

sweat.gif
Sometimes i see siggies that border on sheer insanity and lunacy...but they dont get the hammer....we on the other hand show our sigs to get new friends...

Honestly how many times have you guys seen your friends sig and then use it to get his Friend Code or tag...alot right?

So definitely my sig is big... tongue.gif ...honestly i have seen sigs far worse and BIGGER than mine...i think there was one guy who had 3 360 live tags attached to his sig...my 2 cents state that people whose sigs are only used as a livetag/PS3 Tag/Wii Code and even then they only use one each...should be exempted... tongue.gif
TSPrivateJohn
post Jun 23 2007, 06:53 PM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

I understand the frustration of certain user, that's why the use of this thread.

Many moderators in Area 51 express their dissatisfaction with user from Xbox sub with sig that is "crazily" oversize.

So in order to stop the moderator from being a pain in the ass tongue.gif Try to minimize the use of too many tags, or use GIF to decrease the sig size.

Personally i think sig under 100KB should be fine since the masses are no longer 56k crawler, any sig bigger than that file size...i really can't do anything but seeing an all out nuclear war.

PS : The mods only nuke the one they see, so if you think they are treating you unfair. You can always use the report button to bring down some "brothers" with you laugh.gif

QUOTE(Hamster X @ Jun 23 2007, 05:36 PM)

sweat.gif
*slap hamster*

This post has been edited by PrivateJohn: Jun 23 2007, 06:54 PM
alkt
post Jun 23 2007, 08:34 PM

^_^
10,231 posts

wei PJ, pin this up for the xbox kakis to see also smile.gif
ImSIEBEL
post Jun 23 2007, 10:08 PM

| Mile High Club |
755 posts

Courtesy notice: Signature infringement, Today, 09:55 PM

NOTE: This is an auto-generated message.

Your signature infringed our rules & regulations. It is either:
a) oversized
b) containing inappropriate images/links
c) containing too many userbars
d) irritating to the eye

Please review and amend it. For more information on our signature rules & regulations, please refer to this page.

My 360 Games | TDU | Saints Row | Dead Rising | GRAW | GoW | FNR3 |NFS CARBON | MuA | Ridge Racer 6 | THP8 | NBA 2k7 | NFS MOSTWANTED | LostPLanet LE | KingKong | GUN | R6V | CrackDown | PGR3 | PimpMyRide | VT3 | FM2 LE | GH2 |

Its FORZA time Babey !!!!

I HATE THIS..Now I KENA AGAIN !! !WTF.... can someone plz help me..wat is my offended settings ?

goldfries
post Jun 23 2007, 10:18 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(ImSIEBEL @ Jun 23 2007, 10:08 PM)
I HATE THIS..Now I KENA AGAIN !! !WTF.... can someone plz help me..wat is my offended settings ?
seriously - what is the problem you're having? are you unable to read?

Also, signature sizes are calculated based on the total size of all images. Please be informed that the total maximum size of all images in your signature is 70kb. There will be lenient enforcement but don't take things for granted.

rules already here, thread already mentioned. go figure the size of your NICE siggy.

NOTE : normally i don't come here but heck since ImSIEBEL pmed me about his nuked siggy and mentioned Xbox. so yeah here i am. replying here instead of via PM.

This post has been edited by goldfries: Jun 23 2007, 10:37 PM
Hitman190
post Jun 23 2007, 10:22 PM

589 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jun 23 2007, 10:18 PM)
seriously - what is the problem you're having? are you unable to read?
rules already here, thread already mentioned. go figure the size of your NICE siggy.
Wow..very serious about this issue...honestly...just ask and it will be done...
goldfries
post Jun 23 2007, 10:34 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(Hitman190 @ Jun 23 2007, 10:22 PM)
Wow..very serious about this issue...honestly...just ask and it will be done...
in the first place do people even bother to read the rules? it's stated clearly, just as in any forums joined - understand the rules.

and it's just a removal, with your signature codes sent to you via notice. it's not like it harms your reputation.

man, people are getting touchy these days. removal of signature due to violation of rules and it was as if they got their balls chopped off when they're sleeping. doh.gif

EDITED : a few more got nuked just before this post. smile.gif

This post has been edited by goldfries: Jun 23 2007, 10:35 PM
ImSIEBEL
post Jun 23 2007, 10:40 PM

| Mile High Club |
755 posts

i think the reason why we put that Gamertag thingy is to get more ppl with Xbox Live to add us up or join us...not for SHOW OFF...

btw juz wanna ask..how u know its more then 70kb ???? <--- juz asking only
TSPrivateJohn
post Jun 23 2007, 10:43 PM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

^
Right-click properties > see the file size there.

People, calm down.

I hope you guys don't take the sig nuking as too offensive, my sig also kena nuke before, a mod...by a mod doh.gif laugh.gif

There is nothing personal, strictly business
-godfather tongue.gif

This post has been edited by PrivateJohn: Jun 23 2007, 10:45 PM
alkt
post Jun 23 2007, 10:44 PM

^_^
10,231 posts

right click then properties <-- for mozila smile.gif
XenoFr3ak
post Jun 23 2007, 10:46 PM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

Dang it !!! ... my sig got erased again
xxboxx
post Jun 23 2007, 11:14 PM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

haiya, it's just a siggie. here's, have a cigar. tongue.gif
i myself kena few times already. no biggie, just re-create new one. or compress the picture some more.

just let them erased the siggie to show they have the authority and power to do it. somehow they need the assurance that they have a power.
goldfries
post Jun 23 2007, 11:37 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

yeah. 2 clicks makes me feel strongah.
acougan
post Jun 24 2007, 12:12 AM

590 posts

if i hyperlink a gamercard.jpg to a line of text in the sig, then the file size of the gamercard has no bearing on the sig limit, correct?
wcliang
post Jun 24 2007, 12:13 AM

585 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Jun 23 2007, 11:14 PM)
haiya, it's just a siggie. here's, have a cigar. tongue.gif
i myself kena few times already. no biggie, just re-create new one. or compress the picture some more.

just let them erased the siggie to show they have the authority and power to do it. somehow they need the assurance that they have a power.
katana...i found a cool gamercard, your signature nogood, change to this one lah..... laugh.gif tongue.gif

Eisenmeteor
post Jun 24 2007, 12:26 AM

Night Ghost
1,484 posts

I kena twice..But since its in the rules then cant help it lo..
TSPrivateJohn
post Jun 24 2007, 07:29 AM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

QUOTE(acougan @ Jun 24 2007, 12:12 AM)
if i hyperlink a gamercard.jpg to a line of text in the sig, then the file size of the gamercard has no bearing on the sig limit, correct?
If you hyperlink to a great wall of china also no problem laugh.gif

QUOTE(wcliang @ Jun 24 2007, 12:13 AM)
katana...i found a cool gamercard, your signature nogood, change to this one lah.....  laugh.gif  tongue.gif

That one sure get bomb!

If it's a pure gaming forum i think it's okay since majority of gamers are on broadband, but this involves every other section of LYN.net, then we console couch become small bug.
I don't have the say on this matter but LYN.net taiko has spoken in Area 51, the sig R&R just serve as a guideline for us to refer.

Try not to exceed allowed size by big margin - I think 71-100KB should be fine and mod shouldn't nuke it especially it's a single gamertag. (just my opinion)

Multiple Tag - Still, try to maintain the size below 100KB.

Tripple Tag - This is abit too much because more than 3 tags often create distortion to other forumer view, especially the file size.

Unless people can vouch not to post outside xbox sub then i will have the authority to setup a special rules. Otherwise, let just make do with it and game on!

goldfries
post Jun 24 2007, 08:40 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(PrivateJohn @ Jun 24 2007, 07:29 AM)
If it's a pure gaming forum i think it's okay since majority of gamers are on broadband, but this involves every other section of LYN.net, then we console couch become small bug.

hehe. not so much of broadband. just that our broadband suxorz in quality in quite a lot of places, and usually these links are NOT from M'sia.

so you know la. load one time damn long.
xxboxx
post Jun 24 2007, 10:34 AM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

QUOTE(wcliang @ Jun 24 2007, 12:13 AM)
katana...i found a cool gamercard, your signature nogood, change to this one lah.....  laugh.gif  tongue.gif

very cool, why dun you use it first? laugh.gif
your siggies is a disgrace to all siggie lover in LYN. you only utilize until 5 lines only leh, there's still 10 more lines than can be used, you know? thats 66.66% of wasted space, who knows, you might find the cure for aids by utilizing the remaining 10 lines. tongue.gif
Hitman190
post Jun 24 2007, 08:55 PM

589 posts

Alright modified my siggy...its far less than 70kb...doesnt take up much space...its the smallest tags i can find...i had to delete Mobi's brilliant tag AND i even changed my PS3 avatar to reduce storage...my previous PS3 avatar was 1.75...this one(loco roco) is 1.65...

Soooo...IF i do get nuked....i will be dancing happy...and clapping hands with joy and organize a parade in the name of charity....woopie...god bless..
Hamster X
post Jun 24 2007, 08:58 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(PrivateJohn @ Jun 24 2007, 07:29 AM)
If you hyperlink to a great wall of china also no problem laugh.gif
He? Illegal stuff in China... Isn't linking to illegal stuff nuke-able? hmm.gif
Hitman190
post Jun 24 2007, 09:00 PM

589 posts

LYN moderators apparently have some sort of nuclear arsenal......so dont mess with PJ...or he can give you a nuke on your birthday...if your nice laugh.gif
TSPrivateJohn
post Jun 25 2007, 12:32 AM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

QUOTE(Hamster X @ Jun 24 2007, 08:58 PM)
He? Illegal stuff in China... Isn't linking to illegal stuff nuke-able? hmm.gif
He talk about pic size after hyperlink.
Great Wall of China is one of the world 8 wonder...er..ya, i guess.
*slap hamster second time*

@hitman, i think i launch nuclear strike for about 3-4 times only out of my moderator life. biggrin.gif Wana be my 5th?
Hitman190
post Jun 25 2007, 12:55 AM

589 posts

Hamster X
post Jul 7 2007, 10:32 AM

315 posts

*looks at mayatsan's sig*

That seems...rather large...

*runs to North Korea*