US Visa DS-160 : where to put the bin/binti ?

TSWithout_a_clue
post Apr 25 2019, 12:36 PM, updated 7y ago

253 posts

Hello there !

I was wondering where i should put the 'bin/binti' of Malay names on the US Visa application DS-160 : given name or surname ?

In Iceland, the bin/binti is obviously stuck to the last name, but since it's detached in Malaysia, many photos (2) of Malay US visas show people putting the binti as a given name.

Digging a little more, surnames can be concatenated in Arabic, giving Tanya binti A binti B binti C binti D binti E, which would give as given name Tanya Binti Binti Binti Binti Binti, surname A B C D E sweat.gif

Any experience with this ?

This post has been edited by Without_a_clue: Apr 25 2019, 01:30 PM
bukechi
post Apr 25 2019, 02:30 PM

409 posts

QUOTE(Without_a_clue @ Apr 25 2019, 12:36 PM)
Hello there !

I was wondering where i should put the 'bin/binti' of Malay names on the US Visa application DS-160 : given name or surname ?

In Iceland, the bin/binti is obviously stuck to the last name, but since it's detached in Malaysia, many photos (2) of Malay US visas show people putting the binti as a given name.

Digging a little more, surnames can be concatenated in Arabic, giving Tanya binti A binti B binti C binti D binti E, which would give as given name Tanya Binti Binti Binti Binti Binti, surname A B C D E  sweat.gif

Any experience with this ?
i also would like to know too.. usually no need right?
wild_card_my
post Apr 26 2019, 03:45 PM

6,562 posts

I dropped "bin" from my Visa when I went therr
river.sand
post Apr 26 2019, 08:28 PM

3,816 posts

As far as I know, Americans have fist name, last name, middle name.
Bin/ binti can be middle name.
jesseclane
post Apr 26 2019, 10:55 PM

227 posts

Osama Bin Ladin

So last name Bin Ladin
First name Osama

Can or not?
prophecus
post Apr 26 2019, 10:58 PM

157 posts

I always put all my name into last name and put "FNU" into first name. In the end, "bin ali" last name and abu first name appears on the visa foil.
hiryuu
post Apr 27 2019, 11:30 AM

241 posts

bin / binti in given... make sure your tickets say the same or else get into interrogation room at the airport, like me... lol
zan4182
post Apr 27 2019, 11:40 AM

69 posts

Bin / Binti should be put under surname.

Got my US visa last year.
koja6049
post Apr 28 2019, 12:52 AM

614 posts

can be treated the same as "nobiliary particles" and family name affixes, like von Werden, van der Waals, de Morgan, etc. There is a list you can use and bin binti falls in this list smile.gif

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_family_name_affixes
ramdieslow
post Apr 28 2019, 03:19 PM

122 posts

I omitted the last name for all my oversea journey.

Everything from Europe to US, all using first name. All UK and US visa where made that way as well.

Too much hassle as the MY passport only display my first name as the full name. I think the info is showing Given Name.

My MY passport is showing, “The bearer also known as following name (First name and bin and last name)”.
just78
post Apr 29 2019, 08:46 AM

You can put under given name. Example full name Wan Ali bin Wan Dollah.

Given Name: Wan Ali bin
Surname: Wan Dollah

If you put under surname, it may sound like bin laden or sumthin... and they can give you trouble at the airport / immigration.

This post has been edited by just78: Apr 29 2019, 08:51 AM
@rleng
post Apr 30 2019, 09:17 AM

176 posts

I dropped mine for US visa. No issue.
finch!
post Apr 30 2019, 12:18 PM

268 posts

My visa

First name: Mohd xxx bin