ILLEGEAR Custom Performance Laptops v.4, AMD RYZEN 4800H with FREE AC Valhalla
ZM Fong
Jun 7 2019, 12:28 AM
QUOTE(aomerodi @ Jun 7 2019, 12:25 AM) Sorry, I don't quite understand your question? I got the 16GB single channel, as I have plans to get another 16GB stick. There is 2TB SSHD Firecuda in the system. I activated my Windows Pro with a key I bought for less than RM10 from Lazada; if that helps to explain. Dual channel = More gaming performance I see
ZM Fong
Jun 7 2019, 08:17 PM
QUOTE(SkyBlue® @ Jun 7 2019, 07:52 PM) Place an order for illegear rogue today. After seeing the real products for rogue and prodigy, the prodigy is very very tempting! Solid build and look very elegant! It really remind me the msi prestige. If i don’t read the review from zm fong, i really will buy prodigy. The reason why I bought rogue over prodigy is because of the cooling system ans themal issues that really bother me. Prodigy is still an OK buy if you don't always put heavy load on it - single load like CPU rendering is still good enough. Cooling design isn't the main issue - the cooling room is really limited due to the thinness. Majority gaming laptops with similar thinness will have thermal issue anyway, especially CPU side This post has been edited by ZM Fong: Jun 7 2019, 08:22 PM
ZM Fong
Jun 8 2019, 02:27 PM
QUOTE(henghanwei @ Jun 8 2019, 09:46 AM) Hey I just got my Rogue, just wanna ask that whenever I unplugged my charger, I will get very low fps in game, I tried to change the battery to max performance, it didn't work, any idea how to fix it? Battery cannot provide enough juice...btw gaming on battery kills battery faster
ZM Fong
Jun 8 2019, 03:11 PM
QUOTE(henghanwei @ Jun 8 2019, 02:57 PM) Overall is quite good, the cooling system is pretty decent, however not sure if it is the game problem or so when I play watch dogs 2 the CPU temperature raise to around 90C, while others I might just get around 70+ (the fan sound is actually quieter than I expected, atleast for me) Turn down the power limit with Throttlestop/XTU (eg 45W instead of the default 70W)
ZM Fong
Jun 8 2019, 06:13 PM
QUOTE(atoi4life @ Jun 8 2019, 06:02 PM) Hi @ZM fong which one is better in terms of thermal + performance? I can't decide to choose either illegear prodigy or Aftershock 15 pro (rtx 2060).. both pricing almost the same..I'm a little scared when reading one of your review on linustechtip forum.. I'm looking a laptop 15 inch, most portable and.. yet better thermal PM me - would avoid discussing other brands in Illegear thread
ZM Fong
Jun 11 2019, 12:04 AM
QUOTE(Xnet @ Jun 11 2019, 12:02 AM) Any of these laptops have thunderbolt? No, unless you want D5/D7X This post has been edited by ZM Fong: Jun 11 2019, 12:05 AM
ZM Fong
Jun 18 2019, 08:49 PM
Note for all Raven/Raven Lite/Raven SE users: A Raven SE user tried a method I suggested to eliminate CPU power limit issue and it works - CPU can run at full performance without issues, even with GPU loaded. If you wish to try this out, feel free to PM me, however I won't be responsible for any issues that might occur - take your own risk (it's mostly safe)
For Selenite/Onyx/Rogue/Prodigy users, you might want to lower down the power limits via XTU/Throttlestop (Intel standard is PL1 45W, PL2 78W) since they have really high power limits out of the box - PL1 which is set too high might cause high CPU temp in games. This method is also highly suggested by many enthusiasts out there
This post has been edited by ZM Fong: Jun 18 2019, 08:59 PM
ZM Fong
Jun 19 2019, 12:00 PM
QUOTE(sw1314 @ Jun 19 2019, 11:20 AM) want ask about something.. if srgb low is it not so good to do photo editing? Generally speaking, yes - but Raven SE has optional high sRGB panel
ZM Fong
Jun 27 2019, 06:03 PM
QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Jun 27 2019, 05:14 PM) ZM FongHow is the exterior/casing built quality differ between the raven se and prodigy? Your review seems to suggest they are the same. Yeah they are very similar...not much difference tbh
ZM Fong
Jun 29 2019, 12:29 PM
QUOTE(mfahdr @ Jun 29 2019, 02:09 AM) just got my raven se, gtx1650 with i5 n 8gb ram config. my questions are: 1. while playing gta v,im only managed to get max 30 fps max, even at lowest setting. is there anything that i should do to increase the frame rate? 2. as the battery is irremovable, how to prolong battery life? for other brand like lenovo,we can set the laptop not to fully charged ,so u can minimize be battery wear n tear despite of its being charged 1. Is it plugged in? 2. Keep it at 30-70% if possible, if plugged in most of the time then keeping at 100% is OK (not ideal but this is the best way)
ZM Fong
Jul 5 2019, 11:17 AM
QUOTE(theonecafe @ Jul 5 2019, 06:14 AM) Is illegear qc top notch? Consumer grade QC...what do you aspect...almost the same with most brands If you want best QC - premium business laptop/workstation (also QC isn't determined by Illegear, it depends on ODM) This post has been edited by ZM Fong: Jul 5 2019, 11:17 AM
ZM Fong
Jul 18 2019, 05:24 PM
QUOTE(huislaw @ Jul 18 2019, 05:23 PM) Is there a big different between Nvidia GeForce GTX 1660Ti 6GB GDDR6 and Nvidia GeForce RTX 2060 6GB GDDR6 ? 2060 80w is slightly faster than 1660Ti 80w
ZM Fong
Jul 26 2019, 02:34 PM
QUOTE(TheLegend27 @ Jul 26 2019, 02:22 PM) chiclet keyboard same like thinkpad? Of course not
ZM Fong
Jul 27 2019, 05:05 PM
QUOTE(wmk92 @ Jul 27 2019, 03:11 PM) Hello all, mine Raven is i7-8750H, may i know how many ram slot does it have? and if i want to add G.SKILL TRIDENT Z RGB 16GB (8GBx2) DDR4 3200MHz MEMORY RAM into it. will it works? 2 slots I don't think it supports XMP profile, just stick to 2666 edit: it's a desktop RAM.... This post has been edited by ZM Fong: Jul 28 2019, 01:22 PM
ZM Fong
Jul 29 2019, 04:17 PM
QUOTE(tigery @ Jul 29 2019, 04:03 PM) Sifu, want to ask, is it all the custom made laptop have bad audio? Or how bad eventually it is? I saw your review on illeager/level51, both Cons also with "Audio need tuning". Bcoz almost every laptop out there has tuned audio via software out of the box...for custom laptops you just have to do it manually via Sound Blaster
ZM Fong
Jul 29 2019, 08:08 PM
QUOTE(tigery @ Jul 29 2019, 07:41 PM) Meaning major branded lappy has audio tuned before they're packed in the box? What if i reimaged it, do the audio quality resetted? My friend recently got his lenovo y540 and the audio is awesome even he reimaged it. So i dont understand the audio logic. Sorry being newbie here. If no such software the audio quality will be crap. Tested with my own machine and can confirm that After format Windows will auto reinstall latest audio driver and Dolby (for Y540, also Y530) This post has been edited by ZM Fong: Jul 29 2019, 08:08 PM
ZM Fong
Jul 31 2019, 12:01 PM
QUOTE(TheLegend27 @ Jul 31 2019, 09:51 AM) conclusion, is there any laptop from illegear have following criteria? 1. 9th gen proc. 2. mechanical keyboard 3. thin bezel 4. within RM4k Not everyone like the mech kb (I don't like blue switch in Raven) - you need to try it first 9th gen and 8th gen don't have much difference anyway
ZM Fong
Aug 17 2019, 12:07 PM
QUOTE(nzmiii @ Aug 17 2019, 10:22 AM) is it possible to put heatsink on nvme ssd? will it fit you can put but make sure it has enough clearance
ZM Fong
Aug 24 2019, 08:48 PM
QUOTE(dejiar @ Aug 24 2019, 04:40 PM) i made a short video regarding the laptop..but with chinese..sry for the bad quality » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M82wP35AA2g So i just notice one thing..this keyboard does not support independent rgb light? cnt seem to find a way to do so... you included leg when measuring thickness...got individual key lightning I think nice video BTW...do you want to do manual power limit tuning?
ZM Fong
Aug 26 2019, 01:18 PM
QUOTE(khaviraj @ Aug 26 2019, 12:57 PM) ILLEGEAR RAVEN SE FIRST IMPRESSIONS Nice, we need more users to share their experiences