ILLEGEAR Custom Performance Laptops v.4, AMD RYZEN 4800H with FREE AC Valhalla

ZM Fong
post Aug 13 2020, 06:32 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(Jared21 @ Aug 13 2020, 06:08 PM)
Oo i see. So its not applied in house at the Illegear office?
Tongfang did the application in factory. Same with the counterpart Mechrevo models
ZM Fong
post Aug 15 2020, 10:09 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(Jared21 @ Aug 15 2020, 06:58 PM)
@Prince J

Just wanna check something. The RTX 2060 in the 9th gen Selenite is the 115w variant or the 80w?
115W, but you won't be able to read it via monitoring software
ZM Fong
post Aug 16 2020, 04:18 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(Jared21 @ Aug 16 2020, 03:38 PM)
Thanks. Just wanted to check since i'm currently using XMG's control center and thought my power draw was unusually low at around the 80 to 90w range while hitting around 1900mhz
Avg clock speed will tell the power draw roughly
ZM Fong
post Aug 23 2020, 12:39 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(apekpro96 @ Aug 23 2020, 12:21 PM)
hi, do ares x shipped with prema bios? plus do u guys partner with prema  like hidevolution,xoticpc did?
AFAIK no
ZM Fong
post Aug 23 2020, 01:05 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(apekpro96 @ Aug 23 2020, 01:00 PM)
thanks bro, do u plan to make a review for this laptop? i have been reading since page 1, looks like a few months back u made some review about their laptops.
still not sure, but probably no
ZM Fong
post Aug 25 2020, 06:31 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(xXAaronXx @ Aug 25 2020, 06:22 PM)
I got my Prodigy last week and I love it very much. I found out that I can't change my screen refresh rate from 144hz to 60hz in order to prolong the laptop usage. Is there any bios update to allow 60hz as well? My Q5 Evo also only is locked to 60hz and you can't select a list of refresh rate. I suspect there is some lock at the bios side that is preventing the change.
can try 3rd party software like CRU but do it at your own risk
ZM Fong
post Sep 21 2020, 02:13 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(fat cat @ Sep 20 2020, 07:42 AM)
if anyone is suffering from thermal throttling follow this video:

wwz was really raping my cpu even using vulkan so i was constantly dropping framerate..reason was cpu kept downclocking due to throttle.

now i don't suffer any dropped frames.

i did -150mv and now cpu never goes above 90 c during gaming.
lowering clock speed and power limits don't solve the original problem...
ZM Fong
post Sep 28 2020, 04:31 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Sep 28 2020, 04:05 PM)
Between Onyx and Onyx V, which one has a better screen in terms of colours & nits?
if you choose the 144Hz high sRGB panel I guess it will be around the same
ZM Fong
post Dec 21 2020, 11:06 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Dec 20 2020, 09:57 PM)
anyone got issue when watching youtube or music video/video while you are surfing and then the music stuck with "tak" sound (less than 1 sec) - like you are running heavy program background and sometimes overloaded and you will get such "tak" tak.....

Update:
I think I found out how the problem is....

If I closed my firefox and only watch the video, the video is smooth.

If I opened firefox and surfing, then I will get such stuck

This shows something is not powerful and like old notebook...

Can return?
try updating Radeon iGPU driver, either from illegear/tongfang or from AMD (general driver might or might not work well)

disable hardware acceleration in firefox, try force firefox to run with dGPU

6 Pages « < 4 5 6Top

0.0730sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 02:46 PM