39 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Bottom

My Movie Review Thread V3, Got a movie to review ? post it here !

Veteran director Martin Scorsese recently criticised review aggregator websites for pushing the idea that "every image is there to be instantly judged and dismissed without giving audiences time to see it." Do reviews online reduce value of cine

Judgement is fast in the social media age and film-makers should get used to it. [ 20 ] ** [27.40%]
Reviewing a movie should be left to experts. [ 7 ] ** [9.59%]
Viewers take their own decisions irrespective of quick reviews. [ 46 ] ** [63.01%]
Total Votes: 73
Guests cannot vote 

6so
post Jan 25 2022, 10:17 PM

135 posts

This is my least favourite Wes Anderson movie. It's more of an anthology rather than one cohesive narrative. Four random quirky tales that goes nowhere. Lea Seydoux fanboys will be very happy as you get to see her glorious birthday suit more than one occasion. Her segment with Benicio Del Toro is the better told storyline amongst all.

This post has been edited by 6so: Jan 25 2022, 10:18 PM
Mickey C
post Feb 3 2022, 05:46 PM

616 posts

New Kung Fu Cult Master 1 (2022) - I watched pretty girls only.. haha
White Snake 2: Green Snake (2021) - another awesome animated movie... thumbup.gif
One Shot (2021) - good action movie.... thumbup.gif

skylinelover
post Feb 3 2022, 08:16 PM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,245 posts

Today CNY movie special is great

Today GSC 3 movies

Tomorrow gonna GSC 3 more movies

laugh.gif laugh.gif
Mov_freak
post Feb 3 2022, 08:46 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(Mickey C @ Feb 3 2022, 05:46 PM)
New Kung Fu Cult Master 1 (2022) - I watched pretty girls only.. haha
White Snake 2: Green Snake (2021) - another awesome animated movie...  thumbup.gif
One Shot (2021) - good action movie.... thumbup.gif
>New Kung Fu Cult Master 1 (2022) - I watched pretty girls only.. haha
Honestly, the actresses all look the same to me...I had great difficulty telling them apart... Does this mean... I... need... glasses!?! cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

>White Snake 2: Green Snake (2021) - another awesome animated movie... thumbup.gif
Agreed. Though I prefer part 1 better

>One Shot (2021) - good action movie.... thumbup.gif
Not sure about this one. I am actually looking forward to Jack Reacher TV series. Wonder if they will adapt the One Shot book again, since Tom had made it into a movie
skylinelover
post Feb 4 2022, 11:03 AM

11,245 posts

Ah Girls Go Army funny sia

Reunion Dinner more funny sia

Nasi Lemak 1.0 typical namewee unorthodox shooting not my cup of tea

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
r2t2
post Feb 16 2022, 05:17 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Feb 3 2022, 08:46 PM)
Not sure about this one. I am actually looking forward to Jack Reacher TV series. Wonder if they will adapt the One Shot book again, since Tom had made it into a movie
I find Reacher TV series (binge watchable) more memorable than Tom Cruise's Jack Reacher 1 & 2.

The detective deduction angle was emphasized more (almost Sherlock Holmes level biggrin.gif ), and the fighting skills seem more 'threatening' since TV Jack Reacher physical body size matches his claim of can finish an ordinary man in 10 seconds. His 'anti-social' personality is brought forward more than Tom Cruise's portrayal.
skylinelover
post Feb 17 2022, 10:44 AM

11,245 posts

QUOTE(r2t2 @ Feb 16 2022, 05:17 PM)
I find Reacher TV series (binge watchable) more memorable than Tom Cruise's Jack Reacher 1 & 2.

The detective deduction angle was emphasized more (almost Sherlock Holmes level  biggrin.gif ), and the fighting skills seem more 'threatening' since TV Jack Reacher physical body size matches his claim of can finish an ordinary man in 10 seconds.  His 'anti-social' personality is brought forward more than Tom Cruise's portrayal.
Is this very realistic ala Jason Bourne laugh.gif icon_idea.gif
Mickey C
post Feb 19 2022, 05:04 PM

616 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Feb 3 2022, 08:46 PM)

Honestly, the actresses all look the same to me...I had great difficulty telling them apart... Does this mean... I... need... glasses!?!  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
> I look for part 2. continue watch the beautiful actresses...

Agreed. Though I prefer part 1 better
> me too...

> seldom watch TV series.. but I watched Jack Bauer instead of Jack Reacher... haha....

Mickey C
post Feb 19 2022, 05:11 PM

616 posts

Marry Me (2022) - I think their marriage won't last.. biggrin.gif
Last Night in Soho (2021)- pretty good horror movie.. this movie remind me of The Six Sense.
Old (2021) - lately M. Night Shyamalan didn't produce any good horror movie... anyway Old is not that bad after all....
Sara (2014) - good performance by Charlene Choi, she pushed her limit to her daring performance. We knew, this is not true story, but i believed in real society this story will happen. An emotional drama not a funny movie. cry.gif
The Lady Improper (2019) Inspired by true story... When husband & wife doesn't enjoy sex, these is what will happen.. pity the husband... cry.gif
Venom: Let There Be Carnage (2021) - Good & fun to watch. My sub working perfectly for this one.. I loved it..

This post has been edited by Mickey C: Feb 27 2022, 04:40 PM
skylinelover
post Feb 22 2022, 11:50 AM

11,245 posts

QUOTE(Mickey C @ Feb 19 2022, 05:11 PM)
Marry Me (2022) - I think their marriage won't last..  biggrin.gif
Haha this JLo no longer the JLo i like laugh.gif

Selina by JLo 1996 movie still her best ever easily
Mov_freak
post Feb 23 2022, 11:05 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Uncharted (2022)

Tom Holland is the "IT" star now.

Him and Timothée Chalamet.

They both seem like decent people.

Where I have seen Timothée Chalamet in Little Women and Dune, and he seems to be able to carry his different roles and the audience buys it, I have a feeling that at this point in time Tom Holland may not shine outside of Spider-man...

The same may be said about Mark Wahlberg, I don't really think I appreciate him outside of The Big Hit and Four Brothers...

I think most of you can feel where I am going with this...

This movie cost Sony, USD 120,000,000.

They may make that money back.

What do I think about the movie?

Supposedly Tom proposed a Junior James Bond movie to Sony, where he plays Junior and Sony counter offered this movie instead...

I have never played the game, so I am strictly looking at this as a movie.

The Pro

High production value

Great Effects

Quite action packed

The Con

For a "bro" movie and chemistry between Tom Holland and Mark Wahlberg is actually quite flat

Antonio Banderas is in this movie...because why?

The movie tried to be Indiana Jones, James Bond, National Treasure, The Goonies??? and not really creating it's own identity. Really a shame...

The Ugly

The script is SOOOOoooooooooooooo Hollywood Cliche. Seriously....

In short, this movie did NOT blow me away...

I actually was thinking about what food to have after the movie at the last half hour of the movie.....

With the above, is My Two Sen.

Mov_freak
post Feb 23 2022, 11:41 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Death on the Nile (2022)

I love Kenneth Branagh's Murder on the Orient Express (2017). I have a feeling that Kenneth had more prep time figuring out all the scenes he wanted in that movie.

I love the opening scene for Death on the Nile. 1914 Hercule's time in the Belgium army during WWI. Hercule back story was well done. (it explains his... moustache)

After that things started to get a little shaky.

Hollywood movies have this fear of seeming "not American" and I believe that could be why there is so much Blues music in this really dark storyline movie...

Gal Gadot plays Linnet Ridgeway and very VERY wealthy English Heiress. So from an audience point of view, shoving so much blue downmy throat... was a little odd...

Alot of characters from the book was axed or amalgamated into one character, so they can keep the casting cost down? (This movie has a budget is USD 90,000,000.

There really are some weird casting choices. Russell Brand as an aristocratic doctor?

I believe the biggest issue I had with this movie is Tom Bateman's lovable character Bouc, replaces the books's character Tim Allerton who is under his mother's thumb.

He was so lovable in Oriental Express that what happens to him was appalling...

I have watch the 1978 movie and after this movie, I have a feeling I liked that alot more then this. It was more true to Agathe's novel.

The world had gone through alot this two years, do we really need so grim a movie?

For me, no...

A shame, it is a gorgeous looking movie.

My Two Sen
6so
post Feb 24 2022, 08:32 AM

135 posts

Uncharted is a soul less movie. None of it did right to the much beloved video game counterpart. Tom Holland forgot he is not in a Spider-man movie. Sully not supposed to be a beef cake like Mark Wahlberg. Just approprating the MCU BS here instead of riffing what Naughty Dog did to the game. A very forgettable watch with terrible casting.
Mickey C
post Feb 24 2022, 03:58 PM

616 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Feb 22 2022, 11:50 AM)
Haha this JLo no longer the JLo i like laugh.gif

Selina by JLo 1996 movie still her best ever easily
you see, you also don't like her anymore...
skylinelover
post Feb 24 2022, 07:52 PM

11,245 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Feb 23 2022, 11:05 PM)
Uncharted (2022)

Tom Holland is the "IT" star now.

Him and Timothée Chalamet.

They both seem like decent people.

Where I have seen Timothée Chalamet in Little Women and Dune, and he seems to be able to carry his different roles and the audience buys it, I have a feeling that at this point in time Tom Holland may not shine outside of Spider-man...

The same may be  said about Mark Wahlberg, I don't really think I appreciate him outside of The Big Hit and Four Brothers...

I think most of you can feel where I am going with this...

This movie cost Sony, USD 120,000,000.

They may make that money back.

What do I think about the movie?

Supposedly Tom proposed a Junior James Bond movie to Sony, where he plays Junior and Sony counter offered this movie instead...

I have never played the game, so I am strictly looking at this as a movie.

The Pro

High production value

Great Effects

Quite action packed

The Con

For a "bro" movie and chemistry between Tom Holland and Mark Wahlberg is actually quite flat

Antonio Banderas is in this movie...because why?

The movie tried to be Indiana Jones, James Bond, National Treasure, The Goonies??? and not really creating it's own identity. Really a shame...

The Ugly

The script is SOOOOoooooooooooooo Hollywood Cliche. Seriously....

In short, this movie did NOT blow me away...

I actually was thinking about what food to have after the movie at the last half hour of the movie.....

With the above, is My Two Sen.
Haha The Big Hit is like how NKOTB took over last half of the 80s with Donnie Wahlberg laugh.gif rclxms.gif
Mov_freak
post Feb 24 2022, 10:01 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Feb 24 2022, 07:52 PM)
Haha The Big Hit is like how NKOTB took over last half of the 80s with Donnie Wahlberg laugh.gif rclxms.gif
Well he was much MUCH better compared with his Debut... FEAR!!! Calling him plastic there is an insult to Ken dolls... GROAN
GravityFi3ld
post Feb 25 2022, 03:43 PM

Nick Fury's Night Fury
912 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Feb 24 2022, 07:52 PM)
I can only ever remember him from his role as Carwood Lipton, from the HBO series Band of Brothers laugh.gif
6so
post Feb 25 2022, 04:38 PM

135 posts

Nightmare Alley - it's beautifully put together and a forgotten genre just like Crimson Peak. Don't think this will capture the crowd's attention as the storyline is something already played out over and over in other films. Performance of the cast is above average but ultimately not enough to make this a standout. The core message is when you start to believe in lies you tell, there's a price to pay. It's from him picking a mentalist skill where he con his way up to high society. His hubris and greed just got him deeper into spinning bigger lies until unmitigated tragedy came looking. He lost everything and became the one thing that he despised.
skylinelover
post Feb 26 2022, 02:10 PM

11,245 posts

QUOTE(6so @ Feb 25 2022, 04:38 PM)

Nightmare Alley - it's beautifully put together and a forgotten genre just like Crimson Peak. Don't think this will capture the crowd's attention as the storyline is something already played out over and over in other films. Performance of the cast is above average but ultimately not enough to make this a standout. The core message is when you start to believe in lies you tell, there's a price to pay. It's from him picking a mentalist skill where he con his way up to high society. His hubris and greed just got him deeper into spinning bigger lies until unmitigated tragedy came looking. He lost everything and became the one thing that he despised.
G del toro finest ever

I rooting it winning best picture and director

Haha laugh.gif rclxms.gif
6so
post Feb 26 2022, 02:36 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Feb 26 2022, 03:10 PM)
G del toro finest ever

I rooting it winning best picture and director

Haha laugh.gif rclxms.gif
Don't think he will get anything. The hype is on Jane Campion's Power of Dog and snobbish critics are head over heels on Drive My Car. Branagh's Belfast could be the white knight. Worst case is Paul Thomas Anderson who is the next white whale that haven't won an Oscar for best director. A sympathy win.

39 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.0539sec    0.56    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 01:23 PM