39 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Bottom

My Movie Review Thread V3, Got a movie to review ? post it here !

Veteran director Martin Scorsese recently criticised review aggregator websites for pushing the idea that "every image is there to be instantly judged and dismissed without giving audiences time to see it." Do reviews online reduce value of cine

Judgement is fast in the social media age and film-makers should get used to it. [ 20 ] ** [27.40%]
Reviewing a movie should be left to experts. [ 7 ] ** [9.59%]
Viewers take their own decisions irrespective of quick reviews. [ 46 ] ** [63.01%]
Total Votes: 73
Guests cannot vote 

skylinelover
post Oct 25 2021, 11:11 AM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,248 posts

this may be the last HK action ever

this may be an end of an era for HK cinema all together

cry.gif cry.gif 90s HK police movie will never be forgotten again bye.gif bye.gif
Mov_freak
post Oct 29 2021, 02:44 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

A Quiet Place 2 (2021)

This is how sequels should always strive for...

Expanse the movie's universe.

We find out what happens to the Abbots family.

Emily Blunt is always great

John Krasinski I like as a director

Millicent Simmonds flexes her acting skills.

So did Noah Jupe.

Cillian Murphy remains me of Cillian Murphy in 28 days later...

So, in short I love the casting.

The storyline is strong.

Yes, we get more of the Aliens!

Watch this if you like the first and want more.

If you have not watch the first movie, why not?

Go watch that. Enjoy. Then go watch this.

My Two Sen
6so
post Nov 1 2021, 08:01 AM

135 posts

It's safe to say Edgar Wright has joined Ridley Scott club. Capable auteur who regularly puts out interesting movies that fall short. In my eyes, the last good movie he puts out was Scott Pilgrim. A fan of his unique signature but he really don't close his movies well ever since The World's End. Last Night in Soho has a strong 1st act with very imaginative cinematography. The problem lies in blending multiple genre plotlines that really don't gel together. So many conflicting themes within one movie, supernatural, psychological, #metoo, horror, etc... I got a sense he is aiming for Bong Joon Ho style of filmmaking. Sadly this not it. As usual awesome soundtracks with strong casting. Fans of Anya Taylor Joy will be disappointed as she is more of a supporting role while Thomasin MacKenzie carries the movie. Strictly for Edgar Wright fans.
skylinelover
post Nov 4 2021, 09:26 AM

11,248 posts

its eternals time yoh laugh.gif rclxm9.gif
defaultname365
post Nov 5 2021, 10:19 PM

Windows® 8.1 | Xbox 360™ | PlayStation® 4
1,098 posts

Alamak, 50% on RT for Eternals... I'd rather see Shang Chi at this point (haven't seen it, streaming coming way sooner than I thought Nov 12).

Eternals set to be the lowest rated MCU film but fans seem to like it way more.
ChessRook
post Nov 7 2021, 08:25 AM

375 posts

QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Nov 5 2021, 10:19 PM)
Alamak, 50% on RT for Eternals... I'd rather see Shang Chi at this point (haven't seen it, streaming coming way sooner than I thought Nov 12).

Eternals set to be the lowest rated MCU film but fans seem to like it way more.
What is wrong with eternals? I am wondering whether it is worth to spend money and take the covid risk to watch in cinema?
Mov_freak
post Nov 7 2021, 04:50 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Eternals (2021)

Can Marvel do no wrong, in terms of the Marvel Cinema Universe?

Based on the word out there, yes. Yes it can.

Long story short, I think there are casting issues.

Jack Kirby's universe is... cosmic.

So while Marvels movies characters are Bigger Then Life in the movies very rarely are they cosmic (I think Ego was the closest they come to anything near the Cosmic level necessary) I not sure director Chloé Zhao, hit the nail on the head with this one.

They marketed this movie one way and when the viewers go and watch it, it came out the other way... Let me describe it this way, if you crave pizza and you favorite pizza place is not open and you had Chinese food instead. No matter how great the Chinese food is, you are still disappointed you did not get pizza!

This is the best analogue I can think of describing this situation.

It is not a bad Marvel movie.

Alot of resource had been put into the casting, the script and production. They show.

I think some mistake had been made in the marketing and casting....

If you can get pass that, you will enjoy the movie better...

I hope this review makes sense... laugh.gif

My Two Sen

P.S. There are two end credit scenes.

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Nov 7 2021, 10:01 PM
greyshadow
post Nov 15 2021, 12:30 PM

I bleed it out, Diggin' deeper just to throw it away!
1,844 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Sep 24 2021, 09:48 PM)
Haha same with Malignant

Easily James Wan weakest ever

rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
QUOTE(cooldude17 @ Sep 25 2021, 01:20 PM)
Strange , I kind of felt Malignant is entertaining.
Finally caught it over the weekend on HBO

Not too bad, but I can predict the story miles away before the big reveal near the end
maybe it's the title and the early scenes that has revealed too much laugh.gif

Entertaining, but aint his best nor the worst wink.gif
6so
post Nov 15 2021, 03:59 PM

135 posts

The new king of horror is Mike Flanagan. It seems anything he touches became critically praised. I was very impressed with Midnight Mass and Doctor Sleep also pretty good. Even Stephen King endorsed him. The James Wan era has ended.
skylinelover
post Nov 16 2021, 10:05 AM

11,248 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Nov 7 2021, 04:50 PM)

Eternals (2021)

Can Marvel do no wrong, in terms of the Marvel Cinema Universe?

Based on the word out there, yes. Yes it can.

Long story short, I think there are casting issues.

Jack Kirby's universe is... cosmic.

So while Marvels movies characters are Bigger Then Life in the movies very rarely are they cosmic (I think Ego was the closest they come to anything near the Cosmic level necessary) I not sure director Chloé Zhao, hit the nail on the head with this one.

They marketed this movie one way and when the viewers go and watch it, it came out the other way... Let me describe it this way, if you crave pizza and you favorite pizza place is not open and you had Chinese food instead. No matter how great the Chinese food is, you are still disappointed you did not get pizza!

This is the best analogue I can think of describing this situation.

It is not a bad Marvel movie.

Alot of resource had been put into the casting, the script and production. They show.

I think some mistake had been made in the marketing and casting....

If you can get pass that, you will enjoy the movie better...

I hope this review makes sense... laugh.gif

My Two Sen

P.S. There are two end credit scenes.
I watch for what it is

Not expecting Winter Soldier type action which deflated a lot of purists

Hence the low rating

laugh.gif laugh.gif
Mov_freak
post Nov 25 2021, 09:21 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

No Time to Die (2021)

What a rollercoster.

The pandemic.

The multiple postponement of the release date of this movie.

The sale of MGM to Amazon.

The announcement that this is Daniel Craig last outing as James Bond.

As I said, a rollercoster...

The movie intrigues you the first few minutes.

It then gives you a breather...

It segue ways to to a cemetery (in Italy) grabs you and not let go for quite awhile

Almost 30 minutes in, the BOND theme plays!

shocking.gif

How can one not LIKE this movie.

Okay okay Ana de Armas's Paloma could have more screen time.

I never got into the winter and spring relationship between James Bond and Léa Seydoux's Madeleine.

Over all, I did like this movie.

The arch of Daniel Craig's James Bond is the most congruent by far and I for one is very appreciative of that.

Is this a perfect movie?

No.

It is very entertaining.

Is that not what we for to the cinemas for.

To be entertained.

As always, this is JUST My Two Sen.
skylinelover
post Nov 25 2021, 10:30 PM

11,248 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Nov 25 2021, 09:21 PM)

No Time to Die (2021)

What a rollercoster.

The pandemic.

The multiple postponement of the release date of this movie.

The sale of MGM to Amazon.

The announcement that this is Daniel Craig last outing as James Bond.

As I said, a rollercoster...

The movie intrigues you the first few minutes.

It then gives you a breather...

It segue ways to to a cemetery (in Italy) grabs you and not let go for quite awhile

Almost 30 minutes in, the BOND theme plays!

shocking.gif

How can one not LIKE this movie.

Okay okay Ana de Armas's Paloma could have more screen time.

I never got into the winter and spring relationship between James Bond and Léa Seydoux's Madeleine.

Over all, I did like this movie.

The arch of Daniel Craig's James Bond is the most congruent by far and I for one is very appreciative of that.

Is this a perfect movie?

No.

It is very entertaining.

Is that not what we for to the cinemas for.

To be entertained.

As always, this is JUST My Two Sen.
And the plot somewhat related with covid

Scary rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

Hence they refuse 2 aired in 2020 till October 2021 US releases

6so
post Dec 2 2021, 01:52 PM

135 posts

The Last Duel - Medievel MeToo. Again my expectations was low going in simply because it's directed by Ridley Scott. Not sure if the Rashomon narrative is well played here. Ultimately it doesn't do justice to the messaging. I get it, terrible male chauvinism existed since the dawn of time and society was governed by these assholes. Just that the final duel doesn't elevate the conversation. Maybe this story appeal more to US political climate with leader of the free world still passing legislation to ban abortion in Texas. Guess humanity didn't change one bit since the ancient society. The only one tiny redeeming aspect of the movie is Jodie Comer. She carries the movie but unfortunatel it doesn't come together as a competent movie. Ben Affleck and Matt Damon as the official screenwriter just all over hype nonsense.
Mov_freak
post Dec 8 2021, 10:09 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Ghostbusters: Afterlife (2021)

Ironically, with this title this movie had been in development hell for decades....

I will only mention the abomination 2016 reboot in this sentence and no more...

The positive

1). If you want a good example of "woman" empowerment the character Phoebe Spengler is it. Emphasis on her strength (she is really smart) and she need not put "guys" in their place...

2). Some parts of the script works beautifully

3). Logan Kim

The negative

1). This movie is WAY over due... If made a decade or two earlier, we could have more Ghostbusters movies...

2). Gary Grooberson (play by Paul Rudd and sexiest man alive) character is pretty... meh (eg could have easily be played by anyone...)

3). Some parts of the script

When the end happens... it was worth the money I paid for the ticket

My Two Sen
skylinelover
post Dec 13 2021, 09:05 AM

11,248 posts

QUOTE(6so @ Dec 2 2021, 01:52 PM)
The Last Duel - Medievel MeToo. Again my expectations was low going in simply because it's directed by Ridley Scott. Not sure if the Rashomon narrative is well played here. Ultimately it doesn't do justice to the messaging. I get it, terrible male chauvinism existed since the dawn of time and society was governed by these assholes. Just that the final duel doesn't elevate the conversation. Maybe this story appeal more to US political climate with leader of the free world still passing legislation to ban abortion in Texas. Guess humanity didn't change one bit since the ancient society. The only one tiny redeeming aspect of the movie is Jodie Comer. She carries the movie but unfortunatel it doesn't come together as a competent movie. Ben Affleck and Matt Damon as the official screenwriter just all over hype nonsense.
Do you like review House of Gucci laugh.gif laugh.gif

Rarely Scott does 2 mega hits in a year hahahaha
Mov_freak
post Dec 15 2021, 12:15 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

West Side Story (2021)

Many a people will throw the tragic tales of Romeo and Juliet while watching this musical movie.

And they will not be wrong.

What not many people will know is that William Shakespeare was above plagiarizing good stuff, namely the Greek tragedy Pyramus and Thisbe.

Everyone knows Hollywood copies stuff, shamelessly.

Grease is another variation of Romeo and Juliet.

Even this year's In The Heights to some extend is a very modern retelling of Romeo and Juliet!!!

I have watched West Side Story (1961) when a remaster was done for it's bluray release. Before that movie I believe it was successful Broadway show.

The 1961 movie is considered very definitive. Why would Steven Spielberg do a remake?

The best I can figure is updated sound design and camera work.

This movie is beautifully shot and recorded.

The cast is quite perfect.

My one concern about the casting is Ansel Elgort.

I am not going into his alleged sexual misconduct.

He basically plays two roles here, Tony (Anton) the mister perfect for Maria and Tony the leader of The Jets. The Jets is what can be describe as "white supremacy" gang something we maybe more familiar in modern context.

I feels that he plays the lover role better than the fighter role here. Just my opinion.

Musical is par excellent.

Sets are amazing.

This movie is NOT for everyone.

If you like musical, go for it (Eg. this is WAY better compared to Weber's movie Phantom of the Opera)

My Two Sen
Mov_freak
post Dec 16 2021, 08:49 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Spider-Man: No Way Home (2021)

I braved the cinema (again).

And for what?

For you kiddies, for you...

This is Tom Holland's most Spidey movie to date.

Not that it ignore the MCU, far from it and have to add, Spiderman storyline tend to reflect the hardship everyday life and this have that is spades (bring tissues folks, Trust me, bring tissues).

Storyline wise, we really do not know what is going to happen to Spidey's outing in MCU (eg Sony and Marvel's co-operation contract ends with this movie (or does it)?

From a storyline point of view they left it quite open ended so if the power that be decides more is required (eg why kill a golden goose), they can

The storyline even resolves some "issues" from Tobey and Andrew's Spiderman movies.

They multi tasked like crazy here... laugh.gif

This movie will make a tonne of money. No doubt.

If that happens the sky is the limit for Spiderman materials in multiple shape and form.

There are two short clips in the end credit, the second right at the end is substantial.

I enjoyed this movie immensely.

I did not have excess to an IMAX cinema at this point in time (I currently live in Sleepy Hollow)

I would have choose to watch this in IMAX is that was available to me.

As always, My Two Sen
skylinelover
post Dec 18 2021, 11:48 AM

11,248 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Dec 16 2021, 08:49 PM)
Spider-Man: No Way Home (2021)

I braved the cinema (again).

And for what?

For you kiddies, for you...

This is Tom Holland's most Spidey movie to date.

Not that it ignore the MCU, far from it and have to add, Spiderman storyline tend to reflect the hardship everyday life and this have that is spades (bring tissues folks, Trust me, bring tissues).

Storyline wise, we really do not know what is going to happen to Spidey's outing in MCU (eg Sony and Marvel's co-operation contract ends with this movie (or does it)?

From a storyline point of view they left it quite open ended so if the power that be decides more is required (eg why kill a golden goose), they can

The storyline even resolves some "issues" from Tobey and Andrew's Spiderman movies.

They multi tasked like crazy here... laugh.gif

This movie will make a tonne of money. No doubt.

If that happens the sky is the limit for Spiderman materials in multiple shape and form.

There are two short clips in the end credit, the second right at the end is substantial.

I enjoyed this movie immensely.

I did not have excess to an IMAX cinema at this point in time (I currently live in Sleepy Hollow)

I would have choose to watch this in IMAX is that was available to me.

As always, My Two Sen
this will be catch of 2021 even better than 2020 TENET laugh.gif rclxms.gif
Mov_freak
post Dec 18 2021, 02:31 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Dec 18 2021, 11:48 AM)
this will be catch of 2021 even better than 2020 TENET laugh.gif rclxms.gif
Or Dune

Tenet is still "controversial" to date though...
Mov_freak
post Dec 23 2021, 03:02 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Matrix 4

Spec-turd-cular!

My two sen

39 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Top

0.0667sec    0.79    8 queries    GZIP Disabled