12 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 >Bottom

My Movie Review Thread V3, Got a movie to review ? post it here !

Veteran director Martin Scorsese recently criticised review aggregator websites for pushing the idea that "every image is there to be instantly judged and dismissed without giving audiences time to see it." Do reviews online reduce value of cine

Judgement is fast in the social media age and film-makers should get used to it. [ 20 ] ** [27.40%]
Reviewing a movie should be left to experts. [ 7 ] ** [9.59%]
Viewers take their own decisions irrespective of quick reviews. [ 46 ] ** [63.01%]
Total Votes: 73
Guests cannot vote 

skylinelover
post May 8 2024, 10:24 PM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,248 posts

RiP summer console.gif console.gif

big pressure for kingdom apes this weekend drool.gif rclxm9.gif
skylinelover
post May 14 2024, 07:35 AM

11,248 posts

QUOTE(6so @ May 12 2024, 11:33 AM)
The Ministry of Ungentlemanly Warfare - This is Guy Richie version of Dirty Dozen. Ok watch and just don't expect this is anything new. Just turn off your brain and see some glorified Nazi dying on screen. Bare minimum it's not offensively boring or stupid.
Haha line up us great with 2 Henrys laugh.gif

Too bad this will only be streaming worthy title just like most originals laugh.gif

Even that spiderman babe movie "challengers" only got 1 slot in my area laugh.gif

A listers dont sell anymore Only the IP sells icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif
skylinelover
post May 21 2024, 09:48 PM

11,248 posts

QUOTE(6so @ May 18 2024, 09:25 AM)

Twilight of the Warriors: Walked In - I was surprised this HK movie is very watchable. It's an adaptation of a Manhua, so you have exaggerated kungfu action set pieces and larger than life characterisations. Soi Cheang did well without making things too cartoonish and effective world building elements. It does gives you the feeling of reading a Manhua.This is way better than the old Dragon Tiger Gate starring Donnie Yen, another Manhua movie. Also you can see the four protagonist basically new actors, perhaps ushering the next wave of HK action stars. Good watch.
Haha yesh

With Sammo here

I think its a sign of passing the action torch i guess laugh.gif laugh.gif
skylinelover
post May 26 2024, 03:33 PM

11,248 posts

QUOTE(defaultname365 @ May 26 2024, 02:12 AM)
Kingdom of the Planet of the Apes (2024)

Watched it a week ago. I thought the reboot trilogy ended beautifully and there was no more story to tell. It's a brilliant idea to do a time jump. Overall, I feel they have gotten the formula right with this (supposedly) reboot sequel trilogy.
The CGI still holds up really well (nothing groundbreaking but still stellar), with mo-cap performances that Andy Serkis would be proud of and most importantly a story that is worth telling. Highly recommended if you love the reboot trilogy
and can't get enough of the apes. Some pacing issues but not a big deal as the story holds up beautifully right until the end.

8/10
Furiosa: A Mad Max Saga (2024)

What a lovely day prequel! Anya Taylor-Joy and Chris Hemsworth performances are nothing short of extraordinary. It's a very worthy prequel to Fury Road. The action sequences and stunts were as good as Fury Road. However, I must say,
you might be wondering "why" and "what" if you didn't watch Fury Road. There's way too many references, callbacks and backstory that lays down the trajectory for Fury Road. You will still enjoy it, but you would not be able to truly appreciate it
without seeing Fury Road. Overall, for me, this is one of the best movies of the year I've seen, and I watched it on IMAX (I can't recall when was the last movie I watched on IMAX to be honest... probably pre-pandemic) and it was truly memorable.
It's a revenge story set in the wastelands with non-stop chase sequences and vehicular combat. George Miller has done it again though I will still say that Fury Road gets my vote over which is "better" (this is a prequel so comparing
the two may not be entirely fair to be honest). No noticeable footage was cut for Malaysian audiences, but some artwork being blocked out, no biggie. I think it's worth watching on IMAX, to me it was worth the ticket admission. Do I feel the urge to rewatch it again?
Probably not. Fury Road... I watched 3 times back in 2015; once on IMAX, second time on D-Box, and third on regular, and remains one of the best action movies ever made.  cool2.gif

9/10
No to apes

Yay to furiosa

Haha

Also i already catch 2 times laugh.gif rclxms.gif

1 imax 1 4dx
skylinelover
post May 31 2024, 09:38 AM

11,248 posts

QUOTE(GravityFi3ld @ May 29 2024, 01:12 PM)
which would you recommend, to go for it in imax or 4dx?  notworthy.gif
4DX roller coaster

IMAX visual feasting your eyes

Pick which type of fun you like then

laugh.gif rclxm9.gif
skylinelover
post Jun 18 2024, 08:42 AM

11,248 posts

QUOTE(6so @ Jun 18 2024, 07:09 AM)

Boy Kills World - Like Monkey Man this is a breakout role for Bill Skarsgard as an unlikely action star. I really like the frantic and wacky premise. Shut off your brain and take in all the blood spatter gore. It's entertaining.
Haha watch his training montage

Is more bad ass than he in the movie itself

laugh.gif Good 2 see an unfrench Bill speaking 4 a change laugh.gif

I still cant erase off my head Bill speaking the perfect French accent sweat.gif sweat.gif
skylinelover
post Jul 2 2024, 10:25 AM

11,248 posts

We finally got $1 billion hit for 2024 yo laugh.gif

What the long wait but its worth the long wait rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by skylinelover: Jul 2 2024, 10:26 AM
skylinelover
post Jul 19 2024, 09:58 AM

11,248 posts

Twisters or Marvel D vs W anyone? Haha! laugh.gif rclxms.gif Welcome 2 the peak of blockbuster season. laugh.gif rclxms.gif
skylinelover
post Jul 21 2024, 11:57 AM

11,248 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Jul 20 2024, 05:06 PM)
Twister (2024)

Hello kiddies.

How is everyone.

I watched this two days back and here's what I think.

Note the following

OST of Twister 1996

Talula (BT's Tornado Mix) - Tori Amos
Motherless Child - Eric Clapton
Darling Pretty - Mark Knopfler
Twisted - Stevie Nicks and Lindsey Buckingham
Melancholy Mechanics - Red Hot Chili Peppers
She Ain't Coming Back - Joe Diffie
Virtual Reality - Rusted Root
No One Needs to Know - Shania Twain
Child in Time - Deep Purple
Oklahoma - Richard Rodgers and Oscar Hammerstein II
Long Way Down - Goo Goo Dolls
Miss This - Soul Asylum
Broken - Belly
See the Sky Again - Edwin McCain
Humans Being - Van Halen
How - Lisa Loeb & Nine Stories
Moments Like This - Alison Krauss & Union Station
De Natura Sonoris No. 1 - Krzysztof Penderecki
Love Affair - K.D. Lang
Respect The Wind - Edward Van Halen (as Edward) and Alex Van Halen

OST of Twisters 2024

Salio el sol - Don Omar
Never Left Me - Megan Moroney
Death Wish Love - Benson Boone
Ain't No Love in Oklahoma - Luke Combs
Chasing The Wind - Lanie Gardner
Arkansas - Chris Stapleton
(Ghost) Riders in the Sky - Charley Crockett
Wall of Death - Wilderado, Ken Pomeroy & James McAlister
Song While You're Away - Tyler Childers
Hell or High Water - Bailey Zimmerman
Too Easy - Tanner Adell
Dead End Road - Jelly Roll
Feelin' Country - Thomas Rhett
The Cards I've Been Dealt - Warren Zeiders
Boots Don't - Shania Twain & Breland
Country Classic - Kane Brown
Out of Oklahoma - Lainey Wilson
Chrome Cowgirl - Leon Bridges
Steal My Thunder - Conner Smith
Already Had It - Tucker Wetmore
Tear Us Apart - Sam Barber
Run Horse Run - Charley Crockett
Ain't in Kansas Anymore - Miranda Lambert
Leave the Light On - Jelly Roll feat. Alexandra Kay

Do you see it?

The original Twister was targeted at everyone.

This new one seems to be more narrow in terms of it's target audience...

One surprise was to see David Corenswet (that's right, the next Superman). I have to say he probably was getting ready for the said role while he was filming this and have to say he does look jacked. I think it is a risk for him to be in this because he does not play a nice guy...

With all the special effects what this movie really forgot is, how to make the movie fun.

I had the opportunity to watch the original recently and that movie was fun.

Overall the new one can be entertaining.

Definitely outside of Dune 2 this is one of the better movie this year.

My Two Sen.
RiP Bill Paxton 2017

The lead of 1996 version

Helen Hunt still alive in 2024

Just that she no longer the top bill in 21st century laugh.gif sweat.gif

I still cant buy the dynamics of Glen and Daisy unlike the 1996 version

This post has been edited by skylinelover: Jul 21 2024, 12:00 PM
skylinelover
post Jul 26 2024, 09:58 AM

11,248 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Jul 25 2024, 03:27 PM)
Deadpool & Wolverine (2024)

So...

This movie... defies explanation

The fact that ot got made, under the Disney banner boggles the minds.

Will it save the MCU?

We shall see.

Be warned, some dialogue is *beeped* by local censors because of vulgarity.

As for the movie (as in the actual image itself) I did not notice any cuts.

So...

Wolverine is in it as the title suggest

It also surprisingly have

Credit where credit is due, they do give credit to artist/writer like John Bryne and also a surprising homage to Stan Lee in the movie

So, is the movie violent? Yes, VERY!

Is it a worthy sequel to the first two movies? YES!!

So Marvel do more with the Fox Marvel characters? Oh gosh Yes, Yes, YES!!

My Two Sen

P.S. There is a POST Credit Scene.
Haha chun

I can live with *beep* not cuts laugh.gif rclxms.gif
skylinelover
post Oct 4 2024, 01:44 PM

11,248 posts

QUOTE(Mickey C @ Sep 17 2024, 02:13 PM)
Revolt (2017)
Kandahar (2023) -  thumbup.gif
The Pope's Exorcist (2023) -  thumbup.gif
Transformers One (2024) - Good good..
Scream (2022) -  :thumbsup:
Evil Dead Rise (2023) - gory movie..  tongue.gif
Knock at the Cabin (2023) - M. Night Shyamalan judgement day movie....
Warhorse One (2023) - slow pace action movie
Dont forget The Wild Robot

Also a surprise 10/10 package of 2024 laugh.gif rclxms.gif
skylinelover
post Oct 8 2024, 01:33 PM

11,248 posts

QUOTE(Pikichu @ Oct 6 2024, 05:46 PM)
AI robot tarzan right?
Haha yeah
skylinelover
post Nov 19 2024, 11:10 AM

11,248 posts

QUOTE(Mickey C @ Oct 6 2024, 04:07 PM)
All Quiet on the Western Front (2022) - Brilliant, brutal to watch...
The Forgotten Battle (2020) - another good & powerful war movie by Netflix
The Beekeeper (2024) - Jason Statham done it again...  thumbup.gif
Samson (2018) - not bad not bad
Venom: The Last Dance (2024) - Fun to watch, amazing rclxm9.gif
Extraction II (2023) - Super awesome. 5 stars for me thumbup.gif
Its literally 90s action but theme with relevant scam syndicate laugh.gif rclxms.gif

Would the movie be bigger hits alongside great Arnold Sylvester Bruce era in the 90s time

I think it would hahahaha Never imagined in my lifetime crime can be executed not face 2 face hohohoho
skylinelover
post Dec 11 2024, 09:16 AM

11,248 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Jul 25 2024, 03:27 PM)
Deadpool & Wolverine (2024)

So...

This movie... defies explanation

The fact that ot got made, under the Disney banner boggles the minds.

Will it save the MCU?

We shall see.

Be warned, some dialogue is *beeped* by local censors because of vulgarity.

As for the movie (as in the actual image itself) I did not notice any cuts.

So...

Wolverine is in it as the title suggest

It also surprisingly have

Credit where credit is due, they do give credit to artist/writer like John Bryne and also a surprising homage to Stan Lee in the movie

So, is the movie violent? Yes, VERY!

Is it a worthy sequel to the first two movies? YES!!

So Marvel do more with the Fox Marvel characters? Oh gosh Yes, Yes, YES!!

My Two Sen

P.S. There is a POST Credit Scene.
Dude!

You retired from movie review already?

sweat.gif
skylinelover
post Jan 10 2025, 04:48 PM

11,248 posts

typical January releases

Anyone up for that laugh.gif

Its a mash of 80s 90s action which some how traditionally always find its eyeballs in January only laugh.gif

Last 4 January we have :

Megan
Plane
Beekeeper
DoT 2 Pantera

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
skylinelover
post Feb 26 2025, 08:25 PM

11,248 posts

QUOTE(GravityFi3ld @ Feb 21 2025, 12:28 PM)
Den of Thieves 2 : Pantyhose eh silap, Pantera!
Been quite a while since last saw King Leonidas in a film  :lol2:
righty'o then, the opening sequence was quite interesting, from there onwards everything else is pretty much done and dusted heist recipe - nothing new, plot pun meh only  yawn.gif
decent showing from Ice Cube's kid, first time weh, steady bompipi la despite abit kayu facial expressions - and yay for that teeny weeny bit of screen time for Kelly Fonseca  rclxm9.gif
so yeah, nothing to shout about  whistling.gif

Hotpot Artist
ni memang rare ah, tgk filem btul btul cina punya, bukan yg jenis hong kong si andy lau or donnie darko yen  laugh.gif
this comedy is like a short version of what could have been a mini/short-tv series, found it pretty relevant to todays life/work expectations (at least to me) regardless of your bangsa/agama, life lessons are meant for all  notworthy.gif
not Stephen Chow level kind of gags but definitely had some good laughs :lol2:
1st Den heist still better hahahaha

I am very worried for Accountant 2 next

The first one already ended perfectly

The second one may kena the curse again laugh.gif laugh.gif
skylinelover
post Mar 16 2025, 09:08 PM

11,248 posts

QUOTE(GravityFi3ld @ Mar 13 2025, 12:23 PM)
Captain America : Berani Kerana Benar Brave New World
Apa yg gua sukak sama yini filem, manyak ngam if you've just finished watching Eternals.
Overall very, and I do mean VERY, try-hard by Disney/Marvel to sell Sam Wilson as Captain America, Anthony Mackie is quite literally trying his best.
Plot was meh, they tried to go the suspense/espionage route throwing some action here and there but doesn't quite stick - plenty of missed chances by underutilized actors/characters.
CGI pun adoi..at least SLIGHTLY better than SONY punya la, but still, what is happening weyh...
The dialogues pun no rasa, I mean, the words said are meant to provoke emotion/inspire but they can't deliver no matter how many times they tried (at least for me)  sweat.gif
Pretty disappointing outing for Karpman(the film composer) too, tarak ooomph sia  shakehead.gif
Just another film they dished out in order to build up to the next Avengers, if they ever do get there *ahem* KANG the KONK'ed-error404 not found :lol2:
Snow White got mega flak even before next week release

Expecting it 2 get worst result ever because of Rachel Zegler pro woke comments laugh.gif laugh.gif

Its gotta be the May window now for any movie 2 knock $150+ million opening😄😆

This post has been edited by skylinelover: Mar 16 2025, 09:10 PM
skylinelover
post Mar 19 2025, 11:51 AM

11,248 posts

QUOTE(GravityFi3ld @ Mar 17 2025, 11:28 AM)
Last Active 2nd April 2022 - 12:01 AM
so.. yeah..hope all is well for them in rl  icon_rolleyes.gif
well, with the hype going on with NeZha 2, thought I'd go check out the first one, 2019's NeZha
I mean, this itself is quite a statement for animation from China, even the company(ies) intros before the film were quite something, different yet interesting laugh.gif
kinda went into this with some "Journey to the West" plot kind of expectation but altho similar in some aspects, it is its own thing. Kids would enjoy it, slapstick comedy and dialogues, music is certainly refreshing (that chinese orchestra version of Bard Fiedel's terminator theme tho  :lol2: )
Mind you, this is the 2019 Nezha, so the bar is certainly set for NeZha2 and it seems they not only hit the mark but surpassed it as well - definitely looking forward to catching it soon :thumbsup:
And then there's Netflix's THE Electric State
IDK what is going on, but you kind of get a feeling the Russo brothers, Feige and Marvel casts are all so intertwined with one another, to the point everything they touch becomes so repetitive? familiar? copypasta?  sweat.gif
This film has TOO MUCH avenger-ish vibes. I swear even the composer was recycling Endgame's music into it, legit! I mean, that climax "battle" - good lord, 100% recycled stuff  rclxub.gif
Anthony Mackie and G.Esposito, again?! Really? C'mon! It might just be me, but re-using the same people and other similar elements so quickly back-to-back, very lethargic - macam dah kebas.
But I do like the idea of the film, which was adapted from a novel - so yea, the movie isn't my cup of tea, but I'll be grabbing the graphic novel!
Whatever can cash in milk in just do it laugh.gif laugh.gif

Just another Zack Snyder style of recycling of last year shakehead.gif shakehead.gif

I thought Russos will go different direction but dam i was wrong hahahaha

The Gosling vs Evans spy chase was quite a decent Russos flick but this one massive downgrade hohohoho

This post has been edited by skylinelover: Mar 19 2025, 11:52 AM
skylinelover
post Apr 24 2025, 03:40 PM

11,248 posts

As a general cinema goer i just heading to Thunderbolts laugh.gif Malaysia got early screening in next Wednesday from 6pm onward rclxms.gif
skylinelover
post Apr 26 2025, 02:46 PM

11,248 posts

QUOTE(6so @ Apr 24 2025, 04:37 PM)

Please watch this so it can become a franchise. The witty banter between Berthal and Affleck is very engaging. There are some literal funny sequence involving them bickering. The plot has enough depth to keep things moving and like John Wick it reveal little more how the accountant network come to be.
Haha i also watched Amateur already Also starring JB inside but as the bad guy😄😆

As much as i liked explosive action but Rami Malek being the nerd suits his style as geek who kills without the killer instinct laugh.gif laugh.gif

Sounds exactly like old school avenging wife killer vigilante except with more political layering sub plots🔥🔥

Do i want 2 watch it again like other action movies Hell no But for first viewing worth the money hahahaha

This post has been edited by skylinelover: Apr 26 2025, 02:47 PM

12 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 >Top

0.0711sec    0.32    9 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:53 PM