126 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Bottom

PlayStation 5 discussion, RM2299 /RM1869, 11/12/2020 MY Launch

TSgreyshadow
post Sep 15 2020, 01:37 PM

I bleed it out, Diggin' deeper just to throw it away!
1,844 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Sep 15 2020, 12:16 PM)
Have seen the switch, looks nice and cute.

But my concern is the processing power and small screen, I prefer something she can play in her play room which comes with a 60" TV. To jaga her mata, i dont even let her play with mobile/tabs..

Would Switch games transition well to a HD 60" screen?
if you really want to jaga her mata, Nintendo Switch is the one to go, at least it has a parental control app where you can control her screen time, there's none on other consoles

but if really wanna jaga mata? avoid let her play any video games until she's much older

what processing power you're concern about here? All of switch games can be played on big screen anyway, no issues with my 4K 75" screen also

I have all the consoles btw...
pokchik
post Sep 15 2020, 01:51 PM

I'm getting too old for this sh*t
1,304 posts

QUOTE(Rei7 @ Sep 15 2020, 10:55 AM)
https://www.gematsu.com/2020/09/bloomberg-s...r-million-units
Production cut by 4 million. Heh I think better wait longer, most likely early adopter might encounter a bunch of issues also QC wise maybe. No rush.
50% yield weiii.. for some companies, anything less than 80% also sudah scrap whole lot for fear of reliability issues even for the good units.

but then again, this is SoC.. different perspective maybe.
ben3003
post Sep 15 2020, 02:19 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(pokchik @ Sep 15 2020, 01:51 PM)
50% yield weiii..  for some companies, anything less than 80% also sudah scrap whole lot for fear of reliability issues even for the good units.

xbox no such problem.. sony have.. so chip design kalah xbox? seems like ps3 vs xbo360 era coming soon lol.
AstonCheah
post Sep 15 2020, 02:46 PM

383 posts

just curious will malaysia get the same release date? will likely get this on day 1
LegendLee
post Sep 15 2020, 02:54 PM

><3LG3|\|D
2,719 posts

50% yield weiii..  for some companies, anything less than 80% also sudah scrap whole lot for fear of reliability issues even for the good units.

More reason to wait then.
If this is true, chances of getting a lemon is pretty high.
SSJBen
post Sep 15 2020, 03:44 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

I don't know why you guys are paranoid over early units.

Simply saying SoC doesn't mean jack shit. The console has several SoCs in it. The CPU, GPU and memory controller is on its own SoC. The audio and video output is on another, the network is on another, the I/O is also on another. This is basic 101 embedded system design that they teach you on the first year of computer science.

So the report saying "SoC", okay which one lol?
50% yield may sound low. But you gotta understand the scale of manufacturing before you put that number into perspective. 50% of what?

As for chances of getting a "lemon" is pretty high, that's... putting it in a very simplistic manner. If the part is passed under QC, it'll work. An SoC in its own doesn't just stop working. If it stops working, the problem would be related to the internal circuits connecting the SoC to another part of the system. The SoC doesn't just fail, which is to say the problem would be elsewhere and has almost nothing to do with low yield rate.

People get paranoid when they hear about low yields and then jump to conclusion thinking Sony would just pass all parts even though they borderline passed the QC. Let's put it this way, majority of consumer CPUs and GPUs are actually flawed yields since the dawn of microprocessors. This is more so in consoles as their production is massive. There is no "fresh cut" off the wafer, it's always the flawed ones that gets cut, then partly disabled for further headroom of success.

That gematsu article is click bait as far as I'm concern. Nevermind, gematsu article is indeed stupid.

EDIT Welp, I went and actually read proper report from Bloomberg which took their source from TSMC. So the SoC yield problem in question is for the CPU and GPU.
This is normal because TSMC hasn't had very high yield rates for 7nm since Zen 2 launch. Do you see people complaining about Ryzen 3000 CPUs failing? Do you see people complaining about the Navi, 5000 series GPUs killing themselves?

Quick short answer - No.
Stop worrying over nothing.

This post has been edited by SSJBen: Sep 15 2020, 03:52 PM
XeactorZ
post Sep 15 2020, 03:50 PM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,608 posts

QUOTE(Max2006 @ Sep 15 2020, 10:55 AM)
Even so, I still vote for playstation. Because I want to play it "now" rather than wait for another year. I prefer to play the game during it's "prime time". You get the idea.

So at the end, it's all depend on player's preference. Either you can't wait to play the game, or you can wait until it's release at your favourite platform. There's no right or wrong on this.
If Microsoft Malaysia bring Xbox in officially I might consider laugh.gif
As their game pass very good
XiuKeong
post Sep 15 2020, 04:24 PM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,436 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Sep 15 2020, 03:44 PM)
I don't know why you guys are paranoid over early units.

Simply saying SoC doesn't mean jack shit. The console has several SoCs in it. The CPU, GPU and memory controller is on its own SoC. The audio and video output is on another, the network is on another, the I/O is also on another. This is basic 101 embedded system design that they teach you on the first year of computer science.

So the report saying "SoC", okay which one lol?
50% yield may sound low. But you gotta understand the scale of manufacturing before you put that number into perspective. 50% of what?

As for chances of getting a "lemon" is pretty high, that's... putting it in a very simplistic manner. If the part is passed under QC, it'll work. An SoC in its own doesn't just stop working. If it stops working, the problem would be related to the internal circuits connecting the SoC to another part of the system. The SoC doesn't just fail, which is to say the problem would be elsewhere and has almost nothing to do with low yield rate.

People get paranoid when they hear about low yields and then jump to conclusion thinking Sony would just pass all parts even though they borderline passed the QC. Let's put it this way, majority of consumer CPUs and GPUs are actually flawed yields since the dawn of microprocessors. This is more so in consoles as their production is massive. There is no "fresh cut" off the wafer, it's always the flawed ones that gets cut, then partly disabled for further headroom of success.

That gematsu article is click bait as far as I'm concern. Nevermind, gematsu article is indeed stupid.

EDIT Welp, I went and actually read proper report from Bloomberg which took their source from TSMC. So the SoC yield problem in question is for the CPU and GPU.
This is normal because TSMC hasn't had very high yield rates for 7nm since Zen 2 launch. Do you see people complaining about Ryzen 3000 CPUs failing? Do you see people complaining about the Navi, 5000 series GPUs killing themselves?

Quick short answer - No.
Stop worrying over nothing.
Lesser people buy, higher chances for other people like me to get one unit whistling.gif

Been using PS4 first gen since it launched. Didn't have any major issue considering I performed proper maintenance on the unit.
doi0728
post Sep 15 2020, 04:34 PM

94 posts

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ Sep 15 2020, 04:24 PM)
Lesser people buy, higher chances for other people like me to get one unit  whistling.gif

Been using PS4 first gen since it launched. Didn't have any major issue considering I performed proper maintenance on the unit.
hahaha this is what im thinking too tongue.gif i bought 2 PS4 at the launch date, both still working good , which is about 7 years edi brows.gif

This post has been edited by doi0728: Sep 15 2020, 04:35 PM
SSJBen
post Sep 15 2020, 04:45 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ Sep 15 2020, 04:24 PM)
Lesser people buy, higher chances for other people like me to get one unit  whistling.gif

I'm very sure the majority of the 11 mil units they set to produce this year will be reserved for the US market. Europe and Asian markets, lol... tunggu next year la.
XiuKeong
post Sep 15 2020, 04:56 PM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,436 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Sep 15 2020, 04:45 PM)
I'm very sure the majority of the 11 mil units they set to produce this year will be reserved for the US market. Europe and Asian markets, lol... tunggu next year la.
Tak pe, at least not having negativity on the console.

From what I checked with Sony SG, they are aiming to launch at Fall 2020. That's if they can get the stock.
LegendLee
post Sep 15 2020, 05:33 PM

><3LG3|\|D
2,719 posts

The yield rates are probably due to the GPU being unable to hit the stated clock speed.

Nevertheless, I’m going to wait. There are still enough rumors going around to warrant caution. Not to mention official launch /warranty support in malaysia might be even later.

I let you guys beta test the PS5 for a couple of months.
squall_12
post Sep 15 2020, 06:00 PM

1,779 posts

hopefully sony malaysia got open pre order for ps5 lol want to switch to ps5 asap and sell my ps4 pro.
DoomHammer
post Sep 15 2020, 06:03 PM

228 posts

Ok confirm... for me after two years in the market only I will buy... this is a bad sign just like PS3/xbox360 era
squall_12
post Sep 16 2020, 07:29 AM

1,779 posts

https://www.gamesindustry.biz/articles/2020...ion-by-4m-units

Sony has reached out to GamesIndustry.biz with the following statement denying the Bloomberg report:

“While we do not release details related to manufacturing, the information provided by Bloomberg is false," the statement reads.

"We have not changed the production number for PlayStation 5 since the start of mass production."
Hattori
post Sep 16 2020, 09:05 AM

(ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
1,186 posts

For me, the 3rd or 5th hardware revision would be the most reliable ones.

I put off buying day one until it is stabilized.

So what I did is to buy the physical games first long before getting the consoles later.
ben3003
post Sep 16 2020, 09:45 AM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(Hattori @ Sep 16 2020, 09:05 AM)
For me, the 3rd or 5th hardware revision would be the most reliable ones.

I put off buying day one until it is stabilized.

So what I did is to buy the physical games first long before getting the consoles later.
why buy physical game first? later u buy cheaper wat.. u cant even play lol.
Hattori
post Sep 16 2020, 09:50 AM

(ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
1,186 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Sep 16 2020, 09:45 AM)
why buy physical game first? later u buy cheaper wat.. u cant even play lol.
Some of these physical games will be out of print and impossible to be purchased new.
ben3003
post Sep 16 2020, 10:33 AM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(Hattori @ Sep 16 2020, 09:50 AM)
Some of these physical games will be out of print and impossible to be purchased new.
Err exclusive will become playstation hits selling at half price. see god of war, spiderman etc.
CallOfLegend
post Sep 16 2020, 10:46 AM

350 posts

edited: i'm slowpoke sad.gif

This post has been edited by CallOfLegend: Sep 16 2020, 10:48 AM

126 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Top

0.0304sec    0.19    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:54 PM