5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

Second Hand car on tight budget

views

TSamosy33 P
post Apr 18 2019, 03:28 PM

Probation
7 posts

QUOTE(bismaximus @ Apr 17 2019, 10:48 PM)
I am a local uni student with an 09 Proton Persona.....the car has been easy to maintain since freshman year, parts plentiful and full tank (RM 80) gets me 400KM+ (usually 430-470).
I do drive a manual though and my car is at 180k KM

Based on your list, my cousin drives a 206 and it is a nightmare. Her car is slightly older but its never really running right, parts at times need to wait weeks and generally not a car a student/fresh grad should get.

Persona is a good option IMO, spacious, reliable, you can fix some stuff yourself because its a pretty basic car.

Most important, always set aside RM 500-RM 1k..... You never know what can go wrong if you don't do preventive maintenance. The most I've ever spent on one service so far was my timing belt (usually done at 100k KM) and regular maintenance should be around 160+ for oil change and stuff......every 20k I change spark plugs and stuff....that's around 250+ if I'm not mistaken.
thanks bruh, looking into it right now

abubin
post Apr 19 2019, 05:04 PM

10k Club
All Stars
10,423 posts

QUOTE(amosy33 @ Apr 17 2019, 10:20 PM)
Dont get me wrong, it's not like I have something with local cars but the fuel consumption for these models is quite high tho. like below 10km/L
I'm sorry, I was quite concern with fuel consumption ,service and spare part availability. Correct me if I'm wrong because I read a 2013 forum post saying Hyundai accent fair quite well with car of same age in terms of the above criterias
been considering these 2 as well, but quite afraid of the fuel consumption
I really wish I could afford one,yet I'm a full time uni student rn