Copyright Photos, Guide/help needed

TSronasdfghjklzxc
post Jun 22 2007, 01:41 AM, updated 19y ago

171 posts

Guys i am wondering how do i copyright a picture to indicate that the image or photography belongs to me. Watermarking is a good idea but it is not very effective for me because it also makes the pictures look less good.

Is there a software for us to create copyright in it's EXIF data?
CompMac
post Jun 22 2007, 02:35 AM

世界見てください
1,573 posts

Even with EXIFs, they can be edited with the right software.
AlamakLor
post Jun 22 2007, 03:02 AM

9,856 posts

A watermark with your name, year of picture taken, and the copyright logo is already suffice. If you must, you can have them copyrighted at the right office, but i don't know where do you do that in Malaysia unfortunately.
RBR
post Jun 22 2007, 11:22 AM

keeping calm..
3,107 posts

There is no such thing as copyright at a office in Malaysia. Copyright exists automatically upon creation. You don't need to watermark anything, put a year and the 'c' logo even.

Feel free to read up: http://www.myipo.gov.my/index.php?option=c...id=48&Itemid=51 smile.gif
wKkaY
post Jun 22 2007, 11:32 AM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

I believe a footer at the bottom of the page is discrete and professional, yet sufficient enough to describe authorship.

Don't put up in high-res though so that anyone who takes your work can't do much other than show it on the web or in very small print.
ac98
post Jun 22 2007, 01:21 PM

The Spirit of Photography
3,758 posts

QUOTE(ronasdfghjklzxc @ Jun 22 2007, 01:41 AM)
Guys i am wondering how do i copyright a picture to indicate that the image or photography belongs to me. Watermarking is a good idea but it is not very effective for me because it also makes the pictures look less good.

Is there a software for us to create copyright in it's EXIF data?
If you're watermarking for the reason of posting pics on the internet then forget about detail efforts and using software and utilities for that matter. Even if you see your pics elsewhere and ppl indirectly claiming ownership then what can you do? Sue them? The legal procedures are more expensive than that bloody image! laugh.gif

Some cameras are able to have your have on the EXIF itself, I think that is the best way to claim ownership for the time being, or else keep your images to yourself, dun post.
shinchan^^
post Jun 22 2007, 02:27 PM

K66
21,256 posts

D40 also can put image comment on the page tongue.gif
chamelion
post Jun 22 2007, 02:30 PM

Back to Bricking
2,755 posts

Put it in image bank let them handle for you.
sinister
post Jun 22 2007, 10:06 PM

963 posts

If ur worried abt people copying ur pic.. den don't post on internet..
TSronasdfghjklzxc
post Jun 24 2007, 02:41 AM

171 posts

Thanks, this was a discussion not about paranoia of image getting stolen.

Added on June 24, 2007, 2:43 am
QUOTE(CompMac @ Jun 22 2007, 02:35 AM)
Even with EXIFs, they can be edited with the right software.
Ah, thanks for the info.

This post has been edited by ronasdfghjklzxc: Jun 24 2007, 02:43 AM

0.0135sec    0.77    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 12:51 AM