> Questions aout CPU air cooler/liquid cooler, Complete noob here

views

TS ratloverice
post Apr 15 2019, 08:48 PM, updated 2w ago

Casual
Group: Junior Member

I have some new questionssssssss guys.

Am looking at CPU air coolers.

Some air cooler shows something like "support up to 180W" and what does it actually mean?

As for the radiator, is it used to replace the case fans? Like if I want to put 2 intake fans at the front of the case, 1 exhaust at the rear and 1 exhaust on the top, must I replace the exhaust fan on the top of the case with a radiator if I wanna use a cpu air cooler/liquid cooler?

Also, some of the air cooler is compatible with socket type of LGA1150/1155/1156, LGA775, LGA1366, LGA2011, LGA2066. How do I know if they are compatible with the mobo that Im gonna use? I only can see LGA1151 on the description of the mobos...

Can CPU air cooler/liquid cooler be used on GPU instead?
hustlerism
post Apr 15 2019, 08:50 PM

Devil In Disguise
Group: Senior Member

What is your mobo?

Casing?

TS ratloverice
post Apr 15 2019, 08:55 PM

Casual

QUOTE(hustlerism @ Apr 15 2019, 08:50 PM)
What is your mobo?

Casing?
Haven’t chosen yet. Still choosing.

Just would like to seek more advices on how i can know whether a cpu air cooler is compatible with the one that I will choose later..
joedpa82
post Apr 15 2019, 08:56 PM

Casual

QUOTE(ratloverice @ Apr 15 2019, 09:48 PM)

Some air cooler shows something like "support up to 180W" and what does it actually mean?

As for the radiator, is it used to replace the case fans? Like if I want to put 2 intake fans at the front of the case, 1 exhaust at the rear and 1 exhaust on the top, must I replace the exhaust fan on the top of the case with a radiator if I wanna use a cpu air cooler/liquid cooler?