Complaints Is LYN sever flooded?, sometimes get server busy error...

TSsasaug
post Jun 21 2007, 10:25 PM, updated 19y ago

Small Fud
1,936 posts

Sometimes I get this error.I just want to know whether is it my fault or LYN server is really packed.I observe when there is 1k++ users ...my get these kind of error..Tq for ur help...
ali_boulala
post Jun 21 2007, 10:27 PM

Lets put a smile on that face
764 posts

u already answer ur Q
TSsasaug
post Jun 21 2007, 10:32 PM

Small Fud
1,936 posts

So it is flooded?Is any action going to take by the admins or owner?
~hunter~
post Jun 21 2007, 11:16 PM

PLsS bE PatiEnT (I'm FasTinG)
684 posts

i oso laggy la lyn just a couple of day..

iz it bcoz flooded..
se7en
post Jun 21 2007, 11:54 PM

resistance is futile
Admin
1,806 posts

We're aware of the problems and are already in the midst of upgrading our current infrastructure to cope with the increase in traffic.

Please bear with the occasional server busy messages till we complete the upgrades.
mezerwi
post Jun 22 2007, 12:41 AM

340 posts

QUOTE(se7en @ Jun 21 2007, 11:54 PM)
We're aware of the problems and are already in the midst of upgrading our current infrastructure to cope with the increase in traffic.

Please bear with the occasional server busy messages till we complete the upgrades.
Woa, upgr8 again? Urm, May I know the server spec? brows.gif
amyhs99
post Jun 22 2007, 06:10 PM

3,807 posts

ya, everyone is so curious about the server spec...
tongue.gif

Btw, upgrading hardware again? or just some database tweaks or something like tat...

This post has been edited by amyhs99: Jun 22 2007, 07:02 PM
tan_pang
post Jun 22 2007, 08:05 PM

3,110 posts

last time upgrade is when aledi... hmm.gif
aledi forgot... tongue.gif

but this time is aledi ok
becoz last time even the search function also need to disable...
ubhm
post Jun 22 2007, 08:23 PM

I kill fast and danger!
1,364 posts

Ok ok i'll stop Ddosing.
TSsasaug
post Jun 22 2007, 08:56 PM

Small Fud
1,936 posts

So admin please keep us up on what happen.....Sometimes reallly sick with that busy message...haha...anyway thanks...
EmperorMeng
post Jun 23 2007, 01:10 PM

Jom Whaling
2,021 posts

lyn so big it pawns
click more ads , ppl!
roderick
post Jun 25 2007, 08:10 AM

WTF!! is that affect torrents dowloading or anything with downloading activities???
goldfries
post Jun 25 2007, 08:22 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(sasaug @ Jun 22 2007, 08:56 PM)
So admin please keep us up on what happen.....Sometimes reallly sick with that busy message...haha...anyway thanks...
you guys can start by

1. learning to control your posts, spams aren't good. smile.gif
2. learn to adjust image size before posting

QUOTE(mezerwi @ Jun 22 2007, 12:41 AM)
Woa, upgr8 again? Urm, May I know the server spec?  brows.gif
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=452728

QUOTE(se7en @ May 9 2007, 11:53 AM)
Server 1 : 2 x Xeon 3.0 Ghz, 3GB ECC 400Mhz DDR, 2 x WD Raptors (FC4)
Server 2 : 2 x Xeon 2.4 Ghz, 2GB ECC 400Mhz DDR, 2 x Seagate SAS (Centos 4.4)
Server 3 : Core 2 Duo E6600, 4GB DDR2, 2 x WD Raptor (Centos 4.4)

All Dell Poweredge 1U rackservers.

Another one on the way, peak hour load growing every day.
mezerwi
post Jun 25 2007, 11:52 AM

340 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jun 25 2007, 08:22 AM)
you guys can start by

1. learning to control your posts, spams aren't good. smile.gif
2. learn to adjust image size before posting
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=452728
Urm, If I host my image myself, it wont affect the server right? meaning the server uploading didn't interrupt right?
rayanne
post Jun 25 2007, 02:17 PM

196 posts

donnt flood... aiyo.. keep congested.. sad.gif want cry..
goldfries
post Jun 27 2007, 01:31 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(mezerwi @ Jun 25 2007, 11:52 AM)
Urm, If I host my image myself, it wont affect the server right? meaning the server uploading didn't interrupt right?
yes. correct. sorry i forgot to mention - attachments only. biggrin.gif

because if you host it some place else, the loading is between the browser machine and the server that hosts the images.

in fact stuff like posts, spams and signatures are the ones that add to load. in short - anything that requires transfer of data from LYN server to your machine.
UbuntuClient
post Aug 14 2007, 11:15 AM

1,418 posts

This morning i have to refresh LYN page many time, got message server busy. Maybe need to upgrade.
mcchin
post Aug 14 2007, 01:06 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(UbuntuClient @ Aug 14 2007, 11:15 AM)
This morning i have to refresh LYN page many time, got message server busy. Maybe need to upgrade.
did you read thoroughly...???? whistling.gif
radioactive
post Aug 18 2007, 11:08 AM

1,857 posts

QUOTE(mezerwi @ Jun 22 2007, 12:41 AM)
Woa, upgr8 again? Urm, May I know the server spec?  brows.gif
nvm...its paid using advert money. all the google adsense. the adverts at the main page..etc.etc. no prob la.

any idea on the connection bandwidth ar???
se7en
post Aug 18 2007, 11:37 AM

resistance is futile
Admin
1,806 posts

The lag is caused by the huge database, coupled with a slight misconfiguration on our database machine.

We've already ordered a new machine to replace it, and we believe things will be back to normal in a week or two.

We're not too keen on deleting old postings outside the tradezone and kopitiam as these posts usually have some kind of value that might come in handy in the future.
imperialrealcs
post Aug 19 2007, 02:20 AM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(se7en @ Aug 18 2007, 11:37 AM)
The lag is caused by the huge database, coupled with a slight misconfiguration on our database machine.

We've already ordered a new machine to replace it, and we believe things will be back to normal in a week or two.

We're not too keen on deleting old postings outside the tradezone and kopitiam as these posts usually have some kind of value that might come in handy in the future.
agreed, especially on technical support
jong52yuara
post Aug 19 2007, 02:41 AM

Forex is the best business you can do.
1,704 posts

QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ Aug 19 2007, 02:20 AM)
agreed, especially on technical support
ask se7en to give us his phone number so that ppl will call if lyn is not working?

just kidding tongue.gif
altie
post Aug 19 2007, 04:00 PM

Runaway Fridge™
673 posts

QUOTE(jong52yuara @ Aug 19 2007, 02:41 AM)
ask se7en to give us his phone number so that ppl will call if lyn is not working?

just kidding tongue.gif
LOL. What makes you think se7en uses a Maxis line?

At any rate, most of the moderation team has his number. But its not for that purpose. It's to call him up for partays only. icon_idea.gif
temptation1314
post Aug 19 2007, 04:50 PM

Specials : 1,000,000 Spam Post Attack
2,287 posts

Btw, total guest also around 220(now lar). Any idea mod or admin that someone using autosurf program to increase server traffic??
OKLY
post Aug 19 2007, 04:56 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,090 posts

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Aug 19 2007, 04:50 PM)
Btw, total guest also around 220(now lar). Any idea mod or admin that someone using autosurf program to increase server traffic??
Of course not. What is the point of wasting the server's resources ?
temptation1314
post Aug 19 2007, 04:58 PM

2,287 posts

What i mean is others sweat.gif
[W]HIT3_@NG3L
post Aug 22 2007, 02:25 PM

2,104 posts

Server 1 : 2 x Xeon 3.0 Ghz, 3GB ECC 400Mhz DDR, 2 x WD Raptors (FC4)
Server 2 : 2 x Xeon 2.4 Ghz, 2GB ECC 400Mhz DDR, 2 x Seagate SAS (Centos 4.4)
Server 3 : Core 2 Duo E6600, 4GB DDR2, 2 x WD Raptor (Centos 4.4)

All Dell Poweredge 1U rackservers.

Another one on the way, peak hour load growing every day.

i dont see the server 1 specs on dell website unsure.gif
the highest Xeon speed i saw on dell is 2.66Ghz sad.gif
se7en
post Aug 22 2007, 02:31 PM

resistance is futile
Admin
1,806 posts

dude, the first server was bought in 2005. Its the old hyperthreaded xeon, not the new dual core one. If i'm not mistaken those xeon speeds went all the way up to 3.6ghz.
shumaky
post Aug 22 2007, 02:56 PM

PS what.?
2,706 posts

lyners.. do ur part..
click on em adverts like u just dont care... wave up yer hands in the air...
se7en
post Aug 22 2007, 02:58 PM

resistance is futile
Admin
1,806 posts

a new server will be arriving next week.. should sort out the database issues.
[W]HIT3_@NG3L
post Aug 22 2007, 04:13 PM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(se7en @ Aug 22 2007, 02:58 PM)
a new server will be arriving next week.. should sort out the database issues.
the new server will be Power Edge 860 or 1950?
mind telling us the new spec of the server smile.gif
temptation1314
post Aug 22 2007, 04:23 PM

2,287 posts

Hope to hear good news upgrading your server. Lately I've been getting server busy around 4-6pm (peak hours??)
se7en
post Aug 22 2007, 04:25 PM

resistance is futile
Admin
1,806 posts

PE860. quad core xeon, 4gb ram, 2 x 73GB SAS.
[W]HIT3_@NG3L
post Aug 22 2007, 04:31 PM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(se7en @ Aug 22 2007, 04:25 PM)
PE860. quad core xeon, 4gb ram, 2 x 73GB SAS.
I also select the same specs biggrin.gif
i hope its the Quad Xeon 2.4Ghz smile.gif
jinaun
post Aug 22 2007, 04:59 PM

where are my stars???
6,139 posts

how far can the new PE860 scale over the current one??
bryanyeo87
post Aug 22 2007, 07:21 PM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

@jinaun

a lot wey ....drool.gif
wKkaY
post Aug 23 2007, 03:35 PM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

QUOTE(jinaun @ Aug 22 2007, 06:59 PM)
how far can the new PE860 scale over the current one??

Hard question to answer. It's a database server upgrade, but the scale of the site as a whole depends on the webserver and also our external bandwidth to the Internet, both which should run out of steam before the new DB server.

But just for the DB subsystem, I'm hoping to see at least 4x more throughput for disk IO and 2x for CPU.
kmarc
post Aug 23 2007, 04:05 PM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

QUOTE(shumaky @ Aug 22 2007, 02:56 PM)
lyners.. do ur part..
click on em adverts like u just dont care... wave up yer hands in the air...
Sorry for my ignorance but this is new to me.

Do you mean to say that clicking on adverts will generate income for LYN? If so, I will start clicking!!! wink.gif
wKkaY
post Aug 23 2007, 04:09 PM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

No, please don't. Everyone loses out in the long term if you engage in click fraud.
kmarc
post Aug 23 2007, 04:16 PM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Aug 23 2007, 04:09 PM)
No, please don't. Everyone loses out in the long term if you engage in click fraud.
OIC. I understand. Thx. smile.gif
goldfries
post Aug 23 2007, 04:42 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

if you guys like LYN - start by learning to not SPAM.

for each spam, every user has to load it. and if it deserves action, it's another processor (or 2.....or 3........ or more!) for deletion and so on.

perhaps can allocate 1 of the cores to handle spamcentral.lowyat.net. biggrin.gif
ataris
post Aug 23 2007, 05:04 PM

Eyes of a Gamer
1,635 posts

spam is a part of life. anyway, wowee new server, quad core sumore !
mcchin
post Aug 23 2007, 10:44 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

hmm it seems
that once the server hit a surplus of 1300
the "server is busy to handle......" page will come out

plus
i sort of feel that being a member here could delay this effect
once i log out and try to anonymous lurk
i get non-stop "server is busy to handle......" pages
:hmm
ckkean
post Aug 27 2007, 10:42 PM

807 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Aug 23 2007, 04:42 PM)
if you guys like LYN - start by learning to not SPAM.

for each spam, every user has to load it. and if it deserves action, it's another processor (or 2.....or 3........ or more!) for deletion and so on.

perhaps can allocate 1 of the cores to handle spamcentral.lowyat.net. biggrin.gif
In my opinion, the kopitiam board has overloaded spam. I can see some thread in kopitiam has become like MSN/Yahoo messenger chat. A lot of lame 1 line reply or simple emotion reply in some post. Incredibly some newly open thread in kopitiam would exceeded more than 2,500 posts in less than one week. It has replies in every few minutes or more and it always have new versions. Maybe those spams in kopitiam has caused the LYN server overloaded. Just my opinion though.
StratOS
post Aug 27 2007, 10:51 PM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

I'm facing a few minutes of Board Message saying server too busy. Hard to update my sales thread sometimes.
wKkaY
post Aug 27 2007, 11:31 PM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

Believe me, I'm waiting for the new server just as much as you guys. Latest word from se7en is that it has arrived. No idea when it's going to be hauled to the datacenter. There should be a lot more breathing room after it's all setup smile.gif
firedauz
post Aug 27 2007, 11:42 PM

Kopitiam Official Astronaut
876 posts

I lol'd @ all you Screamyx users laugh.gif
arafat
post Aug 28 2007, 12:09 AM

ROCK ON!
1,747 posts

LOL..it's not because screamyx..
i'm jaring user,cant even reply PM
go back,try again still can't send..
OKLY
post Aug 28 2007, 06:05 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,090 posts

Yes that's right. This is more to a heavy load on the server due to many concurrent users at the same time during peak hours.
RBR
post Aug 28 2007, 06:39 AM

keeping calm..
3,107 posts

QUOTE(StratOS @ Aug 27 2007, 10:51 PM)
I'm facing a few minutes of Board Message saying server too busy. Hard to update my sales thread sometimes.
We're aware and deeply concerned about your inability to update your sales thread and how important it is to you as it could probably be your rice bowl. We're working on installing the new server to ensure you will have absolutely no problems updating your very important sales thread. We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience in updating your sales thread sad.gif
jinaun
post Aug 28 2007, 11:23 AM

where are my stars???
6,139 posts

ok.. now the backend DB is taken cared of, how abt the front end??

maybe do web server clustering with old db server??

http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/linux/li...dex.html?ca=drs
wKkaY
post Aug 28 2007, 12:38 PM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

Right now we don't need web clustering of that sort as we don't have that scale nor do we need the availability, but it can be incorporated as and when it's needed..
zac1
post Aug 30 2007, 01:02 AM

GADGET FREAK™
2,838 posts

my problem even worst then past few week

when i click lowyat.net (normally go back to first page)

now,alway show server too busy to handle ur request ,even i press refresh also cannot ,i must click back back back and back to my previous viewed thread then only that msg dissappear
se7en
post Aug 30 2007, 01:15 AM

resistance is futile
Admin
1,806 posts

we're at the final stages of configuring the new database server. It should solve the load issues we're currently having during peak hours.

[W]HIT3_@NG3L
post Aug 30 2007, 09:01 AM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(se7en @ Aug 30 2007, 01:15 AM)
we're at the final stages of configuring the new database server. It should solve the load issues we're currently having during peak hours.

ummm
do you guys install additional cooling system inside and add more heat sink?
or depend on the air conditioner and internal cooling by DELL only
wKkaY
post Aug 30 2007, 12:32 PM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

I haven't heard of anyone butchering their server that way.

Although I did butcher my Poweredge 850 to fit a third hard disk in the PCI bay smile.gif
deCadBytes
post Aug 30 2007, 01:43 PM

hi,
is the server flooded causes the limit of pm that we send out? smile.gif

vikingw2k
post Aug 30 2007, 01:50 PM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(deCadBytes @ Aug 30 2007, 01:43 PM)
hi,
is the server flooded causes the limit of pm that we send out? smile.gif
Nothing to do with the server.

Read this

deCadBytes
post Aug 30 2007, 02:08 PM

QUOTE(vikingw2k @ Aug 30 2007, 01:50 PM)
Nothing to do with the server.

Read this
Noted.
Sorry, I jz din go through that announcement.
Thanks for pointing out. smile.gif
StratOS
post Aug 30 2007, 07:42 PM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

QUOTE(RBR @ Aug 28 2007, 06:39 AM)
We're aware and deeply concerned about your inability to update your sales thread and how important it is to you as it could probably be your rice bowl.  We're working on installing the new server to ensure you will have absolutely no problems updating your very important sales thread.  We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience in updating your sales thread  sad.gif
Ok. Thanks for the concern, and up till now so far no problems already. notworthy.gif
wKkaY
post Sep 4 2007, 11:42 AM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

The 15krpm disks (ST373455SS) are heavenly. Ahh~~ T_T
temptation1314
post Sep 4 2007, 11:53 AM

2,287 posts

sweat.gif changing?? or changed edi? So far no problem on my side already.
wKkaY
post Sep 4 2007, 12:03 PM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

Nopes not yet. Read the announcement above.
temptation1314
post Sep 4 2007, 04:21 PM

2,287 posts

Omg =.=" I got the server busy again. Always between these times?
sunauto
post Sep 5 2007, 11:01 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Sep 4 2007, 04:21 PM)
Omg =.=" I got the server busy again. Always between these times?
Well, sometimes you just need to refresh your browser, it's not that serious lah, if it can happen to Maybank2U and other websites, it's perfectly normal that it happens here once in a while. Bottlenecks do happen and it's beyond our control.
vikingw2k
post Sep 5 2007, 05:03 PM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Sep 5 2007, 11:01 AM)
Well, sometimes you just need to refresh your browser, it's not that serious lah, if it can happen to Maybank2U and other websites, it's perfectly normal that it happens here once in a while. Bottlenecks do happen and it's beyond our control.
Cant wait for the new server drool.gif but can't view the forum for 6-7hours sad.gif
k8118k
post Sep 5 2007, 05:32 PM

3,658 posts

quad core xeon x3210
4gb ddr-2 667 ecc ram
2 x 73GB 15k SAS Drive

Added on September 5, 2007, 5:41 pm
QUOTE(k8118k @ Sep 5 2007, 05:32 PM)
quad core xeon x3210
4gb ddr-2 667 ecc ram
2 x 73GB 15k SAS Drive