Tooth pain when drinking cold water

TSSglang123
post Apr 13 2019, 04:49 PM, updated 5y ago

141 posts

my Tooth suddenly feel so pain when drinking COLd water. The tooth is filled before when 4 years ago... is it the tooth getting rotten and need to cabut?

Recently I just switched my toothpaste to Colgate whitening toothpaste. Is this toothpaste affect my teeth sensitivity?
. is there anyway can fix this painful problem to me ? Or just need to change toothpaste ?

This post has been edited by Sglang123: Apr 13 2019, 04:50 PM
SUS2feidei
post Apr 13 2019, 05:02 PM

Ayam tatau, ayam virgin (c)
3,158 posts

not sure if truth or not, heard that those tooth whithening toothpaste actually abrasive, polish the outer layer of the enamel, to make it white.

Pro-long usage, it will reduce the "thickness" of the tooth, thus resulted in exposed root, make it become sensitive to cold and hot drinks....

Anyway, this what I read from internet lah, true or not, take it pinch of salt
cassian948
post Apr 13 2019, 05:02 PM

889 posts

Yes, it's tooth sensitivity. That's Sensodyne exist.
Ludwig.
post Apr 13 2019, 05:03 PM

LOOOL
532 posts

whitening toothpastes/products are known to cause sensitive teeth
TSSglang123
post Apr 13 2019, 05:14 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(cassian948 @ Apr 13 2019, 05:02 PM)
Yes, it's tooth sensitivity. That's Sensodyne exist.
Just bought sensodyne whitening toothpaste. Is this ok?

https://www.target.com/p/sensodyne-extra-wh...oz/-/A-11052681

Or should change to other ? Pls advise thanks
QUOTE(Ludwig. @ Apr 13 2019, 05:03 PM)
whitening toothpastes/products are known to cause sensitive teeth
Can I use sensodyne whitening toothpaste? Since sensodyne is for sensitive teeth .. how about sensodyne whitening toothpaste ?
TSSglang123
post Apr 13 2019, 08:29 PM

141 posts

anyone?

is this toothpaste good on my teeth when my teeth is pain when drinking cold water?
SUSTham
post Apr 19 2019, 12:35 AM

1,576 posts

Yes, what the others say is true, similar to
what I remember reading.

Whitening toothpaste can make your teeth
move sensitive.

Sensodyne has potassium nitrate. I think
that just helps to desensitize the teeth.
It has been around for ages.

Colgate has one which would be better,
since it has arginine.

luvjim
post Apr 22 2019, 05:13 PM

last resort
1,031 posts

same here. after change to glister toothpaste, no more sensitive tooth.
murv90
post Apr 24 2019, 10:24 AM

627 posts

Hello,

While it's true a normal sensitivity could be cured by the desensitising toothpaste, the cause of sensitivity itself has to be established first.

If the cause of sensitivity is exposed dentin(abrasion/attrition/etc) or a failed/leaking restoration, the toothpaste could only help so much.

In any case I would highly recommend staying away from 'whitening' toothpastes and any gel based toothpaste, a regular white paste would be more than enough for anyone.

In case of sensitivity I would also recommend Colgate Sensitive Pro-Relief.

Hope that helps. smile.gif
linglingee
post May 16 2019, 06:36 PM

52 posts

Why don't you see a dentist so he or she can prescribe the best treatment for you? Alternatively, you can try desensitizing toothpaste like Sensodyne and see if it works but even if it works it may mask any underlying issue like tooth grinding for example
Blofeld
post May 17 2019, 07:57 AM

4,456 posts

Get check it out.

Tooth pain when drinking cold water can also be due to cavity (possible that the filling has been leaked due to wear and tear).
chenny99
post May 17 2019, 03:21 PM

51 posts

Need dentist recommendation?
Umirem
post May 18 2019, 05:48 PM

72 posts

Sounds like your teeth really need the nerve to be taken out and then channel of teeth redone with another filling and good solid plomb above. You really need to visit doctor for that. Be prepared really. Thanks to the god about it. How does that sounds ?
Mintyjunn P
post May 21 2019, 10:44 PM

Probation

From dentist advise. Whitening toothpaste doesn’t wear off your enamel layer. Most likely is something to do with tooth decay. You can pm me for FOC consultation at Taman OUG dental clinic.

0.0164sec    0.20    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 06:45 PM