Hardware macbook pro 13" 2016 screen defect, how much to replace?

TSchuan1961
post Apr 12 2019, 10:29 PM, updated 5y ago

312 posts

Guys, the well known screen defect has now come to my macbook pro! Can anyone tell me how much did it cost to replace and where was it done?
my mb is out of warranty. Seems to me this is a product manufacturing flaw which Apple should compensate its customers like how it did with the battery issue.

bloody hell !

greenfrogz
post Apr 12 2019, 10:37 PM

69 posts

Is this the one where the coating is showing scratches or so?

If yes, you can try to bring to service centre. Even if it is out of warranty, there is a campaign that they will change it for you.

https://www.google.com.my/url?sa=i&source=w...555166275690228

This post has been edited by greenfrogz: Apr 12 2019, 10:38 PM
TSchuan1961
post Apr 12 2019, 11:22 PM

312 posts

Hi

No, I'm referring to the screen having display problem where parts of the screen is distorted/dark. Seems the internal connection is not stable or lasting. It needs to be replaced.

[quote=greenfrogz,Apr 12 2019, 10:37 PM]

Is this the one where the coating is showing scratches or so?

If yes, you can try to bring to service centre. Even if it is out of warranty, there is a campaign that they will change it for you.

This post has been edited by chuan1961: Apr 12 2019, 11:37 PM
wei
post Apr 20 2019, 09:20 PM

Get your Macs done right!
6,491 posts

You meant the backlit curtain effects?
You can’t show a display defect by a printscreen. You need to capture a photo of it with camera.

I think you meant this perhaps:

If you having this you need to send you Mac back to Apple soonest.

This post has been edited by wei: Apr 20 2019, 09:20 PM
TSchuan1961
post Apr 26 2019, 09:15 PM

312 posts

UPDATE: Will replace screen soon. waiting for part to arrive. Cant be repaired. Out of warranty. But hoping Apple will be faced with Class Action suit in the US and we over here also get reimbursement smile.gif

Service guy at the shop said they got lotsa MacBook pros 13" having same issue.

Bloody Hell.

Its not a scratch or anything like that. Its like ur tv having the white lines at the bottom of the screen.

QUOTE(wei @ Apr 20 2019, 09:20 PM)
You meant the backlit curtain effects?
You can’t show a display defect by a printscreen. You need to capture a photo of it with camera.

I think you meant this perhaps:

If you having this you need to send you Mac back to Apple soonest.

0.0113sec    0.40    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 04:52 PM