Hi, wanna ask about 70mai A500s vs A510. If I'm not using the 4G function, will A510 have better video quality than A500s?
LYN Dashcam Discussion V2 | Dashcam Talk Malaysia, Everything related to dashcam!
Jan 13 2025, 01:50 PM
2,547 posts Joined: Sep 2011 |
Hi, wanna ask about 70mai A500s vs A510. If I'm not using the 4G function, will A510 have better video quality than A500s?
Thanks |
Jan 13 2025, 01:55 PM
2,547 posts Joined: Sep 2011 |
QUOTE(Waltz_168 @ Dec 19 2024, 12:04 AM) Food for thought, if you're going with the cigarettes' lighter port the A510 may be a better option. Hi, may I know why is A510 a better option in this case?Currently considering between A500s and A510. Thanks |
Jan 13 2025, 03:59 PM
842 posts Joined: May 2009 |
QUOTE(izart @ Jan 11 2025, 04:59 PM) Hi all. Wanna ask. If plug and play A500s mai into fusebox but no hardwire involved just plug and play, will it void warranty? The accessories shop insisted that it will not void any warranty as theyve done it for a lot of cars before and it doesn't involve tampering any wire. Just plug to fuse box and no 24h function. If hardwired can use the 24h recording function. As long as you use plug and plug, no issue with warranty coz the 12V plug has its own fuse. Anything blows, just replace the fuse. IT IS meant for 3rd party connection within limits (meaning not hard drain usage aka.....using iron via 12V...haha).So as long as you don't touch the wiring or OBD, and just use 12V plug, no issue with warranty. |
Jan 13 2025, 04:02 PM
QUOTE(buffa @ Jan 12 2025, 12:59 PM) Hi, wanna ask, recently just found out my old yi smart dashcam wont overwrite old recorded video anymore. It was full and last recording in year 2023. Bro, dashcam also record emergency recording (like slam car too hard), and will keep it there PERMANENTLY until you erase it manually. It will takes up space and adds up those recordings overtime, it will be full. So please do format your dashcam a few month once UNLESS you use high capacity sd card (assuming your cam can take those size).Now I format the micro SDcard, it start recording. Is it dashcam problem or SD card problem? I worried if it happen again, wonder if I need to change new dashcam or just change new sd card? buffa liked this post
Jan 13 2025, 04:21 PM
458 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: home |
QUOTE(Cavino @ Jan 13 2025, 04:02 PM) Bro, dashcam also record emergency recording (like slam car too hard), and will keep it there PERMANENTLY until you erase it manually. It will takes up space and adds up those recordings overtime, it will be full. So please do format your dashcam a few month once UNLESS you use high capacity sd card (assuming your cam can take those size). Hi, I checked my SD card, inside has few emergency records. There are also around 100 videos all continued, recorded last year. Those are supposed to be overwrite, but it dint. So I am wondering dashcam problem or SD card problem? |
Jan 14 2025, 08:47 AM
6,265 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: UEP Subang Jaya |
QUOTE(Cavino @ Jan 13 2025, 03:59 PM) As long as you use plug and plug, no issue with warranty coz the 12V plug has its own fuse. Anything blows, just replace the fuse. IT IS meant for 3rd party connection within limits (meaning not hard drain usage aka.....using iron via 12V...haha). Specifically for Honda - we had a forumer here argue that supposedly the Honda FB group 'full of reports' from driver who got their warranty claim rejected for reasons including using dashcam without cutting wire. No personal experience, but kept discouraging forumers from doing it for that reason (even non Honda). Dunno where that joker is now.So as long as you don't touch the wiring or OBD, and just use 12V plug, no issue with warranty. |
Jan 14 2025, 09:35 AM
2,452 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Kuching, Sarawakland |
QUOTE(Cavino @ Jan 13 2025, 04:02 PM) Bro, dashcam also record emergency recording (like slam car too hard), and will keep it there PERMANENTLY until you erase it manually. It will takes up space and adds up those recordings overtime, it will be full. So please do format your dashcam a few month once UNLESS you use high capacity sd card (assuming your cam can take those size). it is a good practice to regularly "clean" the old footages. few weeks back I wanted to check 10 days prior parking footage, by calculation my SD should have that record, but due to "emergency" videos from when I bought the dashcam, it was overwritten due to lack of space. Now every month I will erase emergency videos if any. |
Jan 14 2025, 09:38 AM
QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Jan 14 2025, 08:47 AM) Specifically for Honda - we had a forumer here argue that supposedly the Honda FB group 'full of reports' from driver who got their warranty claim rejected for reasons including using dashcam without cutting wire. No personal experience, but kept discouraging forumers from doing it for that reason (even non Honda). Dunno where that joker is now. not only Honda every brand will discourage it. You cant blame them technicians also. for Me last time I just proceed fuse tapping. everytime I go service my car at SC, they will take it out and put in my trunk, then I put it back. LOL |
Jan 14 2025, 10:16 AM
QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Jan 14 2025, 08:47 AM) Specifically for Honda - we had a forumer here argue that supposedly the Honda FB group 'full of reports' from driver who got their warranty claim rejected for reasons including using dashcam without cutting wire. No personal experience, but kept discouraging forumers from doing it for that reason (even non Honda). Dunno where that joker is now. Er.... will that be me...hahaha...Maybe...hehehe..I have argue such cases before (I am a proponent of not voiding warranty due to no guts to try...hahaha). But no way for cases of dashcam coz I have not heard of any...Only 1 case of Perodua car got problem with car system due to 3rd party dashcam OBD....but that one SC no void, just ask take out..Yes, I have read direct experience (fresh post then) from FB group Civic group then when they take pics and complained honda voiding windows motor, even bloody external windows weather strips due to 3rd party tint. What cutting wire means... Coz even hardwire dashcam also in reality no cut wire. They just connect into the fusebox... The problem is when you touch the fusebox....those connected wires all over the cars. Honda can claim you touch the fusebox, it can short others, while installation kena other wires causing all sorts of problem. Even if it does not cause any problem, that warranty such electrical (that can involved many other systems) CAN be voided (the warranty manual indicated so already) if they insist on it and they have the full legal right to it but so far in reality have not heard of any cases. But since Honda nowadays have voided EVEN windows external weather strip defect due to existence of 3rd party tints, they have high chances of voiding electrical warranty or even connected systems if you touch the fusebox for hardwire.....cut or not cut wire. Now whether the SC listed that during any related warranty claim, that will be the key to voiding or not coz the moment they list that in the system in RELATED warranty claim....high risk there... Many still go for it but I installed the bloody expensive basic featured HD quality (vs 3rd party FHD) dashcam to avoid warranty issue. Electrical warranty voiding if is too broad category involving many car systems...don't dare risk. Now Windows tint, I take risk.....at most void and pay for windows motor if ever get anything voided. I can still afford that if it ever goes that way. Thats Honda for you nowadays. Their warranty claims shoots up a lot along their sales and the gradually degrading built quality (vs decade ago). So very stringent warranty audit on Honda SC. So can't blame the SC, the risk of getting caught during any audit might not be worth it for the SC to hide the customer installation. Depends on SC tho... So I am a proponent of not hardwiring dashcam to new car if you are one like me, that wants to avoid any warranty issues for the increasingly stringent SC due to built quality going down a lot, likely increasing possibilities of warranty claim in future. If want hardwire, use the official car manufacturer recommended one. Once warranty over, upgrade as needed. Of course that is for gutless ppl like me....too old and poor to take such risk...my heart not doing that well...haha This post has been edited by Cavino: Jan 14 2025, 10:42 AM |
Jan 14 2025, 12:22 PM
6,265 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: UEP Subang Jaya |
QUOTE(gerald7 @ Jan 14 2025, 09:38 AM) not only Honda every brand will discourage it. You cant blame them technicians also. for Me last time I just proceed fuse tapping. everytime I go service my car at SC, they will take it out and put in my trunk, then I put it back. LOL I directly asked the tech who handled my accident Perodua about this, he said "tak potong no problem". Except if the installed item actually cause electrical problem or fire la. |
Jan 14 2025, 04:57 PM
121 posts Joined: Feb 2022 |
anyone using 70mai A810 or A510 with 4G kit?
how many hour the camera can on before low power and shutoff itself? |
Jan 15 2025, 08:25 AM
QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Jan 14 2025, 12:22 PM) I directly asked the tech who handled my accident Perodua about this, he said "tak potong no problem". Except if the installed item actually cause electrical problem or fire la. Yup, i also asked before, they said the logic is sound, but they said better dont. Just purely from a claims perspective, as the management will find every little detail to deny claims. QUOTE(clovercliff @ Jan 14 2025, 04:57 PM) anyone using 70mai A810 or A510 with 4G kit? That depends on your vehicle battery health. if your battery is already in a weak state, then would probably be very fast.how many hour the camera can on before low power and shutoff itself? |
Jan 15 2025, 09:45 AM
4,049 posts Joined: Apr 2010 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Jan 14 2025, 08:47 AM) Specifically for Honda - we had a forumer here argue that supposedly the Honda FB group 'full of reports' from driver who got their warranty claim rejected for reasons including using dashcam without cutting wire. No personal experience, but kept discouraging forumers from doing it for that reason (even non Honda). Dunno where that joker is now. Just for normal dashcam wont trigger for warranty rejection.This post has been edited by ayamxxx: Jan 15 2025, 09:47 AM |
Jan 15 2025, 11:37 AM
QUOTE(gerald7 @ Jan 15 2025, 08:25 AM) Yup, i also asked before, they said the logic is sound, but they said better dont. Just purely from a claims perspective, as the management will find every little detail to deny claims. Ya, logically it is bullshit to say dashcam hardwire can void warranty. It don't make sense but the warranty manual that shield the car manufacturer gives them the right to void related warranties that can relate to 3rd party installation.Normally, even if do, SC ignore and the skip those warranty conditions and continue doing claim as it logically is not the cause of those warranty claim failure. However for eg. Car Manufacturer might react differently to this logic. Oh....you touch this area, it might NOT be the cause but since you touch that area when it is not allow, we void warranty for that area and save ourself a bundle. You can appeal that is not the logical cause of the failure (more than likely it is not) BUT the warranty manual will back the SC up....no 3rd party installation or else they can void. So the ball is in their court. You might argue hard on this cause it is obvious the cause of failure might not be the 3rd party installation (or you can say 100% not that), but legal clause of the warranty manual will side with the car manufacturer. What most cowardly ppl like us would like to avoid is such case as above. It likely would never happen to us but when it does, we are screwed if the warranty claims are costly one... What is insurance then....this is one of such logic, you want to be insured, don't do it. You don't mind risking not buying medical insurance (most likely nothing happen and you save a bundle by not paying super high insurance premium), then go ahead and likely you are the winner....but when shits happened....then you might be screwed. But if you can afford to be screwed, then go ahead, I do that as well, at least with my so-called 3rd party tint.. So most ppl who don't want risk decide to buy the insurance but many others that willing to bear the risk, just not pay...and enjoy the money save over the years....if nothing happen. That's the logic I am arguing to. If this is Honda of old, I would do install it....as I did on my last Honda decades ago. But with all the news of Honda rejecting even minor bits of claims if that area was reported to them in claim report as having 3rd party installation. I become a proponent of avoid warranty issues if you can afford it. I am using Honda as example cause I am still mainly Hondas owner. This is not arguing of what logic is right or if there are any real cases or not. That will side with logic aka no issue with 3rd party dashcam installation but for any warranty claims dispute, it will almost ALWAYS side with the car manufacturer when 3rd party item are involved. This post has been edited by Cavino: Jan 15 2025, 01:40 PM |
Jan 15 2025, 04:58 PM
At the end of the day depends on the owner. Peace of mind for warranty claim, dont touch anything. Unless the car is known for electrical issues or fire, I will proceed to install, but im handy DIY kind of guy, I install my own stuff, thats why when SC disconnect, I can reconnect.
Jan 16 2025, 10:08 AM
425 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
hi any iroad user here?
im using iroad x5 and found the rear cam usb cable spoiled. could i replace it with any usb cable that micro-micro head? or must use back iroad rear cam usb cable? |
Jan 19 2025, 09:44 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
954 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
Bought a 2-channel Viofo A139 4K Pro in Dec 2023 and it suddenly got stuck in a reboot loop starting from last week. Searched around a saw a number of people complaining about the issue online. Unfortunately for me, looks like the warranty period is only for 1 year in Malaysia.
A 1400+ camera (bought the parking kit as well) down the drain in a year. Thinking of trying another manufacturer this round. Any recommendations? Edit: Just to add, hardly drive this car. I get a 30% rebate from Etiqa's DLSM program as I work from home. It's always parked indoors in my condo carpark. Quite disappointed that it has broken down so quickly. The last Viofo A119 worked great for ~6 years. This post has been edited by thesoothsayer: Jan 19 2025, 09:47 PM |
Jan 21 2025, 08:30 AM
1,186 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
QUOTE(thesoothsayer @ Jan 19 2025, 09:44 PM) Bought a 2-channel Viofo A139 4K Pro in Dec 2023 and it suddenly got stuck in a reboot loop starting from last week. Searched around a saw a number of people complaining about the issue online. Unfortunately for me, looks like the warranty period is only for 1 year in Malaysia. I can only speak for brands that I have used, and the most recent ones is DDPAI, I have:A 1400+ camera (bought the parking kit as well) down the drain in a year. Thinking of trying another manufacturer this round. Any recommendations? Edit: Just to add, hardly drive this car. I get a 30% rebate from Etiqa's DLSM program as I work from home. It's always parked indoors in my condo carpark. Quite disappointed that it has broken down so quickly. The last Viofo A119 worked great for ~6 years. Z40 N1 Dual2X all thus far been good, considering the mostly reasonable price. my past dashcams: G1W blueskysea B1W |
Jan 21 2025, 01:42 PM
438 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
It has been awhile, but now looking for new dashcam
previously my last was Viofo A129 Dual, it serve me well for about 8 years before I sold it. Been reviewing the DDPAI and 70Mai model (as this within budget) 70mai A510 set 4G (RM649) shopee DDPAI Z60 Dual 4G (RM656) shopee Alternative DDPAI N5 Dual set with Parking (RM550) - I kinda like this design as it is discreet. I saw it came with OBD, what is difference with Fuse hardwire? Is it worth to go for 4G or just Wifi (A500 & Z50) Any ownder can share feedback? |
Feb 1 2025, 10:36 PM
837 posts Joined: Aug 2011 |
Anyone know what's the difference between the 2 DDPAI stores in Malaysia? From the website their store seems to be in Shah Alam, but in Shopee official store they're telling me that only authorised installer is at Cheras.. both seems legit but not sure what's the difference
| Change to: | 0.0209sec
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 02:33 PM |