Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

Seeking the next job & overall career progression, Need advice for the switch

views

TSwonglokat
post Apr 6 2019, 04:45 PM, updated 5y ago

Getting Started
246 posts

So, I’ve been thinking a lot about my current job, career and my parents who can no longer work due to age and health. With my CV and cover letter ready to be tweaked for job application, I want to get as many inputs as I can from people (hiring managers even) in the industry.

I’m in my early 30s, working my first job in healthcare/clinical diagnostics for 6 years now and I’ve been leading a section for the past 2 years. As I casually look these past months, I find that the medical device / food manufacturing industry is where the opportunities lie. Career-wise, I feel a new and more challenging curve is needed. Getting comfy and having moments of apathy bother me a great deal.

My questions are
1. Do I need to apply for entry- to mid-level jobs seeing that I’m ‘new’ to the industry? Sure, the knowledge is there but I note the requirements for industry/practical experience.
2. And to secure* the future for my family (I’m single), I understand that I need a bump in my salary in the next 5 – 10 years. How do I know that I’m ready to apply to a managerial position? Or will we? Is this just the fear of the unknown and compounded, probably, by lack of exposure to the industry I might apply to?

I’d love to hear from you all for 1 & 2 above and perhaps some tips navigating through what I deem to be a [hopefully] brief period of self-doubt.

Thanks.

for lack of a better word; wanting to make sure most contingencies are accounted for and purchasing some insurance coverage for the old folks. Been thrifty all these years and savings % alone won't cut it

Edited to clarify the initial 'healthcare' to mean clinical diagnostics ala Pathlab, BP and the like.

This post has been edited by wonglokat: Apr 6 2019, 06:35 PM
ReWeR