X96Max

AVFAN
post Apr 5 2019, 07:31 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(jackytiong @ Apr 5 2019, 06:20 PM)
Do we need 4gb and 64gb storage?
Paying RM300-RM400 and can watch the whole life it is trustable?
Beside X96Max box. which other is better?
there r dozens of such boxes available.

no, u really dun need such 4+64gb... 3+32 or 4+32 is more than enough.

unless u want to save many videos in the box itself.

i was comparing x96max against others, incl tx5max... all very similar.

after some youtube videos (just google, u find plenty), i went for tx5max:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4722095/+40

for such "cheap" boxes rm200-300, i look for wifi performance, overheating problems, spdif output, usb3.0 and bluetooth versions.

if budget is rm500-1k, i look for auto framerate switch, HD audio, full bluray menus.

** this "watch yr whole life"... read the news?
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4730576/+20#bottom

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Apr 5 2019, 09:38 PM
AVFAN
post Apr 15 2020, 06:57 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(numbertwo @ Apr 15 2020, 04:21 PM)
ah.. AVFAN .. good to see you here too..

I found one that has got a gigabit network within RM300 -  X96 MAX PLUS - AMLOGIC S905X3

Anyone using this to read media files from a home NAS? Just want to gather some input..
i never had a nas, never had a need.

so, i dunno how good yr server, app, connectivity will be.

but if your files are low end... like 3-5 gb, just dts/dd, cheap boxes might be ok.

but if u do 30, 50, 80 gb videos, hd audio, cheap boxes can't do, even if rated gigabit.

i am not well versed with the subject but i wud think u need a superb combination of device hardware, device firmware, router and app to get the biggest files streaming nicely.

in short, i am suggesting u can experiment with cheap boxes that appear to have great specs but be prepared for disappointment in some ways if yr files are big ones.

0.0183sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:32 AM