X96Max

TSjackytiong
post Apr 5 2019, 06:20 PM, updated 7y ago

581 posts

Do we need 4gb and 64gb storage?
Paying RM300-RM400 and can watch the whole life it is trustable?
Beside X96Max box. which other is better?
AVFAN
post Apr 5 2019, 07:31 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(jackytiong @ Apr 5 2019, 06:20 PM)
Do we need 4gb and 64gb storage?
Paying RM300-RM400 and can watch the whole life it is trustable?
Beside X96Max box. which other is better?
there r dozens of such boxes available.

no, u really dun need such 4+64gb... 3+32 or 4+32 is more than enough.

unless u want to save many videos in the box itself.

i was comparing x96max against others, incl tx5max... all very similar.

after some youtube videos (just google, u find plenty), i went for tx5max:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4722095/+40

for such "cheap" boxes rm200-300, i look for wifi performance, overheating problems, spdif output, usb3.0 and bluetooth versions.

if budget is rm500-1k, i look for auto framerate switch, HD audio, full bluray menus.

** this "watch yr whole life"... read the news?
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4730576/+20#bottom

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Apr 5 2019, 09:38 PM
numbertwo
post Apr 15 2020, 04:21 PM

1,784 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Apr 5 2019, 07:31 PM)
there r dozens of such boxes available.

no, u really dun need such 4+64gb... 3+32 or 4+32 is more than enough.

unless u want to save many videos in the box itself.

i was comparing x96max against others, incl tx5max... all very similar.

after some youtube videos (just google, u find plenty), i went for tx5max:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4722095/+40

for such "cheap" boxes rm200-300, i look for wifi performance, overheating problems, spdif output, usb3.0 and bluetooth versions.

if budget is rm500-1k, i look for auto framerate switch, HD audio, full bluray menus.
** this "watch yr whole life"... read the news?
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4730576/+20#bottom
ah.. AVFAN .. good to see you here too..

I found one that has got a gigabit network within RM300 - X96 MAX PLUS - AMLOGIC S905X3

Anyone using this to read media files from a home NAS? Just want to gather some input..

AVFAN
post Apr 15 2020, 06:57 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(numbertwo @ Apr 15 2020, 04:21 PM)
ah.. AVFAN .. good to see you here too..

I found one that has got a gigabit network within RM300 -  X96 MAX PLUS - AMLOGIC S905X3

Anyone using this to read media files from a home NAS? Just want to gather some input..
i never had a nas, never had a need.

so, i dunno how good yr server, app, connectivity will be.

but if your files are low end... like 3-5 gb, just dts/dd, cheap boxes might be ok.

but if u do 30, 50, 80 gb videos, hd audio, cheap boxes can't do, even if rated gigabit.

i am not well versed with the subject but i wud think u need a superb combination of device hardware, device firmware, router and app to get the biggest files streaming nicely.

in short, i am suggesting u can experiment with cheap boxes that appear to have great specs but be prepared for disappointment in some ways if yr files are big ones.
numbertwo
post Apr 15 2020, 09:25 PM

1,784 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Apr 15 2020, 06:57 PM)
i never had a nas, never had a need.

so, i dunno how good yr server, app, connectivity will be.

but if your files are low end... like 3-5 gb, just dts/dd, cheap boxes might be ok.

but if u do 30, 50, 80 gb videos, hd audio, cheap boxes can't do, even if rated gigabit.

i am not well versed with the subject but i wud think u need a superb combination of device hardware, device firmware, router and app to get the biggest files streaming nicely.

in short, i am suggesting u can experiment with cheap boxes that appear to have great specs but be prepared for disappointment in some ways if yr files are big ones.
no , just some very basic 1080p medias which my ubox couldn't play smoothly (100M port) but my 8 years old himedia can do well with its gigabit port.. problem is the himedia is holding its last breath (rebooting frequently) so i have to get another one with Gbit port to continue ... Tks for your input.
jabz
post Apr 16 2020, 10:07 AM

282 posts

QUOTE(numbertwo @ Apr 15 2020, 09:25 PM)
no , just some very basic 1080p medias which my ubox couldn't play smoothly (100M port) but my 8 years old himedia can do well with its gigabit port.. problem is the himedia is holding its last breath (rebooting frequently) so i have to get another one with Gbit port to continue ... Tks for your input.
why u dont continue with latest himedia? the one that have HDD port...?
numbertwo
post Apr 18 2020, 06:51 PM

1,784 posts

QUOTE(jabz @ Apr 16 2020, 10:07 AM)
why u dont continue with latest himedia? the one that have HDD port...?
hi,
Himedia is kinda 'dead' right? don't think they hv any new product since one or two years ago ? I dun really like a media player with embedded HDD slot.. cool2.gif

btw..i just bot the X96Max+ , finally able to play some 1080/2160p .mkv that Ubox Pro2 cannot play..
arvind13
post Apr 20 2020, 12:57 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(numbertwo @ Apr 18 2020, 06:51 PM)
hi,
Himedia is kinda 'dead' right? don't think they hv any new product since one or two years ago ?  I dun really like a media player with embedded HDD slot..  cool2.gif 

btw..i just bot the X96Max+ , finally able to play some 1080/2160p  .mkv that Ubox Pro2 cannot play..
Bought from local seller or overseas? Mind to share the link. smile.gif How's the performance in playing high bitrate movies...etc 4K HDR movie streaming, KODI and such.. Any lags noticed? I'm thinking of getting this box too since my 1st choice which was the Beelink GT1 Mini 2 is out of stocks in Beelink's official store.
numbertwo
post Apr 20 2020, 05:19 PM

1,784 posts

QUOTE(arvind13 @ Apr 20 2020, 12:57 PM)
Bought from local seller or overseas? Mind to share the link.  smile.gif  How's the performance in playing high bitrate movies...etc 4K HDR movie streaming, KODI and such.. Any lags noticed? I'm thinking of getting this box too since my 1st choice which was the Beelink GT1 Mini 2 is out of stocks in Beelink's official store.
i have tried out these few files using Kodi as the player

xxxx.2018.UHD.BluRay.2160p.x265-10bit.TrueHD.7.1.3Audios mkv
xxxx.2018.UHD.BluRay.2160p.x265-10bit.DTS-HD.MA7.1
xxxx.2017.UHD.BluRay.2160p.x265-10bit.TrueHD5.1.3Audios

they are working fine with no lags. But these are rather small files about 13-15GB only.

numbertwo
post Apr 20 2020, 05:20 PM

1,784 posts

QUOTE(arvind13 @ Apr 20 2020, 12:57 PM)
Bought from local seller or overseas? Mind to share the link.   smile.gif  How's the performance in playing high bitrate movies...etc 4K HDR movie streaming, KODI and such.. Any lags noticed? I'm thinking of getting this box too since my 1st choice which was the Beelink GT1 Mini 2 is out of stocks in Beelink's official store.
from LZD, local seller, may search using " FULLY LOADED 40+ LATEST APPS X96 MAX PLUS - AMLOGIC S905X3"

This post has been edited by numbertwo: Apr 20 2020, 05:21 PM
arvind13
post Apr 20 2020, 07:26 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(numbertwo @ Apr 20 2020, 05:19 PM)
i have tried out these few files using Kodi as the player

xxxx.2018.UHD.BluRay.2160p.x265-10bit.TrueHD.7.1.3Audios mkv
xxxx.2018.UHD.BluRay.2160p.x265-10bit.DTS-HD.MA7.1
xxxx.2017.UHD.BluRay.2160p.x265-10bit.TrueHD5.1.3Audios

they are working fine with no lags.  But these are rather small files about 13-15GB only.
Good to know bro.. I supposed playing bigger sized files like 30-50gb would make the box struggle but can't complain much since we are paying rm200-300 for this box right..
Cheers bro.. 👍👍
arvind13
post Apr 20 2020, 07:31 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(numbertwo @ Apr 20 2020, 05:20 PM)
from LZD, local seller, may search using " FULLY LOADED 40+ LATEST APPS X96 MAX PLUS - AMLOGIC S905X3"
Thanks bro.. I also found lzd overseas seller bundled with mx3 backlit airmouse for rm255.. 😁
erhmm
post Nov 14 2020, 07:46 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(numbertwo @ Apr 20 2020, 05:20 PM)
is there any diff btw local and oversea seller? apart of waranti, return back isu, brg x sampai/lmbt smpi?

looking fwd for this x96 max+ also
numbertwo
post Nov 16 2020, 08:58 AM

1,784 posts

QUOTE(erhmm @ Nov 14 2020, 07:46 PM)
is there any diff btw local and oversea seller? apart of waranti, return back isu, brg x sampai/lmbt smpi?

looking fwd for this x96 max+ also
not sure my friend.. only bought mine from the local lazada seller..

0.0193sec    0.51    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 07:39 PM