MC6 vs FK510 vs GY Excellence, For a 225/45/R17

DM52
post Apr 22 2019, 04:14 PM

368 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Apr 22 2019, 12:18 PM)
Licensee? Licensor? What talking you. Sime Tyre is majority owned by Continental. Thereโ€™s no Sime branded tyres being manufactured anymore. What do you think happened to all the Sime engineers and workers?
DRB Hicom major shareholder is Mercedes? 51%? If not what talking you.
I made a mistake. I admit it. Its not a licensing, but its a partnership.

Continental AG which is parents company from german buy 51% share from sime tyre. Then name it Continental Tyres PJ Malaysia Sdn Bhd. It consist of brand Continental for premium product, Dunlop for middle product and sime tyre for budget product.

Sime tyre is history, but its been replace by viking tyres to cater budget customer. So to answer ur question where this all worker goes, I believe they spread between all this company, conti, dunlop, and newly budget tyre, viking.

And I repeat my initial theory, I dont think they stamp low end tyres like viking(since sime no more) and put it become mc6. They cater different target market since one is cater for higher end while cater for lower end customer. And based on positive review from tyrereview uk, mc6 performance is positive which I dont think impossible its from budget resources.

Jason
post Apr 22 2019, 04:50 PM

5,846 posts

QUOTE(Oldskolboyz @ Apr 22 2019, 01:13 PM)
If people call you dxxx sure you angry..
Nolah won't be angry, I'm a huge dxxx anyway
You might be old school, I'm the OG around here

Mercedes and DRB-Hicom
Mercedes AG doesn't own shares in DRB-Hicom, even if they do it is not substantial, obviously DRB-Hicom cannot put their brand name on Mercedes products.
Continental and Sime Tyre
Continental is the majority shareholder (51% IIRC) of Sime Tyre, they can put their brand on Sime Tyre, they can rebrand Sime tyre, they can do whatever they want with Sime Tyre.

QUOTE(DM52 @ Apr 22 2019, 04:14 PM)
I made a mistake. I admit it. Its not a licensing, but its a partnership.

Continental AG which is parents company from german buy 51% share from sime tyre. Then name it Continental Tyres PJ Malaysia Sdn Bhd. It consist of brand Continental for premium product, Dunlop for middle product and sime tyre for budget product.

Sime tyre is history, but its been replace by viking tyres to cater budget customer. So to answer ur question where this all worker goes, I believe they spread between all this company, conti, dunlop, and newly budget tyre, viking.

And I repeat my initial theory, I dont think they stamp low end tyres like viking(since sime no more) and put it become mc6. They cater different target market since one is cater for higher end while cater for lower end customer. And based on positive review from tyrereview uk, mc6 performance is positive which I dont think impossible its from budget resources.
tyereview UK reviews, other than those done by magazines, are just posted by jokers such as myself and yourself. Anyway my personal opinion is that the MC6 is inferior to FK510 because its Falken's UHP flagship. If Falken's flagship cannot best a Sime Tyre Continental Malaysia engineered and made product, then Falken should just close shop. And that also means Continental's flagship must be godlike too.

This post has been edited by Jason: Apr 22 2019, 05:02 PM
DM52
post Apr 22 2019, 06:12 PM

368 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Apr 22 2019, 04:50 PM)

Anyway my personal opinion is that the MC6 is inferior to FK510 because its Falken's UHP flagship.
That is true liao. FK510 is superior. But customer in msia is fuckup. So few high end tyre enter market. So they, tyre manufacturer charge premium for middle end product and getting away with it.

Customer no choice, force to follow it.
sengasdf
post Apr 24 2019, 11:32 AM

487 posts

Changed a set of fk510, previously was using Yokohama V105, here is my take..

Pros:
- Price
- Comfort
- Dry grip(maybe it is new?)

Cons:
- Slower steering response

Overall, given the price, value is superb.

This post has been edited by sengasdf: Apr 24 2019, 11:33 AM
6UE5T
post Apr 24 2019, 07:00 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(sengasdf @ Apr 24 2019, 11:32 AM)
Changed a set of fk510, previously was using Yokohama V105, here is my take..

Pros:
- Price
- Comfort
- Dry grip(maybe it is new?)

Cons:
- Slower steering response

Overall, given the price, value is superb.
How long already do you use the fk510?
sengasdf
post Apr 24 2019, 09:58 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Apr 24 2019, 07:00 PM)
How long already do you use the fk510?
1 month now, been to b road 3 times and Sepang once, I am happy with this tyre.
6UE5T
post Apr 25 2019, 08:25 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(sengasdf @ Apr 24 2019, 09:58 PM)
1 month now, been to b road 3 times and Sepang once, I am happy with this tyre.
Good to know. It's one of the tires I'm considering for my next change also.
sengasdf
post Apr 25 2019, 08:37 AM

487 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Apr 25 2019, 08:25 AM)
Good to know. It's one of the tires I'm considering for my next change also.
Apart from slower steering response, i can't find much compromise on this tyre. Check tyrereviews youtube videos, highly rated by them.

In case anyone looking for good deal, look for Lucas at Ching tyre auto service centre at Setapak.
6UE5T
post Apr 25 2019, 09:47 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(sengasdf @ Apr 25 2019, 08:37 AM)
Apart from slower steering response,  i can't find much compromise on this tyre. Check tyrereviews youtube videos, highly rated by them.

In case anyone looking for good deal, look for Lucas at Ching tyre auto service centre at Setapak.
What size did you get and how much?
sengasdf
post Apr 25 2019, 10:10 AM

487 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Apr 25 2019, 09:47 AM)
What size did you get and how much?
235/35/19 - 6xx
265/35/19 - 9xx

Can't remember the exact price.
6UE5T
post Apr 25 2019, 10:44 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(sengasdf @ Apr 25 2019, 10:10 AM)
235/35/19 - 6xx
265/35/19 - 9xx

Can't remember the exact price.
Wah very big sizes. Your front though is much thinner/lower sidewall by 1cm than the rear, so much smaller overall diameter (by 2cm).
sengasdf
post Apr 25 2019, 10:52 AM

487 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Apr 25 2019, 10:44 AM)
Wah very big sizes. Your front though is much thinner/lower sidewall by 1cm than the rear, so much smaller overall diameter (by 2cm).
Yea, that is the original specification from Porsche. I have no idea why biggrin.gif
6UE5T
post Apr 25 2019, 01:48 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(sengasdf @ Apr 25 2019, 10:52 AM)
Yea, that is the original specification from Porsche. I have no idea why  biggrin.gif
Yeah better still follow original.
dickybird
post Apr 25 2019, 10:32 PM

2,070 posts

QUOTE(sengasdf @ Apr 25 2019, 10:52 AM)
Yea, that is the original specification from Porsche. I have no idea why  biggrin.gif
Probably to build in understeer into the handling of the car. Otherwise car too happy to swap ends.
zy93
post Apr 26 2019, 07:31 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(dickybird @ Apr 25 2019, 10:32 PM)
Probably to build in understeer into the handling of the car. Otherwise car too happy to swap ends.
My family's Elise s1 have 195/50r15 for front, 225/45r16 for rear. Original size from lotus as well ๐Ÿ˜‚
dickybird
post Apr 26 2019, 10:43 AM

2,070 posts

QUOTE(zy93 @ Apr 26 2019, 07:31 AM)
My family's Elise s1 have 195/50r15 for front, 225/45r16 for rear. Original size from lotus as well ๐Ÿ˜‚
You only need teeny tires to steer.
But fat tires to put down the power.
ComputerIdiot
post Dec 27 2019, 09:55 AM

168 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Apr 22 2019, 04:50 PM)
Nolah won't be angry, I'm a huge dxxx anyway
You might be old school, I'm the OG around here

Mercedes and DRB-Hicom
Mercedes AG doesn't own shares in DRB-Hicom, even if they do it is not substantial, obviously DRB-Hicom cannot put their brand name on Mercedes products.
Continental and Sime Tyre
Continental is the majority shareholder (51% IIRC) of Sime Tyre, they can put their brand on Sime Tyre, they can rebrand Sime tyre, they can do whatever they want with Sime Tyre.
tyereview UK reviews, other than those done by magazines, are just posted by jokers such as myself and yourself. Anyway my personal opinion is that the MC6 is inferior to FK510 because its Falken's UHP flagship. If Falken's flagship cannot best a Sime Tyre Continental Malaysia engineered and made product, then Falken should just close shop. And that also means Continental's flagship must be godlike too.
Interesting

This post has been edited by ComputerIdiot: Dec 27 2019, 09:55 AM

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0149sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 11:09 PM