MC6 vs FK510 vs GY Excellence, For a 225/45/R17

TSmarquis
post Apr 4 2019, 02:00 PM, updated 7y ago

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

After typing all of this I realised this post became a wall of text. Apologies for that

Hello!

Some of you might have seen me asking this in the 408 thread. Thank you for the replies there for those that have chipped in. I decided to post here instead since it's specifically tire talk (and it'll reach a wider user base). After doing my own research and recommendations from the good folks from the 408 thread, I've narrowed down the choices to these three tyres.

This is for the wife's car. I'm merely doing her homework.

Currently running on the same size, MC5.

Of the three, the Excellence seems to be the cheapest option. This and the MC6 can be sourced via Lazada/Shopee; MC6 @ RM 363 (Could've sworn it was only RM330 yesterday), GY Exc. @ RM 293. The Falken I can't seem to find online...only one I see is a shop in Setapak advertising on Mudah for RM 350. On to the breakdown:

MC 6
Wife is inclined towards these. Mostly due to the current tyre being a conti as well.

Pros:
- Wife likes it (Brand familiarity)
- Good review from one or two sites. Only comparison is against the MC5. Can't for the life of me find a comparison with the other brands on my list.

Cons:
- Actual user reported issues with balancing after 5k km. (although admittedly, sample size of one sweat.gif )
- Can't find much info about people using this tyre locally. At least not online.

Treadwear/Traction/Temp rating: 340/AA/A

FK510

Pros:
- Good feedback around here. Seems to be the other tyre recommended if it's not the Hankook V12 Evo 2.
- High rating at this website

Cons:
- No online presence from seller. Need to source an actual shop for this.
- Wife doesn't seem too keen

Treadwear/Traction/Temp rating: 300/AA/A

Excellence

Pros:
- Good feedback from a trusted member.
- Brand familiarity

Cons:
- Mixed reviews online
- Only one confirmed user (so far) reporting in (different tyre size though)

Treadwear/Traction/Temp rating: 240/A/A
-----

Although my wife says she's ok with the current drive comfort etc, I'm looking to retain the handling of the MC5 but with better comfort. All three seems to be good contenders but I'm looking for more actual users to chip in.

Thanks in advance chaps!

PS: I read that one should not compare the ratings from different manufacturer so I don't know what to do with that info sweat.gif

PPS: Additional notes. Mostly city driving, with a possibility of outstation driving during the weekends. Not really a speed demon. I generally cruise around 110 - 130. If I hit a particularly long stretch of straights, then I have the tendency to go 160. Fastest I'll probably ever do is 180 but I'm not too keen on doing that.
philipskardon
post Apr 4 2019, 02:11 PM

83 posts

If you like MC5 and think highly of it.. then MC6 is a huge improvement.
Both MC6 and Falkens are UHPs while GY excellence isnt.

You wont find much reviews on MC6 internationally cause its made for asian markets hence not avail outside. but plenty of reviews by local press at launch time.

Ive used Fk510 and im using MC6 at present.. price wise its far too competitive over PS4. Performance wise, no complaints.

loutze
post Apr 4 2019, 02:18 PM

660 posts

Tyre Size?

Currently using MC6 225/45 R17 (not on 4WD drive) which is quite comfy.

Wanted to try out MC6 225/55 R17 on Subaru XV but heard other owners having problem getting all tires align properly on 4WD.

GY Excellence is a bargain, consider falls under 3 golden consumers rule (reasonable price, pretty good quality and worthy OR cantonese PENG LENG CHENG)

wkc5657
post Apr 4 2019, 03:53 PM

558 posts

Good year excellence is totally different category from MC6 and Fk510. MC6/Fk510 are UHP tyres, pretty much the top end of consumer grade product.

To make things easy, if wife prefers MC6, just go with it. She feels assured, she feels happy (her preference mah) and you no need headache. It also meets your criteria of handling and comfort.

Fk510, malaysian market seems to despise falken brand. Many prefer unknown china brand than falken. Product availability not that wide spread, although pricing is quite competitive.

Another choice would be the hankook v12evo2, good balance between performance and comfort. Usually could cost lower, but can only find one seller in mudah selling this at RM350/pc :
https://www.mudah.my/225+45R17+Hankook+Vent...re-74044470.htm
* likely possible to find someone selling lesser than this
TSmarquis
post Apr 4 2019, 05:30 PM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

QUOTE(philipskardon @ Apr 4 2019, 02:11 PM)
If you like MC5 and think highly of it.. then MC6 is a huge improvement.
Both MC6 and Falkens are UHPs while GY excellence isnt.

You wont find much reviews on MC6 internationally cause its made for asian markets hence not avail outside. but plenty of reviews by local press at launch time.

Ive used Fk510 and im using MC6 at present.. price wise its far too competitive over PS4. Performance wise, no complaints.
I wouldn’t say I think highly of it. It can handle the corners I take well enough when travelling to Pahang. The windy road after Karak.

That’s what I gathered about the MC6...it’s geared towards our market. Problem with the local press launch coverage is they only compare it to the MC5. I was hoping to read comparisons to other brands in the list. If based just on the mc5 vs mc6, I’d say I’m sold.

How would you compare the FK510 to the MC6 since you’ve used both?

QUOTE(loutze @ Apr 4 2019, 02:18 PM)
Tyre Size?

Currently using MC6 225/45 R17 (not on 4WD drive) which is quite comfy.

Wanted to try out MC6 225/55 R17 on Subaru XV but heard other owners having problem getting all tires align properly on 4WD.

GY Excellence is a bargain, consider falls under 3 golden consumers rule (reasonable price, pretty good quality and worthy OR cantonese PENG LENG CHENG)

225/45 r17. So same as yours. I don’t think I have to worry about 4wd since the 408 isn’t one.

Do you happen to have used the Excellence? Or know anyone that has? I’m trying to reach out to a wider sample size.

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Apr 4 2019, 03:53 PM)
Good year excellence is totally different category from MC6 and Fk510. MC6/Fk510 are UHP tyres, pretty much the top end of consumer grade product.

To make things easy, if wife prefers MC6, just go with it. She feels assured, she feels happy (her preference mah) and you no need headache. It also meets your criteria of handling and comfort.

Fk510, malaysian market seems to despise falken brand. Many prefer unknown china brand than falken. Product availability not that wide spread, although pricing is quite competitive.

Another choice would be the hankook v12evo2, good balance between performance and comfort. Usually could cost lower, but can only find one seller in mudah selling this at RM350/pc :
https://www.mudah.my/225+45R17+Hankook+Vent...re-74044470.htm
* likely possible to find someone selling lesser than this
Lol. Yeah. Less headache would be to just go for the MC6. However I’m the one doing her homework, so gotta do my due diligence. Heh.

I’ve taken a look at the hankook but wifey doesn’t seem too enthused about it. Also, read some horror stories on hankook. So better to steer clear. Safe than sorry and all that jazz.

———

Thanks for all the feedback guys. To those that have used the MC6 (or currently using), do you have any issues with balancing after a certain amount of usage?

EDIT: Words. Replying on mobile can be such a pain sweat.gif

This post has been edited by marquis: Apr 4 2019, 05:56 PM
6UE5T
post Apr 4 2019, 09:34 PM

1,704 posts

If I were you, no brainer I choose the FK510! Because it's pretty much proven already in many tests against other top tires, very often comes out in the top 5 if not even top 3.

MC6 is claimed by Continental Malaysia to be UHP to rival PS4 but never proven, so talk is cheap! I'd pick CPC6 over this but stupid Continental Malaysia doesn't bring it in.

As for Goodyear Excellence, I won't consider coz it's lower class. Should be F1 series to be able to match up properly. I'd take Hankook V12 Evo 2 over this Excellence or even MC6! The V12E2 is an excellent value for money.

Actchan
post Apr 4 2019, 09:52 PM

472 posts

Hi Ts, Rm350 for falken fk510 - 225/45r17 (japan) is good deal. Buy it before stock finish =)

TSmarquis
post Apr 5 2019, 08:53 AM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Apr 4 2019, 09:34 PM)
If I were you, no brainer I choose the FK510! Because it's pretty much proven already in many tests against other top tires, very often comes out in the top 5 if not even top 3.

MC6 is claimed by Continental Malaysia to be UHP to rival PS4 but never proven, so talk is cheap! I'd pick CPC6 over this but stupid Continental Malaysia doesn't bring it in.

As for Goodyear Excellence, I won't consider coz it's lower class. Should be F1 series to be able to match up properly. I'd take Hankook V12 Evo 2 over this Excellence or even MC6! The V12E2 is an excellent value for money.
I was waiting for you to come in laugh.gif

A lot of my FK510 info comes from the links you previously provided. If it were up to me, it'd be the Falken. I however need to provide more compelling arguments to the wife.

So which are you using? The FK510 or the V12E2? I read around the hankook's wet performance isn't as good as the FK510.

QUOTE(Actchan @ Apr 4 2019, 09:52 PM)
Hi Ts, Rm350 for falken fk510 - 225/45r17 (japan) is good deal. Buy it before stock finish =)
Ah. So that's a good price. Noted. Thank you!

loutze
post Apr 5 2019, 09:29 AM

660 posts

Using GY Excellence 225/50 R17 Honda Accord, very comfy as I previously explain. So when cornering felt a bit soft IF were to compare with MC6.

But on highway + rainy days + go thru a small plot of water will encounter slight aquaplane.

Do share where u get the deal for FK510

This post has been edited by loutze: Apr 5 2019, 09:30 AM
6UE5T
post Apr 5 2019, 09:45 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(marquis @ Apr 5 2019, 08:53 AM)
I was waiting for you to come in laugh.gif

A lot of my FK510 info comes from the links you previously provided. If it were up to me, it'd be the Falken. I however need to provide more compelling arguments to the wife.

So which are you using? The FK510 or the V12E2? I read around the hankook's wet performance isn't as good as the FK510.
Ah. So that's a good price. Noted. Thank you!
Haven't got the chance to try fk510. I got V12E2 on my son's Swift Sport and last time on my wife's Livina, very happy with them so far. I think fk510 should be better coz it's also newer tires but it's also slightly more expensive so on balance both should be excellent value for money.

Note though that fk510 sidewall is stiffer while v12e2 is softer, so probably V12E2 is more comfortable.

This post has been edited by 6UE5T: Apr 5 2019, 09:52 AM
TSmarquis
post Apr 5 2019, 10:29 AM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

QUOTE(loutze @ Apr 5 2019, 09:29 AM)
Using GY Excellence 225/50 R17 Honda Accord, very comfy as I previously explain. So when cornering felt a bit soft IF were to compare with MC6.

But on highway + rainy days + go thru a small plot of water will encounter slight aquaplane.

Do share where u get the deal for FK510
Ah. That’s not good. Will refrain from the GY then. In the event wifey drives I don’t want her to panic. Thanks for the heads up!

The deal? I just did a search on google. Some shop in Setapak apparently.

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Apr 5 2019, 09:45 AM)
Haven't got the chance to try fk510. I got V12E2 on my son's Swift Sport and last time on my wife's Livina, very happy with them so far. I think fk510 should be better coz it's also newer tires but it's also slightly more expensive so on balance both should be excellent value for money.

Note though that fk510 sidewall is stiffer while v12e2 is softer, so probably V12E2 is more comfortable.
Noted! She’s ok with the MC5 now so even a slight improvement would be a bonus tbf.

wkc5657
post Apr 5 2019, 01:54 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(marquis @ Apr 5 2019, 10:29 AM)

Noted! She’s ok with the MC5 now so even a slight improvement would be a bonus tbf.
Deh........despite the MC6 may not be the best of the bunch, it is still a reputable brand compared to unknown china/indonesia brand (that are flooding the market now). It will still perform decent enough if she's already happy with the MC5.

Since her heart is with continental, no need too much arguments. Happy wife, happy life.... brows.gif
TSmarquis
post Apr 5 2019, 02:18 PM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Apr 5 2019, 01:54 PM)
Deh........despite the MC6 may not be the best of the bunch, it is still a reputable brand compared to unknown china/indonesia brand (that are flooding the market now). It will still perform decent enough if she's already happy with the MC5.

Since her heart is with continental, no need too much arguments. Happy wife, happy life.... brows.gif
No truer words have been spoken, friend. nod.gif

Now trying to find FK510 from reputable shop...Or at least shop that are recommended. Just as a comparison to her; At least I can say I've done my part. Reading more reviews seems like the hankook v12E2 and S1E2 is quite...interesting. Heh.

Decisions, decisions eh?
6UE5T
post Apr 5 2019, 07:34 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(marquis @ Apr 5 2019, 02:18 PM)
No truer words have been spoken, friend. nod.gif

Now trying to find FK510 from reputable shop...Or at least shop that are recommended. Just as a comparison to her; At least I can say I've done my part. Reading more reviews seems like the hankook v12E2 and S1E2 is quite...interesting. Heh.

Decisions, decisions eh?
My wife has no say about tires or pretty much anything on cars, she just follows what I say.

S1E2 should be as good if not better than V12E2 but difficult to find here in MY. Btw Hankook has released the S1E3, hopefully will come to MY.
philipskardon
post Apr 5 2019, 10:57 PM

83 posts

Price to performance MC6 is pretty good. Not much of a diff compared to FK. Unless u side sweep corners and pedal to metal all the way everytime, the differences is probably minute. I do find mc6 softer though.

The other affordable uhp is Gt radial or giti hpy. They have in run flats as well.. Cheap and pretty decent for me. Also on occasional runs up UY.

TSmarquis
post Apr 6 2019, 12:43 AM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Apr 5 2019, 07:34 PM)
My wife has no say about tires or pretty much anything on cars, she just follows what I say.

S1E2 should be as good if not better than V12E2 but difficult to find here in MY. Btw Hankook has released the S1E3, hopefully will come to MY.
Well, it's her cars. I can give strong recommendations but ultimately it's her choice. Heh.

Saw the reviews about the S1E3. Quite impressed. Seems like hankook joined the big league players?

QUOTE(philipskardon @ Apr 5 2019, 10:57 PM)
Price to performance MC6 is pretty good.  Not much of a diff compared to FK.  Unless u side sweep corners and pedal to metal all the way everytime, the differences is probably minute. I do find mc6 softer though.

The other affordable uhp is Gt radial or giti hpy. They have in run flats as well.. Cheap and pretty decent for me. Also on occasional runs up UY.
Nah. I'm not that kinda driver. Pretty sedate driving most of the time.

-----

Seems like a conclusion has been reached. Despite all the homework I've done, she went completely off tangent and decided on the PS4 laugh.gif

I guess that's a wrap gents. I thank everyone for their time and effort. I have come out a little bit more informed now about tyres and what not.

Gonna be going to the workshop her cousin frequents tomorrow. Apparently it's a good price

Thanks again!
6UE5T
post Apr 6 2019, 01:28 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(marquis @ Apr 6 2019, 12:43 AM)
Well, it's her cars. I can give strong recommendations but ultimately it's her choice. Heh.

Saw the reviews about the S1E3. Quite impressed. Seems like hankook joined the big league players?
Nah. I'm not that kinda driver. Pretty sedate driving most of the time.

-----

Seems like a conclusion has been reached. Despite all the homework I've done, she went completely off tangent and decided on the PS4 laugh.gif

I guess that's a wrap gents. I thank everyone for their time and effort. I have come out a little bit more informed now about tyres and what not.

Gonna be going to the workshop her cousin frequents tomorrow. Apparently it's a good price

Thanks again!
Hahaha after all she's made the smartest choice, so kudos to her! thumbup.gif So next time no need to think much, just buy the best. brows.gif
TSmarquis
post Apr 6 2019, 04:11 PM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Apr 6 2019, 01:28 AM)
Hahaha after all she's made the smartest choice, so kudos to her!  thumbup.gif  So next time no need to think much, just buy the best.  brows.gif
I guess that's why she's my better half!

Good to know she won't shy away from the price if it's known to be a safer alternative biggrin.gif

Btw, for the interest of sharing, the PS4 was Rm500/piece. Additional 10 for steel valves (5 for rubber). Everything else was inclusive.
6UE5T
post Apr 6 2019, 04:56 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(marquis @ Apr 6 2019, 04:11 PM)
I guess that's why she's my better half!

Good to know she won't shy away from the price if it's known to be a safer alternative biggrin.gif

Btw, for the interest of sharing, the PS4 was Rm500/piece. Additional 10 for steel valves (5 for rubber). Everything else was inclusive.
That's decent price.
wkc5657
post Apr 6 2019, 06:33 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Apr 5 2019, 07:34 PM)

Fuh~~~man of the house! flex.gif flex.gif

QUOTE(marquis @ Apr 6 2019, 12:43 AM)

wah....yeng sai....win liao.....she choose pretty much the top consumer tyre in the market...

0.0230sec    0.85    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:05 PM