Serious Feedback needed on SG Salary, Need feedback from SG expert

jitshiong
post Apr 3 2019, 05:35 PM

Trust me, I'm an Engineer
1,868 posts

QUOTE(ferros @ Apr 3 2019, 04:23 PM)
Mod: please help to move the thread if it is inappropriate to post here.

Hi all,

Need some feedback from all those expert that currently working in SG, especially in IT.

I am working in IT field in Malaysia right now, with a basic of RM 71XX.
I had offered by a SG company with a SGD 6000 as a data engineer. (my expected put SGD 6500)
I know i low ball my salary, but if i put exact 1:1, i concern they may turn me down since i am not really expertise in those niche fields cry.gif

It was a contact roles, with a 13 months salary.
SGD 6000 * 13 = SGD78000
so if SGD 78000/12 equal to each month SGD 6500
With this calculation from HR, they claim they are paying me what i expected.

I plan to negotiate with them to meet my expected salary.
Worst case, just accept it since 6k is not so bad, just not really meet my expectation.

Wanna get some input from expert here, for a 7 years working experience, is the salary offered considered decent in SG?
Or i am actually asking to low for my experience for a normal IT data engineer.

Thanks in advance.
Based on current market situation, the salary offered is not bad.
Do ask them about CPF, since they are saving on that portion, ask for it to be paid to your salary.
jitshiong
post Apr 4 2019, 09:45 AM

Trust me, I'm an Engineer
1,868 posts

QUOTE(ferros @ Apr 3 2019, 07:06 PM)
I am not PR nor citizen, hence there is no CPF.
In this case is it wise enough to use CPF as leverage?
Some companies do that. Just another suggestion for your consideration.
Whether the package is good enough for you or not, only you can answer.

0.0148sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:38 AM