Private Secondary Schools, Your views?

TScarpathia
post Apr 1 2019, 10:40 AM, updated 7y ago

2,619 posts

I would like to know if anyone here send their kids to private schools (secondary) and how do you rate them ?
I am in the midst of researching but am still searching for the one that i can actually afford ( less than 30k per year )

donald88
post Apr 1 2019, 10:48 AM

366 posts

If IGCSE O-levels I would suggest Sirius Scholar
TScarpathia
post Apr 1 2019, 11:02 AM

2,619 posts

QUOTE(donald88 @ Apr 1 2019, 10:48 AM)
If IGCSE O-levels I would suggest Sirius Scholar
Thanks bro but this place has no facilities ? looks more like a tuition centre
limmi01
post Apr 1 2019, 12:22 PM

113 posts

If you are residents of Petaling Jaya, have a look at Nobel International at Kelana Jaya, or Sri KL at Subang Jaya.
Nobel International has discipline its student quite well, and producing quite a number of good academic students.

This post has been edited by limmi01: Apr 1 2019, 12:23 PM
TScarpathia
post Apr 1 2019, 01:40 PM

2,619 posts

QUOTE(limmi01 @ Apr 1 2019, 12:22 PM)
If you are residents of Petaling Jaya, have a look at Nobel International at Kelana Jaya, or Sri KL at Subang Jaya.
Nobel International has discipline its student quite well, and producing quite a number of good academic students.
Thank you for sharing mate. i was looking more for KL/CHERAS/Damansara area.
donald88
post Apr 1 2019, 02:13 PM

366 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Apr 1 2019, 11:02 AM)
Thanks bro but this place has no facilities ? looks more like a tuition centre
Yes, labeled as tuition centre, called Pusat Tuisyen Sirius or PTS. They have 2 international schools; namely Sri Emas and Dwi Emas, of course more expensive like about 2x more.

Don't know what facilities you want but the teachers are good and basic essentials are there. Save the money for university education.
TScarpathia
post Apr 1 2019, 02:16 PM

2,619 posts

QUOTE(donald88 @ Apr 1 2019, 02:13 PM)
Yes, labeled as tuition centre, called Pusat Tuisyen Sirius or PTS. They have 2 international schools; namely Sri Emas and Dwi Emas, of course more expensive like about 2x more.

Don't know what facilities you want but the teachers are good and basic essentials are there. Save the money for university education.
Yeah i know....i'm really very undecided now.... also considering those private home schooling but still need more info.
donald88
post Apr 1 2019, 06:51 PM

366 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Apr 1 2019, 02:16 PM)
Yeah i know....i'm really very undecided now.... also considering those private home schooling but still need more info.
Private Home School is basically same as PTS
donald88
post Apr 1 2019, 06:57 PM

366 posts

I picked out the best nearby SMK, best known Chinese High School in Klang, APIIT international school and PTS. Brought to tour all facilities and hostels where available and let my child decide.
donald88
post Apr 1 2019, 06:58 PM

366 posts

I picked out the best nearby SMK, best known Chinese High School in Klang, APIIT international school and PTS. Brought to tour all facilities and hostels where available and let my child decide.
psychotucker
post Apr 28 2019, 09:34 PM

46 posts

If you can accept your children go clubbing , vape , go collect corpse (son) , asking you to pay for their luxurious hype equipment when they get older (16-19) , then you can send them to international high school (trust me these problems are inevitable unless your children have very good self confidence since young)

*I say self confidence instead of discipline here because I notice many of my ex-primary school classmates who used to be very discipline and being called as good-good-good-boy now lead a very different lifestyle after they went to international high school , I believe they are indirectly influenced by their friends*

Otherwise, go Chinese Private High school , or some reputable public high school.

(reason to trust me: I've just graduated from Chinese high school, having siblings and friends who studied in international's)

This post has been edited by psychotucker: Apr 28 2019, 09:39 PM
psychotucker
post Apr 28 2019, 09:49 PM

46 posts

I have friends who come from English-background family, studied in Chinese Secondary School until Form 5, and quitted to do A-levels/ADP instead of UEC, and they are performing very well now, one even got offer from Ivy-league. I think this is a good alternative.

Build your children's mindset, instead of grades. Good grades will come eventually. I believe there are plenty of good international secondary schools too, just don't pick those that will lead your children in Zouk club at the end.
iSean
post Apr 28 2019, 09:53 PM

iz old liao.
4,496 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Apr 1 2019, 10:40 AM)
I would like to know if anyone here send their kids to private schools (secondary) and how do you rate them ?
I am in the midst of researching but am still searching for the one that i can actually afford ( less than 30k per year )
No point in sending them there tbh, you want send, send during A-Level.
Tuition centers in Malaysia nowadays are sufficient.

iSean
post Apr 28 2019, 09:54 PM

iz old liao.
4,496 posts

QUOTE(donald88 @ Apr 1 2019, 06:58 PM)
APIIT International School rclxub.gif
I dunno APU got so good or not la.
Just send to SMJK Cluster schools
tpleong
post Apr 29 2019, 11:27 AM

803 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Apr 1 2019, 10:40 AM)
Have a look at Wesley Methodist School at Sentul , if you child can get in.
TScarpathia
post Apr 29 2019, 02:31 PM

2,619 posts

QUOTE(tpleong @ Apr 29 2019, 11:27 AM)
Have a look at Wesley Methodist School at Sentul  , if  you child can get in.
Thanks for sharing. Didn't know about this school. Fees also quite comparable to REAL SCHOOL
iSean
post Apr 29 2019, 06:32 PM

iz old liao.
4,496 posts

QUOTE(tpleong @ Apr 29 2019, 11:27 AM)
Have a look at Wesley Methodist School at Sentul  , if  you child can get in.
The same organization as MCKL.
I wouldn't trust them ever again, after their A-levels was lecturing system poorly regulated, and they overcharged A-Level fees compared to the rest of the A-Level college market.
But then this is their "College" management, not SPM/O-Level schools

This post has been edited by iSean: Apr 29 2019, 06:33 PM
tpleong
post Apr 29 2019, 06:45 PM

803 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Apr 29 2019, 02:31 PM)
Thanks for sharing. Didn't know about this school. Fees also quite comparable to REAL SCHOOL
Almost all their students get staright As for their SPM/ICGSE.

Good discipline.

This post has been edited by tpleong: Apr 29 2019, 06:48 PM
tpleong
post Apr 29 2019, 06:49 PM

803 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Apr 29 2019, 06:32 PM)
I wouldn't trust them ever again, after their A-levels was lecturing system poorly regulated, and they overcharged A-Level fees compared to the rest of the A-Level college market.
I feel that your case is an isolated case . They are not as bad as what you said.
iSean
post Apr 29 2019, 07:34 PM

iz old liao.
4,496 posts

QUOTE(tpleong @ Apr 29 2019, 06:49 PM)
I feel that your case is an isolated case . They are not as bad as what you said.
Depends on how lucky on which type of lecturer you get la like all Private Institution.
Our Education System is always like this.
But MCKL did really overcharged compared to the Market's External A-Level Fees during my time. vmad.gif
They didn't not gave me special AS+A2 retaking pricing, was charged the complete pricing.
This you can validate in the link in my description.

This issues are still prevalent if you read their Confession Pages laugh.gif

This post has been edited by iSean: Apr 29 2019, 07:35 PM
TScarpathia
post Apr 29 2019, 07:38 PM

2,619 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Apr 29 2019, 06:32 PM)
Yeah, unfortunately i called them earlier (wendy picked up) and said i have to enroll by this weekend for 2020 semester. i am like, WTF ? i don't think i can make it liao....

most probably i will go to either ( in no order)
1) R.E.A.L. SChool
2) Cempaka
3) Beaconhouse

my 1st choice is sunway international school but after looking at their fees, i can't afford it ( 36+K per year )

iSean
post Apr 29 2019, 07:49 PM

iz old liao.
4,496 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Apr 29 2019, 07:38 PM)
Yeah, unfortunately i called them earlier (wendy picked up) and said i have to enroll by this weekend for 2020 semester. i am like, WTF ? i don't think i can make it liao....

most probably i will go to either  ( in no order)
1) R.E.A.L. SChool
2) Cempaka
3) Beaconhouse

my 1st choice is sunway international school but after looking at their fees, i can't afford it ( 36+K per year )
Actually why not send your kid to Cluster School in SMJK/SMK?
Your kid no UPSR?

SMJK Katholik PJ / SMK Methodist KL / SMK St John Institute so far are good in the KL Region.
TScarpathia
post Apr 30 2019, 08:12 AM

2,619 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Apr 29 2019, 07:49 PM)
Actually why not send your kid to Cluster School in SMJK/SMK?
Your kid no UPSR?

SMJK Katholik PJ / SMK Methodist KL / SMK St John Institute so far are good in the KL Region.
Hi bro, yes my kid is sitting for UPSR this year but wanted to give them something we didn't have.
BTW. What is cluster school ?
iSean
post Apr 30 2019, 08:24 AM

iz old liao.
4,496 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Apr 30 2019, 08:12 AM)
Hi bro, yes my kid is sitting for UPSR this year but wanted to give them something we didn't have.
BTW. What is cluster school ?
Cluster School - School that is well Academic/Koko Based, recognized for their top education (no idea how it is measured)
Basically a school where students are highly competitive in both extra-curricular and academic based.

For Selangor schools should be these :
http://jpnselangor.moe.gov.my/jpns/index.p...jpa-bp-spt-bo3a

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B8SHpR9FcP...FVhTDBmNEU/edit

These schools offers the most "value" in their education as teachers and students are both dedicated in their teaching and learning.
While not neglecting the budget spending in doing extra-curricular activities.

I personally think that it is a waste of money spending yours hard earn money into private education sector.
And let your kid end up in tuition center eventually also.

Might as well, dump them in a high competitive school, and use tuition center as top up. laugh.gif
If your kid want jump SPM by 1 year, if your kid can do IGCSE during Form 4 as private candidate if he can cram Form 4/5 syllabus at one go in a year.

0.0187sec    0.66    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 12:12 AM