VW Passat 2.0 HL vs. BMW 318i Luxury, Which one will you choose?

Between these 2 cars:-

VW Passat 2.0 HL [ 70 ] ** [56.00%]
BMW 318i Luxury [ 55 ] ** [44.00%]
Total Votes: 125
Guests cannot vote 

TSmanx
post Mar 29 2019, 08:18 AM, updated 7y ago

1,849 posts

Which one will be the better choice?
rcracer
post Mar 29 2019, 08:19 AM

?????
3,772 posts

in what sense better?
jameslow
post Mar 29 2019, 08:22 AM

285 posts

New car or under warranty - BMW

Used car or out of warranty - VW
Pugbunny
post Mar 29 2019, 08:27 AM

717 posts

VW = visit workshop

BMW = banyak masuk workshop
TSmanx
post Mar 29 2019, 08:28 AM

1,849 posts

QUOTE(rcracer @ Mar 29 2019, 08:19 AM)
in what sense better?
I would say overall which include comfortable, reliability & value for money. To compare the feature i think VW has the upper hand wth all the latest gadgets included compared to the BMW.
TSmanx
post Mar 29 2019, 08:30 AM

1,849 posts

QUOTE(Pugbunny @ Mar 29 2019, 08:27 AM)
VW = visit workshop

BMW = banyak masuk workshop
VW i know but ppl say the wet clutch is lesser issue compared to the dry clutch version. For BMW, i am not sure if it is also a problematic car.
dylan_chng
post Mar 29 2019, 08:32 AM

693 posts

The BMW is now less than RM200k. It will be a long time before that ever happens again. But my vote is on the passat. More unique. More rare.
matmoto5125
post Mar 29 2019, 08:37 AM

Silent Reader
1,305 posts

If it is my money, between this two, I'll take the Passat.
ketupatlazat
post Mar 29 2019, 08:38 AM

555 posts

VW lorrr. That 2.0L GTI engine no joke weh. And B8 passat looks much sleeker than ever.

Why buy outgoing 3 series man
rcracer
post Mar 29 2019, 09:46 AM

?????
3,772 posts

QUOTE(manx @ Mar 29 2019, 08:28 AM)
I would say overall which include comfortable, reliability & value for money. To compare the feature i think VW has the upper hand wth all the latest gadgets included compared to the BMW.
comfort passat hands down , f30 well known hard suspension , cramped and causes car sickness a lot

reliability both equally bad

value for money both equally bad

but of course badge is ultimately what people look at

so BMW
InitialB
post Mar 29 2019, 09:49 AM

700 posts

Passat...cuz BMW is crap.

Overinflated price, high maintenance, less aftermarket value
digilife
post Mar 29 2019, 10:04 AM

The MNP guy, its me yeah.
8,025 posts

dun compare an apple with an orange

Passat is D Segment while 3 Series is C Segment

But I would prefer the 3 zai over the Passout
WinterAngeLs
post Mar 29 2019, 10:06 AM

141 posts

1.5T inline-3 vs 2.0T inline-4, quite a big difference there.

318i missing some equipment as well like keyles entry, paddle shift

IamAHuman
post Mar 29 2019, 11:03 AM

350 posts

in terms of equipment level, sportiness and space, VW Passat 2.0 wins it hands down.

But I'll still go for BMW coz it's 5 years free maintenance coupled with reliable gearbox, engine (updated 1.5l) and electronics!
TSmanx
post Mar 29 2019, 11:04 AM

1,849 posts

I know they are in a different segment, more towards an option on the price range. Feature-wise definitely VW wins since the Passat 2.0 HL comes with more up to date gadgets compared to the BMW.
IamAHuman
post Mar 29 2019, 11:22 AM

350 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Mar 29 2019, 10:04 AM)
dun compare an apple with an orange

Passat is D Segment while 3 Series is C Segment

But I would prefer the 3 zai over the Passout
3 sili is D segment dude

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/BMW_3_Series
fireballs
post Mar 29 2019, 06:19 PM

5,650 posts

Both are headache cars. Since u choose headache, better choose headache with prestidge. Choose vw and your friend and family will ask u how often u vw
19 Degree South
post Mar 29 2019, 10:19 PM

1,681 posts

BMW no M line trim out la wei!
6UE5T
post Mar 29 2019, 11:05 PM

1,704 posts

Buy something else!
TSmanx
post Mar 29 2019, 11:32 PM

1,849 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Mar 29 2019, 11:05 PM)
Buy something else!
Any suggestion?
Bjorn1688
post Mar 30 2019, 01:28 AM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(manx @ Mar 29 2019, 11:32 PM)
Any suggestion?
What's your budget?

Between these 2, I'd keep my existing car.

One is an obsolete model and BMWs that are entry level tend to be rubbish cars.
VW Passat, I'll pass on this one.
Captain Coco
post Mar 30 2019, 01:33 AM

216 posts

SUV - go for CX5

Sedan - Passat. way better than 318i. Way more powerful, more spacious, more premium (BMW is 2011 design). New BMW is coming out, 318i value will drop further.
19 Degree South
post Mar 30 2019, 08:06 AM

1,681 posts

QUOTE(Captain Coco @ Mar 30 2019, 01:33 AM)
SUV - go for CX5

Sedan - Passat. way better than 318i. Way more powerful, more spacious, more premium (BMW is 2011 design). New BMW is coming out, 318i value will drop further.
G20 has oredi launched two days ago! I beg to differ that passat is premium than the 3 series! Diff segment all together!
keyser soze
post Mar 30 2019, 08:16 AM

569 posts

Both also bad choice and famous for their own fault. Buy Japanese car.
thefryingfox
post Mar 30 2019, 08:22 AM

Lonely Maharajah
5,165 posts

Passat la bro.....2 liter 380nm version.....puas Hari beroo
6UE5T
post Mar 30 2019, 08:53 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(manx @ Mar 29 2019, 11:32 PM)
Any suggestion?
If new, probably Mazda 6. But if it were my money, I'd buy used 328i F30.
19 Degree South
post Mar 30 2019, 07:49 PM

1,681 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Mar 30 2019, 08:53 AM)
If new, probably Mazda 6. But if it were my money, I'd buy used 328i F30.
Sensible choice! rclxms.gif 318? Later Kena tiong kaw kaw by god car! laugh.gif
Captain Coco
post Mar 30 2019, 10:59 PM

216 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Mar 30 2019, 08:06 AM)
G20 has oredi launched two days ago! I beg to differ that passat is premium than the 3 series! Diff segment all together!
Yeap new 3 series came but only 330i... diff segment. comparing to 318i 2011 design, passat is where the money well spent.
TSmanx
post Mar 30 2019, 11:54 PM

1,849 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Mar 30 2019, 08:06 AM)
At RM330k for the new G20 330i is out of consideration. Will there be new 318i with G20 version?

This post has been edited by manx: Mar 30 2019, 11:54 PM
BigMan123
post Mar 31 2019, 12:08 AM

2,470 posts

Dwindling number of Passat you see on the road these days or any vw in that matter. If you really want a Passat, please get a good discount
Ginny88
post Mar 31 2019, 09:49 AM

1,032 posts

Both are high maintenance cars but if I have to choose between the two I'll take the Passat 2.0. HL without hesitation. in terms of power, space, comfort and equipment list the Passat wins hands down.

gld998
post Mar 31 2019, 10:31 AM

767 posts

Reject both and get 2019 camry if u can afford one!
19 Degree South
post Mar 31 2019, 10:33 AM

1,681 posts

QUOTE(manx @ Mar 30 2019, 11:54 PM)
At RM330k for the new G20 330i is out of consideration. Will there be new 318i with G20 version?
Not sure why you want 318.? Basically you are driving a bmw logo round! No power and min specs! 3series min is the 328 la! Now think they just intro 330i and 320i for my mkt! 318 is usually the midlife cycle of the series only they will intro! C200 pre FL?
19 Degree South
post Mar 31 2019, 10:35 AM

1,681 posts

QUOTE(gld998 @ Mar 31 2019, 10:31 AM)
Reject both and get 2019 camry if u can afford one!
You are telling a joke? If he can afford a 318 what is a cumry?
TSmanx
post Mar 31 2019, 11:03 AM

1,849 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Mar 31 2019, 10:33 AM)
Not sure why you want 318.? Basically you are driving a bmw logo round! No power and min specs! 3series min is the 328 la! Now think they just intro 330i and 320i for my mkt! 318 is usually the  midlife cycle of the series only they will intro! C200 pre FL?
Was quoting something around rm200k~ish price for a conti. Currently driving a Jetta for almost 7yrs and quite satisfy with the built and quality with some minor tolarance on issue such as 2x mecha. Good after sales in Penang.
TSmanx
post Mar 31 2019, 01:09 PM

1,849 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Mar 31 2019, 10:35 AM)
The new Camry (only 2.5L Variant available for Malaysia market) is also priced at rm190k.
6UE5T
post Mar 31 2019, 01:56 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Mar 30 2019, 07:49 PM)
Sensible choice!  rclxms.gif  318? Later Kena tiong kaw kaw by god car! laugh.gif
God car tak usah layan la, wasting time for no benefits whatsoever!
6UE5T
post Mar 31 2019, 02:02 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Mar 31 2019, 10:35 AM)
But people say the new Camry is now a different car than previous where it's now designed to be more fun to drive car instead of more comfort oriented like before. Not sure how true though. The 318 is not worth it anyway.
TSmanx
post Apr 2 2019, 12:50 PM

1,849 posts

Was at the BMW showroom yesterday, 330e MSport Demo (registered on Nov18) are selling at RM199k
small-jeff
post Apr 3 2019, 11:31 PM

1,646 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Mar 30 2019, 07:49 PM)
Sensible choice!  rclxms.gif  318? Later Kena tiong kaw kaw by god car! laugh.gif
Lol was gonna say this too. 318i is the crap of all BMW

VW, it's crap from europe. Just that msian think it's premium luxury; no its not

I'd say wait abit more for new Volvo S60. The Drive-E T5/T6 can easily tapao both

If buying used, go for 320d instead - still, old 3 series

This post has been edited by small-jeff: Apr 3 2019, 11:32 PM
wkc5657
post Apr 4 2019, 11:07 AM

565 posts

If choose between this 2 cars, would rather go for the passat.

Don't buy the lowest spec car, just makes you feel worse off despite the badge being BMW. 318 just feels barebones, fitting for those just wanting for the badge but on a tight budget.

But, go test drive and see which one suits your heart. After all, your money, your call smile.gif
Boy96
post Apr 4 2019, 04:03 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

Passat no doubt. U already have experience with jetta so you would be familiar with passat. The 2.0 tsi engine really pulls well

Else wait for the new Peugeot 508

This post has been edited by Boy96: Apr 4 2019, 04:03 PM
TSmanx
post Apr 9 2019, 06:11 PM

1,849 posts

Thank you all for the inputs and feedbacks. I have made my decision to go with VW instead. Although there is some noise with the BMW 330e M Sport Demo car with huge discounts that are priced at rm200k, (promising) but i opt for VW becuase of not fancy the hybrid/battery option.
ratloverice
post Apr 9 2019, 11:24 PM

804 posts

Passat 380tsi for sure.

Get 318i only if you mau gaya je.

380tsi is using the DQ250 6-speed wet-type DCT which is way more reliable than DQ200.
mupanto
post Apr 10 2019, 09:30 AM

QUOTE(manx @ Apr 9 2019, 06:11 PM)
Thank you all for the inputs and feedbacks. I have made my decision to go with VW instead. Although there is some noise with the BMW 330e M Sport Demo car with huge discounts that are priced at rm200k, (promising) but i opt for VW becuase of not fancy the hybrid/battery option.
Great choice. How much discount you get for 2.0 HL?
TSmanx
post Apr 10 2019, 12:07 PM

1,849 posts

QUOTE(mupanto @ Apr 10 2019, 09:30 AM)
Great choice. How much discount you get for 2.0 HL?
Around RM183k OTR (with 55% NCD) with RM17k discounts
adamhzm90
post Apr 10 2019, 03:25 PM

1,389 posts

Bmw for 5 years warranty and free service
TSmanx
post Apr 10 2019, 06:44 PM

1,849 posts

QUOTE(adamhzm90 @ Apr 10 2019, 03:25 PM)
Bmw for 5 years warranty and free service
Yup that is the good selling point but VW do give 3yrs free service with 5yrs warranty too. Total around rm4k extra for tbe 2 extra services
Corsair0418
post May 2 2019, 11:29 AM

24K KARAT MAGIC
589 posts

passat b8, more practical, spacious, quicker & comfortable.
BMW 3 series is everywhere, and 318i is like entry level only, not worth at all

0.0516sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:26 AM