Huawei Mate 20/20 Pro/20 X & Huawei GT V2, long overdue V2 *;p

blueheaven
post Jun 28 2019, 11:50 AM

301 posts

Hi users, you think it's still worth getting a mate 20 pro now?
blueheaven
post Jun 28 2019, 02:07 PM

301 posts

QUOTE(FlamingFox @ Jun 28 2019, 12:58 PM)
It depends on what price you are getting it for. Also, they will probably announce Mate 30 soon.
Recontracting in Singapore, the cheapest plan and can get mate 20pro at 129sgd I think. Which I found weird as it's cheaper than the mate20x.

In contrast, this phone plan got me an iPhone 8 for around 700++ almost 2 years ago.
blueheaven
post Jun 28 2019, 03:45 PM

301 posts

QUOTE(FlamingFox @ Jun 28 2019, 03:14 PM)
Well if it is that cheap, I don't see a reason why not.
Tbh, there are a couple of similar priced options. Vivo nex dual screen, oppo Reno, pixel 3. So was quite spoilt for choice. But hardware wise, the Vivo and oppo is alot worse than the mate20pro, although they both have the no notch design.

Pixel 3 seems decent, but kinda meh at every aspect other than the cam.

I think the mate20pro is too tempting at this point.
blueheaven
post Jul 1 2019, 06:58 AM

301 posts

QUOTE(FlamingFox @ Jul 1 2019, 02:48 AM)
Mate 20 Pro now RM2,599.00, guess Mate 30 Pro will launch soon
Btw, what's the price drop for mate 20x? In Singapore, the price of 20pro has dropped to 800+ for awhile already, but 20x still 1.1k+? The pro was more expensive on release right?
blueheaven
post Jul 1 2019, 10:11 AM

301 posts

QUOTE(bryan_823 @ Jul 1 2019, 09:21 AM)
I bought mate20pro $660 from SG 2 weeks ago
Where did you but from? That's very cheap
blueheaven
post Jul 1 2019, 11:44 AM

301 posts

Guys, does all mate 20 pro have dual SIM? Or got different versions?

Just ordered on online. 128gb twilight. Gonna be a bummer if there's no dual SIM.
blueheaven
post Jul 2 2019, 03:06 PM

301 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Jul 2 2019, 02:54 PM)
yeap and normally you should already know if your unit is defected within the first few months.....
What are the issues people face previously. I heard got the green tint or something. How to check if my phone got it? I'm getting mine tomorrow. Any other stuff I need to look out for?
blueheaven
post Jul 2 2019, 05:15 PM

301 posts

QUOTE(jhleo1 @ Jul 2 2019, 04:57 PM)
I was green tint victim during first week of Mate 20 Pro usage. It will quite noticeable especially when you see the screen in dark. I always advice my friends to avoid Mate 20 Pro if possible.
ABIT too late for me now. Hopefully I don't get it.
blueheaven
post Jul 3 2019, 10:08 AM

301 posts

QUOTE(shinzhizu @ Jul 3 2019, 09:37 AM)
green tint screen issue all is just happen on first batch only.
That's good to know. Thanks!
blueheaven
post Jul 3 2019, 11:14 AM

301 posts

QUOTE(FlamingFox @ Jul 3 2019, 11:10 AM)
Well, you really need a screen protector with this phone, somehow it easily scratches.

I got a normal full screen protector, asked people at pasar malam to install for me around RM10. But it feels kinda rubbery, I will try to find for full tempered glass type after this.

Better let people install for you, doing the edges isn't easy.
Was just gonna ask this. Getting mine tonight, but considering to not start using it until I get a cover and a screen protector. A cover should be provided, but now I need to get a screen protector installed.
blueheaven
post Jul 3 2019, 03:50 PM

301 posts

QUOTE(bryan_823 @ Jul 3 2019, 02:18 PM)
Do not get any cheap tempered glass protector from pasar malam, nothing is good if it is cheap.

I am using this silicon type full screen protector, it does not affect sensitivity at all. I am using the Gamer series.
https://shopee.com.my/BlackJack-Extreme-Sho...2639.1379207438
[attachmentid=10275410]

Play games and finger print scanning is perfect. In terms of durability, I am not sure as I have never drop my phone smile.gif

You can google "blackjack extreme shockproof" or watch this video.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H04ai_XlPRQ
Wow, thanks, will go find it.

Btw, I'm gonna be moving from honor 8 pro to the mate20pro. How do I transfer as much stuff as possible from one phone to the other? Is phone clone sufficient?
blueheaven
post Jul 5 2019, 11:13 AM

301 posts

Anyone here use dual SIM for mate 20 pro? My network icons take up so much space, got no space for notifications or even WiFi status at all.
blueheaven
post Jul 16 2019, 10:38 AM

301 posts

QUOTE(Hexlord @ Jul 16 2019, 08:48 AM)
Haha thanks guys, next question I would like to ask if getting a NM card worth it?

Also, a few more questions:

1. Can standard powerbanks be used to charge the Mate 20 Pro?
2. Would my Anker multi-port chargers be able to charge the phone (QC 3.0 or otherwise?)

Thanks ya.
Getting nm card is never worth it. But if you need the extra memory, you have no choice. If you need to get one, try checking if anyone got it as a free gift but chose not to use it. I sold mine because I got it as a bundle but I needed to use dual SIM.

And I don't see why normal power banks can't be used to charge the phone.
blueheaven
post Jul 27 2019, 12:04 PM

301 posts

QUOTE(Landmarkyap @ Jul 27 2019, 11:46 AM)
New set almost same price
From 1/7 to 30/9/19 entitle 2 years warranty
No way. Think can find better deals, even for brand new ones.
blueheaven
post Aug 1 2019, 06:35 PM

301 posts

Random statement. I got an honor 8 pro 2 years ago and chose it because it was quad HD with high ppi. Changed to mate 20 pro recently and felt the display upgrade was nice but only slightly. But now when I turn on my honor 8 pro again, bloody hell that display looks like Nokia to me now.
blueheaven
post Aug 13 2019, 03:35 PM

301 posts

QUOTE(pigduck @ Aug 13 2019, 01:29 PM)
How's the size? Is it too large to pocket?
You should feel it for yourself first. Imo, it does feel alittle large and awkward since it is pretty thin for the screen size.

Otherwise, mate20pro is pretty good and in some regions, it's price drop below mate20x already.

Looks sleek, better display, better fast charging (I think)..

Don't buy if:
You NEED the headphone jack. Even if you think you don't need it, it will still be an inconvenience sometimes.
You can't stand curve screen. It looks much nicer, but less practical.
You can't stand the notch.
blueheaven
post Oct 13 2019, 01:56 PM

301 posts

QUOTE(shanjeev @ Oct 13 2019, 12:39 PM)
Hi, thanks for the reply. Agree with you on the bug issue as a sifu also said the same thing that it's just a myth. I did try it out at the shop, slightly big but love the battery capacity as u said.
There's very limited stock available but price quite on the high side for a model which's going to be obsolete. Wish they would come with Mate 30x with built pen and Samsung would be in trouble.  sweat.gif
Same here, just trying to see how to work around the Pen. Also love the IP68 of Samsung as when head down to pool with kids can jump in with the phone for taking pictures.  whistling.gif
I thought its not recommended to bring phones into pools or the sea even with the ip-whatever rating?
blueheaven
post Oct 14 2019, 09:46 PM

301 posts

QUOTE(shanjeev @ Oct 14 2019, 11:39 AM)
Still yet to decide.
May I know why.
Check out mudah. There are some shop selling below RM2.5 k last week.
Because the ratings are done based on controlled environments where the water is pure. Saltwater from the sea and chlorine from the pool will slowly eat away at the rubbers and mesh that makes the phone waterproof.

Samsung was embroiled in a lawsuit due to this. People complained their phones got screwed when they brought it to the beach and Samsung explained whatever I mentioned above. But then they were accused of misleading the public due to their ads mentioning the waterproofness while the background shows users using it by the beach.
blueheaven
post Apr 1 2021, 08:40 PM

301 posts

QUOTE(DoomCognition @ Apr 1 2021, 08:46 AM)
Me too, got it last week. Emui 11 seems better than 10.1. Battery life is better, animations smoother and have some new stuff. And it does not disable the call recording.
Got any list of changes? So far i notice multi window got something new, but i swipe the tutorial away because it appeared at work. The volume animation when controlling volume also new. But got what else, i wanna play around.

0.0841sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:24 PM