Huawei Mate 20/20 Pro/20 X & Huawei GT V2, long overdue V2 *;p

Maknusia
post May 20 2020, 10:29 AM

996 posts

QUOTE(christina1 @ May 19 2020, 09:51 AM)
Hi All,

How long does Huawei Wireless Fast Charging takes to fully charge Mate 20 Pro ?
Mine is the original 40W charger, so it takes about 40mins or so to fully charge
Maknusia
post May 20 2020, 02:03 PM

996 posts

QUOTE(christina1 @ May 20 2020, 10:32 AM)
So fast ah...how much does 40W charger for Huawei cost ?
Thats the original came with the phone...hmmm Not sure of the market price
Maknusia
post May 20 2020, 11:44 PM

996 posts

QUOTE(christina1 @ May 20 2020, 06:59 PM)
Huawei Wireless Fast Charging is slow in charging Mate 20 Pro
Sure my dear, fast wireless charger would produce alot of heat, hence its not healthy for the battery.
Maknusia
post Sep 21 2022, 04:48 PM

996 posts

Similar to many of you, Im also forced to change to new phone by my office. cry.gif bangwall.gif

Whats the choice we have now with IR blaster and Good camera requirement?

So far, looks like Xiaomi 12 pro and Vivo X80 pro are the options? Appreciate any feedback on those?
Any other options? TKasih!
Maknusia
post Sep 23 2022, 03:54 PM

996 posts

QUOTE(wolf1991 @ Sep 21 2022, 06:03 PM)
Personal opinion, don't go for xiaomi. The ui was buggy and no physical proximity sensor. They use software and call it virtual proximity sensor, without it your phone will light on itself on and off even if u put the phone in pocket or on table.
It's like a big no for me, your phone will behave like magically friend help u on and didn't off your phone screen when it's suppose to and it happen quite frequently, a day at least two to three times and very annoying (this is the experience with mi 10). Device later than this then not sure still have this problem or not but the ui still as buggy as ever.

Vivo x80 pro wise although I don't have experience with it, I don't think it worth the price. Vivo I think is overprice because of excessive commercial and marketing but what you get not great. With that price better u get samsung s22 (although don't have ir blaster), it's cheaper and got access to Samsung pay, 4 years promised security update n much easier to find accessories etc etc as user base was large.

Other option with ir blaster is honor magic 4 pro. Other than this I cannot recall any flagship with ir blaster.
Agree Vivo X80 pro is over priced! sigh, tapi not much choice. Looks like even on LYN there aint many who using it.

I thought of getting it from Digi since my contract ended, but they only carry X80 and not the pro...aiya...really susah la

Should I just go with Xiaomi!?!!! in dilemma now

This post has been edited by Maknusia: Sep 23 2022, 03:55 PM
Maknusia
post Sep 23 2022, 07:02 PM

996 posts

QUOTE(wolf1991 @ Sep 23 2022, 06:27 PM)
No if you ask me. Xiaomi not really good. Out of curiosity I checked digi website on device with plan, another option is honor magic 4 pro, lower payment than the xiaomi 12 pro.

If you willing to pay the price for xiami 12 pro, why not consider top up a bit monthly and get iPhone 14 instead. I personally don't think xiaomi is a good option.

Like what I said their miui buggy and no proximity sensor is  a big no for me. Unless you don't mind then is OK.
Cash is not an issue, but I need the IR Blaster, else would have gone with samsung/iphone route. I travel alot....and the IR had helped me with office projectors, hotel controls, etc. I do use it at home as well, but I could continue with M20p for home.

I used Mate9 long ago and have handed over to my kids. Understand the bugginess, but to me, was not too bad...just the notification is temperamental and some of the settings was inconvenient.

My office did a blanket ban on Huawei/Honor, no choice there la bang!

This post has been edited by Maknusia: Sep 23 2022, 07:27 PM
Maknusia
post Sep 26 2022, 08:12 PM

996 posts

QUOTE(ahpaul82 @ Sep 26 2022, 01:34 PM)
LOL

nowadays phone become more expensive and yet many peoples still willing go for it...

where got bad economic ni...  cool2.gif
Hahaha, sometimes no choice la bang, like in my case, I would rather hang on with my mate20pro tapi, kat office dah kena ban, and cant access my office stuff, so terpaksa beli baru. cry.gif

But I do agree with you the price its being sold, really tak berbalui langsung. vmad.gif
Maknusia
post Sep 27 2022, 01:56 PM

996 posts

QUOTE(BobbyF @ Sep 27 2022, 09:08 AM)
What apps do you recommend for remote control ? The default app from Huawei is quite limited. I've to install others to control things like my fan. Wonder if there's a single universal app that you can recommend
Ya, for my external device (fan, lights, switch), I use Tuya since they are on IOT.

I think those fans sold such as Pana, etc uses RF, kan?! Havent tested.

Basically I used Huawei IR for TVs, Media Player, Projector, UnifiTv, HiFi, Astro, Bluray, etc)
Maknusia
post Sep 27 2022, 06:55 PM

996 posts

QUOTE(vhs1 @ Sep 27 2022, 04:01 PM)
How to blanket ban?
Basically we have to register our phone at the Akamai layer of security to use the phone to access our office network. hence the blacklist is maintained there. Phone which doesnt have the minimum 2021 security patch was evaluated early this year and both these phones was found doesnt have the latest security patch. Hence they had banned both the phones.

Yeah, all these my phone was working fine connecting to office network, tapi this new security level implementation, basically disallows me from connecting to office.

Most likely thinking of getting a used X80 Pro at this point, since the price is not justified for the model, unless I can get it from Digi. Already written to them, lets see.
Maknusia
post Sep 28 2022, 11:28 AM

996 posts

QUOTE(BobbyF @ Sep 28 2022, 11:16 AM)
I thought we are still getting latest security patch ? Mine is showing Feb 2022
When we did vulnerability test, we found otherwise, its not Android Security Patch, but rather huawei's. Just download AIDA64 and you could view the actual security patch which is dated 2020
Maknusia
post Jan 29 2023, 04:07 PM

996 posts

QUOTE(ryder_78 @ Jan 29 2023, 03:16 PM)
Would like to ask if any ex Mate 20X owners who upgraded to a phone with higher quality camera that is able to take even better quality photos in all conditions low light or day light? The camera of the Mate 20X is excellent. I've been using this phone for almost 3 years now and the quality of photos is very good, great sharpness and colours even in low light shots in shopping malls etc.

Has anyone tried Huawei Mate 30Pro, P30 Pro or Mate 40pro and P40 Pro, or the latest P50 Pro?
I moved to Vivo X80p, and yes happy with the camera performance and its low light capability.
Maknusia
post Jan 29 2023, 08:14 PM

996 posts

QUOTE(ryder_78 @ Jan 29 2023, 07:48 PM)
Thanks for the response. So I presume the camera performance of the Vivo X80 Pro is better than Huawei Mate 20X in both good light and low light. The reviews of the camera on the X80 Pro seem to be great.

Further investigation revealed that the Vivo 80X Pro is RM4k+. I guess I am not up to date (ketinggalan zaman). I thought Vivo phones are low end priced around RM1k or less. That was about 5 years ago. It looks like Vivo now produce costly high end phones costing up to RM5k.

I also got to know after doing some search on the Internet that the highest end model from Vivo is X90 Pro. The camera of the X80 Pro is claimed to be better than the X90 Pro in some reviews. RM4k for a phone is a bit rich for me. All my previous phones don't cost above RM3k as all are RM2k+. Will use my existing Mate 20X until it fails to start up then I'll give this X80 Pro a look. By that time the price may have gone down to more affordable levels. 😁
True, memang tak masuk akal Vivo jual maham cam tu! bangwall.gif
All my previous phone pun less than 3k. I was using Mate20pro but due to security issue, i was forced by my office to change it.

The reason I went with X80p is, I need the IR blaster, so no choice la kan.

I bought it back in Sep/Oct I think, dah lupa pulak. At that time brand new was 4.8K tapi sekarang dah turun, if not mistaken its 4.3k.
Anyways, I bought a used 3months old unit for 3.1-3.2k, so it was worth it.

0.0766sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 08:28 AM