TSshinichi88
post Mar 26 2019, 03:05 PM, updated 7y ago

Holy Crusader
984 posts

Left Turn on Red
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Turn_on_red#Asia

It has been ages since my Ujian KPP.
So want to ask fellow new driver, do you encounter this question?
or
Any media or govn announce this rules?

loki
post Mar 26 2019, 03:08 PM

2,109 posts

if in Malaysia, there is normally a yellow sign telling that you can turn left if there is no oncoming traffic from the right.
Spootid
post Mar 26 2019, 03:11 PM

405 posts

Putrajaya using this for ages dude...
TSshinichi88
post Mar 26 2019, 03:14 PM

Holy Crusader
984 posts

QUOTE(Spootid @ Mar 26 2019, 03:11 PM)
Putrajaya using this for ages dude...
Do this applies anywhere else or only putrajaya.?
I don't remember when is the last time i go to putrajaya..
H3artBreakKid
post Mar 26 2019, 03:14 PM

πŸ’”πŸ’”πŸ’”
455 posts

TSshinichi88
post Mar 26 2019, 03:15 PM

Holy Crusader
984 posts

QUOTE(loki @ Mar 26 2019, 03:08 PM)
if in Malaysia, there is normally a yellow sign telling that you can turn left if there is no oncoming traffic from the right.
which mean, only can turn left on red if there's signage?
Npad
post Mar 26 2019, 03:20 PM

356 posts

Sarawak and Putrajaya are the only 2 place I know can.
eddie2020
post Mar 26 2019, 03:20 PM

Trusted
3,125 posts

QUOTE(shinichi88 @ Mar 26 2019, 03:14 PM)
Do this applies anywhere else or only putrajaya.?
I don't remember when is the last time i go to putrajaya..
QUOTE(shinichi88 @ Mar 26 2019, 03:15 PM)
yes korek... but only for certain place. . in kuantan is very common, but i dont see in kl or other place. not every place adopt this rules.. normally at ktn kena with other ppl when i dont move during red where is no car. haha
ViktorJ
post Mar 26 2019, 03:22 PM

Dancy Drinky Doggo
1,004 posts

Apart from Putrajaya, there are a few (rare) places in KL that allows this.

I cannot recall seeing this in PJ, Subang etc. But since Shah Alam has 10,000 roundabouts, I guess it applies there too? haha
TSshinichi88
post Mar 26 2019, 03:23 PM

Holy Crusader
984 posts

QUOTE(eddie2020 @ Mar 26 2019, 03:20 PM)
yes korek... but only for certain place. . in kuantan is very common, but i dont see in kl or other place. not every place adopt this rules.. normally at ktn kena with other ppl when i dont move during red where is no car. haha
Should not this rules be widely use regardless of signage?
It help ease traffic queuing right?
jesseclane
post Mar 26 2019, 05:29 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(shinichi88 @ Mar 26 2019, 03:23 PM)
most of our busy traffic light have dedicated left lane to turn left, hence no need for this signage, unless busy traffic light with limited/no space for dedicated lane.

not-so-busy traffic light still can wait until turn green.
feynman
post Mar 27 2019, 02:08 AM

4,781 posts

jalan ampang and jalan sultan ismail....KLCC bound.

Can left turn when red
soultaker
post Mar 27 2019, 06:11 AM

1,323 posts

you are permitted to turn left on red if there is signage. cyberjaya also has this rule. can turn left if there is no oncoming traffic.
Odinn
post Mar 27 2019, 09:33 AM

Say what?!?&!%@
1,167 posts

I agree with this. But looking at the demographics of the road users in different areas, I would not trust the users in being able to exercise discretion wisely. Those areas/states where the users are in no hurry/smarter, then I think it is ok. To implement this nationwide, no.
tbcheese
post Mar 27 2019, 10:55 AM

313 posts

QUOTE(soultaker @ Mar 27 2019, 06:11 AM)
you are permitted to turn left on red if there is signage. cyberjaya also has this rule. can turn left if there is no oncoming traffic.
Only a few junctions where signs are displayed right? I've seen them at the Shaftsbury traffic light.
LamboSama
post Mar 28 2019, 01:40 AM

769 posts

The problem is it is turn left if no vehicle or pedestrian.
Yet most people continue to turn even if got vehicle coming or pedestrian trying to cross.
thesoothsayer
post Mar 28 2019, 06:21 AM

954 posts

There are signboards in certain areas. Alam Damai has them as well.

Also, many roads have filter lanes for left turns already.
knazlee
post Mar 28 2019, 01:18 PM

55 posts

Sarawak is automatically turn left when road is clear.
FidelisGVR
post Mar 28 2019, 02:56 PM

673 posts

Kuching definitely can, "Turn Left When Exit Is Clear"
hoimangkuk
post Mar 28 2019, 02:59 PM

214 posts

I have done this a few times in front of police and JPJ just to see what happens...

so far none of them have stop me from doing it...
spacelion
post Mar 28 2019, 03:00 PM

Ada Liu
1,692 posts

There is also a sign on the exit from Sierramas heading to NKVE. Problem is some ppl line up in that lane but going straight , so they block the road.
stopandroll
post Mar 28 2019, 03:02 PM

119 posts

Yes.

Last time my friend already kena saman on Traffic Light.
2 month after that, ada that yellow sign.

Topkek.
spacelion
post Mar 28 2019, 03:03 PM

Ada Liu
1,692 posts

certain road , the opposing traffic is u-turning , when they u-turn and you left-turn into the same lane, accident is your fault. Well, it depends on the usual traffic conditions and if the usual (ie. 9-5) is that oncoming traffic is a lot then they shouldn't put this sign up.
J1g54w
post Mar 28 2019, 09:26 PM

1,449 posts

Can turn if the yellow signboard is there.

But still need to slow down and watch out first.

I see some cars just speed through it like nothing.
Roman Catholic
post Mar 29 2019, 06:51 AM

3,520 posts

Takkan want signages everywhere just to show that it's allowed. It going to be a waste of money installing a signage for this, just like the 1MDB.

Tunggu ape lagi, turn je la, you're holding up traffic if you don't. Terms & Conditions apply. *

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Mar 29 2019, 06:53 AM
hockwei123456
post Mar 30 2019, 09:13 AM

194 posts

vassilius
post Mar 31 2019, 10:37 AM

494 posts

With yellow sign, yes... else if bump into polis, sure mampus
KopiChia
post Mar 31 2019, 11:48 AM

1,779 posts

Blinking yellow upside down triangle. If no sign you get chance of kena saman. I got lucky got warning by traffic police when I do it at 5.30am since road was empty he give me chance.
pgsiemkia
post Mar 31 2019, 12:27 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(ViktorJ @ Mar 26 2019, 03:22 PM)

I cannot recall seeing this in PJ, Subang etc. But since Shah Alam has 10,000 roundabouts, I guess it applies there too? haha
Got signboard esp in Puchong, β€˜belok kiri...’ however idiots nvr see this and need to horn them. In Kedah, it’s an unwritten law, just turn left if no traffic from right or front.

ViktorJ
post Mar 31 2019, 12:33 PM

Dancy Drinky Doggo
1,004 posts

QUOTE(pgsiemkia @ Mar 31 2019, 12:27 PM)
Got signboard esp in Puchong, β€˜belok kiri...’ however idiots nvr see this and need to horn them. In Kedah, it’s an unwritten law, just turn left if no traffic from right or front.
Looking through this post again, you guys are right. There are those yellow signs around that I did not recall when I posted haha. It should just be made a law and integrated into our driving syllabus.
alwinnng
post Apr 1 2019, 05:49 AM

4,296 posts

Random one

Sometimes belok, Ada roadblocks pulak

Sometimes Tak belok, people behind honk

Sometimes got sign, front people Tak Nak jalan, honk edi flash middle finger and don't move
CKKwan
post Apr 1 2019, 06:28 AM

886 posts

Please don't.

"Ikut Kiri jika tidak memotong" = "No speed limit"

"Left turn on red" = "Left / Right / U turn anytime we wish"
BXB535
post Apr 1 2019, 06:30 AM

56 posts

QUOTE(ViktorJ @ Mar 26 2019, 03:22 PM)

Speaking about roundabouts.... does people know that they should use the turn signal to indicate which exit you're taking? AND way before you enter the roundabout, you have to make sure which lane (left or right) you should be in with respect to the exit you're going to take. Does anybody understand what I'm trying to say sweat.gif
myteam94
post Apr 1 2019, 09:31 AM

438 posts

QUOTE(BXB535 @ Apr 1 2019, 06:30 AM)
Speaking about roundabouts.... does people know that they should use the turn signal to indicate which exit you're taking? AND way before you enter the roundabout, you have to make sure which lane (left or right) you should be in with respect to the exit you're going to take. Does anybody understand what I'm trying to say  sweat.gif
is this a question or statement?

If statement i understand, if question, i dont understand rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
1tanmee
post Apr 17 2019, 08:46 AM

~noMNom~
970 posts

Yes
kaiserreich
post Apr 17 2019, 12:22 PM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

Red light and beri laluan.
How?
Odinn
post Apr 17 2019, 01:20 PM

Say what?!?&!%@
1,167 posts

Speaking about roundabouts.... does people know that they should use the turn signal to indicate which exit you're taking? AND way before you enter the roundabout, you have to make sure which lane (left or right) you should be in with respect to the exit you're going to take. Does anybody understand what I'm trying to say  sweat.gif
This is basic knowledge and also taught at driving schools. But not many road users here know how to navigate roundabouts which tells me we should make license renewals also requiring passing exams.
spacelion
post Apr 18 2019, 10:09 AM

Ada Liu
1,692 posts

yes but it doesnt work

if you go to high class area like Desa Park City, nobody follows this rule

all uneducated drivers living there
El-LoboSolitario
post Apr 18 2019, 10:17 AM

90 posts

m'sia apa pun boleh la
even strictly right turn on right most lane some can go straight n disregard driver makin' right turn on their left or turn right from the left most lane tat's meant to go straight only 2 cut queue...
de best of all? bypass traffic light during red by cuttin' across de lane at de adjacent junction like they exitin' from tat junction instead of waitin' 4 green light at junction where they originally came from (i remember 1 T-junctions happened so many times n it is facin' a police department branch doh.gif ...)

Nevertheless, unlike above mentioned, de left turn on red light should be allowed when no incoming traffic fro other junctions, just like some developed countries...

This post has been edited by El-LoboSolitario: Apr 18 2019, 10:31 AM
Newsray
post Apr 19 2019, 06:48 AM

1,022 posts

I think if there is a traffic light on your left - red -> Stop.
You need to check if there is a signboard - pusing kiri jika tiada kenderaan or something like that.

I will wait if red especially if many cars turn in from another side. But sometimes pukimak cb law breakers will be aggressive and horn even when its red. They just want you to beat the light.
ScooterBoi
post Apr 19 2019, 01:16 PM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(El-LoboSolitario @ Apr 18 2019, 10:17 AM)
Nevertheless, unlike above mentioned, de left turn on red light should be allowed when no incoming traffic fro other junctions, just like some developed countries...
AFAIK, the law here does allow left turn on red. Regardless whether there are yield signs or not.

Of course, you will need to stop and look before making the left turn. In some countries, you must come to a complete stop.

The thing you need to know is whether there is a specific set of lights for turning left which you must obey.

Quite common sense actually, for example, if you're coming from the bottom of a T-junction, and if there are 2 sets of lights, one for left and the other for right, then obey the lights and don't turn left even though it is clear to turn left.

A notorious trap for unwary motorists is at crossroad where they cannot turn right (one way street), and there are 2 sets of lights. So they mistakenly thought the lights are for going straight and turning right, and don't have to obey the lights and turn left even when red.

ramdieslow
post Apr 20 2019, 01:49 PM

122 posts

I never turn left if there is no red light. I’ll rather wait someone to install the red light.

Been ages since I am waiting in the car to turn left. Still waiting....
yashin
post Feb 14 2020, 11:16 PM

152 posts

QUOTE(feynman @ Mar 27 2019, 02:08 AM)
jalan ampang and jalan sultan ismail....KLCC bound.

Can left turn when red
I have noticed this light on red. Yesterday a car stopped. Whole load of queue behind. All beeping. Now traffic was moving along jalan ampang right to left. Can you go or should you stop at the left filter if there is one traffic light red (just one light)
feynman
post Feb 15 2020, 02:09 AM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(yashin @ Feb 14 2020, 11:16 PM)
I have noticed this light on red. Yesterday a car stopped. Whole load of queue behind. All beeping. Now traffic was moving along jalan ampang right to left. Can you go or should you stop at the left filter if there is one traffic light red (just one light)
No idea.....as long as there are no cars coming your way, it should be ok
yashin
post Feb 15 2020, 02:17 PM

152 posts

Anyone else know the junction between sultan Ismail and jalan ampang near Bukit Nanas. Straight is red light but if filter left can or cannot?
Burningsunz
post Feb 16 2020, 03:50 AM

300 posts

I wonder if anyone come across some traffic light with specific turn arrow in traffic while some don’t. If i remember correctly if the traffic light turns round red then if go car on the opposite then you can turn but if the turn arrow is red then you cannot turn. If I’m wrong please correct me cause I can’t think of the reason to have turn arrow in some traffic light.
claudetan
post Feb 17 2020, 10:28 AM

711 posts

Although this is good but the car at the back always horn the car in front to make left turn when light is red despite still a lot of car crossing.
zhou.xingxing
post Feb 17 2020, 12:17 PM

:3
1,863 posts

turn left when exit is clear. quite common in kuching and i think bangsar area has this also.
smallbug
post Feb 17 2020, 01:11 PM

874 posts

these signs are usually accompanied with a blinking orange traffic light arrow.
Justin.Loong
post Feb 17 2020, 04:42 PM

8,363 posts

There was an earlier thread about this matter: Source: To those that drive, In putrajaya
budi1413
post Feb 18 2020, 09:05 AM

1,607 posts

QUOTE(smallbug @ Feb 17 2020, 01:11 PM)
these signs are usually accompanied with a blinking orange traffic light arrow.
from my observation no one bother to read or even look at that thing. wasting other people time jer.
Relaxing work
post Feb 18 2020, 04:30 PM

167 posts

Kuantan, Pahang is allowable.
Thumbs up to MPK, Kuantan.
mr_geforce
post Feb 19 2020, 07:14 PM

267 posts

QUOTE(loki @ Mar 26 2019, 03:08 PM)
πŸ‘† correct. saw at few junctions with this signboard. but very rare to find it. mostly woth traffic light indicator or yellow traffic light flashing on that direction.
IvanWong1989
post Feb 21 2020, 08:43 AM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

This would be disastrous....

While im drivigin in Jap, i can left turn once the main traffic light turns green, but at the same time it is not a dedicated left turn. So pedestrians will start walking while you turn.
You have to stop if not you'll bang into people. And sometimes, when there is so many pedestrians walking, maybe only 1 or 2 cars made it to turn left because waiting to clear the zebra cross.

Imagine if this can be achieved here.. ><
Blofeld
post Feb 22 2020, 03:13 PM

4,703 posts

QUOTE(IvanWong1989 @ Feb 21 2020, 08:43 AM)
This would be disastrous....

While im drivigin in Jap, i can left turn once the main traffic light turns green, but at the same time it is not a dedicated left turn. So pedestrians will start walking while you turn.
You have to stop if not you'll bang into people. And sometimes, when there is so many pedestrians walking, maybe only 1 or 2 cars made it to turn left because waiting to clear the zebra cross.

Imagine if this can be achieved here.. ><
yes it's a kinda annoying rule in Japan and it blocks everyone behind especially if it's a one lane per way road while you are waiting to turn left.

But usually there are not many pedestrians.
arshia P
post Sep 4 2021, 01:04 AM

Probation

A year and a half late to this topic but here's a summary... [IN KL. dont know about other places]
there are different types of left turns.
some have a dedicated lane, with no traffic light. as mentioned, like the one in jalan sultan ismail to jalan ampang, klcc bound. that one does NOT have a separate traffic light (the arrow is forward only, nothing for left turn), but you have a solid line so you have to yield... and also drivers from the other side CANNOT u-turn (no u-turn arrow on the ground for them, and short u-turn radius if they try)... so if accident... their fault, no worries. but here, i SOMETIMES see some drivers stopping until the right (to go forward) is green. what the... ?
some have blinking yellow light with arrow, or a yield sign. those also allowed to pass, no issue. just have to stop, check, and go.
some have a dedicated lane... but they have an always-on separate green light. such as the one from jln tun razak to jln yap kwan seng. turn always allowed
some have a dedicated lane... but with a traffic light that turns green/red. like the same junction as previous one, from yap kwan seng to tun razak. HOWEVER, as there's no upcoming traffic even when the light is red (drivers on the other side must turn left) I always see people violating the red light and turning. i never got saman or anything, dont know anyone else who got too.
same thing happens at jln tunku abdulrahman/sultan ismail and the publika junction, jln sri hartamas. the light turns red, but 99.99% violate it and turn either way. even rapidkl bus drivers do the same thing. i also sometimes see police cars do the same thing. no saman there also.
some have a semi dedicated lane, with a camera. such as jln sultan ismail (jln kuching bound) to raja abdullah. that junction has a red light camera. HOWEVER, i see lots people violate it too, i personally have done it two times. once i came to a full stop then passed (when red light), the other time i just slid. no saman to this day. but i know someone who went pass the red light forward and got a saman. so the camera definitely works.
so i think although in the textbook you shouldnt turn left when there is a red light... people do it all the time. some unlucky ones might get a saman or a notis, but mostly you wouldnt get one.
happy driving
SUSjoe_star
post Sep 4 2021, 01:25 AM

Serving the Servants
1,810 posts

QUOTE(knazlee @ Mar 28 2019, 01:18 PM)
Sarawak is automatically turn left when road is clear.
No wonder I used to feel weird in Soviet Sarawak when on the road
K.I.T.T
post Sep 4 2021, 01:46 AM

672 posts

QUOTE(shinichi88 @ Mar 26 2019, 03:05 PM)
Left Turn on Red
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Turn_on_red#Asia

It has been ages since my Ujian KPP.
So want to ask fellow new driver, do you encounter this question?
or
Any media or govn announce this rules?
dulu sekitar tahun 2015 aku kena saman kat Jalan Imbi
sebab jalan waktu trafik light merah
tapi kalau tak silap 2 tahunn lepas
dah ada notis " Boleh jalan kalau takde pejalan kaki "

I want my RM 300 back ! vmad.gif
N9484640
post Sep 4 2021, 04:29 AM

Chasing Electric
1,297 posts

QUOTE(soultaker @ Mar 27 2019, 06:11 AM)
Jalan Imbi and sultan Ismail previously got signboard but recently seems taken down. I still turn left dun care… biggrin.gif
andrekua2
post Sep 4 2021, 08:25 AM

13,483 posts

Go when you are sure there is no pedestrians or police... police still very jilakak on this matter...
MattSally
post Jan 19 2022, 03:15 PM

1,074 posts

If at a T Junction and wanting to turn left and there is a Red Arrow to the Right, am I correct in assuming that it is ok to turn left in accordance with the 'Give Way' or 'Yield' principle? If the intention was to stop all traffic then surely the arrow would be inappropriate and the circular red stop light would show instead?

0.0336sec    0.70    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 12:20 AM