4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

How many of u work in SG and stays in JB?, How's the daily commute?

evangelion
post Mar 26 2019, 11:34 AM

The Ancient Ones
1,024 posts

QUOTE(Necrosis @ Mar 26 2019, 11:31 AM)
Halal is not an issue.

The issue is they all taste like shit. puke.gif
I think taste of food is least of ur concern
pds_disi
post Mar 26 2019, 11:36 AM

633 posts

Been travelling daily by car pool for 2+ years

Surviving, not a big deal, plenty of ppl do that.

But if travel by bus... Need to get down on foot and queue again in both customs, that's probably too tough for me.
Strike
post Mar 26 2019, 11:37 AM

51 posts

some ppl die already..
SUSEnterYourName
post Mar 26 2019, 11:44 AM

186 posts

QUOTE(Necrosis @ Mar 26 2019, 11:05 AM)
How to stay in SG when all food in SG cannot eat wan sad.gif
JB food is not that great also, if u are from KL or Pg

xswatch
post Mar 26 2019, 11:47 AM

489 posts

for some of us, it's still feasible. especially if u working long hours in malaysia before.

previously i work in jb 7am-7pm. go out from home 6am, home sweet home by 8pm. total time i'm away from home is 14hrs daily.

now work in sg, 7am-4pm. go out from home 5am, home sweet home by 5pm. total time i'm away from home is 12hrs only daily.

i save 2hrs daily + 5x salary increase.. coz i'm only earning rm1k+ in jb before this.
evangelion
post Mar 26 2019, 11:54 AM

The Ancient Ones
1,024 posts

QUOTE(xswatch @ Mar 26 2019, 11:47 AM)
for some of us, it's still feasible. especially if u working long hours in malaysia before.

previously i work in jb 7am-7pm. go out from home 6am, home sweet home by 8pm. total time i'm away from home is 14hrs daily.

now work in sg, 7am-4pm. go out from home 5am, home sweet home by 5pm. total time i'm away from home is 12hrs only daily.

i save 2hrs daily + 5x salary increase.. coz i'm only earning rm1k+ in jb before this.
Good deal.
4pm off?! What’s ur industry?
blueblueoutofblue
post Mar 26 2019, 12:00 PM

1,683 posts

QUOTE(xswatch @ Mar 26 2019, 11:47 AM)

Kerja kat one of factory ?
xswatch
post Mar 26 2019, 09:33 PM

489 posts

QUOTE(evangelion @ Mar 26 2019, 11:54 AM)
Good deal.
4pm off?! What’s ur industry?
it industry. desktop engineer. but I'm freely to choose my work hours between 7-4 / 7.30-4.30 / 8-5 / 8.30-5.30 / 9-6
xswatch
post Mar 26 2019, 09:36 PM

489 posts

QUOTE(blueblueoutofblue @ Mar 26 2019, 12:00 PM)
Kerja kat one of factory ?
not factory. onsite support. at one of the govt building. but I just kuli only, 1st level support only..
kenny B
post Mar 26 2019, 10:01 PM

821 posts

Halal is not an issue.

cheap one yes.
goldrush
post Mar 26 2019, 10:07 PM

214 posts

If desktop engineer, minimal $ should b ~$3k. Why not stay at SG if u r single?

Btw, where is BBU?
bonedragon
post Mar 26 2019, 10:48 PM

346 posts

Halal is not an issue.

This is just what Malaysians say to address the inferiority complex. Honestly the day to day food is not that bad just a little different and much cheaper dollar for dollar. Mid range to premium food is infinitely better in variety and quality.
xswatch
post Mar 27 2019, 08:09 AM

489 posts

QUOTE(goldrush @ Mar 26 2019, 10:07 PM)
If desktop engineer, minimal $ should b ~$3k. Why not stay at SG if u r single?

Btw, where is BBU?
I got a friend working in sg for 8yrs already. he got diploma + mcsa +mcse +ccna. now working as network engineer. but the sad thing is his salary is only $2600. due to work permit. not many companies in sg can issue you with S pass / EP, which will get u higher pay. I also have a friend who only has degree, fresh grad doing 1st level support, earning 3k with S pass. it all goes down to ur luck I guess. it's quite hard to find a company that can issue u with S pass / EP. some companies will try to apply it for u, but in the end shot down by MOM (ministry of manpower) due to certain criteria is not met.

BBU is bandar baru uda. which is in Skudai area

This post has been edited by xswatch: Mar 27 2019, 08:11 AM
metalslug
post Mar 27 2019, 08:12 AM

404 posts

go find carpool la. walao. save the hassle traveling in and out.
goldrush
post Mar 27 2019, 05:47 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(xswatch @ Mar 27 2019, 08:09 AM)
I got a friend working in sg for 8yrs already. he got diploma + mcsa +mcse +ccna. now working as network engineer. but the sad thing is his salary is only $2600. due to work permit. not many companies in sg can issue you with S pass / EP, which will get u higher pay. I also have a friend who only has degree, fresh grad doing 1st level support, earning 3k with S pass. it all goes down to ur luck I guess. it's quite hard to find a company that can issue u with S pass / EP. some companies will try to apply it for u, but in the end shot down by MOM (ministry of manpower) due to certain criteria is not met.

BBU is bandar baru uda. which is in Skudai area
Oh I see!...
LalaluSan
post Mar 27 2019, 05:59 PM

692 posts

Mapletree?? Google ke? whistling.gif
bettertomorrow91 P
post Feb 3 2020, 11:46 AM

Probation
13 posts

Hi Guys,

Would like to ask something regarding the income taxation in SG if I were to stay in JB (I will be working for a SG-based company). I will be starting my new job on the 4th of May, 2020.

From IRAS, quote:

"Period of Stay (inclusive of work) in Singapore - At least 183 days in a year will be regarded as a tax resident"

My question is,

a. Does it mean, as long I enter Singapore for that day, it will be counted as 1 working day?
b. Does it count by accumulated hour? For example: 8 hours per day, I need 3 working days to be considered as 1 full day in Singapore?

My biggest concern is, for the remaining year of 2020, would I be taxed at a flat rate of 15%, or will it be falling under progressive tax resident rate?

Thank you so much in advance

jamalnsx
post Feb 3 2020, 11:53 AM

131 posts

QUOTE(bettertomorrow91 @ Feb 3 2020, 11:46 AM)
Hi Guys,

Would like to ask something regarding the income taxation in SG if I were to stay in JB (I will be working for a SG-based company). I will be starting my new job on the 4th of May, 2020.

From IRAS, quote:

"Period of Stay (inclusive of work) in Singapore - At least 183 days in a year will be regarded as a tax resident"

My question is,

a. Does it mean, as long I enter Singapore for that day, it will be counted as 1 working day?
b. Does it count by accumulated hour? For example: 8 hours per day, I need 3 working days to be considered as 1 full day in Singapore?

My biggest concern is, for the remaining year of 2020, would I be taxed at a flat rate of 15%, or will it be falling under progressive tax resident rate?

I'm not sure you can choose to pay either Singapore or Malaysia income tax but Malaysia income tax rate is higher especially
when your income is converted into Ringgit, the tax bracket is different already.

xswatch
post Feb 3 2020, 11:57 AM

489 posts

QUOTE(bettertomorrow91 @ Feb 3 2020, 11:46 AM)
Hi Guys,

From IRAS, quote:

My question is,

u will only being taxed in sg coz u r income come from sg, not my. the tax calculation is based on check by iras to sg custom. so they will surely know how many hours / days u spent in sg. anyway, nothing to be worry about. sg tax rate is lower than my tax rate.

nugget_piece
post Feb 3 2020, 12:02 PM

103 posts

My friends tried it. Wake up something like 4-5am.
Very tiring life, then she quit after that.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0151sec    0.62    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 02:07 PM