Micromobility-eScooter,eSkateboard,eUnicycle & etc, next level commuting

jimhorn
post Jun 3 2022, 11:50 AM

407 posts

Been planning to get a Onewheel and an e-Scooter mostly for leisurely rides in and around KL.

But now with the new regulations banning them on roads where do you guys even ride them at? Parks and gardens seem to be the best place but you'd be riding them on pedestrian walkways and it feels dangerous riding next to people especially on narrower pathways.

Really, really interested but I wonder if it'll be a waste of money after getting them. Ride few times, realise it's too troublesome, then put aside after doh.gif
ReaperX
post Jun 3 2022, 12:14 PM

U can be the moon but still be jealous of the stars.
864 posts

I've sold mine before pandemic. It's just not worth the hassle with the law and safety wise.

May only re-visit the idea of e-scooting once we have proper laws and infra in place.
boyz
post Jun 3 2022, 01:10 PM

Your Humble Vaudevillian
1,519 posts

QUOTE(ReaperX @ Jun 3 2022, 12:14 PM)
I've sold mine before pandemic. It's just not worth the hassle with the law and safety wise.

May only re-visit the idea of e-scooting once we have proper laws and infra in place.
Same here sold my zero 9 n 10 too during pandemic, with the policy makers working silo its hard to ride around. I've moved to cycling for commute.
jimhorn
post Jun 3 2022, 04:13 PM

407 posts

That's sad to hear man.

Maybe that's why we can hardly see anyone riding them anymore.

Would definitely be nicer if there are more people riding them normalising it but the government and local councils will have to improve on lots of laws and infrastructure before that become a reality
15cm
post Jun 4 2022, 12:05 AM

294 posts

need a hovering one because wheels one will fall over when hit a bump
SimonsayZ
post Jun 13 2022, 11:14 AM

2,792 posts

Just when I thought about getting a e-scooter, I come across this thread. Reading the comments, it seems like not worth to buy it with all these restrictions...
cweng93
post Feb 5 2023, 12:36 AM

79 posts

Is escooter still alive? sad.gif
wanna buy and try to drive it to mrt station.
XP750
post Feb 5 2023, 01:52 AM

319 posts

QUOTE(cweng93 @ Feb 5 2023, 12:36 AM)
Is escooter still alive? sad.gif
wanna buy and try to drive it to mrt station.
still some around

guess you'll have to gauge your own risk
is your commute path very public? or just small quiet roads

if it is very public most likely very easy to get into trouble

i ride mine around taman, go out buy stuff, go gym, go starbucks,
no problem

boyz
post Feb 6 2023, 10:39 AM

Your Humble Vaudevillian
1,519 posts

saw a unicycle on cheras main road commuting! like riding a superbike armor!
ShadowR1
post Feb 6 2023, 12:32 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,705 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Mar 22 2019, 05:29 PM)
get one wit powerful motor, search for ultron escooter(china brand) or if u hv more budget can get korea brand dualtron, its popular among sg escooter riders. can order from taobao or buy directly from sg and ask the shop to remove the speed limiter coz sg law max speed is 25kmh only.

reason y u need powerful motor is so u can go uphill easily.
This ... ultron is the way to go.

More torque, higher mileage, bigger wheels and most importantly, full sus.

Tread off ... damn heavy.
alphacross
post May 25 2023, 05:49 PM

33 posts

hi sifus, quick question, is it safe to leave our scooter unattended outside when i, for example go eat at a hawker store? if no, should i get a lock for it?

i see all those beam scooters just left unattended majiem safe jer.

This post has been edited by alphacross: May 25 2023, 05:50 PM
boyz
post May 26 2023, 12:18 PM

Your Humble Vaudevillian
1,519 posts

QUOTE(alphacross @ May 25 2023, 05:49 PM)
hi sifus, quick question, is it safe to leave our scooter unattended outside when i, for example go eat at a hawker store? if no, should i get a lock for it?

i see all those beam scooters just left unattended majiem safe jer.
Not safe,because can on and go. or truck comes along and disappear.

13 Pages « < 11 12 13Top

0.0147sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 04:37 PM