Passing on your property to the next gen.

ch_kee83
post Jun 24 2019, 05:43 PM

139 posts

Hi to all sifu..

Was wondering if we can set up a partnership company to manage and own the properties of my father?

Initially he plan to transfer his properties to all his children accordingly.
But now he worry that there might be disputes between his children as each property will have two names or more and he hopes the properties can be inherited to third generation.

These properties are all shoplots and houses and currently tenanted.
By transferring all these properties to a company and the major shares will be my mom, will this prevent any of the children of selling the properties without our consent?

ch_kee83
post Jun 25 2019, 12:16 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(BEANCOUNTER @ Jun 24 2019, 06:10 PM)
Wat happens if your mum passes on??
Thought of that too.
Then the shares are equally shared among 3 of her children.
The purpose is just to prevent the properties being sold and if it does,
at least need the consent of another sibling.
Just wondering if anyone have experience in setting a company in handling
the properties they owned?
ch_kee83
post Jun 26 2019, 12:52 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(Bjorn1688 @ Jun 26 2019, 11:39 AM)
I'd suggest you go have a chat with your family solicitor and accountant on this matter.

These 2 persons would be in the best position to give you advice on succession and company matters. Such types of holding and trust arrangements isn't something that could be done without their input anyway.
Noted.
Will meet our accountant next month as they r busy with tax submission by this month.
Will share with u guys later.

0.0129sec    0.76    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 10:04 PM