Shld I change my wifi router?

TSBlurGuy1992
post Mar 20 2019, 12:10 PM, updated 6y ago

254 posts

I am quite confuse to tech thingy.. I have been using maxis fibre and the thomson router that comes default..
I think its been 6-7years since...
I dont know if changing a new router (like got dual band etc) will makes speed better?
coz especially on night time, there will be 3person in my house and it gets slow once shared...

any budget router to recommend? usage will be around 3person, usage is quite demanding like gaming, youtube surfing etc... probably I will buy online as well...
aziratul
post Mar 20 2019, 01:00 PM

124 posts

Why not ask maxis to provide u with new router instead? maybe they can gave u free or half the price
dannychen
post Mar 20 2019, 02:11 PM

1,158 posts

change to new fibrenation plan. new router will be provided with new contract.
noskyreason
post Mar 20 2019, 05:52 PM

13 posts

It is better if you can share more info about your situation, example your package bandwidth speed, budget for next router, etc, I might able to propose a right router for you. The router you having now should be a wireless N router with limited processing power, might not enough to serve this day usage.
TSBlurGuy1992
post Mar 20 2019, 05:57 PM

254 posts

QUOTE(noskyreason @ Mar 20 2019, 05:52 PM)
It is better if you can share more info about your situation, example your package bandwidth speed, budget for next router, etc, I might able to propose a right router for you. The router you having now should be a wireless N router with limited processing power, might not enough to serve this day usage.
wahh thank you!! biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
my package is 30mbps, budget is around 100-200...
current routher is the maxis thomson router TG784n (can google and you will see it)

night time high usage (3computer- 1gaming, 1 youtube, 1 stream into our TV)

we dont really torrent or download heavy things, so I think 30mbps is enough.. or no?

This post has been edited by BlurGuy1992: Mar 20 2019, 05:57 PM
SilentVampire
post Mar 20 2019, 08:22 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,706 posts

QUOTE(BlurGuy1992 @ Mar 20 2019, 05:57 PM)
wahh thank you!!  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
my package is 30mbps, budget is around 100-200...
current routher is the maxis thomson router TG784n (can google and you will see it)

night time high usage (3computer- 1gaming, 1 youtube, 1 stream into our TV)

we dont really torrent or download heavy things, so I think 30mbps is enough.. or no?
Your budget is too low. That is a very old router. You definitely need to change it. How much are you paying for your current package? If you are paying more than the current offer, time to upgrade to a faster speed.

Increase your budget. If you are not using the phone, get something good, or just upgrade your package and get a router from Maxis.
TSBlurGuy1992
post Mar 20 2019, 09:36 PM

254 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Mar 20 2019, 08:22 PM)
Your budget is too low. That is a very old router. You definitely need to change it. How much are you paying for your current package? If you are paying more than the current offer, time to upgrade to a faster speed.

Increase your budget. If you are not using the phone, get something good, or just upgrade your package and get a router from Maxis.
149per month.. okay maybe router that is around 250-300? mine comes with the unlimited call, but rarely use.. its a package tho...
tq sifu smile.gif smile.gif
SilentVampire
post Mar 20 2019, 10:16 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,706 posts

QUOTE(BlurGuy1992 @ Mar 20 2019, 09:36 PM)
149per month.. okay maybe router that is around 250-300? mine comes with the unlimited call, but rarely use.. its a package tho...
tq sifu  smile.gif  smile.gif
Bro, you are paying much more for less. Please have a look at the new plans here: https://www.maxis.com.my/en/personal/intern...xisonehome.html

Time to change plans and demand for free router! You could get 100Mbps, which is 3 times faster than your current speed for RM129, or same plan for just RM89!

This post has been edited by SilentVampire: Mar 20 2019, 10:17 PM
TSBlurGuy1992
post Mar 21 2019, 10:19 AM

254 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Mar 20 2019, 10:16 PM)
Bro, you are paying much more for less. Please have a look at the new plans here: https://www.maxis.com.my/en/personal/intern...xisonehome.html

Time to change plans and demand for free router! You could get 100Mbps, which is 3 times faster than your current speed for RM129, or same plan for just RM89!
but last time I already signed contract for 2years. how can I change plan? would there be breach of contract?
also what kind of routers? if they say the current router is still usable how?

ps I had no experience on these.. in fact used maxis for very long time ago...
I want to change too, just contact their customer service?

This post has been edited by BlurGuy1992: Mar 21 2019, 10:29 AM
dannychen
post Mar 21 2019, 10:33 AM

1,158 posts

QUOTE(BlurGuy1992 @ Mar 21 2019, 10:19 AM)
but last time I already signed contract for 2years. how can I change plan? would there be breach of contract?

you will renew your contract by another 24 months if you upgrade now.
TSBlurGuy1992
post Mar 21 2019, 10:58 AM

254 posts

QUOTE(dannychen @ Mar 21 2019, 10:33 AM)
you will renew your contract by another 24 months if you upgrade now.
ohh wow thank you!!
SilentVampire
post Mar 21 2019, 11:42 AM

Networking Enthusiast
5,706 posts

QUOTE(BlurGuy1992 @ Mar 21 2019, 10:19 AM)

No breach. Just sign up for a new contract, and make sure you demand for new equipment!

0.0137sec    0.59    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 04:25 PM