Bump Topic Add Reply RSS Feed New Topic New Poll

> To purchase bicycle from Aliexpress, ~what is the import tax will be charged~

ccvv
post Mar 19 2019, 08:21 PM, updated 6y ago

107 posts

Hi all sifus,

I need some advice from you all... I planned to purchase a bicycle from Aliexpress where the shipper will ship in 2 different parcel consists of all the parts (not complete bike). So my question is (1) what are the import tax or other fees to be charged by custom (2) do I have to fill up any form for the declaration?

Appreciate if someone share the calculation method such as percentage...

By the way, cost of the bike is around RM10-12k, they will use EMS service to ship it over

Thanks and appreciate for your time to read through this :respect:
kweil
post Mar 19 2019, 08:33 PM

218 posts

Roadbike??

If ship whole roadbike in 1 parcel.. no tax..

If ship parts by parts, will have tax.. kastam will treat as spare part n tax is quite high..

Better call Kastam 03-87773777 to ask bout it..
kherel77
post Mar 19 2019, 08:37 PM

Noobie
1,435 posts

2 parcels in 1 Airway Bill or 2 parcels with 2 separated Airway Bills?

If 2 parcels in 1 Airway Bill : only 1 declaration with 1 Tariff Code. 8712.xx.xxxx
If 2 parcels with 2 separated Airway Bills : have to do 2 declarations with individual Tariff Code of the parts.
kherel77
post Mar 19 2019, 08:41 PM

Noobie
1,435 posts

Racing bicycle (HS# 8712.00 1000) 0% import duty + 0% SST
Children's bicycle (HS# 8712.00 2000) 0% import duty + 0% SST but need Import licensed (MDTCC)
Other that above (HS# 8712.00 3000) 25% import duty + 0% SST
ccvv
post Mar 20 2019, 07:13 AM

107 posts

QUOTE(kweil @ Mar 19 2019, 08:33 PM)
Roadbike??

If ship whole roadbike in 1 parcel.. no tax..

If ship parts by parts, will have tax.. kastam will treat as spare part n tax is quite high..

Better call Kastam 03-87773777 to ask bout it..
Yes, it's roadbike. Ermmm…. Shipper will ship the parts, I believed it's due to the weight or size of the packaging, maybe

This post has been edited by ccvv: Mar 20 2019, 07:13 AM
ccvv
post Mar 20 2019, 07:15 AM

107 posts

QUOTE(kherel77 @ Mar 19 2019, 08:37 PM)
2 parcels in 1 Airway Bill or 2 parcels with 2 separated Airway Bills?

If 2 parcels in 1 Airway Bill : only 1 declaration with 1 Tariff Code. 8712.xx.xxxx
If 2 parcels with 2 separated Airway Bills : have to do 2 declarations with individual Tariff Code of the parts.
Sorry... I have not asked him in details regarding the airway bill. But confirmed it's 2 parcels, so I have to fill-up the declaration form?
ccvv
post Mar 20 2019, 07:21 AM

107 posts

QUOTE(kherel77 @ Mar 19 2019, 08:41 PM)
| Racing bicycle | (HS# 8712.00 1000) | 0% import duty + 0% SST |
Children's bicycle (HS# 8712.00 2000) 0% import duty + 0% SST but need Import licensed (MDTCC)
Other that above (HS# 8712.00 3000) 25% import duty + 0% SST
Mine is racing bike/roadbike. That means I won't be charged any of the import duty and SST even the shipper is going to ship in 2 parcels (not complete bike). Cos some other member replied, that complete bike would not be charged, but ship by parts (tax will be imposed). Just wonder... :help:
kherel77
post Mar 20 2019, 07:45 AM

Noobie
1,435 posts

QUOTE(ccvv @ Mar 20 2019, 07:15 AM)
Sorry... I have not asked him in details regarding the airway bill. But confirmed it's 2 parcels, so I have to fill-up the declaration form?
QUOTE(ccvv @ Mar 20 2019, 07:21 AM)
Mine is racing bike/roadbike. That means I won't be charged any of the import duty and SST even the shipper is going to ship in 2 parcels (not complete bike). Cos some other member replied, that complete bike would not be charged, but ship by parts (tax will be imposed). Just wonder...  icon_question.gif
1 Airway Bill only need 1 declaration regardless how many parcels it registered.
Multiple Airway Bill need multiple multiple declarations/K1 Forms accordingly to the AWB qty.

Even with multiple parcels, stated as complete bike in the shipping invoice -> K1 Form, it will use 1 Tariff Code.
If stated or declared as individual parts, it will use individual Tariff Code accordingly to the items listed.
kweil
post Mar 20 2019, 08:08 AM

218 posts

QUOTE(ccvv @ Mar 20 2019, 07:13 AM)
Yes, it's roadbike. Ermmm…. Shipper will ship the parts, I believed it's due to the weight or size of the packaging, maybe
Better call Kastam for more detailed procedure.. they are nice persons, wont scold you..
ccvv
post Mar 20 2019, 09:43 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(kherel77 @ Mar 20 2019, 07:45 AM)
1 Airway Bill only need 1 declaration regardless how many parcels it registered.
Multiple Airway Bill need multiple multiple declarations/K1 Forms accordingly to the AWB qty.

Even with multiple parcels, stated as complete bike in the shipping invoice -> K1 Form, it will use 1 Tariff Code.
If stated or declared as individual parts, it will use individual Tariff Code accordingly to the items listed.
Thanks a lot for the info, I will check with the shipper on his arrangement. It would be great if it's not imposed with any additional tax.
ccvv
post Mar 20 2019, 09:46 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(kweil @ Mar 20 2019, 08:08 AM)
Better call Kastam for more detailed procedure.. they are nice persons, wont scold you..
I just afraid that I couldn't get the right person and department, sick with the Taiji they usually play around. Anyway, I will call Kastam to get more details for sure, thanks and appreciate for your kind help

0.0131sec    0.46    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 01:03 PM