Was about to get my 1st car maximum budget 75k......so can anyone recommend me which is better? Distance travel 3-4 times a month
Mazda 2 SDN or Nissan Almera, Which is worth the money?
Mar 19 2019, 12:21 PM, updated 7y ago
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
238 posts Joined: Dec 2010 |
Was about to get my 1st car maximum budget 75k......so can anyone recommend me which is better? Distance travel 3-4 times a month
Mar 19 2019, 12:22 PM
Show posts by this member only | Post
1,058 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: Subang |
almera pickup laoya
AC most car got loud problem AC cold and good boot space good interior large and comfortable fuel consumption ok This post has been edited by hungheykwun: Mar 19 2019, 12:22 PM |
Mar 19 2019, 12:24 PM
Mar 19 2019, 12:30 PM
464 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
QUOTE(adamchen @ Mar 19 2019, 12:21 PM) Was about to get my 1st car maximum budget 75k......so can anyone recommend me which is better? Distance travel 3-4 times a month Mazda2 sedan mana ada 75k. Unless you talking about used car laI'm driving Mazda2 now, so gonna review to you: Pro: - Very sharp handling. Basically you won't get better at this price range - Slightly above average fuel consumption Cons: - Space is shit. I'm 160cm + kaki pendek and the driver cabin feels just about right to me. If you taller/bigger then kesian la you or your passenger - The blind spot is more obvious due to the pillar's design - Aircond tak sejuk sangat compared to other cars. Kalau you tint your car, no problem la - Acceleration is below par. 0-50 feels just a tad heavy in the default mode Even though I wrote more cons than pros, I still wouldnt trade my car to other car at this price range This post has been edited by red4900: Mar 19 2019, 12:31 PM |
Mar 19 2019, 12:42 PM
1,523 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: Penrissen Camp |
What do you mean by "Distance travel 3-4 times a month"? How far is this travel? 100km?10km?
Mar 19 2019, 12:54 PM
Mar 19 2019, 12:56 PM
QUOTE(red4900 @ Mar 19 2019, 12:30 PM) Mazda2 sedan mana ada 75k. Unless you talking about used car la How much is mazda 2 sdn? I saw brochure selling 72-75k for both sdn n hatchback low spec? Btw those cons really quite cons to me.....I'm driving Mazda2 now, so gonna review to you: Pro: - Very sharp handling. Basically you won't get better at this price range - Slightly above average fuel consumption Cons: - Space is shit. I'm 160cm + kaki pendek and the driver cabin feels just about right to me. If you taller/bigger then kesian la you or your passenger - The blind spot is more obvious due to the pillar's design - Aircond tak sejuk sangat compared to other cars. Kalau you tint your car, no problem la - Acceleration is below par. 0-50 feels just a tad heavy in the default mode Even though I wrote more cons than pros, I still wouldnt trade my car to other car at this price range |
Mar 19 2019, 01:07 PM
761 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
For practical...Almera will not go wrong.
For stylist...then Mazda 2 it is. @red4900 is very right on the review... |
Mar 19 2019, 01:13 PM
1,058 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: Subang |
Mar 19 2019, 01:49 PM
4,224 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
Why Almera? The body is not sturdy enough. It's the least sturdy among the B-segment cars. Also, it's due to be phased out/wholly upgraded soon.
Mazda is a better buy. If you're 180cm then tough luck. Cons: New vios: Subpar acceleration / cramp interior space (better than Mazda 2) City: Fit & finish, service center getting worst Kia Rio: Underpowered 1.4L Persona: Awkward design, less fuel efficient. |
Mar 19 2019, 02:09 PM
464 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
Mar 19 2019, 02:21 PM
Mar 19 2019, 02:25 PM
QUOTE(Chyan @ Mar 19 2019, 01:49 PM) Why Almera? The body is not sturdy enough. It's the least sturdy among the B-segment cars. Also, it's due to be phased out/wholly upgraded soon. Previously i keep check on Aruz, Mazda 2, Vios and Almera..... den Aruz i not so confidence getting it and new vios to me is not very nice......more prefer previous version...so left almera and mazda 2 in list.....and so ask for opinion from all because i don't have much knowledge on carMazda is a better buy. If you're 180cm then tough luck. Cons: New vios: Subpar acceleration / cramp interior space (better than Mazda 2) City: Fit & finish, service center getting worst Kia Rio: Underpowered 1.4L Persona: Awkward design, less fuel efficient. |
Mar 19 2019, 02:32 PM
67 posts Joined: Jun 2018 |
almera
for the boot space cause i put everything on car, my sports shoes, badminton racquet etc and since its so basic that when things are basic they don't spoil easily, aircond i follow the regular service, so ok for me mazda i cant comment but for this price point i dont really care about the handling, nvh etc as long as it doesn't anyhow break down on the road |
Mar 19 2019, 02:44 PM
5,907 posts Joined: Dec 2012 From: Taiping,Perak |
Almera space really a plus point. even bigger compared to vios. Even comparable to my civic. Mazda maintenance confirm higher than almera by quite a margin.
Speaking as my bro having almera and my elder sis hav mazda 3 |
Mar 19 2019, 03:11 PM
1,931 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
I would go for Nissan due to bigger cabin and easy maintenance plus I believe Nissan Toyota and Honda engine better than Mazda as long as u take care the maintenance and cheaper too.
Mar 19 2019, 03:26 PM
3,249 posts Joined: Oct 2011 |
i wouldn't suggest almera due to how unsafe and outdated the car is. only plus point to me is the bigger space, which if you are single/ without kids then you wont be utilizing it anyway.
if your main priority is the space, then go with almera as i dont think theres other alternative. consider city? good enough interior space, powerful, good cruising capability, superb fc and better handling for sure than almera |
Mar 19 2019, 03:41 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
21,256 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Pekopon |
almari black edition with apple carplay
Mar 19 2019, 04:38 PM
340 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
If you want almera space but think the almera design is ugly, perhaps can consider Honda City?
Mar 19 2019, 04:40 PM
Mar 19 2019, 05:01 PM
With cruise control please. Thank me later.
Mar 19 2019, 05:15 PM
Mar 19 2019, 06:22 PM
QUOTE(adamchen @ Mar 19 2019, 04:40 PM) I was actually in the same situation as you last September. I didn't even bother with Almera cause I thought it was ugly. So i was only deciding between Mazda 2 and City. It all comes down to what's the usage of the car? If you're single, driving alone maybe sometimes fetch your gf/fiance/awek, then Mazda 2 is ok. I feel like Mazda 2 is more of a coupe cause behind really damn cramped. The design is better than city, driving is also better than city (more control, more responsive steering/cornering) but everything else lose to city imo. In the end i opted for the city. So far, City is good. 1. Fuel consumption is 450KM for a full tank. This is only city driving. If you always go on NKVE/other big highways, I tried before 600km++ for full tank. 2. It's also spacious, I can fetch 4 adults (175cm and above) all won't complain about legroom (can't say the same about mazda 2) 3. Pick up is slightly above average i feel. Enough for overtaking on LDP/Duke. 4. Price is better than Mazda 2. Im comparing high spec, I bought mine for 86k (w/o insurance), I think at that time Mazda 2 high spec was slightly above 90k. If you want to keep to a 75k budget, the low spec Mazda 2 doesn't even have bluetooth. So i eliminated that option instantly. If you stick to 75k budget, I think city beats all. Maybe you can think about new vios? I've not test drive that so i can't give any comments. Overall, no complains. Only thing to note is i think Honda is launching new design for City in a year or two, so maybe if you care about resale value, this is something to consider. If i never address all your concerns, feel free to leave me questions. Ps: im not a petrolhead, so all this opinion is from my own driving only. Other users can feel free to chip in. EDIT: another thing to take into consideration is that Mazda got free service, but Honda doesn't. Imo, it doesn't matter to me la cause if you think of buying Honda/Mazda/Toyota, surely you can afford the service. Usually range between 200-400 for normal service and 500-700 for big service. EDIT 2: if 75k budget cannot budge, maybe think about Myvi also? I have friends who own the new myvi, all also no complaints. Sometimes complain Service centre, but this is all very subjective. This post has been edited by Eclipse123: Mar 19 2019, 06:27 PM |
Mar 19 2019, 06:34 PM
QUOTE(Eclipse123 @ Mar 19 2019, 06:22 PM) I was actually in the same situation as you last September. yameh? i tot low spec mazda got bt but no display only? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=URWNLyaIPp0I didn't even bother with Almera cause I thought it was ugly. So i was only deciding between Mazda 2 and City. It all comes down to what's the usage of the car? If you're single, driving alone maybe sometimes fetch your gf/fiance/awek, then Mazda 2 is ok. I feel like Mazda 2 is more of a coupe cause behind really damn cramped. The design is better than city, driving is also better than city (more control, more responsive steering/cornering) but everything else lose to city imo. In the end i opted for the city. So far, City is good. 1. Fuel consumption is 450KM for a full tank. This is only city driving. If you always go on NKVE/other big highways, I tried before 600km++ for full tank. 2. It's also spacious, I can fetch 4 adults (175cm and above) all won't complain about legroom (can't say the same about mazda 2) 3. Pick up is slightly above average i feel. Enough for overtaking on LDP/Duke. 4. Price is better than Mazda 2. Im comparing high spec, I bought mine for 86k (w/o insurance), I think at that time Mazda 2 high spec was slightly above 90k. If you want to keep to a 75k budget, the low spec Mazda 2 doesn't even have bluetooth. So i eliminated that option instantly. If you stick to 75k budget, I think city beats all. Maybe you can think about new vios? I've not test drive that so i can't give any comments. Overall, no complains. Only thing to note is i think Honda is launching new design for City in a year or two, so maybe if you care about resale value, this is something to consider. If i never address all your concerns, feel free to leave me questions. Ps: im not a petrolhead, so all this opinion is from my own driving only. Other users can feel free to chip in. EDIT: another thing to take into consideration is that Mazda got free service, but Honda doesn't. Imo, it doesn't matter to me la cause if you think of buying Honda/Mazda/Toyota, surely you can afford the service. Usually range between 200-400 for normal service and 500-700 for big service. EDIT 2: if 75k budget cannot budge, maybe think about Myvi also? I have friends who own the new myvi, all also no complaints. Sometimes complain Service centre, but this is all very subjective. |
Mar 19 2019, 06:43 PM
QUOTE(Eclipse123 @ Mar 19 2019, 06:22 PM) I was actually in the same situation as you last September. Yea i think of myvi also, summore alot cheaper than thoseI didn't even bother with Almera cause I thought it was ugly. So i was only deciding between Mazda 2 and City. It all comes down to what's the usage of the car? If you're single, driving alone maybe sometimes fetch your gf/fiance/awek, then Mazda 2 is ok. I feel like Mazda 2 is more of a coupe cause behind really damn cramped. The design is better than city, driving is also better than city (more control, more responsive steering/cornering) but everything else lose to city imo. In the end i opted for the city. So far, City is good. 1. Fuel consumption is 450KM for a full tank. This is only city driving. If you always go on NKVE/other big highways, I tried before 600km++ for full tank. 2. It's also spacious, I can fetch 4 adults (175cm and above) all won't complain about legroom (can't say the same about mazda 2) 3. Pick up is slightly above average i feel. Enough for overtaking on LDP/Duke. 4. Price is better than Mazda 2. Im comparing high spec, I bought mine for 86k (w/o insurance), I think at that time Mazda 2 high spec was slightly above 90k. If you want to keep to a 75k budget, the low spec Mazda 2 doesn't even have bluetooth. So i eliminated that option instantly. If you stick to 75k budget, I think city beats all. Maybe you can think about new vios? I've not test drive that so i can't give any comments. Overall, no complains. Only thing to note is i think Honda is launching new design for City in a year or two, so maybe if you care about resale value, this is something to consider. If i never address all your concerns, feel free to leave me questions. Ps: im not a petrolhead, so all this opinion is from my own driving only. Other users can feel free to chip in. EDIT: another thing to take into consideration is that Mazda got free service, but Honda doesn't. Imo, it doesn't matter to me la cause if you think of buying Honda/Mazda/Toyota, surely you can afford the service. Usually range between 200-400 for normal service and 500-700 for big service. EDIT 2: if 75k budget cannot budge, maybe think about Myvi also? I have friends who own the new myvi, all also no complaints. Sometimes complain Service centre, but this is all very subjective. |
Mar 19 2019, 08:43 PM
QUOTE(adamchen @ Mar 19 2019, 06:34 PM) I might be wrong, but best to go to a showroom and test it out yourself. Sometimes same car from different regions will have different specs. My info came from a showroom assistant, she might be misinformed as well. |
Mar 19 2019, 11:45 PM
387 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
Almera : Spacious and cheaper
Vios : Resale Value and durable City : Design and space Mazda 2 : Design As long as you like the car, you will be happy driving it. It's Japanese brand, it won't give much problem. This post has been edited by joey2000: Mar 19 2019, 11:47 PM |
Mar 20 2019, 11:46 AM
23 posts Joined: Oct 2017 |
I think almera safety feature not that good since it does not come with stability control and 1 airbag for lower spec. Personally I'm driving Honda City overall I think the car is good enough for me. Cons only rattling noise everywhere.
Quite spacious for me 173cm powerful enough to overtake in town and highway cruise control helps a lot for travelling at long distance highway Large boot space as well |
Mar 20 2019, 12:05 PM
QUOTE(zy93 @ Mar 20 2019, 11:46 AM) I think almera safety feature not that good since it does not come with stability control and 1 airbag for lower spec. Personally I'm driving Honda City overall I think the car is good enough for me. Cons only rattling noise everywhere. what do you mean by rattling noise?Quite spacious for me 173cm powerful enough to overtake in town and highway cruise control helps a lot for travelling at long distance highway Large boot space as well |
Mar 20 2019, 01:19 PM
357 posts Joined: Oct 2011 |
almera definitely better value. but if you want to enjoy the ride, by all means go for the mazda.
your passenger might not be happy with the space though. i think the space for driver is fine. |
Mar 20 2019, 01:24 PM
23 posts Joined: Oct 2017 |
Mar 20 2019, 01:29 PM
945 posts Joined: Apr 2016 From: Shah Alam |
almera unreliable
Mar 20 2019, 05:30 PM
1,922 posts Joined: Feb 2016 |
QUOTE(red4900 @ Mar 19 2019, 12:30 PM) Mazda2 sedan mana ada 75k. Unless you talking about used car la Can i add 2 more con of M2, very very miron thin paint work comparable to other makes. if travelling highway often, take dark color, ie grey. never whiteI'm driving Mazda2 now, so gonna review to you: Pro: - Very sharp handling. Basically you won't get better at this price range - Slightly above average fuel consumption Cons: - Space is shit. I'm 160cm + kaki pendek and the driver cabin feels just about right to me. If you taller/bigger then kesian la you or your passenger - The blind spot is more obvious due to the pillar's design - Aircond tak sejuk sangat compared to other cars. Kalau you tint your car, no problem la - Acceleration is below par. 0-50 feels just a tad heavy in the default mode Even though I wrote more cons than pros, I still wouldnt trade my car to other car at this price range secondly, under-carriage very problematic This post has been edited by jojolicia: Mar 20 2019, 05:32 PM |
Mar 20 2019, 05:37 PM
1,922 posts Joined: Feb 2016 |
Mar 20 2019, 06:42 PM
QUOTE(jojolicia @ Mar 20 2019, 05:30 PM) Can i add 2 more con of M2, very very miron thin paint work comparable to other makes. if travelling highway often, take dark color, ie grey. never white Under carriage issue i have to check at showroom....because i didn't carry things of passengers very oftensecondly, under-carriage very problematic |
Mar 20 2019, 11:01 PM
Mar 21 2019, 01:44 PM
472 posts Joined: May 2014 |
Ts, top up and get the new Hyundai elantra, it's like Mazda 2 and Honda city combined. 2nd hand pricing also okay
Mar 21 2019, 02:34 PM
216 posts Joined: Jul 2016 |
I Drive 2016 city. Pre Facelift. E Spec.
Turning radius is very small, fun to drive in tight spaces and city. Do a U turn and you will know how nimble this car is. Acceleration i find its quite good, but due to CVT, the droning noise when you accelerate is super damn annoying. Fit and Finish a lil bit bad. Rattling very common. I had rattles from behind my radio unit....but after send sc for service....that rattling gone Plastic's not snugly fitted. When interior gets heated up...some of the plastic pops out...lol. I had a door panel pop out of its fixtures from one corner. Now i park in a shaded carpark ...no longer having this issue. Take note of your car bumper, there are gaps here and there. some angles you can see the clips exposed. When i first got the car, My passenger door rubber lining keeps coming off....they forgot to glue it to the door....wtf So far i already change my driver's seat frame under warranty ...squeaking noise previously. Now i am waiting to claim for brake screeching noises.... And also waiting for Honda HQ to fix my steering wheel. The top part of the steering already deteriorate(something you will see commonly on a 7 year old cars but heck its happening already to a 3 year old car.). Overall its an okay b segment car. I like driving it around. Design wise i also feel its nice. Interior space also very ample. |
Mar 21 2019, 03:53 PM
921 posts Joined: Apr 2008 From: KL |
Personally own an M2 HB,
One thing I have to add on is the maintenance cost is higher than Nissan for sure. The start-stop batter already cost RM450+ to replace. My car came without Cruise Control, but I managed to get someone to install for me. It's very important for long distance drive. Fuel consumption is meh, I'm getting around 7.0L/100km in 50 city/highway. I got mine for around 50k+ due to used car. Mostly driving myself so small space is fine. But I doubt I will pay 75k+ for a new one, as someone said, perhaps the new myvi is a better choice. |
Mar 24 2019, 08:27 AM
163 posts Joined: Feb 2011 |
Mazda 2, as the name implies 2
It is better suited as a 2 seater. Reason being the seats at the back are very straight, if you are fetching passengers on long distances frequently they will definitely hate you very much. Hahaha Handling is good, you can confidently corner with this car. I m 187cm, and i have no issue driving the car, so you get the idea. Inside cabin is very noisy during highway runs, not much sound proofing. Suspension got some sound at the front for our model. It affects almost every mazda2 In conclusion, if you are the type that enjoys driving, doesnt mind the noise, the limited space, dont pick up passengers frequently. Buy this car, you wont regret. If you are looking for all rounder car, better you just buy honda city |
Mar 24 2019, 10:08 AM
4,830 posts Joined: Jan 2012 |
I have a friend who bought the mazda 3 over the Altis that her in laws haf3
She is not a petrol head but she says the mazda 3 has very good handling But her kids and in laws hate sitting behind cos it's cramp and bumpy Same situation will apply for your mazda 2 vs Almera |
Mar 24 2019, 08:59 PM
834 posts Joined: Jul 2011 |
You can buy Vios, City or Mazda2.
Almera is a piss-poor excuse for a car with a japanese badge. outdated engine and gearbox, handles like a boat, not reliable (Which is a major burn considering it's japanese), poorly equipped and not to mention it is the only car in that price range that STILL has no stability control. Even a Persona or a Myvi is a vastly superior car than an Almera. There literally is no reason to buy one.....You can thank Tan Chong Motor for that. |
Mar 25 2019, 03:40 PM
QUOTE(JaniceWLV @ Mar 24 2019, 08:27 AM) Mazda 2, as the name implies 2 ahh.....i quite abit of allIt is better suited as a 2 seater. Reason being the seats at the back are very straight, if you are fetching passengers on long distances frequently they will definitely hate you very much. Hahaha Handling is good, you can confidently corner with this car. I m 187cm, and i have no issue driving the car, so you get the idea. Inside cabin is very noisy during highway runs, not much sound proofing. Suspension got some sound at the front for our model. It affects almost every mazda2 In conclusion, if you are the type that enjoys driving, doesnt mind the noise, the limited space, dont pick up passengers frequently. Buy this car, you wont regret. If you are looking for all rounder car, better you just buy honda city |
Mar 25 2019, 06:48 PM
1,537 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
QUOTE(JaniceWLV @ Mar 24 2019, 08:27 AM) Mazda 2, as the name implies 2 Is it you that considered the 208 last time?It is better suited as a 2 seater. Reason being the seats at the back are very straight, if you are fetching passengers on long distances frequently they will definitely hate you very much. Hahaha Handling is good, you can confidently corner with this car. I m 187cm, and i have no issue driving the car, so you get the idea. Inside cabin is very noisy during highway runs, not much sound proofing. Suspension got some sound at the front for our model. It affects almost every mazda2 In conclusion, if you are the type that enjoys driving, doesnt mind the noise, the limited space, dont pick up passengers frequently. Buy this car, you wont regret. If you are looking for all rounder car, better you just buy honda city |
Mar 25 2019, 07:14 PM
163 posts Joined: Feb 2011 |
QUOTE(Pewufod @ Mar 25 2019, 06:48 PM) no, not me Last time i considered the CR-Z and The Proton Inspira 1.8. Because die die want manual but ended up with the Mazda 2, although its not a manual, but the gearbox is actually really good, just like a manual when you go to sports mode. |
Mar 25 2019, 07:37 PM
1,537 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
QUOTE(JaniceWLV @ Mar 25 2019, 07:14 PM) no, not me sameLast time i considered the CR-Z and The Proton Inspira 1.8. Because die die want manual but ended up with the Mazda 2, although its not a manual, but the gearbox is actually really good, just like a manual when you go to sports mode. i also die die want manual |
Mar 26 2019, 11:29 AM
5,529 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
QUOTE(JaniceWLV @ Mar 24 2019, 08:27 AM) Mazda 2, as the name implies 2 mazda 3 implies 3 seaterIt is better suited as a 2 seater. Reason being the seats at the back are very straight, if you are fetching passengers on long distances frequently they will definitely hate you very much. Hahaha Handling is good, you can confidently corner with this car. I m 187cm, and i have no issue driving the car, so you get the idea. Inside cabin is very noisy during highway runs, not much sound proofing. Suspension got some sound at the front for our model. It affects almost every mazda2 In conclusion, if you are the type that enjoys driving, doesnt mind the noise, the limited space, dont pick up passengers frequently. Buy this car, you wont regret. If you are looking for all rounder car, better you just buy honda city and mazda 6 implies 6 seater? but agree with you on the others. City would be a better all rounder. |
Jun 19 2023, 01:38 AM
1,836 posts Joined: May 2010 |
QUOTE(dares @ Mar 24 2019, 08:59 PM) You can buy Vios, City or Mazda2. Almera premium version also do not have stability control.?Almera is a piss-poor excuse for a car with a japanese badge. outdated engine and gearbox, handles like a boat, not reliable (Which is a major burn considering it's japanese), poorly equipped and not to mention it is the only car in that price range that STILL has no stability control. Even a Persona or a Myvi is a vastly superior car than an Almera. There literally is no reason to buy one.....You can thank Tan Chong Motor for that. |
Jun 19 2023, 01:38 AM
1,836 posts Joined: May 2010 |
Jun 19 2023, 08:56 AM
493 posts Joined: Jan 2014 |
Why not the current gen myvi mid spec? 53k+-, fuel efficient and you can get good resale value after 5-7 years when you decide to ultimately dump it
| Change to: | 0.0260sec
5 queries
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 10:36 PM |