74 posts

Hello...i just get Medicine course in UMS. need help here. tongue.gif
When is the intake? I don't even know how to go there. whistling.gif
xrenoz
post Jun 18 2010, 12:06 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(ken_zie @ Jun 18 2010, 12:02 PM)
are you serious you don't know how to go there? fly directly from penang to kk by airasia. but they only have 1 flight daily and if i'm not mistaken, it's at night. or you can fly from penang to kl then take another flight from kl - kk (which have few flights per day). there will be seniors waiting at the airport. i think your orientation should start at 5th july. wait for your offer letter or i think you can download it at somewhere online. do some research!
I know how to fly to Sabah =.= just need find my way to the Uni.
what do u mean by senior waiting at the airport? can clarify more?
xrenoz
post Jun 18 2010, 02:04 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(ken_zie @ Jun 18 2010, 01:40 PM)
xrenoz:
there will be a group of seniors (orientation facilitators) waiting at the airport. you'll see them at the arriving hall. you'll need to do some registration at there then there will be UMS buses that fetch you to the campus. they will drop you off at your respective hostel (the so called kampung A, B, C, D and E), depend on which hostel they assigned you to (the info is in your offer letter). Kampung E is the newest hostel but is it also the most far away from dewan canselor that you have to walk to during some activities during orientation.
Those group seniors will be there start from when?
I found some other forum saying that we need do medical check-up 1st b4 going? just normal clinic medical check up or full body medical check up at hospital?
xrenoz
post Jun 18 2010, 02:22 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(ken_zie @ Jun 18 2010, 02:13 PM)
i don't really remember they will be there start from when. the exact info should be all in the offer letter you'll receive very soon. IF the orientation start at 5th july, they might already there at 3rd or 4th (since some students coming early). you don't have to worry for your arriving time since they'll be there for every domestic flight arriving at the airport.

yes, you'll need to go for medical check up. not sure if it can be considered a full body check up, but they did do urine test though. can do it at government or private one if i'm not mistaken. but, you still need to wait for the offer letter since all the forms you need to fill in, including the check up is in there. before this, you can download all those documents online as well since there will be some people who might receive their offer letter late or might not receive it at all.
Okay...thanks for your help.
I waiting for the offer letter now...the website is down until 2.30pm.

If i have anything else i will ask here again.
xrenoz
post Jun 18 2010, 10:33 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(HolyJudgement @ Jun 18 2010, 10:24 PM)
lol...this thread is alive once again....once a year....still remember when i 1st post at tis thread 2 years ago...
Hi there...why there are so less people around here?
I am new student tongue.gif
xrenoz
post Jun 18 2010, 11:24 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(HolyJudgement @ Jun 18 2010, 11:16 PM)
not sure why, mayb it because the lack of "proper internet connection" in the uni tat result in less ums student to actively participate in this thread....its kinda hard to get good internet connection in ums..
mean i not going to have internet there? rclxub.gif
How about broadband?
xrenoz
post Jun 19 2010, 09:34 AM

74 posts

QUOTE(RJman @ Jun 19 2010, 02:03 AM)
got UMS medic.
excited. love the outdoors. from what i see, its gonna be fun
Nice to meet u...we are going to study together.
Where are u from? I am from Penang
xrenoz
post Jun 19 2010, 05:43 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(Himoyoto @ Jun 19 2010, 04:53 PM)
Huh???seriously???free and nothing to do???what are the course about??

I'm from Penang too....You stay at bayan baru??
I think i already know who u are... =.=

This post has been edited by xrenoz: Jun 19 2010, 05:47 PM
xrenoz
post Jun 20 2010, 05:11 PM

74 posts

Do we need to apply for PTPTN now or wait after enrolled into the Uni 1st?
xrenoz
post Jun 20 2010, 05:58 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(Technika @ Jun 20 2010, 05:40 PM)
after you enrolled. They will teach you step by step how to apply. You will also need signature from your uni HEP (hal ehwal pelajar) for your document to be certified. There will be few batches for the PTPTN crews to come collect your documents. So don't worry. You won't miss it.
from what I heard, past few year ago passport are needed to travel to east malaysia. During my year(last year) are not needed anymore.
but we still need prepare the CIMB bank account 1st right? how about the Setem Hasil or BSN pin?
xrenoz
post Jun 20 2010, 09:26 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(HolyJudgement @ Jun 20 2010, 09:14 PM)
yea...u'll still need to hav a cimb account and prepare 2 to 4 setem hasil....u'll be need the bsn pin too...u need to prepare everything they asked to prepare....because its gonna be a pain in the ass if u forgot any of those...
so basically we just prepare this thing then bring there...they will teach us how to do right?
Thanks...
xrenoz
post Jun 20 2010, 09:40 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(HolyJudgement @ Jun 20 2010, 09:30 PM)
yup...for those ptptn stuff they be teaching u how to do it...during my year (2 years ago) they even offered to certified our cert and document for us, not sure if they do tat nowadays....be early when u wanna go for the ptptn thing say about 5am u better be there waiting already....its gonna be a very longggggggggggg queue if u noe wat i mean....
yaya...i know what u mean, since the whole campus students will be there. lol

How long does it takes to receive the official letter from UMS after we accept the offer?
xrenoz
post Jun 20 2010, 09:49 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(HolyJudgement @ Jun 20 2010, 09:44 PM)
it depends on where ur state is located and the efficiency of the post office at ur state...it took me about 1 week+ before i receive the post from ums with the whole booklet/offer letter and other stuff (i forgot)....in any case, u can always print from the website 1st just in case it does not reach u in time...and u can start booking ur flight tickets now d...
I already booked my flight ticket, and just finish shopping for my attire. sweat.gif
the whole formal things make me rush around...

Now just waiting for the letter n booklet...then can go for medical check up etc...
xrenoz
post Jun 20 2010, 10:02 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(HolyJudgement @ Jun 20 2010, 09:56 PM)
oh my...u still havent done ur medical check up?u better hurry and get it done lo...cos if gov hospital they do things very slow 1....during my time i was late in receiving the post from ums, so i opt to go for private medical check up instead...but u will still need to get it certify from the goc hospital...atleast tats wat i did...  sweat.gif

anyway, any1 taking psychology here?  sad.gif
I thought we need bring that booklet to medical check up...u are also from penang right?

I haven't seen much ppl reply here about new student. unsure.gif
xrenoz
post Jun 20 2010, 10:09 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(HolyJudgement @ Jun 20 2010, 10:05 PM)
yup...or u can print it from the net...either way, its still the same...last time mine was lik tat....yup, i'm from penang...going back to kk tomoro to prepare stuff for my final year thingy....

tis a good thread in helping new students who will be going there, too bad its only active once a year....  doh.gif
I wait for the letter 1st...giv it 1 or 2 day if didn't arrive i only print it out.

oh, i am from penang...mean i have to wait 1 week +? rclxub.gif

i heard there is a way to exclude from paying back PTPTN?
xrenoz
post Jun 21 2010, 10:52 AM

74 posts

QUOTE(ken_zie @ Jun 20 2010, 10:15 PM)
yes, by graduating with first class degree.
What do u mean first class degree? what is the gpa?
xrenoz
post Jun 21 2010, 12:13 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(HolyJudgement @ Jun 21 2010, 11:10 AM)
first degree qualification are different from each uni...if i'm not mistaken, for ums the cgpa for 1st class would be 3.70 and above out of 4.0
Ok...thank you. thumbup.gif
xrenoz
post Jun 21 2010, 12:31 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(HolyJudgement @ Jun 21 2010, 12:31 PM)
no prob...might be dropping by to c how u all "enjoy" u guys eh orientation week...hahaha biggrin.gif
O.o is the msm so bad? hmm.gif
xrenoz
post Jun 21 2010, 12:39 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(HolyJudgement @ Jun 21 2010, 12:36 PM)
lol...not really...they no longer do serious ragging lik the 80's-90's anymore...just tat u all will hav to wake up really early to attend sum stupid moral class.....last time mine was at 6am....barely get enough sleep as we reached our hostel at 1+am and do sum washing b4 tat stupid moral class... sweat.gif
O.o i tot moral class already ended when secondary school vmad.gif

waking early is no problem to me... xD
xrenoz
post Jun 21 2010, 02:22 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(HolyJudgement @ Jun 21 2010, 12:52 PM)
hahaha...tats why its called stupid moral class...waking up is not the prob, the prob would be u'll be too tired too even wake up!!!hahaha... biggrin.gif
Haha...just one week, hope can pass through it asap.

0.0372sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 10:08 AM