University UMS, who else going there??

mikazzz
post Jun 20 2007, 05:12 PM

< / >
879 posts

wow..dunno so many ppl got UMS for their campus..okay, since we all are lowyat forumer, i should help..i bet all of u are going to sabah for your first time. I'm taking my final year this coming semester. I'm a software engineering student and i'm from ipoh. If anyone got any questions regarding UMS, please post here and i'll try my best to answer them..dun worry, UMS is a cool place, trust me..so if u guys got any questions, anything..feel free to ask.

P/S: FYI, if u guys think that RM260 from KL to KK is expensive, try takin a RM500++ flight from the same distance, i did that for CNY..the key to it is to confirm your schedule and book your ticket ASAP..this time, u guys got no choice since it's sudden..
mikazzz
post Jun 20 2007, 09:46 PM

< / >
879 posts

it really depends on when your registration starts..i'm not too sure about this coz i dun really meddle with this kinda student affairs..if u arrived at 29th, and the kolej kediaman 's regis is 30th..there is a high probability that there will be no bus there, coz the administration alwiz got prob..u can catch a cab from the airport and say UMS, they'll fetch u there...those cab drivers are under terminal 2 airport, so i doubt that they'll ask for more fare than normal pays..os the answer is that MOST PROB that there won't be any bus to fetch u guys, so u guys have to fetch cab from airport there, but hopefully got bus for u guys la..hehe..and regarding formal wear..FYI, monday, wed and thurs is formal day, means u guys have to wear formal on that day..seniors can opted to not wear one, but risk kena tangkap lo..

anyway, the administration will provide batik for u guys to wear and baju kurung for the gals..on my 1st year, i wear that for one whole week without washing it, imagine that..summore the batik is drenched in sweat..ewww...anyway, i answer that..anyone has anymore ques?
mikazzz
post Jun 21 2007, 11:49 AM

< / >
879 posts

yea, the batik they will provide..so dun worry...formal is a must during orientation..unfortunately
mikazzz
post Jun 21 2007, 12:49 PM

< / >
879 posts

biasala..UMS cantik bah
mikazzz
post Jun 21 2007, 09:55 PM

< / >
879 posts

wow, didn't noe so many ppl at UMS here..why dun we intro ourself and create an UMS thread at kopitiam?
mikazzz
post Jun 22 2007, 06:17 PM

< / >
879 posts

Going to be 3rd year software engineering student here..glad to noe many of u are coming to UMS, anyway..orientation is actually a good thing that introduces u to UMS, though it's kinda tiring..but it's a good memory..if u guys complaing about goin to sleep late and wake up early..trust me, it's been my routine for the past folowing 2 years..haha
mikazzz
post Jun 22 2007, 11:01 PM

< / >
879 posts

QUOTE(versus @ Jun 22 2007, 09:55 PM)
ya..i dyed my hair when i first stepped in ums but the colour not very bright..when i daftar the kehadiran ke kolej kediaman, they took all the names of those who had dyed their hair and forced us to dye black again..  sweat.gif some of us din do it cuz we are newbies and dunnno go where to buy the color..however nothing was happened during the orientation week  rclxms.gif so my advice is just let them copy ur name and pretend that u will color ur hair to black, they won't check u cuz they dun have much time  icon_idea.gif  of cause like youhei_mito said, i dye my hair every now 

about clothes.. there have 3 days in a week that need to wear formal (monday, tuesday and thursday). the other days u can wear what ever u like. i think round neck collar shirt and jeans are allowed as all of us also wear like that in ums. u also can wear casual to kuliah during formal days if u dare or ur lecturers dun care. just because i am dared and my lecturers dun care, so i never weared formal to kuliah in my 1st year  cool2.gif 
p/s: dun follow my step cuz what i am doing are considered "bad"  nod.gif
formal day is mon, wed and thurs la..yea, juniors must follow rules..we seniors dun follow nvm one, haha tongue.gif
mikazzz
post Jun 23 2007, 11:48 AM

< / >
879 posts

i tink if u guys wanna try wifi, better go try at library after 5 or after 7, that time less ppl in library so the traffic is less, u can get more speed..regarding SKTM's wifi ar..hmm, haven try but according to fren, the speed sux and also lately needs username and password...not to mention SKTM is a virus heaven..so u guys better go library..sst's connection also not bad..
mikazzz
post Jun 23 2007, 03:07 PM

< / >
879 posts

QUOTE(CountingSteps @ Jun 23 2007, 01:35 PM)
did anyone here made ums as first choice cos they wanted to travel? O_o?
i did...2 years ago..lolx, anyway..it's my 2nd choice..

Added on June 23, 2007, 3:29 pm
QUOTE(CountingSteps @ Jun 23 2007, 01:35 PM)
did anyone here made ums as first choice cos they wanted to travel? O_o?
i did...2 years ago..lolx, anyway..it's my 2nd choice..

This post has been edited by mikazzz: Jun 23 2007, 03:29 PM
mikazzz
post Jun 23 2007, 05:21 PM

< / >
879 posts

if i remember correctly, the rm1500 cheque comes 2gether with the offer letter..at least, that's my case
mikazzz
post Jun 23 2007, 07:35 PM

< / >
879 posts

as far as i'm concern..i only pay the registration fees during orientation that time..they even had a booth for processing fees during the orientation..so no need to worry..actually, dunno about others..but i only pay my registration fees every semester a month b4 finals..since i din get full loan, i have to fork out RM1000++ for my fees..luckily my parents are working..so it's ok for me..at least i dun have to pay more after i graduated..
mikazzz
post Jun 24 2007, 11:44 AM

< / >
879 posts

wow..great guide given by nine, cheers to u man..it's so detail
mikazzz
post Jun 25 2007, 12:04 AM

< / >
879 posts

lolx..juniors need not to bring unnecessary stuff...trust me, u guys dun wanna get compounded in Airport for overweight..gals especially tend to get compounded, since they will bring more stuff than guys..and u guys can bring jeans and unformal wears one..dun worry, coz after orientation and 1-2 months later..u guys will learn to squeeze thru the rules and skip formal wear..at least that's what i did..haha
mikazzz
post Jun 25 2007, 11:14 AM

< / >
879 posts

lolx..countingsteps can buy radio there mah..dun worry..it's not as rural as u guys tink it is..
mikazzz
post Jun 25 2007, 05:19 PM

< / >
879 posts

yea..labuan onli tax-free stuff are cheap nia..others roughly the same..i occasionally goes there to buy liquor..damn cheap, haha
mikazzz
post Jun 26 2007, 12:24 PM

< / >
879 posts

QUOTE(Nine @ Jun 26 2007, 11:55 AM)
I paid my semester fees around one month before exams. You can pay it even on the last day of your exams. Medical check-up... personally I have no idea what it is done for, as they did not ask any proof or certification from me. Oh well, leaving tomorrow. (Have not packed a single thing yet!) I will drop by the Chancelor's Hall to see how the new first years are doing.
man, you're early..and i tot i was early..yea, me was thinking of going to chancellor hall 2 lepak also..see got any cute juniors brows.gif brows.gif
mikazzz
post Jun 30 2007, 02:12 PM

< / >
879 posts

lolx..i reach sabah last nite ady, stupid AirAsia, delayed my flight and tell me after i reach the airport..sighz, if not i can change my bus tickets..cause me to wait for 6 hours++..like stupid onli..anyway, enuff ranting..best of luck to all juniors, and plz enjoy your orientation..i noe i didnt enjoy mine tongue.gif but it was a nice memory anyway..and report back here so that we discuss how to open a thread at the kopitiam dedicated to UMS student

mikazzz
post Jun 30 2007, 08:40 PM

< / >
879 posts

lepak lo..go travelling la with frenz..me goin 2 labuan later..hehe..liquor.. brows.gif
mikazzz
post Jul 3 2007, 05:17 PM

< / >
879 posts

QUOTE(cruel_boy @ Jul 2 2007, 05:09 PM)
hmm... u ppl there already ka... wher u all staying? i tout all rooms occupied by juniors... my flight is on 5th 4am MAS
live outside la..stil wan hostel meh??
mikazzz
post Jul 14 2007, 11:07 AM

< / >
879 posts

wow..how are u guys enjoying ur first week of lecture in UMS ? Fun? Assignments ar, aish...normal la, u'll get used to it

0.0213sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:22 AM