4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Employee coming late, How to deal with them?

eggtart02
post Mar 14 2019, 12:40 AM

113 posts

QUOTE(razornick22 @ Mar 13 2019, 09:19 AM)
Hi All,

My company is a small size company with consists only 5people, just want to ask how do you deal with late comers, who giving excuses like fetching Wife to Work and fetch son to school? Is there a way to deal with them? This happens everyday. Start work at 8.30, come office at 9.15, eat breakfast 9.15-9.25. They are workers who just do Welding works. The quanlity of their work is not bad, if it's bad, i would have kick them out of the company. Any advises?

Have you tried talking to them?
One hour is quite a lot.

Chaud
post Mar 14 2019, 02:22 AM

1,091 posts

just give flexi hours depending on the business scope.

9am nothing to do? 10am come in then

But i know there are cases that even when you give them come late, they still later than the late time

if you counting that as kpi bonus, all you can do is deduct from there.
empire23
post Mar 14 2019, 09:53 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

My company has no punch, but if you come in at 9, you pandai pandai lah go back at 6 instead of 5. Simple.
kennykong85
post Mar 15 2019, 09:10 AM

256 posts

Hi All,

My company is a small size company with consists only 5people, just want to ask how do you deal with late comers, who giving excuses like fetching Wife to Work and fetch son to school? Is there a way to deal with them? This happens everyday. Start work at 8.30, come office at 9.15, eat breakfast 9.15-9.25. They are workers who just do Welding works. The quanlity of their work is not bad, if it's bad, i would have kick them out of the company. Any advises?

they might be telling the truth on that, adopt flexi hour la,
then install thumb print punchcard machine, or install software trace login time via pc set start work 9.00am, if they come in 9.16 terus deduct wages dy.
skilled workers are precious asset!

This post has been edited by kennykong85: Mar 15 2019, 09:12 AM
sou12b810
post Mar 15 2019, 09:12 AM

147 posts

tell them work 12hrs on saturday..

wife no work
kids no school

ch@ich@i
post Mar 15 2019, 09:15 AM

326 posts

i dont know why? especially bosses who likes to care about the punctuality or when is about coming in for work.

why care? as long as the works & tasks have been completed by them without any outstanding, which consider good enough for the day of as a employee.
TrollNoob
post Mar 15 2019, 09:21 AM

626 posts

Put flexi.

If not, put up paycut. But you will lose on loyalty la.

I always everyday late but clock out even later. Mostly at night. Even KSU acknowledge my working style.
Odinn
post Mar 15 2019, 09:51 AM

Say what?!?&!%@
1,141 posts

Hi All,

Does the work require punctuality? If not, then as everyone says, flexi hours. Provided you finish your minimum working hours per day, this is to be fair to all. How you manage your workload in the day is down to expectation management.

There's what is called working hours and staff hours. You can adjust the working hours to accommodate, but staff hours, no one cuts corners. Come in late, don't expect to leave on time. Unless you don't mind getting short pay.
xenith
post Mar 15 2019, 07:27 PM

409 posts

QUOTE(alanyuppie @ Mar 13 2019, 05:54 PM)
dangle a carrot in front of them. If they are punctual for 90% of the days  ... give them minor incentive  /bonus.
This one shall work since you are actually encourage them rather than penalize.
J1g54w
post Mar 16 2019, 09:28 AM

1,449 posts

Flexi hour better. Means clocking to work must be 9 hours regardless of what time he starts.
phas3r
post Mar 16 2019, 11:23 AM

1,204 posts

In terms of hours work, depend on type of work

If factory line, every minute counts

If sales line, go out and go back early also no problem

Can introduce to them flexi, but of course when late evening mood to work drop

This post has been edited by phas3r: Mar 16 2019, 11:24 AM
SUSdestiny6
post Mar 16 2019, 03:46 PM

817 posts

Give more workload to cover the late .......
Rubypoyo
post Mar 16 2019, 05:36 PM

374 posts

me just turn blind eye lee.. as long is not exaggerated
Since ur say that their productivity is great...
if ur burn the bridge ur the one who gonna lose more..
Blofeld
post Mar 16 2019, 08:24 PM

4,456 posts

QUOTE(alanyuppie @ Mar 13 2019, 05:54 PM)
dangle a carrot in front of them. If they are punctual for 90% of the days  ... give them minor incentive  /bonus.
This.

Research shows that incentive works better than punishment.
AdisonMak
post Mar 16 2019, 10:16 PM

145 posts

for small company and if hard to find quality skill workforce, "perfect attendance incentive" is the top option. But you better be able to commit once implement. also tied to the kpi and be reasonable and go like the higher your kpi the better incentive you will receive to prevent the abuse coz they may just punch in & snooze all the time.

This post has been edited by AdisonMak: Mar 16 2019, 10:18 PM
Yggdrasil
post Mar 17 2019, 01:24 AM

2,208 posts

If really nothing to do or they finish their job on time. Why complain? But if they come in late and need over time then just kick them out or give stern warning.

Is their working hours stated in their employment contract? There are labour laws to protect employers especially employees coming in late.
Silfer
post Mar 17 2019, 11:08 AM

970 posts

Flexible and daily quota. You can come late but work must done and quality for the day. If finished all, can go home la.

This post has been edited by Silfer: Mar 17 2019, 11:09 AM
ViktorJ
post Mar 17 2019, 11:14 AM

Dancy Drinky Doggo
1,004 posts

Some people are able to do more work in less time.

Those are the people you want.

It also lessens YOUR working hours.

Are they able to do that?
xSean
post Mar 17 2019, 11:10 PM

2,739 posts

That's why nowadays boss not easy...

I won't do nothing to them but for sure bonus and increment will be very low. If they want to go, just let it be.
joe_star
post Mar 18 2019, 12:56 AM

Serving the Servants
1,807 posts

Their productivity affected or not?

Imo look at big picture, if they still deliver what they supposed to that's the most important. No point they clock in 8am but work slow and inefficiently

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0131sec    0.48    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 05:20 PM