Lenovo Legion Gaming Laptop (Y530, Y730) Thread V1, also include upcoming Legion(Y540, Y740)

msacras
post Sep 24 2019, 02:06 PM

1,767 posts

QUOTE(boombaye @ Sep 24 2019, 12:33 PM)
Any installment option if purchased from lenovo website?
Currently can use code DUIT for 20% off at the site.

9300h + 1660ti + 512gb ssd + 16gb ram for about RM4.5k with the code along with the freebies (bag,mouse,headset, premium 2 year warranty) worth it?
Nice finding!!!!

But again. Y7000SE still beat Y540 at the same price and same code, it come with i7-9750H instead + option for Microsoft Office Home & Student at RM100 extra, 1TB SSD (from 512) at only RM140+/- and 32GB RAM (from 16GB) at only RM240, LOL...

This post has been edited by msacras: Sep 24 2019, 02:14 PM
msacras
post Sep 24 2019, 09:48 PM

1,767 posts

QUOTE(nickmason23 @ Sep 24 2019, 08:44 PM)
Hi sifus, newbie member here buying my first gaming laptop. Currently I'm looking at Y7000SE at lenovo's online store, it costs RM4.1K after the 20% discount for the following specs:
Processor : Intel Core i7-9750H Processor (2.60GHz, up to 4.50GHz with Turbo Boost, 6 Cores, 12MB Cache)
Operating System : Windows 10 Home Single Language 64
Preload Language : Windows 10 Home Single Language 64 English/Simplified Chinese
Microsoft Office : Microsoft Office Trial
Total Memory : 16GB (8+8) DDR4 2666MHz SoDIMM
First Hard Drive : 1TB Hard Drive, 5400RPM, 2.5", 7mm
Second Hard Drive : 256GB Solid State Drive, M.2 2280, PCIe-NVMe, TLC
Display : 15.6"FHD (1920x1080),IPS, 250nits, Anti-glare, 60Hz, Narrow
Graphic Card : NVIDIA GTX1660Ti 6GB GDDR6 192bits.

May I know is this a good deal? My usage for this laptop is 70% for office work and 30% gaming (wanted to try all the latest games)
Yes, 1660TI is like the 1060 of last gen. it will at least able to support (minimum/recommended specifications by games) all new games for the next 3-4 years, just need to adjust the game graphic settings accordingly to get the comfortable frame rates (60 FPS is the standard practice).

Also, as mentioned from post above, do get the screen upgrade to 144Hz for better quality display. The default screen may be really sucky (in term of contrast, brightness, colour gamuts, reaction time and so), and can totally ruin your laptop experience after paying over RM4k for it.

Also, do consider upgrade the SSD to a bigger size as the price premium is cheaper than buying/upgrading the SSD yourself outside. Bigger SSD can also be faster and have higher endurance.

Lastly, should you need it, there’s Microsoft office home and student bundle with this laptop at additional RM100+, definitely worth it IMO.

This post has been edited by msacras: Sep 24 2019, 10:17 PM
msacras
post Sep 25 2019, 02:06 AM

1,767 posts

QUOTE(nickmason23 @ Sep 25 2019, 12:54 AM)
I figured out that I won't have much time for games on my next upcoming job, plus I don't need to play my games on high/ultra quality all the time. Hence, I've chose the model that comes with the following hardware for RM 3.3K smile.gif

Spec:
Intel Core i5-9300H Processor (2.40GHz, up to 4.10GHz with Turbo Boost, 4 Cores, 8MB Cache)
NVIDIA GeForce GTX1650 4GB GDDR5 128bit
16GB (8+8) DDR4 2666MHz SoDIMM
Windows 10 Home Single Language 64
1TB Hard Drive, 5400RPM, 2.5", 7mm
256GB Solid State Drive, M.2 2280, PCIe-NVMe, TLC
15.6"FHD (1920x1080),IPS, 250nits, Anti-glare, 60Hz, Narrow
I will recommend you to get a bigger SSD and better screen though.

The default screen can be pretty bad if last year’s model is any indication, low colour gamut, terrible contrast and slow response time.
https://www.notebookcheck.net/Lenovo-Legion...w.317420.0.html

For the SSD, it’s a steal to upgrade from 250GB to 1TB at just RM229. Buying a 1TB SSD outside will easily cost you more than RM500.

This post has been edited by msacras: Sep 25 2019, 02:08 AM
msacras
post Sep 29 2019, 02:13 AM

1,767 posts

edited

This post has been edited by msacras: Sep 29 2019, 02:22 AM
msacras
post Oct 7 2019, 03:20 PM

1,767 posts

QUOTE(Choongster @ Oct 7 2019, 02:37 PM)
I saw the price starting from RM 1,xxxx.

But obviously out of stock ..wonder anyone manage to snatch it
Except on the 1st day (4th October) I didn't refresh or check at their webpage, I didn't see it's stock get refreshed for the past few days. I really doubt their claims that they refresh the stocks at 12AM as during the 1st day, there's still one unit of this available, but it didn't get refreshed for the next few days.
https://www.lenovo.com/my/en/laptops/ideapa...T/p/88IP1001055

Not sure if the 5 units are just marketing hypes or got sapu by insider already.

Till today we didn't saw anyone around here sharing that they managed to snatch any of the unit.

0.0345sec    0.17    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:26 AM