Just put in an order for the Y740. It was the cheapest full 2080 I could get. Hopefully they ship it out soon.
Lenovo Legion Gaming Laptop (Y530, Y730) Thread V1, also include upcoming Legion(Y540, Y740)
Mar 18 2019, 01:59 PM
9,417 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Bladin Point, Northern Territory |
Just put in an order for the Y740. It was the cheapest full 2080 I could get. Hopefully they ship it out soon.
Mar 18 2019, 04:54 PM
Mar 19 2019, 11:13 AM
QUOTE(xcves @ Mar 19 2019, 12:05 AM) where you buy from? US? and you got the 17" model? as only that has 2080 max-q option.. Yeah it's the 17" model. i dont think MY has 2080 option. and in lenovo page it does state it's Max-Q.. y740-15" https://www.lenovo.com/us/en/laptops/legion...g/p/88GMY701059 Graphics NVIDIA® GeForce® RTX 2070 Max-Q 8 GB NVIDIA® GeForce® RTX 2060 6 GB y740 17" https://www.lenovo.com/us/en/laptops/legion...g/p/88GMY701062 Graphics NVIDIA® GeForce® RTX 2080 Max-Q 8 GB NVIDIA® GeForce® RTX 2070 Max-Q 8 GB NVIDIA® GeForce® RTX 2060 6 GB I got it from the AU store. With a student discount. Without tax I think it cost me 3200 AUD. Comes with 1tb HDD and a Samsung 512gb SSD, Windows 10 pro. So not too bad lah all in all. Can't find the same spec anywhere else for the price. I'm only hoping that the cooling system is good enough to give some overclocking headroom. |
Mar 19 2019, 11:39 AM
Mar 22 2019, 03:52 PM
QUOTE(xcves @ Mar 20 2019, 10:14 PM) thanks for recommendations!! It really depends on your plans, but buying higher speed memory is good in the case you want to undervolt or unclock the processor and memory subsystems. just to check with you, this one is alright right? https://www.lazada.com.my/products/kingston...ugBsTR&search=1 i prefer to get Kingston brand.. and also the price almost similar with the ones you gave.. oh and also, is your stock 8gb ram from samsung too? i notice they are CL19 which is higher than other rams i seen when i was browsing lazada/shoppee. then got other rams like kingston hyperx impact/fury, those are 2666mhz as well and cl15 or something like that. 8gb is only like 20 ringgit more than the value ram. is it better to get those instead? or no difference? im not good about ram stuffs.. https://www.lazada.com.my/products/kingston...ugBsTR&search=1 Usually such memory is extremely well binned, meaning they while they have great overclock potential, you can get away with undervolting them while still retaining reliability. But I'd have to say, you'd probably only shave power consumption by 4 to 5 watts max on 16gb x2 modules, which isn't much. |
Mar 26 2019, 12:59 PM
Mar 26 2019, 01:15 PM
QUOTE(xcves @ Mar 26 2019, 01:05 PM) Screen = Bezel really thick. A lot of light bleed. Definitely didn't like it. Keyboard = It has pretty lights which I find stupid. I would have rather them taken the keyboard from the Thinkpad X/T line (legendary keyboards on those!) Audio = Pretty good for a laptop, also has a subwoofer which makes the audio acceptable. Build Quality = Good all around, except the screen hinges, flimsy. Thermal Management = Extremely good. Even with OCing, 72 degrees Celsius tops! Add ons = Not much bloatware which is very good. If you want it you have to DL yourself Ports = I like the back facing ports, makes cable management easy Misc = Didn't like the 2.5 inch drive bay, would have rather used the space for extra cooling or batt power and another M2 slot |
Mar 26 2019, 01:28 PM
Mar 28 2019, 10:11 AM
I've checked my laptop and the Y740 is definitely running on the 80 watt variant of the GTX2080 Max-Q.
Now looking for a 90W VBIOS with the same device ID and rev to flash to the GC. |
Mar 28 2019, 04:44 PM
QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Mar 28 2019, 04:23 PM) I can find the 150 watt RTX2080 Mobile VBIOS from Clevo, can't seem to find the 90 watt Max-Q version.The big issue isn't the thermal limit, which is 87 celsius, and the Y740 is far away from that, but the Power limit wall that keeps getting hit. So there's tons more headroom even for a 100 watt card plus the VRMs seem beefy enough. |
| Change to: | 0.0406sec
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 07:31 AM |