12 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Lenovo Legion Gaming Laptop (Y530, Y730) Thread V1, also include upcoming Legion(Y540, Y740)

ZM Fong
post Mar 31 2020, 10:52 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(radmaszeal @ Mar 31 2020, 10:36 PM)
hi, bought the y7000 with i5 9300h, gtx 1650, 8gb ram, 255gb ssd awhile ago. if i want to add ram and storage space, can do anywhere without voiding warranty? or need to be at lenovo centre? since i think there are additional slots available. thanks in advance.
DIY, some outside shops won't do for you since it's a new machine (they won't bear for any damages)
ZM Fong
post Apr 20 2020, 09:57 AM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(Asus @ Apr 19 2020, 10:42 PM)
Hi guys, my lenovo y540 got some weird problem. The wifi keep on dissapear i dont know why. I need to uninstall the driver and scan for new hardware change so it will install back then only i have the wifi. The wifi tab (near the clock) disappear too when it happens.

I already update the driver to the latest but the problem is still there.
Which WIFI card? Intel 9560?
ZM Fong
post Apr 20 2020, 05:18 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(Asus @ Apr 20 2020, 04:13 PM)
Yes Intel 9560
Does it occur while on battery or plugged in also?
ZM Fong
post Apr 20 2020, 10:36 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(Asus @ Apr 20 2020, 06:24 PM)
not sure while on battery as i always plugged in the charger
Could be due to other driver like certain firmware (eg chipset) or even BIOS, might be due to faulty card also but I don't think so. Plugged in shouldn't have any power saving settings for WIFI, however just to make sure you might want to check these settings
ZM Fong
post May 11 2020, 10:48 AM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uCBfwUnjzX8
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CgU-bxpZq6Y
ZM Fong
post May 11 2020, 11:14 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(hi54ever @ May 11 2020, 10:23 PM)
i can’t really understand chinese that well, but R7000 only comes with 1650ti? such a waste. also, is there a improvement in cooling? seems more or less similar with y7000
1660Ti/2060 will come later for Ryzen model due to some tuning in cooling

cooling improved, mainly due to larger heatsink

Previous Y540 / Y7000SE with 1660Ti/2060: 50W CPU, 85W GPU
Legion 5Pi / Y7000P 2020: up to 60W CPU, 100W GPU (slightly lower CPU temp also)

Previous Y540 / Y7000SE with 1650: 50W CPU, 50W GPU
Legion 5i / Y7000 with 1650/1650Ti: 60W CPU, 50W GPU (slightly lower CPU+GPU temps)
Legion 5 (AMD) / R7000 with 1650/1650Ti: 50W CPU, 50W GPU (CPU performance limited by CPU temp - 7nm don't have good heat dissipation due to tight packaging size, slightly lower GPU temp compared to Intel counterpart)

This post has been edited by ZM Fong: May 11 2020, 11:20 PM
ZM Fong
post May 19 2020, 04:51 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(mh772er @ May 18 2020, 03:05 PM)
Hi guys, I have questions regarding SSD in Y530. I’m using Y530-15ICH (81FV) for almost 2 years. It comes with Optane memory and a 1TB HDD. I upgraded to Corsair MP510 SSD. Initially it was ok until few month back. It start to have BSOD frequently and then even cannot restore Windows. I did check the SSD on other PC using SSD Tools, it shows that the SSD is ok, no problem. Last night I tried to revert it back into my original config (Optane memory + HDD) and now it works flawlessly (only a bit slow due to the HDD).

1. Is there anyone else having the same problem?

2. Any recommendation on the SSD compatible to this laptop?

Thanks  smile.gif
I think you need to change some settings in BIOS and also in Optane software before changing it to SSD
ZM Fong
post May 22 2020, 01:31 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

Legion 5 AMD can customize now, use code LENXCIMB
https://www.lenovo.com/my/en/laptops/legion...5/p/88GMY501444
ZM Fong
post May 23 2020, 05:47 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(chaosneo @ May 23 2020, 11:12 AM)
the promo code WEEKEND seems to got a little more value then LENXCIMB as i configure the Legion 5 (AMD)
Note that you can get 80Wh battery, but need to select SSD in first storage. The website didn't mention that

Also confirmed that there will be no 144Hz 100%sRGB option in the customization
ZM Fong
post May 24 2020, 01:06 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(arslow @ May 24 2020, 09:05 AM)
Yeah would've been great to at least have the 115 watt rtx 2060 with Optimus on the amd legion 5
Legion 5P (not 5) will have 110W 2060, meanwhile Legion 5Pi (Intel) only has 100W 2060
ZM Fong
post May 24 2020, 10:04 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(arslow @ May 24 2020, 06:27 PM)
5p is amd? Can't find much info on it, mostly about 5pi.
In China it's called R7000P (haven't launch yet)
ZM Fong
post May 25 2020, 12:59 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(popice2u @ May 25 2020, 09:14 AM)
sifu,

is Legion 5 AMD better than T495S? I am using laptop for work actually
Price of Legion 5 so much cheaper compare to T495S
Both belongs to different category
ZM Fong
post May 25 2020, 01:34 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(popice2u @ May 25 2020, 01:21 PM)
oic, so for work i should stick to T495S?
T495s will be refreshed to T14s soon, if you want more performance go for Legion 5, can go for 80Wh battery also
ZM Fong
post May 26 2020, 12:45 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(northernhero @ May 25 2020, 09:46 PM)
My wife is using Y7000 I5 9300H + GTX1650, and I like it quite a lot due to the minimalistic design and not that flashy like other gaming laptop. However, can I know if this laptop is futureproof enough? I'd like to play next gen GTA in low/medium setting.
4c8t CPU and 1650 aren't that future proof TBH
ZM Fong
post May 27 2020, 06:19 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(Ethan Hunt @ May 27 2020, 02:27 PM)
Hi guys. Want to ask. For Lenovo, if we upgrade hard disk or ram by ourselves, will it void the warranty?
my experience - nope

unless you messed up something
ZM Fong
post May 30 2020, 12:31 AM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

Legion 7i walkaround:
https://www.bilibili.com/video/BV1FK411s7zq

This post has been edited by ZM Fong: May 30 2020, 12:32 AM
ZM Fong
post Jun 1 2020, 11:30 AM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(Kilohertz @ Jun 1 2020, 11:24 AM)
whats the difference between 5i vs 5Pi and which is recommended? any promo codes now?
5Pi if you don't mind no webcam, use code LENXCIMB

This post has been edited by ZM Fong: Jun 1 2020, 11:30 AM
ZM Fong
post Jun 1 2020, 04:50 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(cfphan @ Jun 1 2020, 12:54 PM)
what is the validity of the code?
Until 31 July 2020
QUOTE(seand19 @ Jun 1 2020, 04:28 PM)
i used the code, they said its cimb employees. and if i use it, i'm not applicable to free gifts.
Hmm weird, the t&c say it's for CIMB cardholders......

And yes free gifts are not entitled for the discount now
ZM Fong
post Jun 3 2020, 12:05 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(kezman @ Jun 3 2020, 11:30 AM)
what does this mean on the 5i? Keyboard: 6-row 4zone RGB Backlight

because in 5i there is no rgb keyboard, right?
5i is with either white backlit keyboard or 4 zone RGB (this looks ugly IMO)
ZM Fong
post Jun 3 2020, 01:37 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(Ethan Hunt @ Jun 3 2020, 12:38 PM)
But bro, the 4zone RGB we can customize to make all zone become white right?

In other word 4zone RGB can make it into white backlit keyboard, while the white backlit keyboard option will stay as it is.
This one I'm not sure

12 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0546sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 06:15 AM