Investment StashAway Malaysia, Multi-Region ETF at your fingertips!
S_SienZ
Jun 10 2021, 12:58 PM

Hey guys, is it normal for your initial investment to take a long time to process? Scheduled a deposit on 4 June 2021, until now still "Processing" and not showing up in portfolio. Bank already confirmed the transfer.
S_SienZ
Jun 10 2021, 01:35 PM

QUOTE(DragonReine @ Jun 10 2021, 01:07 PM) Yes, on top of 2-3 business days to process funds there's another 2-3 business days to open nominee account. Since it's your first investment, they must open up nominee account for you before they consider it "received" in their app. 5 - 6 June: Weekend, no processing 7 June: Holiday, no processing. Ah okay, good to know. Yeah just wanted assurance. Thanks guys!
S_SienZ
Jul 21 2021, 04:28 PM

QUOTE(matty @ Jul 21 2021, 03:08 PM) Hi guys.. I'm planning to start investing using stashAway but me noob at investing. how can I go about it at the StashAway app? should I just let them auto manage or learn how to manage it by myself like a lot of the sifu here? Just let them do it imo if you're gonna use SA. If you already have a better idea of what kinds of ETFs you want, might as well DIY and save on Stashaway's fees.
S_SienZ
Jul 22 2021, 03:51 PM

QUOTE(littlegamer @ Jul 22 2021, 03:49 PM) Basic knowledge says dca, and hold for long term. Only sells when the fundamentals has changed. I think you're misunderstanding the point of funds like Stashaway. If that's what you want to do, set up IBKR and DCA into an index fund. Why pay the unnecessary management fees?
S_SienZ
Aug 1 2021, 07:32 PM

QUOTE(cucumber @ Aug 1 2021, 03:26 PM) I've asked them before. Dividend will be paid last day of the month. Since it's the weekend I'm guessing they'll process it tomorrow. I think it's been processed. Macam very little leh >.<
S_SienZ
Aug 1 2021, 08:13 PM

QUOTE(cucumber @ Aug 1 2021, 07:37 PM) I've only received 'rebate' on 30 July. Dividend not yet. Ah that's not the dividend. Great to hear!
S_SienZ
Aug 8 2021, 01:02 PM

QUOTE(honsiong @ Aug 8 2021, 11:51 AM) I actually think people with large amount in Account 1 should use i-invest to buy funds with foreign exposure. EPF has significant MYR concentration risk, and 54% of KWSP are in bonds + money market. So young ppl should probably take more risk there - when I say take risk I dont mind stock picking, but just have more foreign stocks to get more returns. Depends on the proportion of EPF to your entire portfolio as well. If it's under 25% I'd say just leave it and direct all your other investments overseas.
S_SienZ
Aug 8 2021, 02:50 PM

QUOTE(honsiong @ Aug 8 2021, 02:05 PM) If it's under 25% you must be damn rich ady. EPF is about 20% of total paycheck every month. Many ppl spend kaw their income on housing, foods, utilities, communications, lazada. I wont be surprised if most < 35 have most wealth locked up in EPF and not even their house. Mmm yeah you'd basically need to maintain a savings rate comfortably above your EPF deduction plus employer match to achieve that la. You're right, coz house also at that point in life they wouldn't have built up much equity unless they bought it very early 20s, which was also an amazing time to buy RE.
S_SienZ
Aug 8 2021, 04:54 PM

QUOTE(yklooi @ Aug 8 2021, 04:12 PM)  mind elaborate the difference? one with risk free rate of 5% while others don't have risk free rate? Not the guy you replied to, but imo opportunity cost should always be factored in. Guessing that's his angle as well. This post has been edited by S_SienZ: Aug 8 2021, 04:55 PM
S_SienZ
Aug 9 2021, 11:26 AM

QUOTE(Merubin @ Aug 9 2021, 09:36 AM) while stashaway is hotly being discussed, akru seems to be so low profile, may i know ETF stands roughly how many % of you guys investment portion? was thinking applicable to open another robo investing account or just stick with stashaway. Excluding EPF and emergency cash, 85%. SA is about 5%. Best to set up IBKR and DIY, cut out the middle man fees.
S_SienZ
Aug 9 2021, 10:22 PM

QUOTE(Hoshiyuu @ Aug 9 2021, 08:54 PM) I've been eyeing VXUS myself, but with my current financials, 3 fund portfolio's transaction fees will eat into my money significantly if I DCA them, and the lack of an Irish domiciled option is a bit of a bummer. Consider SWRD + WSML + EIMI (8:1:1 ratio). Mimics VWRA + more small cap exposure.
S_SienZ
Aug 11 2021, 12:44 PM

QUOTE(littlegamer @ Aug 11 2021, 12:34 PM) Don't forget, over 90 % hedge fund fail to put perform a fully passive manged fund. If SA want to position themselves as long term investor, this is not something they should do. Constant re opt is what trader and active fund trying to do, SA is doing just that but brand themselves differently. You're missing the point of hedge funds here. Hedge funds are meant to hedge against market volatility (hence the name), which naturally means you'll only get a portion of market gains. It's not a bug, it's a feature by design. Likewise, Stashaway takes certain risks, and takes steps to hedge against those risks to manage the risk index in a way that they've presented to customers. You seem to be consistently disappointed that SA isn't what you think it should be, but it never was. Different investment vehicles exist to achieve different financial goals.