Investment StashAway Malaysia, Multi-Region ETF at your fingertips!

jonoave
post Sep 6 2021, 08:29 PM

659 posts

QUOTE(potatobanana @ Sep 6 2021, 03:09 PM)
strange, I just received the notification and email from them

maybe due to I am the later batch sad.gif
I also just received a notification and email, but it's about distributing withholding tax reimbursement.
Haven't seen that before.
jonoave
post Nov 10 2021, 07:24 PM

659 posts

QUOTE(ernie ball @ Nov 10 2021, 11:30 AM)
I've been a silent lurker, but here's what I had done.
My 22% had been consistently underperforming comparing to whatever other benchmark I applied. When the market is having mad bull rush I had been in the red with my SA. yeah, maybe KWEB is to blame, but my other China centric unit trusts had consistently outperform SA, til today I still keep one fund, still not losing money.
Well, closed my 22% last month and never looked back. Now I just keep my SA for the money market fund.

My personal observation is SA fund is quick to go down and slow to go back up, I'm not sure why. Around 40k over a year and I earned rm500 (I think).

I would just buy SPY periodically from now on, I just think it's better to follow US economy, and earn the average return.
If you're just keeping just for Stashaway Simple, I'd recommend Versa.

Much faster deposit and withdrawal, 1-2 days. With Simple I've seen deposit take up 3-4 days, and withdrawal up to a 1 week.
jonoave
post Nov 29 2021, 01:14 AM

659 posts

My 36% portfolio is around +10%.
First deposit since Nov 2019, usually DCA. But i did make 2 withdrawals last year.
jonoave
post Dec 1 2021, 09:05 PM

659 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Dec 1 2021, 03:51 PM)
Hi, since I'm the bugger who ask you to do this, let me try to answer.

Yes. It is a fixed set meal. You only choose the risk index (a fancy name for a set basket of funds). The magic here whether you like it or not, is from time to time (2-3 times in the last 2-3 years) they will "reoptimize", meaning they will sell most of your holdings, and choose another set of ETF's of their liking. You can opt out you will be left out, wondering did you do the right thing.
Wasn't there an update like half a year ago where they say you can no longer opt of reoptimization. Due to the way it works , having some people re-opt and some people don't was causing issues with their balancing.
jonoave
post Dec 2 2021, 06:25 AM

659 posts

QUOTE(sgh @ Dec 1 2021, 06:46 PM)
Thank you everyone for helpful replies. So StashAway is equivalent to FSM managed portfolio concept indeed. Both take a very active role in helping you to get the best returns based on your risk preferences. As customer you put X dollars and pay some fee and watch it unfold.

I guess this depend on each investor preferences. Some prefer hassle free put X dollars that's it. For me now periodically I have to check and rebalance on my own essentially doing the same thing but their key selling point is their algorithm and thorough analysis etc etc beat my own DIY style.

One weakness I find is sometimes when price is high I really dun want to sell and when price very low I want to buy instead of sell etc. But the algorithm may think differently from you and execute it's own way.

Hmmm... I will digest this different approach and think first.
Yes, main difference is the choice between mutual funds and ETF.

I have both stashaway and FSM managed. From simple observation, Stashaway tends to balance in terms of allocation of weightage, e.g if a fund become too overvalued so they sell off or buy more of fund that that is too low.

FSM MP has more mutual funds, and they have picked up and switched different funds.
For a while they used Kenanga Growth Fund for Malaysia sector, which had a good track record but it was beginning to underperform (I had bought it earlier myself and also dropped it with minimal profit).
Sometime later they switched to KAF tactical fund to replace it.
jonoave
post Jan 5 2022, 09:25 AM

659 posts

Really want to facepalm at those saying pseudoscience etc.

I don't even know what you mean exactly by genetics medicine.

Unless you want to say genetics medicine --> personalised medicine?
Or do you want to talk about genomics or molecular approach - which for example is how almost all biomedical research is done these days and as an example, how the Covid-vaccines are developed?

The issue is to spot good companies vs bad. Not every company is like Theranos.
That's like saying all tech companies suck because Nikola is scammer. Even Tesla is doing research in many areas, some products will succeed, some don't.

Personalised medicine doesn't mean it's only for individual A, it can also lead to specalised treatment based on cancer location,gender,stage etc.
That's why cancer studies are done in cohorts. Of course initial discoveries/treatments will be expensive, but prices usually fall as tech gets better and adoptions become widespread and improvements are made.

jonoave
post Jan 5 2022, 06:23 PM

659 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Jan 5 2022, 06:48 AM)
most cancer biologics are still in patent for more than 5 years. even then when generic companies do biosimilars it won't be cheap. it's a different ball game compared to traditional medicine design. it's not like paracetamol where you can replicate the original panadol and change the colour or shape or an additive then you can call it a generic. biologics are much more complicated.
Well if you want to cash in on short-term sure, then of course all this won't fit you.

And there is no such thing as "cancer biologics", whatever that means.

There only "traditional" medicine design these days are herbal/natural supplements, all drug design these days use genomic-based approaches.
And that includes drug design for various diseases and vaccines, like for HIV, malaria etc.
Even if this drugs are limited due to price, there could still be consumer/investor interest that drive up the stock price

It's fine if you think this won't be a profitable investment, after all everyone's risks and appetites are different.
But calling them "pseudoscience" and throwing terms without knowing what they undermines your credibility.
jonoave
post Jan 6 2022, 12:25 AM

659 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Jan 5 2022, 06:29 PM)
lol

https://www.medicinenet.com/biologics_biolo...s_for_biologics

suggest you to read more on drug design, drug delivery, pharmacoecnomics and critical appraisal of evidence if it's your cup of tea to brush up on your basics.

to me all these gene therapy are just pseudoscience but if you believe it like how some people have faith in homeopathy and ivermectin to cure COVID that's your choice.  biggrin.gif
Interesting term biologics: I guess it's a recent term I missed but then I do more on molecular studies and less on drug design/discovery.

But I do admire your superiority complex, just because you read some stuff and think it's fake you suddenly think everything is fake.
A little knowledge is a dangerous thing.
Just because of Theranos or scam companies, suddenly the entire bioscience and medical research on gene therapy etc is pseudoscience.

Like I said, it's up to you if you want to invest. But making a sweeping statement that all this is pseudoscience already tells me what kind of person you are.

Btw: that website has nothing useful except generic description/warning typical for most drugs.
And also did a quick google: there is no one or anyone using the term "cancer biologics". the only hit for "biologics" is that website you linked to.
No wonder as I'm more used to terms like biopharmacology/biopharmaceuticals.

This post has been edited by jonoave: Jan 6 2022, 12:31 AM
jonoave
post Jan 6 2022, 09:24 AM

659 posts

QUOTE(xander83 @ Jan 5 2022, 08:58 PM)

If you look at SA 45% it is highly skewed to2 ETFs which are mostly genomics which I say only a very few like 10% would make it but too generalise as pseudoscience because it is WIP companies waiting for breakthrough in a proven theory’s

By far not many companies like Crispr in the past years with proven technologies and IP to been deemed as success
yes, that's the part of the risk of new tech - just like if you invest in disruptive tech funds. With a lot of startup and tech companies, a lot will also not make it.
It's perfectly ok if some people feel that it's too risky and don't want to invest.

Just because something doesn't work doesn't mean it's pseudoscience like homoepathy or using ivermectin to treat covid.
It could be that this appraoch didn't work or another drug type would be better. That's part of science and start-ups.

Simply generalising as pseudoscience without proper knowledge or minimal information, shows the level of maturity and thinking level of that person.
jonoave
post Apr 5 2022, 03:35 PM

659 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Apr 5 2022, 08:00 AM)
StashAway app got new enhancement, can convert your classic portfolio to ESG without needing to transfer out (and lose your past performance history)
Oh really, that's awesome, was thinking of doing the converting pretty soon. So happy to see this feature.
jonoave
post Apr 6 2022, 04:17 PM

659 posts

I wanted to convert my current general portfolio 36% to ESG 36%.
But I've already created a ESG36% portfolio few weeks ago to test out with a small amount.

However it seems like there's no way to convert the general portfolio 36% into the pre-existing ESG36%.

I wrote to customer support and they said there is no way to merge the 2 identical portfolio, and that I have to transfer the money from one portfolio to another.
Which is pretty silly, since it means I would have to sell the holdings in the ESG 36%, and rebuy the exact holdings again?
jonoave
post Apr 6 2022, 06:07 PM

659 posts

QUOTE(xander83 @ Apr 6 2022, 01:02 PM)
Don’t forget the losses if you do that  doh.gif

Just maintain both accounts as the fraction units will work its way  rclxms.gif
I know, that's why I want to avoid selling and then rebuy the same units again.

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Apr 6 2022, 11:31 AM)
don't worry about splitting identical portfolios up as they'll fractionalise the ETF units for you
I just like to keep things tidy and simple. I don't want to maintain 2 identical portfolios for nothing.

Like I contribute monthly, split between few portfolios. I don't want to split contribution between them, or just put money in one and ignore the other.

jonoave
post Jun 20 2022, 11:21 PM

659 posts

QUOTE(cucumber @ Jun 20 2022, 01:46 PM)
I just realized Akru's thread has disappeared... does anyone know what happened?
Strange. Even I wasn't aware of that. And I was the TS for the Akru thread, lol. I can't find it too.

Guess it's been inactive?

jonoave
post Jun 21 2022, 03:35 AM

659 posts

QUOTE(bcombat @ Jun 20 2022, 06:50 PM)
admin can close or delete the thread…without letting us know
Of course they do. Just curious as to what was the reason though - don't think there any trolling or breaking any rules. Just .. inactivity?

QUOTE(cucumber @ Jun 20 2022, 07:16 PM)
Yea i remember you were the TS. I saw they've changed their website, have they got all the bugs fixed?
Not sure which bugs you're referring too. But they did clean it up a bit and you can delete goals/portfolios now.

Seems to be quite ok, though I just encountered a new bug. For some reason they haven't published the monthly statement for May 2022.
Just wrote to support asking why.
jonoave
post Aug 8 2022, 04:47 PM

659 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Aug 8 2022, 10:56 AM)
hmm... for the KDI, do you put your money in Save or Invest?

They are MMF (at least for Versa) vs ETF though, it's different animal to be compared directly.
Versa has also launched an investment platform, Versa Invest. Their MMF is called Versa Cash.
https://versa.com.my/versa-invest/

Just like KDI. So both KDI and Versa have 2 platforms: MMF and investment.

jonoave
post Aug 12 2022, 03:21 PM

659 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Aug 11 2022, 09:09 PM)
Even if they have no lock up period, it's not as liquid as CASA/FD.
Yep, their withdrawal took 4-5 days for me.

0.3039sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 10:02 PM