Investment StashAway Malaysia, Multi-Region ETF at your fingertips!

Takudan
post May 23 2021, 05:50 PM

1,056 posts

QUOTE(Seth Ho @ May 23 2021, 05:06 PM)
Hi guys i notice for SA Simple Vs Versa many suggest versa as it can withdraw quicker. What if i put my emergency fund in 18% risk index since SA etf can withdraw in 3 days consider similar to versa, currently not many forum in facebook or LYF to discuss about versa. I check on the statement sheet it also shows that SA simple have higher returns than versa just that the downside really is long withdrawal time
SA regular portfolios are subject to market losses, so it will be dangerous for you to put your emergency funds there because emergency fund is meant to be
1) stable - what if you need the money but your 18% RI portfolio currently has 10% loss? Withdrawing it means realising your losses.
2) liquid - 3 business* days(?) doesn't sound all that liquid to me, but up to you I guess.

they are meant for long term investment, which are more likely to come back in green given a few years for market to go (usually upwards).
Takudan
post May 24 2021, 11:44 PM

1,056 posts

QUOTE(flying_manatee @ May 24 2021, 10:12 PM)
Hi guys,

I've just opened an account in Stashaway and put to the highest risk settings (36%), so the portfolio is equity heavy and weighed more towards China and the US. So due to work-related reasons, I have around 50k to put in now and another 50k fairly soon.

Do note that most of my other portfolio is in property so it's relatively stable, that's why I'm going for the highest risk setting in Stashaway.

So my question is: as now the market seems very high, should I wait for it to drop before throwing all the money in? Or just put in immediately?
As someone who deposited at last August gold ATH, I am first hand experiencing the unrealised loss of my action, my portfolio is still in the red today. I can't say when is a good time as I'm a noob myself, but if you're asking us strangers this question, I will assume you are also inexperienced (no offense intended), and so the blanket advice: DCA better.

Another course of action that has occurred to me is to put all the money in but put the risk settings to the lowest, then if the market crashes set it back to the highest. Not sure if this makes sense or not.
I would advise against this, as someone who also adjusted RI myself. It took 5+ business days for the buy sell to happen as I split my portfolio into two, I think such delay will cost you because the result will not be as you expect.

Thanks!
So with your 50k for example, you can consider putting in 10k at a time, (bi)weekly (LYN norm), or monthly (public norm), whatever floats your boat. While the rest of the amount isn't in the portfolio yet, you can consider
A) SA simple (the advantage here is then, you can schedule DCA via SA itself)
B) FD (easy, liquid, safe)
C) any other short term investment like MMF

That will give you a peace of mind of not losing too much at the same time.
Takudan
post May 25 2021, 12:45 AM

1,056 posts

QUOTE(flying_manatee @ May 25 2021, 12:29 AM)
Thx bro. So you also feel it's better to put it in now rather than to try and time the market and put it in at a low point?

The other amount of money hasn't arrived yet, but I'd probably put it in tranches like you mentioned.
Yeah... this is coming from someone (me) who has no fundamentals on stock chart analysis, extensive studies on the market, global economy and various companies/industries. If you have any of that then your educated guess may fare better, but everything is 20/20 in hindsight. DCA eliminates the need for you to "own up your mistake" of trying to time the market, it's better in terms of emotional well-being I guess haha.
Takudan
post May 27 2021, 04:09 PM

1,056 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ May 27 2021, 02:22 PM)
Thanks for sharing your views.
Btw, when you said little spare cash...did you mean that you don't keep any in FDs? Reason for asking is I see more people are conserving cash. I see FDs in some ways, as cash, since returns are low, but at least still something than zero.
These days, I highly doubt anyone who says "cash" means literal bank notes and/or coins. So yes you're right - FD is in fact "cash", added with the fact that you can easily do them online, so it's not like the past where you had to go to bank counters queue to place/withdraw. It's almost as liquid as your regular saving account, but with higher interest.

QUOTE(blackchides @ May 26 2021, 12:13 AM)
It's been talked to death in this thread but just want to point out for transparency that generally speaking, (1) DCA itself is a form of timing the market because you're deliberately choosing not to invest now on the fear that the market may dip in the future, (2) history favours lump sum investing over DCA approximately 2/3 of the time.

You can check out a couple of links here on the subject:

https://www.forbes.com/sites/robertberger/2...sh=6fb5351e7c50

https://ofdollarsanddata.com/dollar-cost-av...ng-vs-lump-sum/
However, it comes down to an individual's risk tolerance - if DCA is psychologically more comforting and helps you sleep better at night, then absolutely go for DCA.

I am personally a bit impatient and don't like waiting for my money to start working for me, so knowing the historical data and that my investment horizon is long term, I am very comfortable just investing lump sum.

Go with the strategy that you're most comfortable with and that will allow you to stay invested during the downturn without being tempted to pull out your funds.
QUOTE(lee82gx @ May 27 2021, 09:40 AM)
No luck involved. I am not talking about accidentally lump suming during the dips.

Now if you do your homework right, as in select the right investments such as stashaway or a good stock or a good ETF, history has already proven that it rises over time. End of story.

Anytime you think it is all time high, get scared, fall back to DCA, only to prove yourself right in the first place(yes this is a good investment), yes it is rising, but then you maintain your DCA pace, you just buy less and less.

The only time DCA works better is when the market is actually going down, not up. In that case yes you get more, but it helps me not much to see that it is still actually going down. Again by the case of maths and probability of a good instrument which should generally be going up, this scenario should be way less in occurrence than the going up scenario, which you will profit more by lump sum and forget.

I dont beat myself up, I have almost not much in spare cash lying around.

But I will not shame anybody who stick to DCA.
My take on DCA vs lump sum (high5 if anyone said the same in this sea of 10k+ replies!):
- Why/How is DCA better for your mental/emotional state? It is because you're no longer making a decision on when to put in, so you're no longer "directly accountable" to your action.
- On the other hand with lump sum, your time of entry is in your hands. If you happened to enter at a certain peak, then the next days/weeks it dips, it's very easy to think, "damn, if only I did this a bit later", then you feel bad every time you look at this red portfolio. I'm not talking about paper hands pulling out immediately, but the psychological damage that your decision has a direct impact and it reflects on your profile.
- for SA, I am more inclined to advise to DCA for a few reasons:
1) you're here because you want someone else to manage your money, probably because you can't (knowledge, time, effort, whatever).
2) SA processing is not instantaneous (a few business days); timing the market is less effective and you have less control
3) SA has a vast portfolio that you need to track: multiple ETF, gold price, global market etc. It's a lot more difficult than focusing on a single option as compared to your DIY
- Instead, I strongly recommend lump sum approach on DIY - to actually have your own account on a brokerage and do your trading
1) each trade has a fee; you want to minimise the fee by trading as much as possible in one go
2) the opposite of points 2) and 3) for SA.
3) sure you'll feel the same pain if you lump sum at a bad timing, but what I'm saying is - feel the pain on where you have more control on so you can learn easier.

Anyway, definitely try out both and reflect on it -- that's when you'll learn what you really prefer for yourself (just be warned of the potential "lesson fee" that you may lose to market tongue.gif )
Takudan
post Jun 9 2021, 09:59 PM

1,056 posts

QUOTE(time24 @ Jun 9 2021, 09:43 PM)
I am new to this, never invested anything before. Some advice would be greatly appreciated.

From what I gather what I should do or not do is:
1. Do not change risk index halfway through. Stick with it.
2. Regular deposit is the way.

Now my questions are:
Q1. I understand the whole premise is to select a risk that I am comfortable with. But I have this perception that in a long run the returns will be positive even for higher risk because the market grows (No idea whether this is correct or not, just gather from what I read). If that's the case and I am investing for long term >10 years, shouldn't I just select 36%?
Q2. speaking of this exact moment today, I have a sum of money. Should I break it down and deposit regularly (4x monthly), or just deposit it whole now? This amount is significant to me, but isn't all I have.
Q3. Is there any real benefits to invest into multiple risk index instead of sticking to 1 for a long run? (Similar to Q1)

Thanks in advance.
Comment regarding your point 1. Do not change risk index halfway through. Stick with it:
"Do not" sounds strong; it's not wrong to do it, you just need to know what and why you're doing it. Changing RI tells SA to sell and buy different things using your money, and in doing so, realising whatever profit/loss then and there. Somewhere down the road, you may find yourself having different risk appetite or you're investing on other different stuff, that will prompt you into changing your risk index, nothing wrong with it.

Answers:
1. Short answer: yes. Long answer: pick one that complements your other investments, for diversification purpose. Look at 36% SRI portfolio allocation, it weighs more heavily on China market(?) and is 100% equities. If you have your own brokerage account and you're already investing heavily on the same side, then you probably want to pick a different SRI to have more exposure in different market/instructments.
2. Do what is most comfortable to you smile.gif look up on "DCA" and/or "lump sum" in this topic and I'm sure you'll get many recurring advices on that.
3. Like you said it's similar to Q1, the answer is similar to A1 tongue.gif see bold

Welcome to investments!
Takudan
post Jul 3 2021, 11:56 AM

1,056 posts

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Jul 3 2021, 11:45 AM)
I am trying to create a new portfolio for 36% risk index, however stashaway doesn't allow me to do so.
How can i create the high risk portfolio?
Alternatively, what I did:
Pass this test at 90+%: https://onlineeducation.sgx.com/specifiedinvestmentproducts
(Also applicable to Malaysian)

Then show StashAway your result, they'll unlock for you immediately.
Takudan
post Jul 7 2021, 06:23 PM

1,056 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Jul 7 2021, 05:36 PM)
Keep it simple, deposit weekly, then go live your life, play your games, cook your favourite meals.
Keep simple +1, but I'm an advocate for monthly DCA here tongue.gif

QUOTE(Takudan @ Apr 17 2021, 01:08 PM)
Hoshiyuu = daily memes
Majority(?) = weekly/biweekly
Me = monthly, at the end of the month

I think a weekly setup would further reduce the market volatility effect on your portfolio, but on a shorter term. I track my budget by months, meanwhile my income is on the near end of month, so I personally need to ensure that I put my investments after my paycheck. Also in case when shit happens, I can pause my investments for the month to reduce outflow. You can argue to move my monthly tracking away from a standard 1-31 but uh... Nah, I'm used to this setup, my brain would struggle to adjust lol
Adding on: given that SA invests on ETFs instead of direct stock, as well as a mix of various other instruments, they have already got the volatility cushioned by diversifying their portfolios. One can then argue, it is overkill to DCA by weekly -- of course, we can talk about market correction/crash that happens in the next hour of me typing this, thus invalidating everything I say.... But my point goes back to keeping things simple, and each of us here have very different risk appetite and rationale on our investment strategies. Pick your poison.

This post has been edited by Takudan: Jul 7 2021, 06:29 PM
Takudan
post Jul 18 2021, 05:19 PM

1,056 posts

QUOTE(chicaman @ Jul 18 2021, 03:52 PM)
May I know which portfolio gives double digit %?
Hey there, based on your other question and this, I fear that you may not necessarily understand SA and/or what you're doing.

@skyzone101 quoted his 30% portfolio is giving him good returns, but you also need to understand that you going to 30% portfolio right now isn't going to magically spawn double digit profit to you, whether immediately or not. The reason he can have profit is because the market had already gone up from the time he bought. You entering now, means you'll be buying in at different price.

When you change your risk index, SA will sell off (i.e. realise profit and loss) some of your positions, then buy other positions, such that you will align to a 30%SRI portfolio. It's still entirely up to market fluctuations. Higher risk index means higher chance you'll lose money in the short term (hence, the risk) - you'll need to be able to stomach the fall and believe that it'll rise back in the long term. Over-tinkering your RI may make things worse.

What do you aim to do with this money you have in SA? Is it something you'll stash away (no pun intended) for many years?
Takudan
post Jul 29 2021, 12:36 AM

1,056 posts

QUOTE(tiramisu83 @ Jul 28 2021, 11:42 PM)
i thought robo advisor is 'smart enough' to perform a buy/sell when the market is good/bad? I have doubt why SA didn't sell some of the KWEB when reaching USD90 that time? At least not losing that much. (I am not sure the SA selling KWEB for some of you guys, but mine never sell..keep holding until now)

Just my thoughts.
welp that's where you thought wrong then... honestly I doubt there's any clairvoyant system like that in the world, if there is then it would be owning the market and everybody wins (which is a paradox in itself, cuz there are always losers on the other end of your winnings).

If you don't want to realise your loss then hodl for now and ride the shaky boat with us. But if you really want to just cut your loss and play safe, then lower your SRI where KWEB has less/no weightage, then that's where robo advisor will do its job, to calculate how much buy/sell to adjust your portfolio
Takudan
post Oct 2 2021, 11:48 AM

1,056 posts

QUOTE(timeekit @ Oct 2 2021, 12:20 AM)
Hi All,

Previously i only had one portfolio and will DCA every week via perpetual recurring standing instruction from my bank account. Hence, the funds will only credit into that one portfolio.

Currently am trying all additional 3 thematic portfolio. Would like my funds crediting ratio to be 3:1:1:1. Other than setting up the one time deposit amount each week. Anything i can do to have them implement the ratio above automatically each week?

You're the one deciding how much to credit into each portfolio, so I would imagine your auto deposit instructions would look like this:
Portfolio 1 RM 300 on 1st, 8th, 15th, 22nd of the month
Portfolio 2 RM 100 on 1st, 8th, 15th, 22nd of the month
Portfolio 3 RM 100...
Takudan
post Oct 7 2021, 06:29 PM

1,056 posts

QUOTE(jacksonpang @ Oct 7 2021, 12:41 PM)
Ehh fxxx.. this time promo code DOUGLASLIM really just the one-time fresh fund count only ah?
Should have stop my scheduled jompay and pump in higher amount, lol..

Guess we can call you penny wise now laugh.gif
Takudan
post Nov 18 2021, 03:49 PM

1,056 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Nov 18 2021, 10:00 AM)
Hello all, I have a question for all of you. (you may think this is out of place, but it's okay, we can explore in this viewpoint).

What keeps you awake at night? Would your investment in/via Stashaway be one of the reasons to keep you awake at night?

If yes, why so? what's your pain points about this Stashaway?
I'm a good sleeper 🤣🤣
SA is definitely not a reason I'm awake at night, but I do have my "pain points".

It's very difficult for me to swallow that my DIY portfolio is doing better than the experts, but I keep reminding myself that I am "lucky". My overall SA is still in the red as we speak.

On the other hand, my DIY portfolio includes MSFT stock which soared 40% since I last bought. It's very easy for me to feel like pr0 at investment, but I'm also aware that US tech is bubbly now, I may lose this unrealised profit anytime.
Oh yeah I do wonder sometimes whether I should lock in my profits (not enough to keep me awake at night still), but I keep reminding myself it is a long term investment and I shouldn't try to time the market... 🤷‍♀️

For context, I'm a newbie investor.
Takudan
post Dec 21 2021, 03:32 PM

1,056 posts

QUOTE(jacksonpang @ Dec 21 2021, 02:43 PM)
talked too fast on 5th Dec 2021, hahahaha, right now:

decided to stop DCA, since there's no any good "sign" or news.
don't even know how much time required just to breakeven back

anyway, talking about KWEB specifically, ignoring other ETF.
bought KWEB during ATH 102-ish, all the way down to recent 44-ish, avg cost around 72-ish.
but right now KWEB at 37-ish, means literally loss about 50% alone on KWEB
and KWEB has to go up 100% just for me to breakeven.
pheww.. what an experience  rclxub.gif
High five mate. But, if this makes you feel any better... For me I think like this:
I'm mmg interested in China market (that's why I too, was a believer in KWEB). SA served as my "foot stepping into the unknown waters", true enough kena stabbed lah...at least their diversification helped dampen the fall.

I share your woes... I'm also contemplating whether to pause my DCA or not... And using that amount, perhaps move into DIY, because I'm more eager to do dive into China stocks because I feel they're at a discount now. But probably will avoid ADRs because of the big bros trade war :S
Takudan
post Jan 14 2022, 12:53 PM

1,056 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Jan 14 2022, 12:43 PM)
i received, went to my spam. you all could check there also.

P/S: I'm a small fry anyway.
If you're small fry receiving that email, then I guess I'm just a plankton laugh.gif
Takudan
post Jan 27 2022, 12:03 PM

1,056 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Jan 26 2022, 03:36 PM)

I personally will not invest in ESG because of what Ben Felix described.
I watched this video, thanks for sharing!

Very good point about being sustainable -- the very fact that there exists such a standard says that a company needs to do something to maintain its sustainable status, may reflect in its earnings (or at least the expectations from the investors).

I for one support that but only by a mere fraction; I am against tobacco industry for example, so while I definitely won't invest into these company stocks, I wouldn't choose an ESG ETF on purpose to kill my diversification. So like Ben Felix says, figure out your stance with ESG and decide what you wanna do with it - no right or wrong, just different values from one another.
Takudan
post Feb 3 2022, 11:24 PM

1,056 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Feb 3 2022, 06:17 PM)

Credit: The Woke Salaryman
It was indeed a good lesson by Emperor Xi to us (or me, at least) laugh.gif

I'll admit that I jumped on the 36% bandwagon, and I did that on Feb 2021 (probably verifiable based on my historical posts in this thread). That's how I was able to share double digit loss at some point lol.
...well, at least I have enough to ride along the rollercoaster.
Takudan
post Feb 10 2022, 02:11 AM

1,056 posts

With the recent 50+ posts here, it got me thinking about my SA portion in my portfolio.

I've been saving about 40% of my salary annually, and I am also building up my DIY portfolio (albeit very amateurish still, I must admit). I have like 10% salary regularly dumped to SA monthly, and now I'm starting to feel it's a little saturated. So... Say if I want another autopilot mode of auto-depositing my money elsewhere, say, to something that complements SA (different baskets), what would be a decent alternative?

More context:
- tarak and not planning to get ASNB nor SSPN yet.
- my EPF is not much, it's one of my options although I can't help but to feel worried for our country's future.
- I was interested in REITS but I got information overload and decided not to DIY there. Would be nice if there's a dividend reinvested ETF that I can just dump money in and watch it grow(?)
- I have DIY but I don't intend to increase that portion or do anything fancy.
Takudan
post Feb 10 2022, 12:27 PM

1,056 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Feb 10 2022, 10:34 AM)
Not sure why so many people are fixated to earn their retirement money via investing instead of trying to increase their salary instead.
QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Feb 10 2022, 11:09 AM)
Because this is an investment forum, not a career forum?
Yeah, especially this being SA thread, I can't be asking people here how to be better at my job or how to do a side gig, right? laugh.gif

On another note, in earning more retirement money, we can also look at how to keep expenditures low. smile.gif Alas, that is also a topic for another thread
Takudan
post Feb 10 2022, 01:28 PM

1,056 posts

QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Feb 10 2022, 01:13 PM)
Of course focus on your career also la.. no money from salary how to invest more?
Then of course save more also.

I invest to overcome inflation of 3-4% every year.. getting whatever income and putting in bank / FD will slowly degrade the value of what you have.
Put in EPF also can.. earn average 4-5% every year.

But if long term invest in good stocks or ETF in US or other markets can grow 10-20% or more a year, why not?
Now US there red due to Fed increasing interest rates to fight inflation, but once this pass bull market will dominate again.
Err yeah I wasn't disagreeing with the post actually 👀 I too have a job with a healthy yearly increment... touch wood. I also have my budget tracker to plan my spending and investment on the same page.

May I remind, you seem to be getting a little carried away by the abnormal bull market. Someone already shared a nice little reminder few pages ago smile.gif this 10-20% annualised return you currently enjoy from your higher risk investment can be wiped in an instant, I hope you have your emergency funds readied in other baskets in your bank/FD. Also maybe medical card, insurance and whatnot, especially if you have people depending on you.

...or forgive me if you're already a seasoned investor with bear market experience.
Takudan
post Mar 2 2022, 09:22 PM

1,056 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Mar 2 2022, 06:57 PM)
more than happy if you can give me evidence of it. the more data i have the more accuracy there is
Haiyaaa bro no need to debate. In this thread we can already see there are winners and losers, because one's profit and loss heavily depends on your entry point, buy/sell prices, yadayada... For him to simply say one profits/loses without any basis/benchmark/reference is a huge facepalm back at himself

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.4547sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 12:46 PM