1032 Pages « < 63 64 65 66 67 > » Bottom

Investment StashAway Malaysia, Multi-Region ETF at your fingertips!

TS[Ancient]-XinG-
post May 21 2019, 07:50 AM

20k VIP club
5,752 posts

Shit just hit the fan.

Market wasn't drop much but all the etf dropped. Even Treasuries.

China mass selling?
mapeyeo1
post May 21 2019, 02:35 PM

112 posts

I wonder if I should lower my risk from 18% to 15%?
neverfap
post May 21 2019, 02:36 PM

1,147 posts

QUOTE(mapeyeo1 @ May 21 2019, 02:35 PM)
All depend on own risk appetite
Don't set the risk level just to time the market. biggrin.gif
TS[Ancient]-XinG-
post May 21 2019, 02:51 PM

20k VIP club
5,752 posts

With 15% of GLD in 20.0

I find it 16.5 is the best with adequate exposure of US at 30, AAXJ at 12 and GLD as low as 6. And got covered with FI at 34 if not mistaken.

For the past 5 years GLD had been flat as compared to other EQ.
honsiong
post May 21 2019, 03:18 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(mapeyeo1 @ May 21 2019, 02:35 PM)
Don’t time the market. Do it only when you think you running a risk you can’t stomach.
lolabunny123
post May 21 2019, 04:54 PM

414 posts

New joiner here! Normally how long does it take for them to complete the verification? My account is still under “processing verification” since Friday.
neverfap
post May 21 2019, 05:36 PM

1,147 posts

QUOTE(lolabunny123 @ May 21 2019, 04:54 PM)
New joiner here! Normally how long does it take for them to complete the verification? My account is still under “processing verification” since Friday.
Either tomorrow or day after tomorrow maybe?
U can WhatsApp their support team
preducer
post May 21 2019, 06:28 PM

2,839 posts

QUOTE(lolabunny123 @ May 21 2019, 04:54 PM)
Saturday sunday wkend, yday was public holiday, so technically today is only 1 day. Give them couple of days la. Tomorrow is public holiday so maybe by Friday your acc will be ready
Nicholas Kang
post May 21 2019, 09:20 PM

Validating
41 posts

Not sure if this Bloomberg article applies here.

Makes an interesting read though.
ViktorJ
post May 21 2019, 09:46 PM

Dancy Drinky Doggo
1,004 posts

QUOTE(Nicholas Kang @ May 21 2019, 09:20 PM)

Very good article, thanks for sharing! I am certain that everyone here will learn a lot from it.

As reference, I bought in since 28/11/18

My portfolio is +7.5% today vs SPDR S&P 500 ETF (SPY) +3.4% same period

Does this mean 1 is better than the other? Nah. Algos are not infallible (Medallion Fund not withstanding lol), but the cheap entry is quite attractive, and it does depend on your strategy.
honsiong
post May 22 2019, 08:58 AM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(Nicholas Kang @ May 21 2019, 09:20 PM)

The context of the article macam active trading bots, not passive portfolio management like SA?
ViktorJ
post May 22 2019, 10:23 AM

Dancy Drinky Doggo
1,004 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ May 22 2019, 08:58 AM)
The context of the article macam active trading bots, not passive portfolio management like SA?
Ya

More educational than directly applicable
Nicholas Kang
post May 22 2019, 02:46 PM

Validating
41 posts

Are you sure Stashaway employs a passive portfolio management strategy?

I would say it is more of a tactical asset allocation-based investment vehicle.

StashAway’s investment framework takes an active approach in deciding in which market to invest, and in which proportion. This is what is called asset allocation.

In short, there is significant value to be created through dynamic portfolio management.

We recognise that 80% of returns are driven by asset allocation: determining which mix of assets would best perform in the current economic and market conditions. We intelligently and systematically determine the allocation of assets in a portfolio, with a dynamic approach, by continuously monitoring macro and market data.

Link: https://www.stashaway.my/r/stashaway-active-or-passive

It's not a complete buy-and-hold strategy. But I agree that the Bloomberg article applies to more aggressive traders, particular those go for HFT (high frequency trading).
TS[Ancient]-XinG-
post May 22 2019, 03:35 PM

20k VIP club
5,752 posts

QUOTE(Nicholas Kang @ May 22 2019, 02:46 PM)
Are you sure Stashaway employs a passive portfolio management strategy?

I would say it is more of a tactical asset allocation-based investment vehicle.
Link: https://www.stashaway.my/r/stashaway-active-or-passive

It's not a complete buy-and-hold strategy. But I agree that the Bloomberg article applies to more aggressive traders, particular those go for HFT (high frequency trading).
Been using around 6 months. Yea. Buy and hold. So far allocation remain the same since started in MY.
Nicholas Kang
post May 22 2019, 03:47 PM

Validating
41 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ May 22 2019, 03:35 PM)
Been using around 6 months. Yea. Buy and hold. So far allocation remain the same since started in MY.
Ah. I see. But it just landed in MY since November 2018. Perhaps too short a timeline to conclude?

The company claims that it will allocate assets according to current economic conditions, which seems to suggest that there are likely to be changes especially with a strong downwind.

I would like to see how StashAway performs immediately before and during recessionary periods, that would be the interesting part.

That said, if it is buy-and-hold, good for long-term investment then.

Quite rare to see ETF investments with buy-and-hold strategy. I would go for index funds instead.

(Probably my last post today. That annoying probationary 3-post-every-12-hour ban is still in effect for my user account.)

honsiong
post May 22 2019, 03:56 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(Nicholas Kang @ May 22 2019, 03:47 PM)
Ah. I see. But it just landed in MY since November 2018. Perhaps too short a timeline to conclude?

The company claims that it will allocate assets according to current economic conditions, which seems to suggest that there are likely to be changes especially with a strong downwind. 

I would like to see how StashAway performs immediately before and during recessionary periods, that would be the interesting part.

That said, if it is buy-and-hold, good for long-term investment then.

Quite rare to see ETF investments with buy-and-hold strategy. I would go for index funds instead.

(Probably my last post today. That annoying probationary 3-post-every-12-hour ban is still in effect for my user account.)
I have been using StashAway since July 2017, yea they didn't change allocation much except once in 2017 to add gold in.

> Quite rare to see ETF investments with buy-and-hold strategy. I would go for index funds instead.

Index funds can be ETF also what. But I think SA just diversify geographically so they use multiple ETFs.
jetzkr8
post May 22 2019, 07:53 PM

26 posts

I am yet to put money into StashAway. Been reading info off their site. The few posting about adjusting risk levels, how SA allocated funds would be better served if one were to read in detail their methodology, specifically the ERAA® (Economic Regime-based Asset Allocation) strategy:
https://www.stashaway.my/how-we-invest

Reading detailed info at https://www.stashaway.my/r/stashaways-asset...ation-framework would suggest their strategy takes care of downturns as they come. I believe SA is not to be judged in short term, but rather looked at long term.

snoozet
post May 22 2019, 08:22 PM

66 posts

Due to the depreciation of MYR vs USD, hesitate whether to continue put in more money.

The gain from fund may not be able to offset the strength of MYR in future.

Currently it stands at 4.18, if it drops from 4.18 to 4.00, fx lost alr 4.30%

This post has been edited by snoozet: May 22 2019, 08:26 PM
TS[Ancient]-XinG-
post May 22 2019, 08:37 PM

20k VIP club
5,752 posts

QUOTE(snoozet @ May 22 2019, 08:22 PM)
Due to the depreciation of MYR vs USD, hesitate whether to continue put in more money.

The gain from fund may not be able to offset the strength of MYR in future.

Currently it stands at 4.18, if it drops from 4.18 to 4.00, fx lost alr 4.30%
4.00 possible. But I don't think MYR will strength against the greenback that much.

*unless pegging happen. But peg will remove after all.

This post has been edited by [Ancient]-XinG-: May 22 2019, 08:38 PM
daimon
post May 22 2019, 08:41 PM

611 posts

if i have no experience in investment, can i try Stashaway? hmmmm

1032 Pages « < 63 64 65 66 67 > » Top

0.0177sec    0.16    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 07:28 AM