1032 Pages « < 590 591 592 593 594 > » Bottom

Investment StashAway Malaysia, Multi-Region ETF at your fingertips!

wKkaY
post Feb 12 2021, 02:36 PM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

QUOTE(xander83 @ Feb 11 2021, 06:04 PM)
I been putting in lump sum in xxxx and withdraw daily in small amounts of less than RM1 when the MYRUSD price alert trigger on my dashboard
Nice. Do you have a name for this strategy? How about "keropok lekor system" - because each trade you make is worth about 1 piece of keropok lekor.
Murasaki322
post Feb 12 2021, 02:37 PM

452 posts

Planning to move once there's no more free management fee promos.. if you buy the ETFs yourself via international brokerages, the expense ratio is actually quite low. But you gotta do your homework first. Otherwise leave 1000 in stashaway and copy buy the percentage allocation in the portfolio?
thecurious
post Feb 12 2021, 03:04 PM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(Murasaki322 @ Feb 12 2021, 02:37 PM)
Planning to move once there's no more free management fee promos.. if you buy the ETFs yourself via international brokerages, the expense ratio is actually quite low. But you gotta do your homework first. Otherwise leave 1000 in stashaway and copy buy the percentage allocation in the portfolio?
If you have lump sums to buy every now and then, buying good etf DIY would be earning more like you said.
But a pull point for stashaway is the ability to invest a small portion without additional fees, the fees are fixed percentages if I understand it right.
Many people would need to save up alot for some time before doing the DIY method to make it worthwhile or else the fees of conversion and buying will eat up profits.

Just my 2 cents, feel free to add on or correct the info.

poooky
post Feb 12 2021, 03:28 PM

825 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Feb 12 2021, 02:31 PM)
I'm planning to move bulks once I hit 30K since it's more cost effective to move into overseas brokerage / currency exchange when doing it in bulks

Problem is the rebalancing part - with SA the rebalance is automatically done during monthly DCA but I doubt that I'll have transactions that frequently in my foreign brokerage
Any specific reasoning for 30k? or is this an arbitrary goal?
lee82gx
post Feb 12 2021, 03:35 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Feb 12 2021, 01:34 PM)
I think it boils down to how cheap it is for us living in Malaysia to trade ETFs.

Currently we need to open brokerage account abroad, then wire the money over, which can hurt our return without investing huge amount one shot.

If a broker accepts MYR deposits, and give us USD 1.99 commission to trade ETF, I can see stashaway to be much less appealing here.

I have SGD bank account and Tiger Brokers account, I buy some ETFs there, but I still maintain regular deposits into StashAway because I am not confident my ETF allocations can outperform StashAway in long run. Buying own ETFs is fun, but stashaway is at least professional managed, very happy with their performance since 2017.
Even with commission free trades which are common nowadays, it is hard to replicate the StashAway portfolio when the capital is low, because most brokers do not offer free fractional share Trades.

In other words agree with you wholly.

I’d go as far as saying I’m willingly agree to being charged 1% per annum for small trades, fractional shares, from MYR.

How much principal per year I will let them charge is another matter...I’m now at 5 digits, I don’t think it will cross to 6 digits anytime soon.
cucumber
post Feb 12 2021, 03:50 PM

821 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Feb 12 2021, 03:35 PM)
Even with commission free trades which are common nowadays, it is hard to replicate the StashAway portfolio when the capital is low, because most brokers do not offer free fractional share Trades.

In other words agree with you wholly.

I’d go as far as saying I’m willingly agree to being charged 1% per annum for small trades, fractional shares, from MYR.

How much principal per year I will let them charge is another matter...I’m now at 5 digits, I don’t think it will cross to 6 digits anytime soon.
Yea, people don't seem to realize only IBKR allows fractional shares & you have to pay $120 usd a year for that feature. Unless they have a huge capital, DIY trying to replicate StashAway is just not worth the time & effort.
polarzbearz
post Feb 12 2021, 04:14 PM

Gracie
4,816 posts

QUOTE(poooky @ Feb 12 2021, 03:28 PM)
Any specific reasoning for 30k? or is this an arbitrary goal?
Replicating ETF's (even if its just one-off) for any amount lesser than 30K is just not worth it, since it'll cost more than 0.8% in fees (all-inclusive - from forex transfer to exchange to commissions). Also hard to "zhun zhun" since you'll likely end up with rounding issues like most mentioned (unless using fractional shares facility)
SUSxander83
post Feb 12 2021, 04:52 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Feb 12 2021, 02:36 PM)
Nice. Do you have a name for this strategy? How about "keropok lekor system" - because each trade you make is worth about 1 piece of keropok lekor.
You can call it what you want but there’s a name for it

When you put in 4 figures and slowly withdraw in a small amount of less than hundreds you know that you can gain at the right time

To me SA is FD for my usage as it is the pool money that I parked here knowingly I won’t make a loss rclxms.gif
zstan
post Feb 12 2021, 04:59 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Murasaki322 @ Feb 12 2021, 02:37 PM)
somehow there are always people thinking they can do better than a dedicated team of trained financial professionals
Hoshiyuu
post Feb 13 2021, 04:09 AM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ Feb 12 2021, 12:09 PM)
How do you set auto DCA weekly? I don't see that option. It's either twice a month or monthly.

You can set up 4 different monthly schedule, so it would become functionally weekly.
brokenbomb
post Feb 13 2021, 10:44 AM

1,269 posts

Or just use jompay
kabal82
post Feb 13 2021, 11:43 AM

♥Nature Lover♥
804 posts

QUOTE(Hoshiyuu @ Feb 13 2021, 04:09 AM)

You can set up 4 different monthly schedule, so it would become functionally weekly.
I setup my dca for twice per month investment since the amount I put in is not so significant 😅
highflier
post Feb 13 2021, 01:04 PM

64 posts

Notice that last night a small portion of KWEB was being sold and I understand that because it has exceeded the target weight too much.
My portfolio is 16%, and the target weight for KWEB is 8%, before yesterday the actual weight was 9+%
What concern me is that I have set to transfer money from Simple to this portfolio on weekly basis, running for months already, and the amount is almost same with the KWEB portion that was being sold last night. Actually based on previous records, this week investment should be done on Thursday or Friday, but i think because of holiday, it didn't kick in. If that happens, I think the platform won't sell the KWEB that much. And now I believe high chances that in coming weeks I will buy KWEB again, in higher price, due to the weekly deposit.
Instead of using Simple, perhaps I should just manual transfer money to the portfolio.
lee82gx
post Feb 13 2021, 03:09 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(highflier @ Feb 13 2021, 01:04 PM)
Notice that last night a small portion of KWEB was being sold and I understand that because it has exceeded the target weight too much.
My portfolio is 16%, and the target weight for KWEB is 8%, before yesterday the actual weight was 9+%
What concern me is that I have set to transfer money from Simple to this portfolio on weekly basis, running for months already, and the amount is almost same with the KWEB portion that was being sold last night. Actually based on previous records, this week investment should be done on Thursday or Friday, but i think because of holiday, it didn't kick in. If that happens, I think the platform won't sell the KWEB that much. And now I believe high chances that in coming weeks I will buy KWEB again, in higher price, due to the weekly deposit.
Instead of using Simple, perhaps I should just manual transfer money to the portfolio.
I know I just said that my portfolios have never sold but I did a recheck and also my 14% portfolio has sold some KWEB to buy various other funds.

In this case you still can't escape the automated algorithm, just ride along. If KWEB does indeed rise more, actually you won't be losing that much, as I believe (not calculated) that your current allocation / holding will still appreciate over this period of time.

The whole point of this auto pilot is for auto re-balancing, and you are paying for it...might as well let it do its thing.

SUSxander83
post Feb 13 2021, 03:17 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(highflier @ Feb 13 2021, 01:04 PM)
Don’t worry too much on KWEB because the breakout happens during this time of the year on KWEB

Wait XLP, XLY and XLV for breakout soon which you thank the algorithm for it

If you worry too much stop DCA and manual lump sum because MYR is currently being dictated by oil price hence next week will see a short rally in equities and long rally on currencies till March then the magic happens again rclxms.gif
Daniel Joseph
post Feb 13 2021, 06:55 PM

237 posts

Hi, I want to do a double confirm before I proceed.
If I want to do a recurring manual deposit via jompay, did I do the correct way?
Does this setting will deduct a RM100 every month for 3 years? This is maybank website fyi.
Is that all?
Do I need to set anything in the app?
Takudan
post Feb 13 2021, 07:38 PM

1,056 posts

Hi all,

Question about SA's conversion rate - I don't like what I'm seeing but I might be wrong in this. Here's a snapshot of my SA transaction history:
The transfer fee was USD37.0581, considering SA's exchange rate displayed there, there was a hidden processing fee of 37.0581 USD.

Now to reverse engineer to find out what was the MYR>USD rate on 3 Aug 2020:
Today (13 Feb), 1MYR = 0.2473718USD
On 3 Aug, 1MYR = 0.2473718 - 0.0047429 = 0.2426289
user posted imageuser posted image

But of course, I have no way to reverse engineer fintech's or bank's offers so I went to Instarem and TransferWise to check the rates, and plotted them onto my own transfer rate calculator (Special thanks to a forumer who did a sheet like this himself, I made my own copy with some additional functions). Google finance is the benchmark, and the various fintechs are more realistic values:
TW and Instarem:

Excel comparison:
RHS: Today's exchange. I'm taking 27.67 USD as the actual charge incurred for the exchange and put that into 3 Aug sheet (LHS). Meaning, if I did the transfer on 3 Aug instead using TransferWise, I would've receive approx 4825 USD instead. That is 100 USD spread from SA's conversion compared to other fintechs! Did I miss out something or is SA conversion rate really that bad?

inb4 "Why are you trying to reverse engineer this?"
I didn't know what I was doing back then, now I want to know if I should continue keeping my money in SA or take it out to invest manually. Frankly speaking, the performance has been disappointing, and I want to know why.
On top of that, there's a 3+USD conversion back to RM to pay the management fee every month, so shitty conversion rate would really hurt investments in SA.

OR, if anyone is going to make a deposit into SA soon, please do me a favour and compare your post-conversion amount to other fintechs? Thank you!
SUSxander83
post Feb 13 2021, 09:33 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(Takudan @ Feb 13 2021, 07:38 PM)
Hi all,

Question about SA's conversion rate - I don't like what I'm seeing but I might be wrong in this. Here's a snapshot of my SA transaction history:
The transfer fee was USD37.0581, considering SA's exchange rate displayed there, there was a hidden processing fee of 37.0581 USD.

But of course, I have no way to reverse engineer fintech's or bank's offers so I went to Instarem and TransferWise to check the rates, and plotted them onto my own transfer rate calculator (Special thanks to a forumer who did a sheet like this himself, I made my own copy with some additional functions). Google finance is the benchmark, and the various fintechs are more realistic values:
TW and Instarem:

Excel comparison:
RHS: Today's exchange. I'm taking 27.67 USD as the actual charge incurred for the exchange and put that into 3 Aug sheet (LHS). Meaning, if I did the transfer on 3 Aug instead using TransferWise, I would've receive approx 4825 USD instead. That is 100 USD spread from SA's conversion compared to other fintechs! Did I miss out something or is SA conversion rate really that bad?

I didn't know what I was doing back then, now I want to know if I should continue keeping my money in SA or take it out to invest manually. Frankly speaking, the performance has been disappointing, and I want to know why.
On top of that, there's a 3+USD conversion back to RM to pay the management fee every month, so shitty conversion rate would really hurt investments in SA.

OR, if anyone is going to make a deposit into SA soon, please do me a favour and compare your post-conversion amount to other fintechs? Thank you!
Did you factor in conversion rate of additional 0.1% against spot rate charged by Citibank when you deposit?

At that time your rate should be around there as you cannot compare financial instructional spot rate versus those transfer fintech specialist as the spot rate has been imposed to merchant which bear the cost/commission by them

Management fee is so minisicule 0.0125% per month which is nothing for your account base and you didn’t currency will fluctuate/appreciate on daily basis which is wrong comparison

If you wanna save better with your money go buy direct ETFs with your kinda money then you will how much charges when it comes to brokerage, conversion etc which is impossible when you factor in 0.5% versus 0.8% on yearly basis
lee82gx
post Feb 13 2021, 09:45 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(Takudan @ Feb 13 2021, 07:38 PM)
Hi all,

TW and Instarem:

Excel comparison:

According to Xe.com 3rd Aug 2020 was 0.23588 usd per myr.
With 20001 myr it converts to usd 4718.

I read your post and I still scratching my head why you are using today's rate and compare to 3rd Aug with 37 usd difference?
stormseeker92
post Feb 13 2021, 09:54 PM

689 posts

QUOTE(xander83 @ Feb 13 2021, 03:17 PM)
Don’t worry too much on KWEB because the breakout happens during this time of the year on KWEB

Wait XLP, XLY and XLV for breakout soon which you thank the algorithm for it

If you worry too much stop DCA and manual lump sum because MYR is currently being dictated by oil price hence next week will see a short rally in equities and long rally on currencies till March then the magic happens again  rclxms.gif
Any idea why you say the stocks going down again in March? Curious

1032 Pages « < 590 591 592 593 594 > » Top

0.0227sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:45 AM