Between these 2 Bangsar condos?, Which would you pick?

Which Bangsar property would you pick?

The Loft. [ 7 ] ** [43.75%]
One Menerung. [ 9 ] ** [56.25%]
Total Votes: 16
Guests cannot vote 

TSBjorn1688
post Mar 8 2019, 11:59 PM, updated 7y ago

1,924 posts

Between these 2 older places in Bangsar, which would you pick and why?

Condo 1 : The Loft (Jalan Penaga)
-3900sf over 2 levels.
-Basic unit with some very minor ID work done 7 years ago.
-1 of 15 units.
-3 carparks.
-4+1 rooms.
-Needs some attention as it is starting to get tired but can move in yesterday.

Condo 2 : One Menerung.
-3300sf.
-Very bare unit as everything been removed and thrown out. Let's just say a crazy woman lived in here before and destroyed nearly everything when her ex-husband left her.
-Mid floor unit.
-4 carparks.
-3+1 rooms.
-It looks like a dump and will need a proper sorting out, basically a sledgehammer was used to destroy the place. Basically anything that can be broken has been broken.

Price? Market value for both are roughly the same. Owner of Condo 2 will take off RM200k from his asking price.
corleone74
post Mar 9 2019, 03:32 AM

3,665 posts

of course u choose one menerung lah. the loft is like small apartment block compared to 1M.

This post has been edited by corleone74: Mar 9 2019, 03:48 AM
ManutdGiggs
post Mar 9 2019, 05:20 AM

13,761 posts

QUOTE(Bjorn1688 @ Mar 8 2019, 11:59 PM)
Between these 2 older places in Bangsar, which would you pick and why?

Condo 1 : The Loft (Jalan Penaga)
-3900sf over 2 levels.
-Basic unit with some very minor ID work done 7 years ago.
-1 of 15 units.
-3 carparks.
-4+1 rooms.
-Needs some attention as it is starting to get tired but can move in yesterday.

Condo 2 : One Menerung.
-3300sf.
-Very bare unit as everything been removed and thrown out. Let's just say a crazy woman lived in here before and destroyed nearly everything when her ex-husband left her.
-Mid floor unit.
-4 carparks.
-3+1 rooms.
-It looks like a dump and will need a proper sorting out, basically a sledgehammer was used to destroy the place. Basically anything that can be broken has been broken.

Price? Market value for both are roughly the same. Owner of Condo 2 will take off RM200k from his asking price.
Boss I can c tat u haven't narrowed down ur options yet 😅😅😅

Wats ur budget n preferred loc??? And ur choice in size jumped fr 1ksf to 3ksf wo. Oso fr off the plan to subsales. 🤔🤔🤔

Siudai blif u need to focus on Wat u need than Wat u wan. Then u might hav a clearer mind to decide where n which project u wanna buy. Afterall ur landed corner oso gd ma. Moving cost is high. I rather spend tat on investment prop to gain rental. 🙊🙊🙊
Harry_Bobinski
post Mar 9 2019, 10:02 AM

King of Truth
960 posts

Bangsar is far from kuchai lama, kinda. Thought that was your requirement haha
TSBjorn1688
post Mar 11 2019, 01:23 AM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(corleone74 @ Mar 9 2019, 03:32 AM)
of course u choose one menerung lah.  the loft is like small apartment block compared to 1M.
It does have its plus points too.

QUOTE(ManutdGiggs @ Mar 9 2019, 05:20 AM)
Boss I can c tat u haven't narrowed down ur options yet 😅😅😅

Wats ur budget n preferred loc??? And ur choice in size jumped fr 1ksf to 3ksf wo. Oso fr off the plan to subsales. 🤔🤔🤔

Siudai blif u need to focus on Wat u need than Wat u wan. Then u might hav a clearer mind to decide where n which project u wanna buy. Afterall ur landed corner oso gd ma. Moving cost is high. I rather spend tat on investment prop to gain rental. 🙊🙊🙊
Currently narrowed down to Bangsar only for location.

Actually both these units belong to my old man. Buying it off him at a discount so budget isn't really in the picture.

My house I have a booking fee on it right now.

While both these units are a bit big in size for us, I guess for the discount I could tolerate the size.

As much as I'd love to buy off plan it isn't an option for us right now and subsales it is for us though the 1M will essentially be a new place as it will need a full re-doing of the interior with some much damages to it. rclxm9.gif

QUOTE(Harry_Bobinski @ Mar 9 2019, 10:02 AM)
Bangsar is far from kuchai lama, kinda. Thought that was your requirement haha
I do like the area, however I have to face up to reality that these types of older neighbourhoods isn't suitable for us any longer.

As much as I don't care much for living among snobs the reality of it is we will need the security and convenience of being in a place that's more accessible for our lifestyle.
ManutdGiggs
post Mar 11 2019, 05:42 AM

13,761 posts

QUOTE(Bjorn1688 @ Mar 11 2019, 01:23 AM)
It does have its plus points too.
Currently narrowed down to Bangsar only for location.

Actually both these units belong to my old man. Buying it off him at a discount so budget isn't really in the picture.

My house I have a booking fee on it right now.

While both these units are a bit big in size for us, I guess for the discount I could tolerate the size.

As much as I'd love to buy off plan it isn't an option for us right now and subsales it is for us though the 1M will essentially be a new place as it will need a full re-doing of the interior with some much damages to it.  rclxm9.gif
I do like the area, however I have to face up to reality that these types of older neighbourhoods isn't suitable for us any longer.

As much as I don't care much for living among snobs the reality of it is we will need the security and convenience of being in a place that's more accessible for our lifestyle.
Then just buy both at the price of 1 since its discounted fr ur old man.

Use 1 n rent out another.
TSBjorn1688
post Mar 11 2019, 10:27 AM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(ManutdGiggs @ Mar 11 2019, 05:42 AM)
Then just buy both at the price of 1 since its discounted fr ur old man.

Use 1 n rent out another.
The Loft has been without a tenant for 3 years. Even after lowering rental by 1/3 from its high still no takers.

1M has many units that have been empty too and difficult to rent these days unless you have plenty of money to do ID or renovation works.

This is a rental market I am staying away from.
ManutdGiggs
post Mar 11 2019, 11:27 AM

13,761 posts

QUOTE(Bjorn1688 @ Mar 11 2019, 10:27 AM)
The Loft has been without a tenant for 3 years. Even after lowering rental by 1/3 from its high still no takers.

1M has many units that have been empty too and difficult to rent these days unless you have plenty of money to do ID or renovation works.

This is a rental market I am staying away from.
Buy both and u stay in loft. Rent out merenung.
lobster08
post Mar 11 2019, 11:29 AM

309 posts

I would go for Mont Kiara if condo..LOL
TSBjorn1688
post Mar 11 2019, 10:51 PM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(lobster08 @ Mar 11 2019, 11:29 AM)
I would go for Mont Kiara if condo..LOL
Really? Why is that and which one in particular?
corleone74
post Mar 12 2019, 01:16 AM

3,665 posts

mont kiara is nice, but i think bangsar location wise should be better.
chesterst
post Mar 12 2019, 03:34 AM

230 posts

This is a tricky one.

Do both your units come with views of KL skyline? Does having this twin towers view matter to you?

I have been to both and 1M has a more impressive entrance. I remember Loft being quite tight. So not quite a statement entrance. Again, does this matter to you?

1M major pull factor is its walking proximity to BSC. Do you see this being handy?

Such size in 1M I think most likely you are in Block A which is the last block at the back with an annexe next to it?

I think overall in terms of quality of living, 1M is a safer choice. Developer is reputable - BRDB and you know for certain the whole development will be always pristine because the owner of BRDB lives there I have been to his 21,000 sf penthouse a couple times which is crowning Block D closest to the guardhouse. He has very high standards in everything he does so you can be sure the compound of the place he lives in will be best in class so to say.

I too have heard The Loft being hard to rent out. Is the monthly service charge significantly higher to the fact that it is very low density? I personally like lateral living more than duplexes so in this case 1M has the advantage. Facilities wise I think 1M is the winner here. Security too.

TSBjorn1688
post Mar 12 2019, 11:28 PM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(chesterst @ Mar 12 2019, 03:34 AM)
This is a tricky one.

Do both your units come with views of KL skyline? Does having this twin towers view matter to you?

I have been to both and 1M has a more impressive entrance. I remember Loft being quite tight. So not quite a statement entrance. Again, does this matter to you?

1M major pull factor is its walking proximity to BSC. Do you see this being handy?

Such size in 1M I think most likely you are in Block A which is the last block at the back with an annexe next to it?

I think overall in terms of quality of living, 1M is a safer choice. Developer is reputable - BRDB and you know for certain the whole development will be always pristine because the owner of BRDB lives there I have been to his 21,000 sf penthouse a couple times which is crowning Block D closest to the guardhouse. He has very high standards in everything he does so you can be sure the compound of the place he lives in will be best in class so to say.

I too have heard The Loft being hard to rent out. Is the monthly service charge significantly higher to the fact that it is very low density? I personally like lateral living more than duplexes so in this case 1M has the advantage. Facilities wise I think 1M is the winner here. Security too.
Only The Loft has a KL skyline view. Not having a nice view isn't a deal breaker.

Yes the entrance of The Loft is tight as is the parking area. Well it can be a problem as I am planning to buy a pickup truck.

Having BSC nearby will help especially for my missus on the days I'm not home. Not really a fan of BSC myself but being close to a shopping place won't be a deal breaker but the traffic on the weekends is a bit of a turn-off.

Yes quite a few BRDB bigshots live in 1M. I do believe they tend to be perfectionist when it comes to their flagship properties. Actually the entire project is meticulously maintained as any complaints especially by you know who doesn't go down well. Surprising they could do it for RM.40psf too considering the landscape and facilities.

The maintenance charge for The Loft is RM.50psf and the place is losing its shine as it is starting to date and quite a lot of units are empty as it is owned by owners who are overseas. Definitely a difficult place to rent out and I don't have that kind of holding power.
chesterst
post Mar 14 2019, 09:31 AM

230 posts

QUOTE(Bjorn1688 @ Mar 12 2019, 11:28 PM)
Only The Loft has a KL skyline view. Not having a nice view isn't a deal breaker.

Yes the entrance of The Loft is tight as is the parking area. Well it can be a problem as I am planning to buy a pickup truck.

Having BSC nearby will help especially for my missus on the days I'm not home. Not really a fan of BSC myself but being close to a shopping place won't be a deal breaker but the traffic on the weekends is a bit of a turn-off.

Yes quite a few BRDB bigshots live in 1M. I do believe they tend to be perfectionist when it comes to their flagship properties. Actually the entire project is meticulously maintained as any complaints especially by you know who doesn't go down well. Surprising they could do it for RM.40psf too considering the landscape and facilities.

The maintenance charge for The Loft is RM.50psf and the place is losing its shine as it is starting to date and quite a lot of units are empty as it is owned by owners who are overseas. Definitely a difficult place to rent out and I don't have that kind of holding power.
Looks like the odds are stacked against The Loft. Going for 1M then?

BEANCOUNTER
post Mar 14 2019, 10:46 AM

20,146 posts

I never heard of the Loft (obviously my blood is not that rich) and upon googled, just realised that The Loft was built by Empire Mammoth.....

PASSED.....
TSBjorn1688
post Mar 14 2019, 07:51 PM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(chesterst @ Mar 14 2019, 09:31 AM)
Looks like the odds are stacked against The Loft. Going for 1M then?
Well I was considering taking on The Loft as it could be moved into and I can take my time to renovate it. However my step sister insisted she get first choice and she insisted on having The Loft.

Considering the 1M, not too thrilled on the jams the place suffers at the weekends and sometimes on the weekdays too.

QUOTE(BEANCOUNTER @ Mar 14 2019, 10:46 AM)
I never heard of the Loft (obviously my blood is not that rich) and upon googled, just realised that The Loft was built by Empire Mammoth.....

PASSED.....
Their other projects hasn't been good?

This one wasn't bad though.
Calvin Seak
post Nov 4 2025, 08:24 AM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,448 posts

QUOTE(Bjorn1688 @ Mar 14 2019, 07:51 PM)
Well I was considering taking on The Loft as it could be moved into and I can take my time to renovate it. However my step sister insisted she get first choice and she insisted on having The Loft.

Considering the 1M, not too thrilled on the jams the place suffers at the weekends and sometimes on the weekdays too.
Their other projects hasn't been good?

This one wasn't bad though.
Hey bro, I am currently in the market looking for a property at the moment and came across your thread, which of the 2 property did you picked? I was looking at the loft and your thread came up!

For the entrance, currently my car is about 5metres long and about 1.9m wide.. Is it convenient to move in and out daily?

0.0742sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 10:37 PM