change socket from 13A to 15a, help

TSkarLz
post Mar 8 2019, 10:18 AM, updated 7y ago

741 posts

Hi guys,

I just bought Multifunction Oven and it comes with 15A plug(round). My house DB all use MCB20.

The spec of the Oven is

Voltage Range : 220V~240v/1Ph/50Hz, 3*1.5mm²
Power Consumtion : 2.67kW (11.6Amp)

My question is,

1) Can i just change the socket to 15A socket?
2) Do i need to change the MCB20 to MCB32?
3) Do i need to upgrade wire to 4mm?

Thanks icon_question.gif

keyser soze
post Mar 8 2019, 10:32 AM

569 posts

If 15 amp then you need to have 4mm wire. I believe MCB is still ok as long as not sharing with other socket.
Your oven spec, I think 13amp should be enough
SUSslimey
post Mar 8 2019, 10:33 AM

6,914 posts

Meh. I’ll just change the plug to 13a
TSkarLz
post Mar 8 2019, 10:42 AM

741 posts

QUOTE(keyser soze @ Mar 8 2019, 10:32 AM)
If 15 amp then you need to have 4mm wire. I believe MCB is still ok as long as not sharing with other socket.
Your oven spec, I think 13amp should be enough
Yeah i also thinking the same when see the spec.. 13amp should be enough.. but dont know why it comes with 15A Plug?? rclxub.gif
TSkarLz
post Mar 8 2019, 10:44 AM

741 posts

QUOTE(slimey @ Mar 8 2019, 10:33 AM)
Meh. I’ll just change the plug to 13a
If i change the plug to 13A, will my Oven got damage or effected??
TSkarLz
post Mar 8 2019, 10:50 AM

741 posts

I just call the supplier, he advised me to change the socket to 15A only and do not share with other equipment.. is it reliable?? just concern the wire will overheated if not upgrade to 4mm wire.
SUSslimey
post Mar 8 2019, 10:55 AM

6,914 posts

QUOTE(karLz @ Mar 8 2019, 10:44 AM)
If i change the plug to 13A, will my Oven got damage or effected??
Unlikely.

The oven is not that high power anyway. I won’t be concerned
COOLPINK
post Mar 8 2019, 11:00 AM

3,665 posts

change your socket to 15A one.
will last longer.
god knows how many 13A socket and plug i burn liao.

the wiring should be ok if using for the oven only unless your house wiring the developer cut corner and use inferior or smaller wire.

just my 2 cents.
cooyard
post Mar 8 2019, 11:04 AM

211 posts

better change socket to 15A because surface connected more. lower the resistance(impedance). if normal 13A plug and socket connected surface is less so resistance is higher. better at the safe area.
Max
post Mar 8 2019, 02:40 PM

1,705 posts

changed the sso to 15A type..
i also melt many 13A sso using electric oven.. laugh.gif
SGMedic
post Mar 10 2019, 05:11 AM

26 posts

The 2.5mm cable can manage the amps however a 13A plug would likely be overheated due to its smaller pin contact area compared to a 15A plug or a dedicated cooker point

0.0168sec    0.87    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:44 AM