Fuse at TNB Meter, ... how to install it? ...

TSlowyat101
post Mar 5 2019, 08:38 AM, updated 7y ago

2,549 posts

The previous house owner has removed the fuse and disconnected the TNB power supply. So I just applied a new meter and it was installed last week. But I noticed that TNB has not install back the fuses. May I know is it under the scope of TNB to do this?

If it's not, then I'll but it from the hardware shop. But is it safe to just push in the 3 fuses where I think the incoming part is live?

kezsz
post Mar 5 2019, 08:41 AM

168 posts

You need to get it back from the previous house owner, technically the fuse belongs to you...

QUOTE(lowyat101 @ Mar 5 2019, 08:38 AM)

The previous house owner has removed the fuse and disconnected the TNB power supply. So I just applied a new meter and it was installed last week. But I noticed that TNB has not install back the fuses. May I know is it under the scope of TNB to do this?

If it's not, then I'll but it from the hardware shop. But is it safe to just push in the 3 fuses where I think the incoming part is live?

COOLPINK
post Mar 5 2019, 08:46 AM

3,666 posts

u need to get the fuses from electrical shop not hardware.
yes the terminals are live so u need to be careful.
normally the fuse goes into a plastic cap then oinly you push in while holding the plastic cap.
TSlowyat101
post Mar 5 2019, 08:47 AM

2,549 posts

QUOTE(kezsz @ Mar 5 2019, 08:41 AM)
You need to get it back from the previous house owner, technically the fuse belongs to you...
I see, thanks for the info. Will do so. Meaning that if I ask TNB to do this, they might charge me for it right?

If I couldn't get it back from the previous owner and need to buy it from the electrical shop, may I know is it OK to just plug it in? I will off the 63A MCB at the switchboard inside my house first.

acbc
post Mar 5 2019, 08:48 AM

9,050 posts

Pretty easy. Wear rubber gloves and shoes. Push fuses into the connector blocks.

Be sure to turn off the breaker first. Otherwise might have sparks.
TSlowyat101
post Mar 5 2019, 08:49 AM

2,549 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Mar 5 2019, 08:46 AM)
u need to get the fuses from electrical shop not hardware.
yes the terminals are live so u need to be careful.
normally the fuse goes into a plastic cap then oinly you push in while holding the plastic cap.
Ya I saw it at my neighbour's meter, it's with a handle so I think it's quite safe to do so. Just wanna make sure before I plug it in sweat.gif

fireballs

5,650 posts

Better ask electrician to do.
Do you even know how many amps fuse to buy?
The fuse holder not all compatible
Remember to off all your loads before doing
TSlowyat101

2,549 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Mar 5 2019, 08:48 AM)
Pretty easy. Wear rubber gloves and shoes. Push fuses into the connector blocks.

Be sure to turn off the breaker first. Otherwise might have sparks.
Noted thanks for the info thumbsup.gif

TSlowyat101
post Mar 5 2019, 08:50 AM

2,549 posts

QUOTE(fireballs @ Mar 5 2019, 08:49 AM)
Better ask electrician to do.
Do you even know how many amps fuse to buy?
The fuse holder not all compatible
Remember to off all your loads before doing
Noted with thanks but will try to get the info from TNB

zairee2580
post Mar 5 2019, 08:53 AM

385 posts

How do you know that it is the previous owner that remove the fuse n not tnb?
As I know, everything in the bos is tnb's responsibility including the fuse
TSlowyat101
post Mar 5 2019, 09:02 AM

2,549 posts

QUOTE(zairee2580 @ Mar 5 2019, 08:53 AM)
How do you know that it is the previous owner that remove the fuse n not tnb?
As I know, everything in the bos is tnb's responsibility including the fuse
I'm not sure but I remember that when I first went to view the house, the meter was still there but not the fuses, and the agent inform me that the owner has removed it since no one is staying there. But could be also stolen or taken by TNB as you have mentioned.

ocphangaz
post Mar 5 2019, 09:11 AM

Midlife Crysis.
768 posts

last time mine blown, TNB replace it... also house that kena potong, they will remove the fuse too.

this is from my observation la.. not sure it's their SOP or not.
cooyard
post Mar 5 2019, 11:05 AM

211 posts

the fuse belong to TNB. so TNB take it out after previous owner unregistered with TNB and take back their deposit. So TNB should put it back after you register new acc for that house. standard SOP for sub sale house.
TSlowyat101
post Mar 5 2019, 11:17 AM

2,549 posts

QUOTE(cooyard @ Mar 5 2019, 11:05 AM)
the fuse belong to TNB. so TNB take it out after previous owner unregistered with TNB and take back their deposit. So TNB should put it back after you register new acc for that house. standard SOP for sub sale house.
OK noted with thanks.

TSlowyat101
post Mar 6 2019, 10:41 AM

2,549 posts

Managed to have TNB come to install the fuses. But I noticed that it's rated at 32A which is kinda low as the MCB at the DB is already 63A. Meaning that the fuse will burn first before the MCB will trip.

May I know is this normal? Or I shall ask TNB to change it to 63A or 100A fuse?

SUSslimey
post Mar 6 2019, 11:07 AM

6,914 posts

QUOTE(lowyat101 @ Mar 6 2019, 10:41 AM)
Managed to have TNB come to install the fuses. But I noticed that it's rated at 32A which is kinda low as the MCB at the DB is already 63A. Meaning that the fuse will burn first before the MCB will trip.

May I know is this normal? Or I shall ask TNB to change it to 63A or 100A fuse?

Yes. Have them change it to 63
TSlowyat101
post Mar 6 2019, 12:50 PM

2,549 posts

QUOTE(slimey @ Mar 6 2019, 11:07 AM)
Yes. Have them change it to 63
Contacted TNB, too bad they insist that 32A is OK and ask me to inform them again shall there be any problems in the future doh.gif doh.gif

BTW, just wondering if it's OK to buy the 63A or 100A fuse from the electrical shop and change it by myself? Will TNB later say I temper with their meter?

fireballs
post Mar 6 2019, 12:53 PM

5,650 posts

then check, is your breaker wrongly sized?
it should be smaller than the fuse
TSlowyat101
post Mar 6 2019, 01:03 PM

2,549 posts

QUOTE(fireballs @ Mar 6 2019, 12:53 PM)
then check, is your breaker wrongly sized?
it should be smaller than the fuse
Nope breaker should be correct as it's the original one from the new house. 63A for the incoming, 40A for the ground floor DB and 40A for the 1st floor DB.

Should I be concern about the 32A fuse? hmm.gif hmm.gif

This post has been edited by lowyat101: Mar 6 2019, 01:04 PM
SUSslimey
post Mar 6 2019, 01:11 PM

6,914 posts

QUOTE(lowyat101 @ Mar 6 2019, 12:50 PM)
Contacted TNB, too bad they insist that 32A is OK and ask me to inform them again shall there be any problems in the future  doh.gif  doh.gif

BTW, just wondering if it's OK to buy the 63A or 100A fuse from the electrical shop and change it by myself? Will TNB later say I temper with their meter?

Erm... usually different cut out fuse have different size housing. So have to buy the housing together. Which will cost around rm100 for 3 phases if it is a 3 phase system. If 1 phase then around rm30-40. There are a few different type housing and if they don’t fit properly with the original then it will have problem.

Tnb won’t accuse of you tempering the meter. The fuse have no serial number attached anyway... unless there are wires with clamp on the fuse which they may record down. Anyway, if you don’t know what you are doing, don’t do it. High current and voltage. If you try to pull it out or install without breaking the house electricity in the first place, there and be big arcs and potential damage to equipment in the house due to the voltage spikes and dips.

0.0172sec    0.65    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 08:08 AM