Logitech MX518 help!, Brand new , might be defective

TSYammieR6
post Jun 18 2007, 04:34 PM, updated 19y ago

189 posts

hello everyone I just bought a Logitech MX518 gaming mouse to replace my crappy Pleomax mice. I have tried everything but I still can't get the scroll wheel to function at all. Almost like it's defective. I was thinking of going back to the shop to claim RMA this weekend but umm folks at Logitech support forum seems to think it's the driver glitch/not being installed properly (P.s i did EVERYTHING they told me , nothing works to fix it) I really hope it's a not a driver glitch (if it is , damn you logitech) Guys who own or have owned this mouse before is it a driver glitch or do I have a defective mouse (scroll wheel)?

*Edit* The scroll wheel does not scroll up or down , instead only works when i Press it down meaning it's not functioning as a "scroll wheel" lol
Seriously , 100bucks on a mouse that has no scroll wheel rolleyes.gif

Kent,

This post has been edited by YammieR6: Jun 18 2007, 04:37 PM
Najmods
post Jun 18 2007, 06:17 PM

*mutter mutter mutter mutter*
5,211 posts

Kaellis
post Jun 18 2007, 06:27 PM

Certified Perodua Alza hater
1,231 posts

Even without the logitech driver the scrollwheel will work normally hmm.gif
maybe defective, try adjust the mouse properties at control panel
TSYammieR6
post Jun 18 2007, 06:40 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(Kaellis @ Jun 18 2007, 06:27 PM)
Even without the logitech driver the scrollwheel will work normally  hmm.gif
maybe defective, try adjust the mouse properties at control panel
Ya that's what I was thinking mate , tried Control panel - mouse - properties , no luck.

Tested it with a normal optical mouse this morning , scroll works on that one. Can't be my PC's usb port.

Added on June 18, 2007, 6:48 pm
QUOTE(Najmods @ Jun 18 2007, 06:17 PM)
Have you install the Mouseware software that comes with the mouse? Configure your scroll with that software
Yep , tried it with no drivers , latest drivers , driver included with the mouse.

anyways , cheers (will take me lazy bum to Lowyat) thanx for your time&input .

This post has been edited by YammieR6: Jun 18 2007, 06:48 PM
eddy230379
post Jun 24 2007, 01:42 PM

+]>> pL@Y bEyOnD <<[+
1,676 posts

send it back for a replacement unit .... it shouldnt need a driver for the scroll wheel to work ...
ronaldjoe
post Jun 24 2007, 01:51 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(eddy230379 @ Jun 24 2007, 01:42 PM)
send it back for a replacement unit .... it shouldnt need a driver for the scroll wheel to work ...
Just RMA it. Ask the ppl in the shop to test it on the spot.
sniper69
post Jun 24 2007, 04:25 PM

.: One Shot One Kill :. .+|Level 9 Type Shit|+.
7,173 posts

MX518 user here... wave.gif

when first i hooked up, the mouse detected quickly, the mouse-0, mouse-1, mouse-2, mouse-3; mouse-4 and mouse-5 worked without needs to install the driver, but if need the sensitivity speed on-the-fly, you're gonna need the driver, i installed and works charming until now... thumbup.gif, IMO, your mouse probably defective, try your mouse on other USB port on your system; other system...
Bigblock
post Jun 24 2007, 07:16 PM

|| F(R)έǎжy ||
2,275 posts

RMA the mouse since the scroller does nt work...pressing up and down buttons are for sensitivity adjustment on the fly.

This post has been edited by Bigblock: Jun 24 2007, 07:16 PM
sjn hassan
post Jun 24 2007, 08:36 PM

Member's of MAKAN MEGGI club
3,544 posts

QUOTE(sniper69 @ Jun 24 2007, 04:25 PM)
MX518 user here... wave.gif

when first i hooked up, the mouse detected quickly, the mouse-0, mouse-1, mouse-2, mouse-3; mouse-4 and mouse-5 worked without needs to install the driver, but if need the sensitivity speed on-the-fly, you're gonna need the driver, i installed and works charming until now... thumbup.gif, IMO, your mouse probably defective, try your mouse on other USB port on your system; other system...
no need to install the logitech drive / software to control the speed.just use the + and - button on the mouse.THe software needed when u want to set the speed other than 400, 800 and 1600-dpi (factory default)
sniper69
post Jun 24 2007, 08:40 PM

.: One Shot One Kill :. .+|Level 9 Type Shit|+.
7,173 posts

QUOTE(sjn hassan @ Jun 24 2007, 08:36 PM)
no need to install the logitech drive / software to control the speed.just use the + and - button on the mouse.THe software needed when u want to set the speed other than 400, 800 and 1600-dpi (factory default)
true³... just found out just now...
kevinboey86
post Jun 24 2007, 10:31 PM

463 posts

i dont think if ur using windows xp or vista need to install driver for the mouse...i think should b the mouse problem

0.0174sec    0.77    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 06:02 PM